We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Drink and Crowds Disapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and Drink and Crowds Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful facility,beautiful beaches and ocean for the positive. However about 75 percent of our group got Tourista Gi problems here. We were all careful not to drink the water too. Food and alcohol in general disappointing and we are not that fussy either.
Most crowded beaches ever experienced, some days not enough beach chairs also. No town to walk to. Airport on departure totally chaotic, barely made flight though there 2 hrs early.
No excited about going back to Riu Palace or Punta Cana.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    1,074
    538
    277
    218
See reviews for
888
1,701
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stittsville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Riu Palace Punta Cana is, in my opinion, no longer a five star resort. It's still a great resort but it's getting a little tired. The rooms are clean and spacious and beds were comfortable. The wood in the door in my particular room had dried so much that it cracked and you could see through the door. The food was good in the main dining room and the restaurant by the beach. They serve the same type and quality that any other high end resort in the Dominican would serve. No matter what your taste, you will not go hungry. the only disappointment was the pasta bar. Served luke warm (twice) in a dull tomato sauce with not much choice of other sauces. Only tried three of the five specialty restaurants. Surprisingly, the steak house was good and the lobster tail that came with the steak was done to perfection. The Brazilian was a disappointment as the meat was tough. The Crystal (fusion) was excellent. As good as the Riu in Cabo.
As a non-smoker, I have difficulty accepting smokers in the pool. They have no regard for others and ashes and butts can sometimes be seen floating in the pool. The pool is in dire need of repairs Long sections of the bottom have missing tiles. As with all resorts, reserve you chair by the pool early in the morning. You won't get a prime spot after 7:30 AM. There are always good spots on the beach. As a frequent visitor the Dominican Republic you learn all the ins and outs.
This is an all inclusive resort and that includes all alcoholic drinks. They even have liquor dispensers in the rooms. Gin, Vodka, Rum and a local Brandy. Disappointed that there was no Canadian Club. It was however available at the Lobby Bar. For a purported five star hotel, you would think they would serve a better selection of beer. Presidente gets a little boring after a couple of days and the draft is downright terrible. I think this has to do with the draft lines not being flushed of bacteria on a regular basis. Stick with the canned beer in your mini bar. Not counting the dining areas, there were three bars. The Pool Bar, the Lobby Bar and the Sports Bar. In the latter, the stench of stale smoke and spilled beer made it a good place to avoid.
The thing that will make me come back here are the people who work at this resort. The service from the front desk to the dining rooms and pool area was excellent. While a lot of these people don't speak English, they make up for in enthusiasm and trying to please the customer.

Room Tip: Couryard view is the best. Away from lobby area. All rooms are quiet except for the ones directly ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Riu Palace Punta Cana and it was amazing!!
The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The staff is very friendly and make sure you are taken care of. The food was very tasty with lots to offer. Front desk was very fast and efficient. The beach is stunning!! Nothing bad to say about this place. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Traved the first week of Feb 2013 , our 3rd time there the RIU Bambo before that . We go for the beach , some of the best stretches of beach here . Hotel , food , staff , drinks are awesome . Thankfully RIUs don`t let timeshare reps on their grounds , when walking beachs by Bahia and Hard Rock among a few they seemed bothersome . On our return , contacted our Apple rep told her of our awesome vaca . She asked if we were upgraded because she contacted Palace mentioned of our 4th consecutive trip there . No problem we had a clean room with great view . Oddly enough a couple that got off the bus with us , first time there got upgraded to a corner room with spiral staircase . We always tip 10 bucks at check in . Oh well .........

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel was chosen for us by a friend getting married on location.
So, we didn't have a say. We looked at the countless reviews on Tripadvisor and became very anxious before leaving. We went there nervous about what we would find. Here's what we found. Check in was extremely easy. Some people complained about the size of the room keys?? You receive one key and yes it is on a large key ring but takes a whole 3 seconds to separate the two and then the key will fit in small spaces. Our room was on the top floor. We had a great view of the inland. It was quiet at night and throughout the day. Our house keeper had our room cleaned between 9 and 11 every morning and always made a beautiful towel animal to greet us. You need something extra just call room service…no problem. Each night in the plaza there is live music followed by a show on the stage. I found the shows entertaining...Broadway quality, no, but I wasn't going there for a show. The beach is unbelievable. Every morning the crew is out there clearing away any trash or debris. The water was amazing. The many palm trees along the beach provide great natural shade. The grounds are absolutely stunning and you can watch them trim the hedges with machetes! Such a quiet way to maintain the grounds and eco friendly. Some people talk about tips. We tipped for sure. These workers live on grounds for several days at a time and make only $150 a month. So when Joel and Juan Carlos at Don Manuel’s buffet pulled out our chairs, refilled our drinks and struck up conversation they were tipped. In the states we tip on how much the bill was so why not tip on how the service was. The service was fantastic to say the least! On the beach there are the drinkie drinkie guys that bring drinks around. Some people complained about the quality of alcohol. The lobby bar and stage bar had good quality alcohol. So not a big deal. Quality of food. We always found something to eat. There were about 40 people there for the wedding and NO ONE got sick! The wedding was absolutely beautiful. The bride was extremely impressed with the photographers and the quality of their work. The reception was gorgeous and the DJs were ten times better than any wedding I’ve been to in the states. We found ourselves saying time and time again how romantic the hotel was. People complained of a musty smell..Never smelled it. We did pack Bounce fabric softner sheets in our suitcases but still didn’t smell anything in the rooms. Overall we had an amazing week and walked away completely satisfied.

Room Tip: We had room 3157. This gives you an amazing view of the sunset over the mountains and is quiet. Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I and my wife just returned and our stay was excellent. The staff went out of their way for us. The buffett needs to be expanded and they need a way to cook such items as hamburgers as the customers wait, like they do with some of their egg dishes.

Room Tip: Be sure and bring some smaller currency to tip the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury,ny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am going to keep this short. The hotel beach and grounds are very nice. The alcohol is most definitely watered down, (probably a good idea). But as some have also complained, the food is not that good. You will be able to find something you like just because there are a lot of choices but I agree with other people that the food, no matter if it's the buffets or restaurants could use a lot of help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#49 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 4,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#30 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.