We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Golf Court” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cana Golf Course

La Cana Golf Course
Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
8096874653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 44 attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The magnificent ocean-front vistas of La Cana Golf Course will captivate the most discerning golf design connoisseurs, while its well-fortified greens challenge the game’s toughest competitors. After one round, avid enthusiast and casual player alike will understand why Golf Magazine has compared La Cana to Pebble Beach and declared it the “number one course in the Caribbean.” Designed by P. B. Dye, La Cana boasts fourteen ocean-view holes with four playing right on the water’s edge, and its state-of-the-art Seashore Paspalum grass allows for maintenance with minimal environmental impact. No serious player can take a golf vacation to the Caribbean without testing his or her chops on this stand-out course. Now offering new Enhancement Packages with its sister course, Corales, no serious golf can come to the Dominican Republic without playing a round on these world-class courses.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“perfect Golf Court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The people in this Golf club are really nice!!! we take a Lesson and enjoy the New Year Party and all was rally nice. Perfect, Clean, pretty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marlboro
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

loved everything especially the views..course was in fabulous condition amenities including quality of club rentals was outstanding

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Played here as well as Cana Bay. This course being a Dye had some additional challenges and the ride between some holes were a little long. Also since a resort not everyone played at a standard pace of play which did slow you down a bit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great players course best for the $$$$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a hidden gem
Wonderful players course.
Very nice
Less expensive
Nothing not to like
A real deal
Play 27

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice course but quality of the course is going down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I spent a week of golf in Punta Cana area and Casa del campo, we played la Cana 2 years ago and played it again recently. We had the feeling that the course condition and maintenance are let go and the course is not top shape like the first time we palyed it. Maybe it is the time of the year to be fair ( the first time we played it in February compare to end of November)

The first time from tee to green to course was in perfect condition and beautiful, we played the first 2 original nine holes and again this time to have the hole 8 and 9 on the ocean, definitely the nicest holes of the course. Par 4 and Par 5

After playing Punta Espada is 2 occasions that week, Teeth of the Dog (Casa del Campo, Corales private club, La Cana and finally the Lakes.....We are rating La Cana in 4 places of the 5 courses we plaed......Punta Espada was number 1 followed by Teeth of the dog, Corales....

We used Gogolf dominican republic for transportation and we were very happy with their services, also they offered some great golf packages...you can find them on internet

In Summary La Cana is nice to play and interesting but you should pay a little extra and try Punta Espada to get the wow factor...don't forget your camera

We didn't use a caddie and we had no problems reading the greens and finding our balls, fairways are wide. I am a 12 handicap and I played the course at 6700 yards without problems and I scored 87.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cana Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Cana Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cana Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Cana Golf Course to your Saves list