We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money, fantastic vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for the money, fantastic vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one week starting 11november 2012. Before I went, I read all the reviews so I am going to give my opinions on other travelers issues. First of all, even if the resort is rated as a 5 star, I
don't anybody paid 5 star rates to stay here. A lot of people complained about the language problem but we don't speak a word of Spanish but we had no problem conversing with any hotel
employee and found many with better English skills than the average citizen of an English speaking country. I'm not sure exactly what peoples complaints are about the food which I found to be fantastic except for the world's worst coffee which I found puzzling considering the reps are trying to sell tours to plantations. The one real issue I did have was the fact that there is no ban on smoking which combined with the constant hot and very humid weather conditions gives of a musty type of odor in the hotel rooms. I did not see a single bug as
the hotel was kept immaculately clean which is incredible considering the jungle like conditions
just outside the resort. Overall had an absolutely fantastic time.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the harder it is to walk up in the very hot and humid conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    866
    426
    241
    179
See reviews for
678
1399
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited for a quick trip post Thanksgiving. Overall it was a really nice resort. Location was good, rooms were clean, spacious and well kept. There we're plenty of bars and you never had to wait for a drink. The beach was good and plenty of chairs were available. The bar staff was all very pleasant and helpful. There was some construction noise in the mornings and the doors to the rooms are not the most sound proof. We didn't have a view of anything at all other than some construction next to the resort, but our room was quite close to the loby area which wasn't too bad. If you want a nice view you can just go park it on the beach.

The largest drawback to the resort was the food. This was my first time at an all inclusive and I figured the food to be on par with that of a cruise ship. This was not. It was average at best and sub-par to quite poor on different occasions. We ate at the Brazilian restaurant, the main buffet and the steakhouse. The Brazilian was average, some parts were really good some were overcooked. The buffet has a strange mix of food, depending on what was chosen it could go either way from great to eh. However, the steakhouse was straight up bad. I ordered the rib-eye figuring there's no way to ruin a good steak. The problem was that the steak was way to thinly cut to begin with so a proper cooking was impossible from the beginning. Another family member ordered the surf & turf. The beef tenderloin was overcooked, but the lobster was simply gross looking. The meat was gray and appeared slimy, another family member's was undercooked. It was shocking that someone looked at it and thought that is was fit to serve. The restaurant staff did appear to be far less personable and not as helpful as all of the bar staff.

Over all it was a great trip and I would recommend, but the food was just simply disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Date of stay 6th - 21 November 2012
Having stayed at an RIU previously we were not surprised by the impressive facade and grand reception area the lovely grounds and of course the wonderful beach. Sadly there the good bits end. This hotel seems to have fallen between the two preverbial stools insofar as it is a 5 star complex but with a 1960s holiday camp attitude. Our room was constantly damp as were many others, we reported on 3 occasions other faults within the room but they still took 6 days to be put right. Although most staff tried hard its just not up to 5 star rating. Entertainment was reminiscent of an episode of HI-DE-HI and thats being kind!. Restaurant service was friendly but plates were removed as soon as knife and fork were put down with no regard to other people who were still eating. We paid the extra supplement for what was described as a "limited sea view". For this read virtually non-existent. We tipped individuals on a regular basis because we felt that they tried their best to look after us but clearly better training is called for throughout especially Reception whose attitude often left much to be desired.

Room Tip: Ask for a DRY room wherever
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The property: The Riu Palace Punta Cana - not to be confused with the other Riu Palace hotels in Santo Domingo and the other areas - looks and feels like a palace - great architecture, majestic interior design - especially the lobby, immaculately maintained lush gardens. It is on the beach and as you walk toward the beach you pass fountains, beautifully arranged green plants and the 3-section pool, with a bar. I like the hotel a lot better than The Ritz on Maui and the Fairmont Orhid on the Big Island in Hawaii. The thing that surprised me most is that the staff never stops cleaning, maintaining, caring for the property at all times.
The room: Our junior suite was huge. As you enter the suite, to the left is the bathroom, to your right is the bed and the "living room", with a neat little sofa and the TV. I was a bit worried about the dreaded musty smell everyone complains about when visiting the Carribeans, but there was a very faint smell that went away when we opened the balcony door. Balcony was big too, with nice chez longs and a place to hang your swimming suits. We had hot water at all times, everything was neat, clean, with organic coffee next to the coffee machine. What surprised me was that there was a mini bar with bottles of Stoli, rum, brandy and gin, and a sign that the alcohol is being replenished every 2 days!!! The fridge was full with water, beer, soda and other drinks. All of this is free by the way.
The food: Food was great in all 5 restaurants. We liked everything. Don't forget to get long pants (men) and flirty dresses - everyone dresses up nicely at night and you don't want to stand out by wearing sneakers and shorts. You will also have to make reservations for the themed restaurants (Japanese, Argentinian, Stake House, and Italian) for a feel-good, sit-down dinner. The main restaurant doesn't require reservations. There's so much food and such a big variety that we were overeating all the time. Good thing you could walk along the beach for miles to compensate for these guilty pleasures:)
The drinks: There is so much alcohol - served everywhere (don't forget, you have lots in your room too), and for free, that I got a bit overwhelmed. I guess most of the guests loved the fact they could down alcoholic drinks 24x7. The capuccino/coffee machines were available at all times, in addition to the bars where you could get coffee, tea and al sorts of juices.
The services: Riu Land for kids - worked very well for us. The staff is very friendly and takes good care of the kids. They have children disco every night at 8 and have games and awards for them. My daughter was very, very happy. The daily entertainment was good - games and sports going on al the time. The night entertainment was good too. The staff had good fun games for the grown ups, and we also had a variery of shows - from ballet, to illusionists, etc. They have stores with everything you might need - floaties, swimming suits, gifts, etc. They have a nice gym, and a sauna with lots of offerings. As guests of the Riu palace we could go to 2 other Riu properties and enjoy all the services/restaurants there. We were not allowed to go to Riu Macau because it was the couples only season and we were with a 6-year old.
The atmosphere: Very relaxed. Very laid back. Everything happens effortlessly, things are smooth. It rains every day but nonetheless it's hot. And it's humid. Considering the nature is not very benevolent, especially with the high level of humidity and so much rain - it is surprising how well kept the hotel is.

