We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (if you're a smoker)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uvero Alto Road | Playa Sivory, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent (if you're a smoker)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A lot to like in this hotel and just shy of being excellent
Pros:
- price
- size and quality of rooms
- great pool and amenities
- secluded beach, not too many people
- great all-inclusive plan
- automatic upgrade to ocean view when booking through slh.com

Cons
- two third of guests smoked (all French) and this almost ruined our vacation... It should be forbidden to smoke at the restaurant terrace and around the pool
- staff hardly spoke English
- food variety... Daily changing menus would be a good idea
- beach wasn't cleaned regularly

Overall we had a great time and would come back and/or recommend if forbid smoking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    148
    55
    45
    35
See reviews for
47
429
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a very enjoyable trip at a rather secluded resort. The resort is quite fancy and small. We were on our honeymoon and looking for time alone. The resort was perfect for us, though we did go during the rainy season, which created some cloud cover and a periodic shower.

The concierge and staff were very helpful. We had room service several times throughout the week. The maids also came by our room to check on us twice a day, in addition to putting out flowers and setting up a bubble bath for us.

The resort included three restaurants, one of which was more casual and available for all three meals. One was nicer and required nicer outfits (long pants for guys). The other was primarily Asian food. They were all good, though maybe nicer than we were used to eating regularly. However, we were able to get casual snacks at the snack bar in the afternoons also. We ate dessert at pretty much every meal, which was wonderful.

Franklin, one of the employees at the desk, helped us throughout the week. We were also able to find excellent excursions. One of the guys taught us how to scuba dive and set us up for a snorkeling trip off of Catalina Island. The concierge set us up for a trip around the island to see a local school and village, among other things.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience, since we were looking for a romantic getaway and quiet atmosphere, which was ideal with only approximately 10 other couples.

Room Tip: We were not on the beach, which did not bother us. We were on the second row, which was just as con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santo domingo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great place to escape the world´s hustle and bustle....and enjoy a very elegant, relaxing time at this boutique beach side hotel with beautiful suites, excellent dining, great wine variety and detailed attentions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sivory Punta Cana is definitely a luxury proprety! I do not know what other reviewers had to complain about with this property. Rooms are fabulous, beach and pool beautiful, food good to excellent but most importantly, the staff is incredible! Stayed for one week on Sivory AI Plan and wish we had stayed for two. Most calming, relaxing vacation ever. Who cares about nightlife? We had been working long hours and were desperate for a rest - this was/is the place to be rejuvenated. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: No need to have oceanfront room as second floor rooms in second row have wonderful views of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Sivory Hotel. We needed a restful, quiet place to decompress and boy did we get it and more. Thank you to Jose, Isilso, Maria, Jadry, Danny and everyone at the hotel for making our getaway just want we wanted. The food is divine. Don't miss the smoked salmon and Dominican breakfast! We sampled many wonderful dishes, such as paella, salted baked fish, ceviche, Red,White, and Blue Dominican chicken. The meal plan is the only way to go! Enjoyed the fresh coffee every morning from our balcony, enjoying the sea view. Rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and the shower (divine)! Top shelf liquors and wines abound. Sitting at the fresh, cool pool enjoying the view is what this place is all about. Moi Bueno, Sivory! We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Book a second floor room, better views. Splurge on sea front if you can manage. We were second row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm going to try and post pictures with my review that I did not see when I was looking at this resort.

First I have to say my wife and I just returned 2 days ago from a week at Sivory. We were on the meal plan and loved this resort. Most of the week we never saw more than 8 couples at the pool. It is very quiet, and the staff for the most part are very helpful. This is the perfect resort if you enjoy reading a book, sunbathing and having a few cocktails. If you enjoy super loud music people running around with shot glasses and lots of activities then this will not be your resort.

The food options are somewhat limited with only 3 restaurants, but after spending the past 3 years vacation's in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen I can say with all honesty that the food is of much higher quality then you will get at all inclusive's in Mexico. Do yourself a favor and get the meal plan so you don't have to worry about the cost of things at Sivory. We purchased our vacation through a third party website at about half of the list of Sivory sites and it automatically came with the meal plan so we didn't even get a choice.

Pros: Amazing rooms, good food, quiet, nice people, and overall a great place to spend some time away.

Cons: I have to say we didn't find many, but if I was going to nit pick these would be them. Bugs, sand fleas at the beach, and mosquitoes at Lavender Restaurant at night. Bug spray barely keeps them at bay. Because some people are on the meal plan and some are not you have to sign for everything. If you want one beer, they have to hand write a ticket and you have to sign for it. Arm bands would seem intrusive at this resort, but they have to come up with a way to tell who is on the meal plan and who is not, even it is just to save paper.

The only other thing I would say as an American is when you go, be prepared for everyone to move at a slower pace than you would expect. Everyone is on Caribbean time, life just moves slower. Every meal takes a minimum of 90 minutes to be fully served, sometimes 2 hours. Drinks can take 10 to 20 minutes to get to you. If you are just prepared for this then it is less irritating and makes your time more enjoyable.

Overall, if you want a relaxing quiet time, GO and take some high quality bug spray.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

They good - view from our room. We could see the ocean break from the bed in our room. We booked a first floor suite (all-inclusive).

The first day was great.

THE BAD - As day two came around our shower completely flooded our room, our mini fridge was never restocked after calling multiple times, the pool bar had a very limited drink selection (no tequila or Grey Goose). We were told there were 3 restaurants onsite and found that only 2 were open. The second night at dinner we tried ordering 6 glasses of wine that were included on the all inclusive and they did not have any of them. The food menu never changed and the people were fairly rude. We did get a refund on all of our unused nights and moved to Excellence which we would highly recommend.

For a supposed high end hotel and the rate we paid, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel

Address: Uvero Alto Road | Playa Sivory, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This welcoming AAA 4 Diamond awarded and member of SLH sandy beach hotel is high on style and comfort. East Asian influences are seen throughout combining the natural beauty of the eastern Caribbean with the style of a traditional Polynesian paradise. Each of the beautifully designed rooms features the finest furnishings and has a private balcony or patio. There are 3 unique restaurants including the AAA 4 Diamond awarded Gourmond restaurant and an extensive wine library housing an impressive selection of 8,000 bottles of the world's finest wine to enjoy, recognized with the Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" for 2013 and 2014. And the Aquarea Spa & Wellness Center, will help you achieve the maximum level of relaxation during your stay. Whether walking the pristine beach, lounging by the infinity pool or experiencing Caribbean-infused cuisine, you are guaranteed personalized service and exceptional luxury in a Adults-only environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivory Hotel Punta Cana
Sivory Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sivory Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sivory Punta Cana Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.