We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$146 (USD)
Ranked #28 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Retirement vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Wonderful, fantastic, fun, etc. time which I will never forget. Food was very good at buffets and restaurants on resort. Pools and swin up bar was GREAT AND EXCITING! Always something to do and participate if you wanted. Water aroebics was very refreshing and instructor Emanuel very good. Rooms were nice, except walking on grounds and in lobby very slippery was dangerous. The entertainment with the staff was fun and wonderful. they made you feel so welcome especially Minnie Me Samuel he was life of party. Dont get rid of him never coming back in a few months. Bartenders in lobby Sonia, Francesca, Eddy, Sexy black, Berlado they made me and girlfriends vacation. Also disco was great went every nite just about. We didnt want to leave but planning to come back in a few months with a gang hopefully. Thank you for a memorable vacation which we wont forget!.

Room Tip: Villa 4,5, and 6 by pools and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
On Behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand we would like to thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to know that we accomplish our commitment of provided you and excellent experience and good memories, along with most of our employees you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We will send your regards to the employees on your behalf and encourage them to keep up their good work thanks again for your contribution on this page and for coming to our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,766
    2,024
    753
    372
    273
See reviews for
2389
2151
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Twp. MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from a great vacation at Ocean Blue and Sand (May 9-16,2012). Perfect weather every day, and evening which helped make the resort show it's charm even more. It was our 4th trip to DR, and 3rd to Punta Cana, and 3rd different resort in Punta Cana. Although we enjoyed all of our previous resorts a lot, we like to try new places, so we gave Ocean Blue a shot. We were not disappointed. It is truly a very a nice resort, and will recommend it to our friends. Upon arrival we were greeted by our first of many cheerfull hotel staff Pablo our bellman. Check-in went smooth, followed by our first of many refreshing cocktails (a blue tropical something that hit the spot, after our long journey from Michigan USA. A very friendly Mr Magic Man (Amerikas) gave us our resort welcome info, and directed us to the mini shuttle tram, and to our room. It is a rather large resort, so the shuttle was nice for that first day with our luggage, We liked to walk, so we didn't use the shuttle again until we were leaving. There are 10 buildings with lodging, #'s 1-6 on one side, and #'s 7-10 on the other (#1-2-3 & 7 closer to the restaurants and lobby, and #4,5,6,8,9,& 10 closer to the 2 large pools. Building 6, 7 & 10 are closest to the beach. We were in building 5 which worked out perfect for us because we were very close to both pools, and not too far from the beach, which made it convenient. Our room was on the first floor (we would have preferred 2nd, or 3rd), but we ended up liking the location, as it was easy to go to and from the pool, which was only steps away. Poolside view would have been better. Even though our room faced some trees, bushes, and a small access path/road, it was pleasent, and quiet, and we enjoyed morning coffee, and afternoon beer or pop on our porch/balcony. Initially we were a little disappointed in our room. It was not quite as new, or modern looking as our previous Punta Cana resort rooms. It was darker furniture and overall the room was not very bright or colorful. Also, it had 2 beds, rather than the King that we requested. Before we unpacked we returned to the front desk, and were told that they were sold out of kings, but they would try to accommodiate us with a king in a day or 2 when one became available. We decided to go with the flow and keep it, and make the best of it so that we could settle in, unpack, and not have to deal with repacking, and changing the next day. I am sure that we could have gotten a king the next day if we would have insisted, but we sort of got used to the room and it worked out ok. We would not call the room a 5 star, but it was nice, and clean, and very comfortable. The bed/beds and pillows were comfortable. We received pretty good reception on the TV but the refridgerator could have been colder. There were ice machines there but most didn't have any ice in them. At least building 5's ice machine never had ice. The bathroom was excellent with a Jacuzzi tub (did not use), and shower. The duel sinks were nice. All in all, the room was adequate - we were so busy we only slept there anyway. It was nice, but I don't want to over sell it. Our maid (forgot her name), did an excellent job daily.

