We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
DeWitt, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at the RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA. We enjoyed every minute of our trip. We are three couples that take a trip every winter. We never stay at the same place twice so we look forward to each resort we go to. Tidbits on our trip.

Check in - we were met at the door with open arms and given drinks and gifts. We were checked in in less than 10 minutes. Erik was very through with everything. Our rooms were located on the main floor - facing the neighboring property. We were ok with that. It was a clean and quiet property.

Rooms - we're clean and stayed that way throughout the week. We did see a bug or two, but they scurried away when spotting movement. We did have a problem with our toilet the first night. It took 3 calls to the front desk and me going down to the front desk to ask again for someone to come and look at it. Maid service was very good -rooms were made up early everyday. You can get free wifi in the rooms, just ask the front desk for a login. Sure beats having to go to the lobby to check in at home.

Food- we ate at the steakhouse, the brazil, the italian, and the gourmet restaurants. We were not impressed with the steakhouse or the Italian restaurants. The brazil restaurant was our favorite. You have to like meat to eat there. Service at all three was excellent. We at at the buffet our first night there. It was very good. I wished there would have been a outdoor BBQ for lunch instead of having to go into the buffets, but we survived. Breakfast was the normal breakfast fare. Wished there would have have been some sausage or ham on the lines - but the bacon was good.

Entertainment - nightly entertainment was not very good. We have been to other Riu's and enjoyed the entertainment better.

Pool service - drinks were available all the time. Leo the lion came around and keep our cups full. Nice guy. Best of luck in the future.

Beach - Punta Cana has the best beaches we have ever been to. Sand is like walking on flour. There are plenty of waves that can roll you over, but that's the fun of it all. There is always a breeze to stay cool in the 90 degree temps.

We walked about a mile and a half down the beach to a flea market style shops for things to bring back home. Don't pay full price for anything there, work them down on the price. That's what they live for.

We checked out the other RIU resorts next to the palace punta Cana. They were all very nice,but the palace has the most ambiance. Very elegant.

We enjoyed every minute of our trip and look forward to next year. COSTA RICA maybe? Ay suggestions on where to stay?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    1,051
    522
    271
    210
See reviews for
851
1,678
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got back Feb 7th from a five night stay. Our first trip to the Dominican. This is our 5th all inclusive in the carribean and was definitely the best. The resort is not so large that you can not get around comfortably. The rooms are great, super clean and we always found our room in perfect order. Food here is also very good including all the specialty resturants. Beach is beautiful, service very friendly. I think that this resort should be ranked higher than it is. If you don't want a mega resort this place fits the bill perfectly!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Second floor is great , no need for the elevator and I would choose a room toward the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a great vacation hotel is lovely. The tour operator however delayed our flight with no explanation for 12hours . We will be arriving at 330 in the morning. This was not a weather delay. We were told that the other flight operated by Sunwing was leaving on time but we would have to purchase a ticket to get on it. Hmmm thought we had already purchased a ticket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived to this beautiful property with awesome decoration and the place is enchanting. Registration was a problem as they tried to place us in the worst room which is in the extreme corner of the building in the back which is 1001, beware. I even gave the front desk guy a tip while they were getting the rooms done. So don't bother just make sure you get in the higher floors. The food at the main buffet is the best, as the so called restaurants, Italian, steak house and so on are not really that great. Service was very good and the staff is very friendly and helpful, The pools are very nice and the drinks are not bad at all. the place is really nice and the beach area is really nice also. Save your towels the day before in order to reserve your chairs early in the morning, the towel hut opens at 8:00 am, so after breakfast go to your reserved chairs and exchange the towels then.
Lunch was readily accessible and there is always some where to eat if you are hungry. Our family got very sick we don't know if from the water or the environment as many people was in the same situation. Drink bottle water as much as you can, since ice is the regular water.

Room Tip: Anything in the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the best time! I was a little worried about the food because of other reviews but the food was awesome. I am VERY picky and loved the a la carte restaurants. We had wonderful service at the pool for our drinks. Leo and Victor were amazing! We were never without a drink in our hands. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. Everyone we came across had smiles on their faces. We loved the beach. The sand was soft and white. I would go back tomorrow if I could. Don't listen to the bad reviews. Excellent vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel. The food is very good in the buffet restaurant and in all the "a la carte" restaurants we tried. We received an exceptionnal service everywhere in this hotel. The cleanliness is outstanding. I never hate a good steak like there in the Caraibes, as well as the lobster. We never look for a chair on the beach or aroud the pool. Good drinks and good shows at night.

Room Tip: second floor facing the poolside was a very good choice. We were in high season and the guy in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just arrived back from our vacation at the RIU Punta Cana and it was a great way to spend a week. The qualify we received there was what we expected from the RIU chain. It looked & felt a lot like the RIU in Cabos. Grounds are kept beautifully & clean, rooms were tided up daily, buffet provided an assortment of good food that enabled all tastes to enjoy a nice meal. The beach was probabbly one of the nicer ones along the stretch with lots of sandy beach area. Lots of chairs on the beach area for both sun & shade seekers. Pool water was warm as was the ocean! A few items I would put on my wish list for this RIU:

1. A snack bar near the pool/beach that offered small snacks all day long rather than always going to the buffet everytime you wanted a munchie but you could only go when the buffet was open.

2. For a resort that is a fair size, the one pool was a drawback. The swim up bar area was always filled with guests who camped out there pretty much all day, and getting a drink could prove difficult. Also, there was always a film of "guk" around the corners of the pool and it made us a little squeemish dipping into it - But we are beach lovers, so it was not really an issue for us.

3. While the Entertainment Staff at the RIU tried their best with the evening entertainment, this RIU needs to invest some money into their programs. Being limited to what you can do in the evening, better entertainment would be welcomed. The qualify is poor and gives off a cheap feeling.

4. Get rid of the Japonese & Italian Restaurant- horrible is the only way I can describe them- change the cooks or change the venue- the buffet was by far a superior choice

Overall, the RIU was quite good. I would go back and recommend it. Remember it is Dominican Repubic, and you should reset your expectations to what is considered in 5 star Caribbean Countries- if your really picky and fickle- find yourself a diamond resort!

Room Tip: The non ocean view was a disappointment - but apparently that was what came with our package. So mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#49 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#31 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
#7 of 17 in Bavaro
4.5 of 5 stars 3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.