We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cana Golf Course

La Cana Golf Course
Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
8096874653
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magnificent ocean-front vistas of La Cana Golf Course will captivate the most discerning golf design connoisseurs, while its well-fortified greens challenge the game’s toughest competitors. After one round, avid enthusiast and casual player alike will understand why Golf Magazine has compared La Cana to Pebble Beach and declared it the “number one course in the Caribbean.” Designed by P. B. Dye, La Cana boasts fourteen ocean-view holes with four playing right on the water’s edge, and its state-of-the-art Seashore Paspalum grass allows for maintenance with minimal environmental impact. No serious player can take a golf vacation to the Caribbean without testing his or her chops on this stand-out course. Now offering new Enhancement Packages with its sister course, Corales, no serious golf can come to the Dominican Republic without playing a round on these world-class courses.
phila
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Played here as well as Cana Bay. This course being a Dye had some additional challenges and the ride between some holes were a little long. Also since a resort not everyone played at a standard pace of play which did slow you down a bit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    80
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great players course best for the $$$$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a hidden gem
Wonderful players course.
Very nice
Less expensive
Nothing not to like
A real deal
Play 27

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice course but quality of the course is going down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I spent a week of golf in Punta Cana area and Casa del campo, we played la Cana 2 years ago and played it again recently. We had the feeling that the course condition and maintenance are let go and the course is not top shape like the first time we palyed it. Maybe it is the time of the year to be fair ( the first time we played it in February compare to end of November)

The first time from tee to green to course was in perfect condition and beautiful, we played the first 2 original nine holes and again this time to have the hole 8 and 9 on the ocean, definitely the nicest holes of the course. Par 4 and Par 5

After playing Punta Espada is 2 occasions that week, Teeth of the Dog (Casa del Campo, Corales private club, La Cana and finally the Lakes.....We are rating La Cana in 4 places of the 5 courses we plaed......Punta Espada was number 1 followed by Teeth of the dog, Corales....

We used Gogolf dominican republic for transportation and we were very happy with their services, also they offered some great golf packages...you can find them on internet

In Summary La Cana is nice to play and interesting but you should pay a little extra and try Punta Espada to get the wow factor...don't forget your camera

We didn't use a caddie and we had no problems reading the greens and finding our balls, fairways are wide. I am a 12 handicap and I played the course at 6700 yards without problems and I scored 87.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wow!! It was well worth the time and money to get down from our resort. Lots of scenic holes. I felt like we were the only ones on the course which was good just in case we started slicing. :) # different 9 hole courses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hard to get on greens near the ocean breeze! Very well manicured course. Course caddies are a great resource.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cana Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Cana Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cana Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.