Room Tip: Junior suite - very spacious, clean, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This resort has a beautiful beach and beautiful grounds. the room was nice, the first room we had was very hot and musty. We asked to change rooms and they were happy to move us. All the workers are very friendly and work very hard. Most of them do not speak english very well but we never had a problem explaining what we needed. One negative is that most of the liquor is rum. The vodka is rum and the whiskey is rum. They refill the bottles with rum every night. Otherwise it is a great resort and I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on th 5th of November for 2 weeks. on arrival here the hotel was very impressive. We were allocated room 0105, lovely view over the the 3 fountains in front, set out beautifully inside for my birthday. Reception on arrival were courteous and welcoming and remained like this throughout our stay. The house keeping is excellent our room was immaculate after each clean and the towel creations were unbelievable. We visited all the Al a carte restaurants except the crystal and the food in all was of good quality but we felt let down in each restaurant as there wasnt any ambiance, a simple CD playing with themed music would be sufficent. The pool area is nice, although is in need of maintenance and appears to require an on duty manager around this area at all times to control the food on plates smoking and drinking which on some days was totally out of hand with drunken people in the pool just taking over this making everyone elses day uncomfortable and the pool filthy and contaminated. The waiters around the pool worked very well with Victor being exceptiional. We found the food in general good, this often was let down by chefs not taking note of food trays which were empty. Drinks at the cocktail bar were excellent and were served to a consitently good standard.

The staff generally worked well always smiling and attentative however sometimes a tip made them work in an incorrect manner for example if you were being served in a queue and another person came up tapping his glass with money in his hand he would be served immediately, this happened on several occasions at the pool bar.

The gardens are looked after very well and the men working there were always very polite and enjoyed local bantaner.

We enjoyed this hotel very much and Riu in general. The hotels positioning to the beach is perfect.

We noted on other reviews that people have commented about the staff not speaking English only Spanish, we didnt find this a problem and all the staff were highly delighted teaching you their language.

The entertainment in house worked very hard and were always friendly and polite even if you werent joining in. The evening entertainment should not be lead by the in house animation team giving the same people their certificates every night. a high percentage of the allocated night entertainment was taken up by this. the remainder being of 3* quality.

This is our opinion go with an open mind and have a fantastic holiday, we did!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central gardens are superb and the sun most of the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For our 40th wedding anniversary we decided to book six nights at an all-inclusive resort. We worked with a travel adviser who had actually been there, and she had some nice advice about this place. The resort is not large, so there is not much walking involved to get to the pool or the beach. This was not a problem for us, but is a nice convenience. The pool is very nice, and quite large, so crowding was not an issue. The beach area is large and filled with natural palm trees for shade and lounge chairs. The ocean has some mild breaking waves all the time, and they get a little rough sometimes, when the wind is blowing. We had rain every day, although sometimes it was only at night, and other times it was brief. When you are wearing only a bathing suit, who cares if get wet from the sky rather than the ocean or the pool? We had dinner in each of the restaurants except the Japanese-theme one, and all the dinners were enjoyable. We had our first dinner at the buffet, but ate so many choices that we can't remember what we had. One of the nicest things about this resort is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone has a smile and a sincere greeting for you. The staff in charge of activities are very involved and are there literally all the time. They get beach and pool activities going throughout the day, get the guests dancing during the lounge music time in the evening, and go out of their way to visit guests everywhere on the property to chat. Language is sometimes an issue, but a friendly smile goes a long way, and they are big on that. A minor inconvenience is that you can't drink the water from the tap. They provide plenty of bottled water, but you have to be mindful of this issue. As an all-inclusive resort, there are no charges for any normal activities, food or beverages, including a mini-bar refrigerator and standard liquor bottles in your room. Check out out pictures.

Room Tip: Most rooms are junior suites, and they are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.