We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip. looking forward to going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great trip. looking forward to going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Blue and Sand a couple of years ago. I loved it! I will be making another trip this winter! Everything was great. The food, the drinks, and especially the staff. Friendliest staff in Punta Cana! The animation team was great too. I especially liked the Dominican restaurant, the steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant. There was a waiter there named Luis Laurencia. So sweet and fun. I hope he still works there. Only complain I had was that our shower in the bathroom leaked which made everything smell a little moldy and triggered my allergies. Hopefully that won't be a problem again. But truthfully I didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Please receive from Ocean Blue and Sand by h10 our warmest regards and gratitude for the positive comments made by you on this web site.

Knowing the level of satisfaction that we have achieve in our clients encourage us to keep up the good work and exceed your expectation with effort every day.

We hope to receive you and your family once more, here at ocean blue and sand. The next winter as well we will give your regards to Louisa from the restaurants and the entertainment teen.


Best regards.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,003
    2,106
    784
    379
    285
See reviews for
2,526
2,246
63
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I have been twice to the Ocean Blue in Punta Cana,and we had a great time on both trips.
The resort is beautiful and the staff is the friendliest staff we have ever come across in an all inclusive resort. If you go you have to look up Reginaldo (Reggy) or Roberto,they work very hard to make your trip unforgettable and will keep you entertained.The bartenders in the the lobby, Sosa,Bernito and Henry were excellent,and there boss Sondra is the hardest working boss I ever seen.The pool bartenders Manual and Edwin remembered us and remebered what we were drinking the first time we visited. We highly recomend this resort if you are looking for a nice relaxing vacations.

Big POPI

Room Tip: Villa 6 is nice for the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

We will for sure give Reginaldo , Roberto and the rest of the bars employees mentioned by you in this comment your regards. Once more, is been a pleasure to have you in our property. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time with us

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

12 of us girls went here to celebrate our graduation of Nursing School. We had the best time ever! The rooms were clean, our air conditioning worked a little to well, the food was great, and the entertainment was awesome! CANDYMAN, Willy Wonka, and Mini Me were exceptional!! They really made sure we had a great time and included us in all kinds of activities. Vladimir was a wonderful bartender who you can find at the front pool bar. The food was great. Very surprised the buffet was actually really good!!! We had trouble getting into the steak house but wasn't a big deal for us we just went to the mexican or italian place. Rey the resort manager was always checking on us ensuring we had a great time. We loved it and would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 4 with pool side view which we really enjoyed cause it was half way to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank You so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10, for your most wonderful review and for sharing with others you Amazing experience here with us, we are also happy to know that you found the property very enjoyable and the staff of the activities department of Ocean Blue friendly as well. We will give to all of them and as well Reginaldo the concierge your regards.

We most gladly will like to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The grounds and layout of the resort are excellent. The food was mostly good - if slightly over-salted. The rooms were decent - the linens and pillows were barely mediocre. If you do not upgrade to "Priviledge" you do not get free wifi - and have to connect in the lobby.

The beach was nice, and though we saw guards posted, vendors still came through and bothered us. Speaking of vendors - the resort actually allows them to come in and set up around the main area where the lobby & restaurants are located. The vendors were pushy, rude and one grabbed my arm.

The staff was just OK. Most spoke very good English. One maid told my traveling partners that she was going on vacation the next day - they tipped her, then saw her working the next several days in another part of the resort. I had one of the cooks in the beach buffet very crudely and inappropriately proposition me.

The cigar shop was great, the bars were plentiful, however there was no single malt scotch to be found. A cigar and no scotch? (Only blends).... ALSO - beer....only the local Presidente - and I saw regular Budweiser a few times.

Overall - the infrastructure was nice - food was plentiful and decent. Spa was nice and good service. I probably wouldn't go back, and would try a different place.

Travel to and from the airport was through Prieto - they were EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Priviledge and get 2nd or 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
First it is a pleasure for us that you have chosen Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 as your holiday destination. We would like to clarify to you that the vendors only are allow to come in the patio area between the lobby and restaurants only twice a week for the safety of our clients, and by the beach only two tables likewise. In the other hand we will talk to their manager to avoid further inconvenience in their behavior. Concerning the scotch we do have Scotch whisky probably a different brand than the one you expected. Also there is always Budweiser in the bars and corona in the Mexican restaurant. As well we will like to let you know that the improvements in our restaurants and changes in the resort are constant for the pleasure of our clients thanks to your comments made in this page.

