We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High School Spring Break” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #28 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“High School Spring Break”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The grounds & pool where very nice. The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive. However, they moved us three times in one week. First room had only cold water, no lights or a/c. Second room was the same except there was hot water. Third room worked out well. Staff was pathetic with exceptions. Tipping not helpful at this resort.

Room Tip: Tipping not helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and especially for this Christmas.

We take this opportunity to thank you for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us and for letting us know some of those details, about your stay. We are sure that if you would stay in one room all of that would be taking care of but we did what we could to change you as you wished to different rooms. Nevertheless, we will put some attention to those specific areas mentioned by you to avoid happening once again .

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. We would like to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our relaxing property

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,780
    2,024
    756
    372
    274
See reviews for
2393
2153
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there in oct last year for two weeks room was ok maid very nice after tipping,mini bar a joke, only filled up after keep asking, food was so bland hard to find something nice to eat, had dodgy Stomach best part of the holiday as did 4 out of the party of ten. Full of loud mouth Americans young and old staff only interested if you tip them. Entertainment a right joke. Locals takeover the hotel at weekends and it can be intimidating,and know I am not easily intimidated, they take bags of food from the Restaurants they are like a plague of Locusts going thought the place. Sun beds lots of broken ones, we worked hard for this holiday will never ever go there again. Not worth the money don't go there you have been warned

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing your comments in regards to your stay with us. We apologies if this was not the vacation you dream of from the star but again out of the two thousand clients we do our best to try to satisfy every ones need, in fact we have 2 concierge walking the areas asking clients how they are to resolve problems or situations like this, still we could help you
Thank you for the time you take to share your opinion about how was your stay
Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a long awaited family vacation this came up short in our book. Guess we were more spoiled at the all inclusive we were at in Cancun. When we got there for checkin rom wasn't ready were to.d to recheck in an hour. The welcome person walked us to get something to eat walked away and the eatery was closing...think he would've known it was, he was friendly and persistent in trying to get us to purchase a privilege room and or a vacation rental which we did not go for either. Don't bother not much difference in rooms or service. We had a hiccup room safe kept going off needed to get serviced three times. Definitely not a sense of regency here. The food overall just ok, Italian place was closed for renovations. Grounds are pretty and well kept. Pool is nice with swim up bar. Entertainment guys were funny and lively. No towel depot by pool, have to walk Down by beach to get them. Beach is lovely no drink service get your own. Lot of young kids wished more of a adult entertainment.

Room Tip: Try for section 7 or 8 which is the middle of the property for closer walk to lobby and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing your comments in regards to your stay with us.
Thank you once more for sharing your remarks we would like to tell you that we will try our best to fix those things said by you in this comment for the best of our future clients.

Thank you for the time you take to share your opinion about how was your stay

Best regards.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a really nice time. Food was really good, only had a problem one night...it was very poorly organized at the Mexican restaurant, apparently because too many prestige clients made reservations there that night...once we got in it was great. The included restaurant at the beach was not crowded at all, and great! The market next door was fun to bargain in when the weather wasn't the best. We walked for miles along the beach and really enjoyed the ocean. The snorkeling wasn't the best though...the entertainment was good, the H10 thing when you arrive is a vacation sales thing, and took way too long, although it may be a good deal if you travel with lots of people...all in all it was great value, and a nice vacation.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back on the market side, it was nice and quiet and had a nice forest view, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are pleased to know that you along with your family you had a wonderful time here at ocean blue and sand .We are happy to know that our restaurants policies where of your choice and the worker were very helpful despite the inconveniences that night. Now On behalf of Ocean Blue and sand by H10 We would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your vacation and also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,

management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall this all inclusive resort was very good. Positives include variety of restaurants, cleanliness of rooms, variety of entertainment. High ratings for the pools, fantastic access to the beautiful beach, and the reception area where there is a fun bar, plenty of comfortable seating and open air concept.

The major concern would be that it is a mecca for spring breakers (high school-college). You will be taking your chances on encountering a rowdy crowd. This may effect your sleep as there were many times loud kids were making noise late into the night. Also, there were far too many soliciters bugging you to buy, buy, buy!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We came to Ocean Sand by H10 with 25 friends for our wedding. Yinette made it easy to figure everything out and helped us every step of the way. We had a gorgeous ceremony and reception. The photos turned out great!

We're only 6 days into our 2 week trip and it's amazing! The staff is so friendly and always remember you wherever you go. Mini-me aka Samuel and willy wonka have gone out of their way to make everyone have a great time. They always find my 69 year old grandmother and get her dancing and having fun.

Mike's coffee bar is delicious! A must stop everyday after breakfast. Great cold or hot coffee and desserts.

Overtime sports bar has great late night snacks and pool tables.

We've been at 3 of the a la cartes so far, the steak house, Italian and American. The American wasn't my favourite but the other two are great. Still have to try the Seafood, Mexican and Dominican but we hear they're great. The seafood has an extra charge per person but we really want to try a fresh Dominican lobster.

Everyday after lunch there are games and competitions by the pool. It's always lots of fun and you can win some rum!

Definitively a place worth coming back to! Just wish there were bigger waves in the ocean for boogie boarding!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
On behalf of Ocean Blue and sand by H10 we are delighted to know that you found our property very enjoyable and that after visiting so many resort you have found a great resort here at ocean blue and sand we are glad we have meet your expectations.. We are honored and want to thank you once more for choosing us and for sharing you experience with the rest of the world about your weeding here at ocean blue and sand.

We will give ginet and mini me and wily wonka your regards.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from my vacation @ ocean blue I have to said that I had a great vacation, the food was good. Our room was really nice, clean , new and I didn't find any difference from the privilege rooms. The people really nice and friendly specially Wilma, Roberto from the kids club they treat my daughters really nice. The beach is beautiful , nice pools etc. the restaurants really good and good service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
On behalf of Ocean Blue and sand by H10 we are delighted to know that out of all the other amazing resort you found our property and country very enjoyable and that we have met your expectations. Is for us a pleasure to know that the employees were polity and kind to you and. we want to thank you so much for choosing us and for sharing your experience with the rest of the world.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
Free internet...
Show More
6.7 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#23 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,283 reviews
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
#17 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 12,062 reviews
Pool, Luxury, F...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Now Larimar Punta Cana
#14 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 6,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Pool...
Show More
10.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana
#46 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 5,638 reviews
Beach, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
#19 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 2,633 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
#16 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.