We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #28 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Bolton Abbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was by far the best holiday me and my family have ever been on the hotel was fantastic and the staff where even better we made friends with one inperticular that was Alejandro Beltran he had so much time for us and our family. If you need any trips speak to mr pinky who can also help you with sun creams and lilos. I should recommend that anybody goes here weather it's family or couples we will defo be going back three weeks next time thank you. Paddy duker

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Paddy D,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

Once more, is been a pleasure to have you in our property. Alejandro Beltran mention by you, will receive your regards and will be recognized for their good work.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time here with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,773
    2,020
    756
    372
    274
See reviews for
2396
2154
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I traveled here on the 5th June for 2 weeks, we were in Block 9 which overlooked the pool area. All the Brits seemed to be in either block 8 or 9 and block 9 also has the desk for the Thomson reps as well as a daily injection of coffee and cakes from Mikes coffee shop, a nice little touch after a hard day sunbathing.
Rooms were nice and clean as was the whole resort, staff were on the go all day and very friendly.
Food was good with plenty of choice for everyone, only thing that let it down was the bacon, one word, cremated.
We tried all the restaurants and our favorite was the Blue moon with the steak house running a close 2nd.the Mexican and Italian were good as well but sorry to say the service in route 66 let it down, we tried it twice and would never go back, and of course Mikes coffee shop, fantastic drinks and service. The sports bar staff we found to be quite rude and tended to serve the Brits last, ohh well not to worry once was enough for that lot.
Entertainment around the top pool was good and everyone seemed to have a great time,the only show we went to was the Lion King, not to our taste im afraid, but others seemed to be enjoying it.
The lobby bar area had either a singer or the guys dancing on a nightly basis, got a bit repetitive after a while, but they did draw in a crowd and we had a few laughs with them.
As for the guys in the lobby bar, they all worked their socks off, Sexy black, I miss you already, you make the best Lime Daiquiris in the world, you always had a smile and a hiya when we came to the bar, and never had to be told twice what we needed, they run a great team in this bar, sorry I cant remember all your names. Manuel who runs the pool bar in the quiet pool was also a star and make great drinks.
Stunning beach and yes you get asked to come in to view the venders shops on the beach, but a polite no thanks and they leave you alone, you also get the stalls set up 2 nights a week in the grounds around reception, same here, no thanks and they dont give you any hassle.
There are a couple of little buses that drive around picking you up from various areas around the resort, but to be honest it isn't that far to walk from the bottom to the top of the resort. On a Tuesday night all Thomson/First Choice holidaymakers have a special dinner on the beach, good chance to catch up with everyone.
There is also a daily free bus from the resort that will take you into the main shopping center where you can find all the designer shops with good prices. The bus leaves the resort 3 or 4 times a day and gives you a good 3 hours shopping, take plenty dollars with you as you will always find something to buy.
The room next to ours was being upgraded to a deluxe suite, I will post some picture as it was being done, stunning when complete.
We traveled from Glasgow on the Dreamliner "Alfie, all in all a good flight both ways, would defo recommend. If you have any questions please ask.

Room Tip: Pool view, Block 9 is good, email the Hotel with your choice, they do their best to get you what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Zargessa1,

First of all, thank you for choose Ocean Blue and Sand as your vacation destination and giving us your feedback.

We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and this achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.

Sexy Black and Manuel mention by you, will receive your regards and will be recognized for their good work.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time here with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just got back after a weeks stay at Ocean Blue. This was a trip for the family celebrating our sons high school graduation. Our son is 18, daughter 20 and my husband and I in our 50's, to give you an idea of where the comments are coming from. I booked us Dominican Airport Transfers for roundtrip transportation $79 RT for the four of us, best price and extremely prompt. When you do go to their counter in the airport, they will give you info for excursions and a form to fill out with your return flight info on it and make an appointment to meet one of their people in the lobby the next morning. Unless you want to sign up for the excursions, don't go down there. I didn't meet with them because I had my voucher for the return trip and did not want any pressure into signing up for an excursion.
Checking in was very easy and welcoming. We arrived a little early so the rooms weren't ready, but our bracelets were put on, we were told to grab something to eat and come back. When we went back to the desk, we were given the keys and a map of where to go, all of our requests were met. I didn't know what villa to ask for, but we got Villa 8, second floor, which was a request, one king room and one double queen, also requests. Villa 8 overlooked the grounds and the end of the pool, that was a perfect location and quieter than staying right by the pool. The four of us thought the rooms were very nice, beds comfortable, temperature comfortable, and plenty of bathroom accessories. Restaurants were good, not great, but didn't have a bad meal. We stayed at another H10 resort in Mexico, Ocean Coral and Turquesa, where the food was a lot better. You will not have a problem with the food, there are many types of restaurants or go to the buffet.
The entertainment group are "CRAZY" fun!!!! I would go back to this resort just to see this group again. Scoopidoo (Luis), Super Juan, Minnie Me (Sammie) are the three that we personnaly got to know, but everyone of those guys are great and just want to make sure you have fun and get involved. If you don't want to get involved, hide!!! They are very persistent into trying to make you play the games and have a blast, they will even remember your names. These guys work extremely hard all day and then at night. This is true for the entire staff, all of them work 12 days on and three off. The 12 days on are all day, bartenders could be at one bar during the day, then you will see them at a different bar at night. Look for Sexy Black at the main lobby bar, he's great!! Show your appreciation by giving them a couple dollars here and there, also your housekeeper, they do really apprciate it.
As far as all the H10 reps walking around, they are not annoying. This is their job and they have to approach guests asking them to listen to what they have to offer. We said no thank you and that was it, none were rude or pushy.
Last but not least, book puntacanamike.com for a tour!!!! We always try to do something other than the big tours with a lot of people and where every other tour company are. You will not regret it. Go on his website and read about him and his tours, I think you'll decide to book one. Hope this was a very helpful review.............don't be hesitant, it's a fun place and you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms are up by the restaurants, higher right at the pool. We were in 8 which was over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Luv2sunOIB,

