We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A really nice place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from second stay in 4 years, the room we got this time not quite as nice a view as the jr,suite supreme still lovely to use kept very clean and well appointed, no shortage of drinks in the room nice balcony good bed and very quite. Room make up varied each day but was done and turn down service at night which was a nice touch. Beautiful beach and lots of chairs and umberallas to use.Food generally very good, good selection in buffet for each meal. There are several ala carte restuarants of which we found the steak house the best. The Italian is ok but not genuine Italian and a little music would be nice. The gourmet was really nice but you need to be a bit of a gourmand to really like it.The drinks are good and plentiful in any of the 5 bars. The casino is a waste of time. A little entertainment on The Plaza would be good but it was mainly around the pool area, shows at night except Karaoke was fair to middling . In a party of 12 there were few complaints, would return again and would not hesitate to recommend it as a really really nice all inclusive.Found the staff very plesant and courteous language was a small bit of a problem but they have host and hostess's who can always help so it is easy to be understood. Again as I said before a really nice holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    914
    448
    244
    188
See reviews for
718
1,469
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a wallet stolen from us minutes after checking in. Staff were very rude and inconsiderate playing down the incident. The same thing happened to another individual that we bumped into as well. The rooms are nice and the service is very good. It is a pity there are thieves around. I am most disappointed with staffs lack of sympathy and assistance in this situation. They reacted as if we had lost it and didn't offer any help.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were four guys travelling together. We were very surprised to see the quality of the resort. Everything was nice and the service great BUT there was a big issue with our things going missing. When we got to our rooms we immediately went for a drink, but when we got back half an hour later we found that one of the wallets along with all the IDs and $700 was stolen from the room. The management were less than concerned about it saying it was our responsibility to lock everything in the safe. They were really rude about it too. For the rest of our stay we made sure that all our money and valuables were locked away but by day 4 again a scuba diving shirt and a pair of expensive sunglasses went missing form our room. This time the management said they would look into it and told us that we would be removed from the hotel if we made a big deal out of it.
During our stay another person from Quebec also had their wallet and money stolen which led us to believe that these thefts were wide spread and we were not imagining things. The management never got back to us and never offered any apologies.
At the end although we were down $1200 due to thefts and the fact that everyone on the resort were either old or couples we had a good time. If you ever end up going to this resort LOCK EVERYTHING DOWN or risk having it stolen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The resort itself is stunning. From the architecture to the crystal chandeliers, the hotel is beautiful. We had a room close to the pool and on floor "0". It is not the basement but the lower floor. We overlooked a hedge maze which was very nice. We tried to get an upgrade but were told the hotel was full and unable to comply. No matter. The room was adequate and clean. Two double beds pushed together for a King size but that did not worry us. The food is good. Lots of variety at the buffet, which once again in beautiful and impressive room. The food at the Krystal was our favorite but would recommend that you pass over the steakhouse as the meat was inedible. The Brazilian was fine but we never did get to the Japanese or the Italian. They do go out of their way to make every day special, like having Pina Colada's served in pineapples around the pool, or Sangria again near the pool. The pool itself is small but certainly adequate, but they most definitely need another one. The pool area is quiet other than the music for the aerobics or some activities in the afternoon. Lovely thick cushions on the beach chairs, but you do need to get there early if you want one. The chairs are pretty well gone by 10am. Lots available at the beach though. The beach is nice, but not as nice as the beach at Bavaro, a bit narrower and lots of people enjoying the weather. Speaking of which we got a fair bit of rain but it did not dampen our holiday. The resort is about 1 hr away from the airport but that is due to dropping of people at their resorts along the way. The airport is open-aired and not airconditionned, so keep your shorts and t-shirts on, until the last minute before boarding the plane home. I don't think we will return to this resort, due to the fact that we were not overly impressed with the food and did not fine the pool service all that prompt (in Cancun they almost wake you up from your afternoon snooze to make sure you had a cocktail) and did not find the staff all that friendly whether you tipped them or not. Overall, the holiday was fantastic and we came back relaxed and tanned, which is the whole point, right...Before I forget, they have no Clamato for Bloody Caesar`s for us Canucks, and no Purple Rains either...