We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Managment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #53 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awful Managment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm going to start by saying that the general staff here are very nice, sweet and accomidating. The managment on the other hand, is horrible. Do not book here unless you want to worry about getting a room or moved to a worse hotel. We booked a trip through the Riu website, we arrive at the Riu with friends, we are told that we were moved to the cheaper Riu Naiboa without any forewarning. We begged and pleaded with the hotel manager to let us stay with our friends. He said there was nothing he could do, the Riu overbooked, maybe we could call the head office in Mexico (WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?!) and just stared at us with a dumb look on his face. To top it all off, there were about 5 other couples the Riu did this to all the while we were fighting with the manager at the counter. We finally complied, and went to the Naiboa, found out the rooms were half the size and they gave us a room with an ant infestation. There are plenty of other resorts in Punta Cana, go somewhere else than Riu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,144
    847
    422
    239
    177
See reviews for
668
1379
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great family vacation. Went there for a week over spring break March 23-30. I think this statement I'm about to make is par for the course for all inclusive resorts. The food is very average. We didn't like the steak house at all but we went to the italian rest. one night and it was really good. The buffet was ok, we always managed to find something but it's a buffett. It got old after awhile. There were no other restaurants for dinner off the resort property you could just walk to. There was a burger joint off the property that was open during the day but we never went to it. We went on the Safari Tour that was an awesome excursion. It was a whole day affair and you got to see how the locals really lived. I highly recommend that tour. My husband and son went on the Piratte Catamaran Snorkeling excursion and they loved that so I highly recommend that too. The hotel itself was very nice, the pool was nice, the beach was great. Never had trouble finding chairs on the beach. The workers would find one for you in fact. Overall was a great trip. I just got tired of the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here in 5/12 for a week and we had the most enjoyable time.Resort was clean,food was awsome although we ate every night at the buffet.The service was super.Beach was awsome.We will most likely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Travelled to Riu Palace Punta Cana from Apr 8-15. Our check in was prompt, the front staff were very pleasant and helpful, we recieved a glass of juice upon arrival at the front desk. Our bags were brought up to our room by the front desk staff. We had two double beds in our room and called the front desk to request one king bed and they upgraded our room from the junior suite to superior junior suite within one hour,amazing service. The rooms were very clean and well maintained the whole week, mini fridge, water and towels replenished everyday. Staff at this resort work very hard and are very friendly. Drinks served around the pool and on the beach. They will even take your own drink mugs and refill them for you. They really appreciate a tip, but don't expect it. Entertainment was great at night, usually everyone would gather in the plaza after evening meal and a band would play and the entertainers would dance with the guests, we also went to all the Restaurants and they were excellent. Spent every day at the beach and it was wonderful, would stop by pool bar in the evening to have a drink and it was a great atmosphere. There is entertainment at the pool as well as the beach, played darts, horseshoes, volleyball,and dancing lessons. The grounds were kept very clean and maintained. The General Manager and management staff for all departments was present around the resort everyday and through the night and we were introduced to everyone of them during a presentation our first day on the beach. I would highly recommend this resort. It was a wonderful week for myself and my husband. Would definetly return.

Costellos', NF

Room Tip: We stayed in 3109 junior superior suite, no musty smell and overlooking courtyard and pools, very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

To anyone that is planning a vacation to the Riu Palace Punta cana,you will find the grounds are next to none,very clean hotel over all,the service is fantastic. We are here for one week and i am still here as i write this review.we tried some of the restaurants here,(kristal) the meat we hade over all was accepptional,the next night we tried (rodizio) the service was great ,the food was terrible,they started with hotdogs yes hotdogs and try to say they were chorizo not even close,then they served some chicken pork and beaf all tough and not very good at all we ended up leaving early and back to the buffet.the next night we were at the la-Altegracia ,the service was great, nice restaurant,by the water,but the food was terrible,tenderlion,was very tough and over cooked,lobster was powdery,the sides were ok,,,we left the food and ended up at the buffet, i need to say for a resourt of this size and the money it brings in surely you can have more then one type of wine,and this wine you have is not very good if you don't like the wine you will have to drink water or pop wich i don't like with my mealls ( work on you wine list) so we are here for another 3 nights we will try 2 other restaurants..i will keep you posted.

Room Tip: bring plenty of suntan lotion,or oil, if you run out $27.00 for a small spray on bottle,rip off. no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We returned yesterday from a week long stay. We have been to Punta Cana many times, but this is the first time at the Riu Palace. The resort and the grounds were beautiful. Every employee was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was generally wonderful and the presentation of appetizers and desserts was unbelievable. Our room was lovely- the first time we have had 2 sinks in the bathroom. One problem was that twice when my husband was in the shower the power went out. After calling the front desk help came quickly although the man who came spoke almost no English. Fortunately my husband speaks some Spanish. The other problem that all the resorts have is the saving of the pool chairs. I got up at 6am every day and sat by the pool until all the other chairs were taken. If you put your towel on the chair it is considered "reserved", but you have to get up early to find an empty one. Unlike the other resorts we have stayed at however, it seemed to me that the pool staff was being paid or tipped to reserve chairs for guests. I would sit in my chair before any guests had come down and watch the pool staff lay towels on certain chairs. Sometimes the people sitting in those chairs wouldn't appear until noon. Other times people would only spend an hour or two a day sitting in those chairs. I never saw money change hands but I believe something unfair was going on. The pool itself was the smallest one we have encountered, but was big enough for the number of people using it. A lot of people swam in the ocean which was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo,ny.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from Riu Palace Punta Cana on April 14th, went with 2 other couples, pros: property very clean,beach very clean, workers very friendly, although once you tip, they always look for you..had some in restaurants competing with each other to get us..
Cons: paid for Premium Liquor, it is NOT!!! Had talks with front desk and beverage manager who than gave us or own bottles of premium alcohol ..No matter which bar you went to, they will have bottles of Jack Daniels, Jim Beam and Stolli Vodka but that is NOT what is in bottle!!! We actually had them pour from bottle what they were trying to give us and than had them open a new bottle and smelled them and you can definitly tell the difference..If you do not want to serve premium alcohol than don't offer it!! We 3 couples would have went elsewhere..feel cheated that we did not get exactly what we paid for.
FOOD- a little below what we have had at other Riu's..some restaurants are better than others..Buffett is just ok..wish they had a grill going at beach so you wouldn't have to go to a restaurant ..
Overall, clean place, very nice beach , if you have nothing to compare it to than it is fine, but if you have stayed at other Riu's and other chains than it is below par.

Room Tip: Stayed on 2 nd floor, really didn't hear noise, there are elevators if on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.