First of all, thank you and your family for choose Ocean Blue and Sand as your vacation destination and giving us your feedback.

We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us.

Scoopidoo, Super Juan, Minnie Me and Sexy Black mention by you, will receive your regards and will be recognized for their good work.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time here with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd time at Ocean Blue and it is still our favorite. Although people have come and gone.... it stiill feels like coming home. Tha improvements to the lobby area are very nice. The grounds are impeccable, the people friendly, and all the workers from the bartenders to the entertainers are hard working and appreciative. Jose at the pool bar greeted us everyday with a smile... it was nice to reminisce with Sosa and Edwin in the lobby bar and they are still friendly and great to talk with.

Ocean Blue has always been our favorite resort and it was nice to return and share the experience with others that have added to our group. No complaints, no suggestions to improve, stay as you are and I hope to return soon.....

Marcie

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Marcie B,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation for the second time and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

Jose, Sosa and Edwin will receive your regards and will be recognized for their good work .

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time here with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ocean blue is a great place to spend your vacation. We were there in may for 2 weeks.i booked room with pool view. Once we checked in we got room in villa 9 , on the first floor, but whole room was outdated, kinda dirty and smelled like cigarette smoke, so I went back to the lobby and asked them to change room. They did give me room in villa 5 on the third floor, where rooms were great, new, clean, and with view on pool as well.
Beach is clean, 2 pools, housekeeping service is great.
All ala carte restaurants are included in price, they have Mexican, steak house, Italian, Dominican, mikes coffeeshop is great, so delicious.
Great buffet , huge selection, Italian section, steak, fish, fruits, omg deserts are divine, organic section too. Overall it was great.
Stuff is very friendly , only on the reception were kinda rude, but it still didnot ruin my vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Care a,

First of all, thank you for choose Ocean Blue and Sand as your vacation destination and giving us your feedback.

We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and this achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with a party of 19. All family kids included. The hotel was beautiful. the rooms were clean and very nice. the food is fair. it is normal for the islands. the service was great. we had fun at casino and the lobby bars. only thing I wish they would do is have a soda machine in the buffet area. it is so hot in the morning waiting for waiter service to get a cold drink was annoying but, besides that the overall trip was excellent and would go back here in a second. loved it.

Room Tip: all rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kathy H,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time here at Ocean Blue and Sand by H10. On behalf of all our team we would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your vacation and also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of 40 from Toronto and 40 from Vancouver went to this resort last week for my nephew's wedding and everyone at the resort went out of their way to make it a memorable trip for ALL OF US, not just the bride and groom.

The resort itself is stunning to look at and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are large, cool, airy, modern and well equipped. Each has a jet bathtub so bring your fav bath products. The fridge is stocked daily with loads of water, pop and beer. I left a couple of dollars inside with a note asking for milk for my tea and they accommodated me immediately. The beds are pillow top with heavy linen sheets and it was every so comfy for sleeping.

The pools are gorgeous and so is the beach. Unfortunately it's so hot down there right now that even the pool was warm and not very refreshing. That's not the resort's fault - that's mother nature! :-) The pools are so beautiful and well kept. Each (they are big and side by side) has it's own swim up bar with premium alcohol. I cannot fault the bartending staff. They were fast, efficient and polite with a plethora of awesome cocktails just waiting for you to try! Both the pools and the beach have loads of chairs but shade is a bit scarce.

The food was really, really good. They have a buffet at the beach for breakfast and lunch with so many choices. The Main buffet is open 3 times a day. There's always something cooking at the pool BBQ each afternoon. One can NEVER go hungry. Mike's coffee shop is open for those who want a frozen coffee, a frapp, a capp or just a plane old coffee. The donuts are delicious too! They have a great sports bar that you can always get pizza or sandwiches for a late night snack. My husband and I went to 3 a la cartes and loved each of them although our fav was the Steakhouse. The Mexican was delicious and the Mahi Mahi at Blue Moon was amazing.

There is snorkling, a casino, catamarans, billiards, a bowling alley and much more for families to occupy themselves. Great family place.

The wedding was beautiful and so detailed! I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get married at a destination wedding. This resort is in a class all of its own!

Room Tip: All rooms are near the pool or beach - nothing is very far to walk to ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Rickerby,

We are pleased to know that you along with your family and friends had a wonderful time here at Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 and we want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable for us.

On behalf of all our team we would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your vacation and also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.