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors as many we spoke to found going up and down the stairs, very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visited this resort for my husband's birthday. This was our second stay at a Riu Resort. We were very pleasantly greeted at the hotel; the reception manager sent a bottle of champagne to the room for my husband's birthday. Our room was nicely appointed and spotless as well as the bathroom. The beach was beautiful with soft sand with "natural" umbrellas (palm trees). The buffet was outstanding serving lobster tails, crayfish, and filet mignon. I've never seen this display at a buffet before. The grounds of the resort were beautiful and well maintained. The evening entertainment was terrific. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would strongly recommend the Riu Resorts to my family and friends. From now on, every time we travel (which is several times a year), we will definitely choose Riu if there's one in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nv
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visit 27 Nov. thru 4 Dec. 2012. My wife and I booked a week at this Riu resort thru Vacations to Go to celebrate our 44th. The hotel was a 35 min. drive from the airport. It is a beautiful hotel where check in was fast. We received a 1st floor room that overlooked the pool and ocean. We had a king size bed with a full frig of mixes and 4 full bottles of rum, vodka, gin, and scotch. Room and room service was excellent along with the hotel staff who were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent in all the specialty restaurants, but did not visit the Japanese. The buffet was excellent with hundreds of selections. If you have a sweet tooth you will enjoy the buffet. Lots of beach chairs available, but get there before 9 am. There are signs that say "no saving chairs", but since most of the people come from different countries they ignore them. We had gone out at 8 in the morning and found dozens of chairs covered with a towel and the people don't show up for hours. If you are a diver the cost is $118 for 2 morning dives, if they provide all gear, and $98 if you have your own. I was offered a six dive package for $265 over 3 days but did not have the time. Water temp was great mid 80's and visibility was about 100+. Will return to other Riu's in the future. Tipped some waiters as suggested in a previous review and got great service, especially from a waiter named Leo who offered us drinks about every 10 minutes, not that we accepted all the time. A free trip to a "shopping center" may be offered. Its about a 25 min. drive, save your time, its not worth it. There are about a dozen shops on the property where you can get most gifts for friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Been to Punta Cana many times and visited the RIU's of the area. Visited in early December this time for three short nights. The hotel is lovely, as are the gardens and beach area. Check in was quick and easy. Our room overlooked the roof of one building, no view at all ;(... so we went back and spoke to the front desk staff (Thank you, Benson!) and were given a room that overlooked the gardens and pool. This room was lovely, and daily maid service was great. The tv had some good channels. Watched the Steelers game in Spanish. Beds were comfy. A true king bed, not twins pushed together. Water for showers could have been warmer, but with a slight unburn, it didn't really matter. Our refrigerator was stocked daily. We had dinner at the buffet for two nights and visited the Italian restaurant for one meal. The buffet was good, with many selections. The Italian was great, with a great selection of appetizers and a wonderful main course. The house wine leaves alot to be desired tho. The beach area was cleaned of seaweed every morning. The waves were very large, which took some of the beach away. Lots of fun if you like to ride in the waves!! Plenty of chairs available at the beach as well as the pool. Food at the beach restaurant was great, with a bar-b-q Saturday afternoon. The pool was crowded, as usual. Drinks were plentiful and not watered down. Waiters were wondering the beach with drinks. Didn't have to get out of your lounge chair if you didn't want to!! Visited the Macao for a mid afternoon drink. Enjoyed the path through the RIU properties. Caribbean Street for shopping was convenient. There is also a "tent city" down the beach for souvenirs and bartering. Some merchants are strolling the beach with their treasures. A real mob scene of shoppers when the "sun dress" guy came along! Really enjoyed the stay. Sitting under the stars in the courtyard, listening to music, some people dancing, others sipping drinks, etc. Will definitely be back. Bringing a whole group of friends in February!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.