We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Airport Transfers!
Ranked #28 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the most relaxing vacation! This was our first trip to the DR, and I have to say that I would not hesitate to return to the Ocean Blue. Rooms were very clean and maid service was prompt. We really enjoyed the staff who encouraged you to participate in games and activities! Jack Michael was a joy to be around, and he really has a gift at making you laugh and have a good time. Angel was interesting to speak with, and made you feel "at home". The food was very good. Thank you Ocean Blue staff for such a wonderful vacation!!!! Keep the great staff that you have, they are all keepers!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the Villa by the pool. It is centrally located between the beach and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing your comments in regards to your stay with us. We will give angel, jack Michael from the entertainment your regards and encourage them to keep the good work.

Thanks once again for your wonderful comment about this place.

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,491
    1,908
    714
    361
    263
See reviews for
2208
2029
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went with my family for a weekend. Very good hotel for family vacation. I love of this hotel that you don't need to do reservations for the specialty restaurants just show up and make the line that moves very quickly, the steakhouse restaurant the best one an the hostess and waitress the best attention they are great, the second night we went to the Italian not very happy the don't ask if we want to drink anything when I complaint about this to the hostess the waiter Kevin allegedly without intention hit my head to much coincidence for me after my complain when he brings the drinks I did not have a good time there. The pool really nice and clean the only problem that i found is that you have to take a longggg walk to get pool towels and because of the hotel was full i have to go three different times to see if they have towels because they just tell me the hotel is full no towels right now available this is not OK they should be prepare to have the hotel full an deliver enough pool towels. The main restaurant not so many option to eat but its ok. About the room I must say was really nice, big, clean and comfortable but I should mention that they should repair the glass that separates the bath tub when you have a shower all the floor gets wet very dangerous when you are traveling with kids. The animation is not good at all.The beach is great I will come again. Price versus quality is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
First of all we want to thank you so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 and We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your remarks as this feedback helps us to improve our level of service making special emphasis in these areas of opportunities mentioned by you in your valuable comments. We want you to know that we will take your recommendations into consideration, the actions from the waiter as well and the themes restaurants, so for your next time you come you are able to appreciated and see the difference. We feel sorry you did not have the chance to enjoy the entertainment like everyone else did hope you get to enjoy it next time.

It will be our pleasure if you give us the opportunity to host you once again to show you a whole different an unforgettable vacation.

Receive our warmest regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 week in February at this resort along with 39 others attending our daughter's wedding. We had a fabulous time and the weather was great. The grounds were kept immaculate, the hotel lobby had lots of ambience, the pools are clean and laid out nicely. You can have a quieter area or more party atmosphere. It's your choice. The staff is friendly and very interactive. A little too pushy at times but you know they are just trying to do their job. Lots of choices of restaurants and the option of the buffet. Only downside is that pre-reservations are for those that pay extra. Nightly shows and evening entertainment in the lobby plus a disco. Rooms are located in the Villa's with their own courtyards and very spacious for 2 persons. The beach is long and great for a walk.

The wedding went off without a hitch. I highly recommend the staff at the spa for the bride and bridesmaid to get their hair and make-up done. They are very professional and don't "over do it". The wedding gazebo is down close to the beach. The only downfall is that you have on the left side all the sunbathers and on the right you have the dive shop. So know that people are around for when you want to take pictures. However it is a beautiful setting with a cocktail reception on the beach. The hall was decorated simply but in a beach theme with an abundance of food choices for the buffet (different from the regular buffet restaurant). I believe everyone had a good time at the wedding.

This resort is a great choice for Punta Cana and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to really thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 for the first time, We are very glad that you and your husband along with the other 38 person, choose Dominican Republic as your holiday’s destination especially for your daughters weeding celebration and for sharing what wonderful time here with you had with us.
We would love to welcome you once again into our beautiful resort Ocean Blue and Sand.