Now everything else about the resort we felt was excellent. We loved the 2 large pools. they are the best that we have ever experenced in Punta Cana or Mexico. It is a family resort, so each pool had a great shallow end for kids (even very young), and the rest of the pool for adults (and older kids). We especially liked that the water came right up to the pools edge. We took a plastic blowup lounger type raft which we spent many hours floating around on. They do sell them in the gift shop, but are a little cheaper back home (but also adds a little weight to your luggage). The swim up bars were great - no poolside service though. The poolside staff that offered lots of fun activities, such as daily water aerobics. We did put our towels on our poolside chairs by 8am to get the spot we wanted with an umbrella, but we did hear a few people go out about noon, and complain that the best spots were taken. We thought that the food was good at all the restaurants. It was tasty, and plentiful, with a good variety of choices and accommodating staff. The only restaurant that we had to make reservations at El Bodegon the Steakhouse, which does not have a good system for reservations. You have to be at one of the Lobby Desks by 8am for the day of the reservation (I was there at 7:50am and was about 10th in line). All the 6pm seating was sold out to the "Privileged Customers" who could make advance reservations (it seemed unfair, although they did pay more for this privilege). By the time I got to the front of the line even the 7:30pm time was taken. We had to book for the 9pm time which is later than we prefer. But we worked around it and enjoyed our meal, and service. We did talk to some people that were very unhappy with this setup, and just gave up trying to eat there. The other restaurants we just walked up and put our name on the list, and got a table after about a 30 min. wait. We got a drink in the sports bar and enjoyed the beautiful evening outside on a patio while we waited. What's the rush-we are on vacation! The staff throughout were good. Yohan in the sports bar was especially great, and accommodating. As soon as he saw me walk in, he has my glass of Tinto (red) wine waiting. We also enjoyed our meals and service at the American, Italian, and Dominican Restaurants, as well as the buffet. There was a Seafood specialty restaurant that we did not eat at - it was an additional $40 per person and we opted to skip that one.

The lobby bar was a fun place for pre and post dinner drinks. They always had entertainment with dancing after the evening show. Bernardo was always fun and worked his butt off keeping up with all the drinkers. This was the best lobby bar that I have seen in Punta Cana-always fun and lively,with plenty of that Latin music filling the air. Mike's Coffee Cafe was a must stop daily. Misael makes the best coffee drinks, and always was glad to see you. Randol, was our excellent waiter for our good meal at "Margarita" the Mexican Restaurant. At least once a day we were greeted by Reginaldo Morel who always had a smile and fun comments to say, and checking to see if we needed anything. He was the Concierge for the Apple customers. He invited us to a special dinner at the beach for Apple customers. The food and entertainment were great. The exercise gym was nice, the grounds were beautiful, and well maintained. I hope that you can tell that I like the Ocean Blue and Sand. I can't wait to return. I am just a customer, but have traveled a lot, so I know good hotels from bad. I think this resort has a lot to offer, especially if you like a great pool.
The resort is not perfect, and has some room for improvement, but they are doing a lot right.

The one big negative is the constant attempts by H10 sales staff tryinng to set up a tour to try to sell you a Time Share type thing for return visits to their properties. They say it only takes a few minutes, but I know a few minutes ends up being a couple hours, so I avoided doing it. It may be for some, but I know that we are not interested. I did not want to waste their time or mine so I declined. They were nice, but made us feel a little uncomfortable. As I say that is about our only negative for the whole very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10. We are very glad that you choose Dominican Republic as your holiday’s destination. At the same time we are delighted to know that you have found the property entertain and the employees friendly and helpful. Thanks once more for taking the time to share with others what a great time you and your family had here with us.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again here with your family and friends at Ocean Blue and Sand.

Best regards


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon, and it was fabulous! Our room was right near the beach and pool. All of the employees were so friendly and helpful. The food was pretty good - especially at the Margarita and Bucanero restaurants! After 7 days of never-ending food and alcohol, I don't think we could ever go to a non all-inclusive resort. Of the resorts we saw during our trip, this one was definitely the nicest.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are convenient, but it's definitely quieter toward the other end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
On Behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand we would like to thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to know that we accomplish our commitment of provided you and excellent experience during your honeymoon, we are very glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thanks again for your contribution on this web page and for coming to our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Me and partner stayed at the resort for 2 weeks after reading all the good reviews we chose Ocean Blue and Sand. I can definately say we were not dissapointmented! It was even better than we expected and would definately recommend to all my friends and family. The resort is very close to the airport so the coach ride was only about 20 minutes which was handy after a long flight from the UK. Upon arriving at the hotel we were kindly welcomed and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We were then taken to our villa (villa 9) which is located right infront of the first pool. We were shown to our suite which was overlooking the pool. The room was massive and very clean and well decorated. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and two sinks as well. The balcony was a good size too and had a lovely view, we were both very happy.
The grounds of the villa were really well kept and had lots of pretty gardens and plants. The pools were very clean and the beach area was beautiful and not too busy at all. Yes there are a couple of people trying to sell trips etc but once they have asked you once they really do not bother you again. We used the buffet most nights as we thought the choice of food was brilliant and you there was always something different to have. We only used the Route 66 restaurant which was good, but you can get burgers just as good in the buffett restaurants, expecially the beach one. We spent a lot of time at Mikes Coffee Cafe, the coffee was so good and so much choice too and lots of lovely pastries and cakes to have! Not to mention the choice of drinks and cocktails, they were great but you must ask for Absolute Vodka as theyre home brand wasnt so good, but international brands were also included which was great.
The staff around the hotel were fantastic and so friendly and helpful, all the maids would said hello and smile every day which really does make a difference. Not to mention the maids did a great job to keep the room clean and tidy.
Overall a brilliant trip and would love to go back again sometime. I cant really understand the bad reviews as I could really pick out no bad points at all. Highly recommended and to all the staff, keep up the great work and thanks for making our holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10. We are very glad that you choose Dominican Republic as your holiday’s destination. We are delighted to know that you have found the property entertain and the employees friendly and helpful. Thanks once more for taking the time to share with others what an unforgettable experience you have had over here at your home away from home.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again here at Ocean Blue and Sand.

