We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Island

Dolphin Island
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
+1 809-221-9444
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana
Ranked #81 of 161 Activities in Punta Cana
Type: Tours, Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and Swim with Dolphins in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. Dolphin Island Park is a business dedicated to creating moments of intense happiness for their visitors through a natural, friendly and safe interaction with dolphins, sea lions, sharks and stingrays. We are experts in creating the most memorable experiences with unique activities that bring you up close to these amazing aquatic animals. Our privileged location allows us to offer a one of a kind swimming opportunity in which you can interact with the animals in their natural habitat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too much money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visit the island with my family back in may.Its a good experience ,the kids had a lot of fun.The bad part i think its too pricey. ..2 adults,1 kid and one infant..almost $600.00 with the picture package.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    224
    108
    58
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hato Mayor del Rey, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I did this excursion yesterday and all I can say is amazing.

Touching dolphins (so soft like cotton), kissing, singing, and unforgettable experience. Clear water in a natural pool in the middle of the ocean.

I will add some pictures later.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Don't waste your money on this excursion! The people were rude!!! They herded you through like cattle, yelling out orders that we could not understand. The cages for the dolphins were small and upsetting. We were given very little time with the dolphins. Lots of photos were taken by their photographer. Our cameras were not allowed. You can purchase a cd of the photos for 40$ for one person. It was 75$ for the three of us. After the excursion they bring you back and keep you around for about an hour hopin the longer you wait the more you will buy.
The only positive thing I can say is that the dolphins were amazing and beautiful creatures!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

45 minute swim with the dolphins.... AMAZING!!!
a life experience, it's a new full package program just 40 dollars more than a big group program... Worth every dollar more and much more!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We sailed by dolphin island while we were on a snorkeling trip. We passed by slow and close enough to see the terrible conditions these animals were being held in. The "pens" were about the size of a backyard pool, hardly enough for dolphins. We passed by in the middle of the day with many other boats but the place was empty. Hopefully they close up shop and release the animals. Very sad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Island also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Dolphin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.