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Ocean Blue 3-3-13 to 3-10-13 The hotel was lovely. The grounds were very pretty. Our room was a good size and nice, the bed was comfortable. The maid was awesome her name is Santa. We had issues with the door lock twice, but they took care of it. The staff was friendly ,the players were alot of fun especially Jack Micheal and Franklin. We made it to one show and they did a great job. The food was interesting pretty good for the most part. We traveled with Apple Vacations, the rep Romer on the property was very helpful. Our balcony faced a sevice road and the next resort, It was quiet, so it wasn't to bad. Over all had a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Please receive from ocean blue and sand by h10 our warmest regards and gratitude for the positive comments made by you on this web site.

Knowing the level of satisfaction that we have achieve in our clients encourage us to keep up the good work and exceed your expectation with effort every day. We will give your regards to franking and jack Michael.

We hope to receive you a once more here at ocean blue and Sand.

Best regards.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and clean. Food is mediocre, except for the Dominican restaurant. It's very good and the service is great. The seafood one, where non VIP pay $40 p/p, is Terrible. Lobster not so fresh. Slow service. And the location is silly. The shows were good. The beach is beautiful and clean. There was always lounge chairs available. At some point you will be asked to buy a time share. The staff, overall, wasn't very pleasant. I'll take eh food, eh shows and eh entertainment, but I want great service. Bar tenders don't engage, servers flat out ask for tips, and wait staff make you wait. When ordering a drink out to eat, just order two for yourself. I left two painting I bought at the aggressive art fair they have on the weekends, and left them behind. Fortunate for me, my uncle was going to the hotel the week after me. My paintings never showed up. Emails went un answered. Calls conveniently disconnected numerous times. It's a shame, because we bought hem to commemorate my sons first bday. I did leave the cleaning person a total $10 over the 4 day stay, but I guess it didn't matter. Overall I was not a fan. I prefer majestic colonial.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and up. 4 is directly between food area and pool/beach. No elevators in three story buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Resort itself is pretty much what you can expect from a Dominican Resort, food was good not great, clean rooms but not pristine. We upgraded to the Privilege Suite not worth the extra dough. They claim to provide a higher level of service but we didn't receive it. It took 3 days and 10 phone calls to get an extra pillow. We tip pretty generously so I would have thought they would have been jumping at the chance to serve.

It is a smaller resort but big enough to provide a variety of restaurants, pool area is very nice with plenty of loungers both around the pool and the beach. The privilege area is difficult to get a cabana as guest drop towels to reserve them the night before and they remain unused for the majority of the day. Can't fault the resort for this but they shouldn't allow people to do it.

One major complaint is the Casino but the solution is just to avoid it. It is tough to win in any Casino but this one is impossible, the rules are a moving target with these guys and they will take your money when you lose and try to take your money even when you win. We did play the first two nights and that was enough. The casino staff is poorly trained and the Pit Boss /manager is the biggest thief of all. While playing Caribbean Poker I witnessed three occasions whereby the players had to argue with the dealers for payouts when won, they consistently short change customers when cashing out and the Pit Boss/manager is an arrogant bully. The casinos in Dominican are not regulated by any sort of governing body and completely take advantage of the players. Do yourself a favor and stay away from the Casino.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had the most amazing honeymoon. The beach area was stunning. We liked the split pool areas. One was quiet and the other was the lively part. The rooms are big and have everything you need. The maid service was excellent.
We enjoyed the entertainment some shows are better than others but the team couldn't do enough for you. The food was the best I have ever seen. We liked the a la carte restaurants the Dominican and Italian was our personal favourites. Last but not least the cocktails in reception bar what can I say other than 1 st class service and tasty.The only problem we had was with the tour company Thomson, the rep was never there and had horrible service on the flight coming home . Other than that I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 for your most wonderful review and for sharing with others the variety of things to do here at this hotel. We are glad that you had the chance to enjoy the a la carte restaurants that we have available. We are also glad you found property cozy and the staff very enjoyable and friendly.

We most gladly will like to welcome you once more again in our beautiful resort.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort
Ocean Blue Golf & Beach Resort
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Ocean Blue Golf
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.