We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Demotte, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the best time! I was a little worried about the food because of other reviews but the food was awesome. I am VERY picky and loved the a la carte restaurants. We had wonderful service at the pool for our drinks. Leo and Victor were amazing! We were never without a drink in our hands. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. Everyone we came across had smiles on their faces. We loved the beach. The sand was soft and white. I would go back tomorrow if I could. Don't listen to the bad reviews. Excellent vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    903
    445
    244
    186
See reviews for
714
1,452
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel. The food is very good in the buffet restaurant and in all the "a la carte" restaurants we tried. We received an exceptionnal service everywhere in this hotel. The cleanliness is outstanding. I never hate a good steak like there in the Caraibes, as well as the lobster. We never look for a chair on the beach or aroud the pool. Good drinks and good shows at night.

Room Tip: second floor facing the poolside was a very good choice. We were in high season and the guy in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just arrived back from our vacation at the RIU Punta Cana and it was a great way to spend a week. The qualify we received there was what we expected from the RIU chain. It looked & felt a lot like the RIU in Cabos. Grounds are kept beautifully & clean, rooms were tided up daily, buffet provided an assortment of good food that enabled all tastes to enjoy a nice meal. The beach was probabbly one of the nicer ones along the stretch with lots of sandy beach area. Lots of chairs on the beach area for both sun & shade seekers. Pool water was warm as was the ocean! A few items I would put on my wish list for this RIU:

1. A snack bar near the pool/beach that offered small snacks all day long rather than always going to the buffet everytime you wanted a munchie but you could only go when the buffet was open.

2. For a resort that is a fair size, the one pool was a drawback. The swim up bar area was always filled with guests who camped out there pretty much all day, and getting a drink could prove difficult. Also, there was always a film of "guk" around the corners of the pool and it made us a little squeemish dipping into it - But we are beach lovers, so it was not really an issue for us.

3. While the Entertainment Staff at the RIU tried their best with the evening entertainment, this RIU needs to invest some money into their programs. Being limited to what you can do in the evening, better entertainment would be welcomed. The qualify is poor and gives off a cheap feeling.

4. Get rid of the Japonese & Italian Restaurant- horrible is the only way I can describe them- change the cooks or change the venue- the buffet was by far a superior choice

Overall, the RIU was quite good. I would go back and recommend it. Remember it is Dominican Repubic, and you should reset your expectations to what is considered in 5 star Caribbean Countries- if your really picky and fickle- find yourself a diamond resort!

Room Tip: The non ocean view was a disappointment - but apparently that was what came with our package. So mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time as always. We have been to this resort as well as other Riu resorts in the caribbean and all meet our needs. The beach here is clean and their is always plenty of chairs. We prefer the buffet and our waiter and friends Marino & Juan Carlos do a fantastic job as always. The other restaurants also have a pleasant menu and we do dine with them also. The property is well keep and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Our trip took place end of November 2012.  We wasted our first day at the hotel arguing with the front desk manager for rooms that didn't smell of mildew and that did not face a construction site.  We were told that we paid for what we were getting ... yup, I paid over $1200 for mold and mildew and to face a construction site while on holiday in the Caribbean!?!?  If I wanted to see construction, I would have rented a room in Montreal overlooking one of our many highways!  After 3 hours, we were finally given somewhat decent smelling rooms on the other side of the hotel.  Of course, the 2 rooms only had 1 king size bed each versus the doubles that we needed since we were 4 singles! The next day, our friends had to move rooms since the bathroom ceiling in their room caved in during the night due to water leakage!!!  Thank God it wasn't the ceiling over their bed! BTW, our bathroom had mold on the ceiling over the bathtub due to the lack of a fan in it to draw the moisture from the room.  The outside of the hotel itself has black mold all over which is visible to the eye, all you have to do is look up near all the rooftops to see it.
FOOD:  Aside from the Italian restaurant, all the other restaurants were horrible -- I am not exaggerating.  Stick to the buffet which offers fresher and tastier food.  Their snack bar food consists of nachos with queso or cold hot dogs or sandwiches that you can microwave to eat??? This is a 4.5 star resort?? Actually don't go to this hotel at all -- I've heard that the Grand Bahia is 100% better than what you get here.  *Note: Once back home, my system took 2 weeks to get back to normal, couldn't hold anything in, the doctor said it was e.coli contamination.
DRINKS:  Read well -- there is NO TOP SHELF alcohol served here.  The whiskey smells like cough syrup, they do not know how to mix drinks if their lives depended on it, a cosmo martini tasted like rubbing alcohol, the baileys was a knock off watered down version, etc.  If you have any fruit allergies, the bartenders and waiters don't care to take note serving you whatever drink you ordered adorned with pineapples, oranges, etc. and laughing when you remind them that they could kill you.
SERVICE:  Nothing great, people not extremely friendly like other places I've been to in the Caribbean.
ENTERTAINMENT:  Weird!  Animation team was not overly enthusiastic in getting people involved with the shows.  The shows seemed to have some transvestite theme going on, don't know if it was just the week we were there or always???
BEACH:  If you don't get to the beach early enough, you have to struggle to find chairs to sit on.  No one available to help you move them around like other resorts I've been to.  The water was warm at this time of year but had a lot of seaweed and was full of rough waves with an undertow at times, not very enjoyable.
I could go on with some of our other unfortunate experiences at this hotel but the review would be too long!  Let's just say that this hotel should be avoided at all costs!!  My opinion of the Domincan is that it should be avoided period.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
effingham,il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Every time I read some reviews I wonder if these people stayed at the same riu my wife and I did. We are mr and mrs John q public we are not 5 star people,we want a nice clean room,good quality food,and good service.this riu delivered all of the above,as all of the Rius we have stayed at all over Mexico and Jamaica have. Look if you want 5 star then stay at a different resort and pay for it. For what I paid for this resort they more than delivered and that's all I expect. The food was good and plentiful,the drinks were always on a tray coming by every 5 minutes or so drinky drinky was heard all day long. The rooms do smell musty,we always bring a couple of glade plug ins problem solved. The people are friendly,and it doesn't hurt to tip a buck or so every now and then they work hard for a little money.no place is perfect just don't let the small stuff ruin a great vacation at a beautiful resort on a great beach. Go and enjoy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Check in was hectic. There was no line people were just crowding all of the place and the staff didn't have our paperwork ready. Probably have our room to someone else. Our phone didn't work in the room and the toilet was out of order. They also decided to paint on one of the days were there. Entertainment staff was lacking. They didn't really engage anyone and were scarce around the property. Food was the same as all riu's. the day we had an excursion we had room service planned for early in the morning. Never came! The maid was great but seemed to always be cleaning whenever we wanted to be inside the room to change. Big property though and the beach was beautiful. I suggest you go to the separate island on the Caribbean side. Can't remember how to spell it but its like Samoa. Less waves and they take you to the area where blue lagoon was filmed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.