We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fansastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fansastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Everything was really great. Best trip so far we ever had. Nothing complaint about. We enjoyed it and nothing can be compared to this place so far. Recommend to all. Rooms were really great, service was perfect, personnel was working really nice. We hope to get back there soon. Great job people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    1,072
    537
    276
    218
See reviews for
885
1,701
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This resort was great! From the moment of our arrival we were greeted with smiles and a cocktail and 2 gifts (one for my husband and one for me). They took us to our room which was great! I would highly recommend a view of the waterfall side - we were in the middle (2nd floor) close to everything. The service is top-notch. Someone is always around ready to serve a drink - whether with alcohol or without. We met some great people and had a very relaxing vacation. The room was clean and kept very nice our entire stay. Loved the free bottles of alcohol in room to where you can mix your own drink. They provide canned or bottled beverages in your room too. It was fantastic! My husband and I enjoyed the beach, pool and all the bar areas. We just enjoyed relaxing and the different areas of the resort. This resort is well kept, clean and service is great! We were there for 7 nights and loved it! We also enjoyed the food - very very good. You can drink the water at restaurants and no need to worry. They provide bottled water everywhere. Just don't brush your teeth with the water from bathroom sink or drink any water while showering or rinse your mouth with any water other than bottled water!! They warn you of this. You can see the filter and serve all clean water and ice - no worries. Very good trip!

Room Tip: Book 1063 - loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

First of all, anyone that tells you that the Palace Punta Cana is dirty or poorly maintained are simply not telling you the truth. My wife and I checked in on November 29 and checked out December 13 and had a great time. Rooms were immaculate as is every surface of this property. Their staff are everywhere cleaning up everything from dead leafs on the palms to wiping off individual crystals on the chandeliers.
There are a couple of small complaints from an otherwise great vacation. Number one I would like to see a bit more variation in the food served at the buffet from night to night. The food was good but I personally would prefer more of a variation day to day.
Number two was for my wife and I a considerable disappointment. We are avid fitness buffs and as such had every intention of using the exercise facilities. For a 5 star hotel I would be ashamed to offer the fitness room that they do. Some serious money needs to be spent updating the fitness area.
Bottom line, for the money you cannot go wrong with this Riu. Yes things are a bit dated but everything is still in very good condition and the staff is excellent at keeping things clean and in order.
One other thing to mention is the service staff in the buffet. Ronnie and Ranyer treated us like royalty, great service and hopefully management will pass this on to them.

Room Tip: Make sure if you don't smoke you ask for a non smoking room. If you are only a couple take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Returned on Dec.6th, from the most beautiful vacation. This place the Riu Palace, Punta Cana was so laid back, the staff was amazing they went out of their way to make you happy. We will definitly will be going back. Only thing I didn't like were the unsupervised children at the pool, the parents were no where to be seen, and the kids just went wild, jumping and splashing me and other guests. Marion Dickinson

Room Tip: The staff are ready and waiting to help with any upgrades to you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our Stay began at the Riu Palace Punta Cana on Dec.9 - 16 , 2012. This hotel is showing its age, the room was musty with stale cigarette smoke along with a stench we could not identify as we entered our room .The air conditioning was set at 24 degrees and would not lower I found it to be shut off at 4am each morning causing me to wake up hot. I called but the maintenance man just cranked it to 10 degrees C which did nothing.since it would not cool more than 24. Overall I liked the staff, most were friendly if you were friendly toward them. would I come back to this hotel the answer is no. The beach is gorgeous the weather is amazing but as far as staying here again, I would only rate as a 3.5 star. Oh and the bed was as hard as a rock , I need to take advil to get through the night because the mattress was brutal.The food was in a word - MEH.

Room Tip: be ready with advil to help sooth your aching back and bones from the rock like mattress, if you enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was our first time to the Dominican Republic and we were not disappointed. Great hotel, staff and the resort was fab with plenty to do. We will definitely be visiting Punta Cana again in the future. Jo and Russell White.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived on Nov 24th and stayed in rm 0122 (they still use actual keys- not cards). No bugs, no musty smell, but the vodka was awful. Not sure what it was, certainly was NOT Stoli's. The food was okay, the service was good (staff was very nice). The entertainment committee was very involved with the guests which was great. They ate with you, danced with you - or left you alone, whatever you wanted.The specialty restaurants were good. Mostly all European - not many Americans. There were a LOT of kids there which at times was annoying (sceaming and splashing). I did like the fact the hotel was located in a gated Riu only community. The Macao is a short walk, but worth seeing as it is not the typical Riu Palace. Very mordern totally different structure. They have a casino (well, about 30 slots and a few tables) VERY small - open from 8pm to midnight. We were there for 15 minutes max. If you like casinos - get a taxi for 20 bucks and go to the Hard Rock Resort and Casino. Large casino very clean and nice. Make sure you say "Resort and Casino" or you will end up at the Hard Rock restaurant 45 minutes away (that is where the free shuttle takes you). Believe it or not- the Vodka was just as bad there. Not sure if it is how they distill in DR?

Room Tip: 0122 is the base floor - courtyard right next to the pool. It was handy for changing and bathroom us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#49 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 4,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#30 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 2,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.