Thanks once more for the details about your vacation mention by you in this review, we look forward to see you again here with us.

Best regards.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you are thinking about this hotel. BOOK IT. I have two approaches to my holiday:

Holiday with a family of 40 - Amazing. This hotel were able to accomodate all our request. The staff were friendly and accomodating, informative and friendly. A special mention to Reginaldo H Morel and Evans who were very accomodating. They rooms we clean and as always there were one or two minor problems, but these were rectified within 10mins of a call to reception.

Wedding - When i was trying to decide where to get married, i fouind it hard to find good reviews. I highy reccommend Ocen Blue and Sand. Yinette the Wedding Planner, was amazing. I was a bit nervous what facilities we would be able to get and how it would work, but she made everything happen like clock work and I dont have a single refret for the day. The only downfall (and this is minor) is that the ceremony on the beach isnt very private, but when you are in the moment you don't even notice the people there. It honestly was more than i expected.

I absolutely reccommend this hotel to anyone..so book it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are pleased to know that you along with the 40 members of your family you had a wonderful time here at ocean blue and sand now on behalf of Ocean Blue and sand by H10 We would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your vacation weeding also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor. We will give your regards to Reginaldo and Evans on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went to Ocean Blue in Punta Cana for a week with 3 other friends in November 2012. The hotel is very nice with spacious rooms and well kept grounds however it is one very large sprawling resort so be prepared for long walks to get to the beach or to the restaurants.
Now for the service...even when we tipped trying to get drinks at the bars or restaurants was a real chore. I have never been to a resort where I had to wait 20 minutes for a drink...and half the time you had to flag down a server to get one as they couldn't be bothered to ask you if you wanted anything. The only server who showed us excellent service was Louis in the beach restaurant...always came over to chat and when he saw our glasses getting empty he always came by with fresh drinks.
The food was a major disappointment...for such a nice resort, I was surprised at how bad the food was. The lack of seafood choices was especially surprising...when they did cook fish, it was undercooked and mushy. Go to Mike's for drinks and snacks, it's the best place at the resort...great smoothies!
The entertainment staff, while hyper and enthusiastic, were beyond annoying. Some of them were overtly obnoxious by trying to grope you and dance suggestively with you. Maybe some people are into that but I found it to be gross. Also not sure why everyone thinks Willy Wonka is so funny...we found him to be quite creepy!
On a side note, if you want to venture off the resort and go to a nightclub, go to the cave called Imagine...the music is amazing and where else can you say you went dancing in a cave? The Hard Rock hotel also has an excellent nightclub so check that one out as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We take this opportunity to thank you for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us and for letting us know some of the details about your stay , we do respect your point of view about the food and the waiting in line to get a drink but as you well know this is a facility that is capable of holding around 2000 people therefore trying to serve all this people at once at some point there should be some waiting on line that we try our best to control .will definably work on those details for the best of our clients . Please keep in mind that the occupancy at the resort always varies.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. We would like to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our relaxing property in. order to change the perception you may have.

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was a great trip! The resort was very nice and clean. The rooms were nice and the maids did a great job. Rafael took amazing pics of us that we love. Renaldo helped make my daughters 21st birthday special. The entertainment staff was so much fun! Candyman, DD, Jesus and Willy Wonka made sure we had fun. Yenisse is who we miss the most it was a pleasure to meet such an intelligent you lady. My daughter and her are close in age and they had a great time. We miss her terrible already and have only been home for a few weeks. I recommend going to Ocean Blue!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to really thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10. We are very glad that you choose Dominican Republic as your holiday’s destination for the first time for your daughter 21 birthday and that you has found great variety of thing to do here with us. We are also pleased that you had a good time with some of the workers like Reginaldo morel, mini me, dd, yanisee ,jesus and the rest of the entertainment staff also that you have taken the time to share with others what a great time you and your family had here with us.

We will be more than glad to welcoming you again here with your family and friends at Ocean Blue and Sand.


Best regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.