Best regards


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a great stay. The room was excellent, the pools were perfect, and the food was pretty good. We got an upgrade to a Privilege room because we booked through our timeshare (RCI), but what wasn't made clear to us was that we only got the room, NOT the extra Privilege amenities. This wasn't a big deal, but it was confusing. We were also confused about the restaurants - we thought they all needed reservations made in the lobby in the morning and that some had an extra fee. Turns out only the seafood restaurant on the beach had an extra charge (which I think you can only go to if you have an invite to eat for free anyway, which we had through RCI), but we didn't find this out until close to the end of our trip. We also still are not sure if you need to make reservations or not, but the Steakhouse you for sure do, but we did anyway. We only tried the Italian restaurant and Mexican and they were fantastic!! The buffets were decent, nothing super exciting, but I was well fed every day. The pools, beach, and bars were great. Like many people mention in reviews on all sites, you have to get to the beach extra early to get a covered spot. The pool is a little better, but you still have to be relatively early for an umbrella. The nightly entertainment was pretty good, some nights were better than others. A nice relaxing activity at the end of the night. It is easy to book activities at the resort - we used Tourisimo in the lobby for dune buggies and another company (I can't remember the name) in the lobby for parasailing.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
On behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 We would like to thank you for selecting our hotel and giving us the opportunity to host you. As well we would like to let you know that we are glad that you enjoyed the service given by our employees and the rest of the facilities. Thank you for sharing tips of your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Best regards,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just came back from this hotel yesterday. It was without a doubt the best hotel I have ever been to, the facilities, rooms , food and especially the staff were amazing.

Our room was huge, had a flat screen tv and jacquzzi bath, the maid we had was fantastic our room was spotless, as she came in an cleaned everyday.

The pools were very big and clean. We never struggled to get a sun lounger. The beach was beautiful and again never struggled to get a sun lounger. There have men from pelican water sports walking around to sell water sports etc, we met a lovely young man called Mr.Blue he was extremely welcoming, we loved taking to him, we booked a speed boat and snorkelling activity with him, it was such a fun trip, we drive the speed boats ourselves and saw some amazing fish. We also booked another activity thorough our uk rep we did the outback safari this was also very good, they take you into the mountains where you go and see a typical Dominican house and school very informative and interesting we also went to a lovely beach, our guide was called George and he really made the day even better.

The restuarants with lovely, we especially loved mikes cafe we went there everyday And had a frozen capocinno. The sports bar was a great place to chill have a few drinks and play cards, the bar man Yoeun was very good and defiantly made the best cocktails in there.

The hotel was amazing and we really enjoyed our holiday the only negative that I can say is that there were a lot of Americans there and they were VERY loud at times!

Would defiantly go again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time here at ocean blue and sand By H10. On our behalf we would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel as your Holidays destination and also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Best regards,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We went to the Dominican Republic last August and stayed at the Ocean Blue and Sand hotel. We are a family of 5 and had adjoining rooms which was perfect for us. The rooms were very spacious and had everything you needed and more. The hotel was amazing, the staff very friendly. We were there when huricane Irene came and were looked after very well, we felt the staff were in control and kept us informed of what was going on.

The waiters in the restuarant were really lovely and couldnt do enough for you, in particular Santo, he was so friendly and very good with the children.

The food was excellent as were the drinks. The beach is as you see in brochures just beautiful. We will definitely return one day soon hopefully.

The one thing I would say is not to get caught up in the sales people trying to sell you a form of TIMESHARE, just say no, we spent one whole day with them being told we were VIP's but when it came down to it they wanted £20,000 there and then to secure the so called timeshare. Once you say no they dont bother you again and you can enjoy your holiday.

Bucks fizz in the morning on arrival in the restaurant - what can I say.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
On Behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand we would like to thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to know that we accomplish our commitment of provided you and excellent experience, we are very glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
We will send your regards to Mr. Santos on your behalf and encourage him to keep up his good work.
Thanks again for your contribution on this web page and for coming to our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.