We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Save Saved
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
waterloo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our travel agency recommended this family resort to us. We have travelled to Punta Cana a couple of times staying at 4.5 - 5 star resorts over the years and wanted to show our children how beautiful Punta Cana truly is. After reading all of the great reviews, we decided to book this resort. My husband and i were travelling with our 16 year old daughter and 11 year old son. The resort is very beautiful, the rooms are clean but not fancy and the food is good. We found the buffetts very good over the restaurants. The pools and beach are gorgeous. The kids enjoyed Mike's Coffee place and the indoor bowling alley and pool tables. We were travelling from March 7th to the 14th. Part of this time was during the March break. We expected the resort to be at full capacity but was very disappointed in the lack of service. The resort was not staffed accordingly for the march break which lead to some frustrations. As the week went on, the service did improve. Unfortunately there was a large University group in that was loud through out the day and all through the night, Our building was full of the students which lead to many sleepless nights. I was told that this hotel does not take student bookings or we would have booked somewhere else. The hotel scattered the students in a couple of buildings instead of putting them in one building. This was very disappointing after spending so much money to come to this resort. Everyone raves about the entertainers but they spent their time with the University students and not with the families and children when we were there. Other then that, we had a nice time, weather was great, resort was beautiful but would likely not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
First of all, we wouldl like to thank you for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 as your vacation destination, and at the same time we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your remarks to help us to improve our level of services, Making a day by day effort to innovate for the best of our guest.

We would like to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our relaxing property in order to change the perception you may have.

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,958
    2,090
    777
    378
    284
See reviews for
2512
2219
63
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Myself, my husband and our 10 year old daughter stayed here for Spring Break Mar 25- Apr 1. We have previously stayed at 4 other all inclusive hotels in Mexico and have traveled extensively worldwide. We used Cheap Caribbean again who we would recommend. We also booked private transfers which were well worth the money - clean new minivans and a fast trip to/from the airport.

Highs:
Beautiful beach, powdery fine white sand which shelves very gradually and is great for small children. Some seaweed after rain.

We had a Privilege room in Villa 10 (although we did not have the Privilege package) which was spotless, spacious and contemporary. Maid service was great.

Resort was well maintained and kept.

Staff were generally very friendly and really appreciated our attempts to speak Spanish.

Lows:

Food: Mexican was inedible. Route 66 was better but way below Applebee's standard. Dominican hard to judge not knowing what it should taste like- just OK. Italian bad too - lasagne very sweet and the seafood salad looked like bait leftover from a fishing trip. Didn't line up for steakhouse reservations - described to us by others as like Outback. Buffets better - wide selection and most seemed pretty freshly cooked.

Pool chairs: the usual game of bag a chair at 6am. First time we have ever had to lie on the sand at a resort - not a huge deal but an irritation nonetheless. There seemed to be space on the pool decks to add chairs.

Pool towels: only available at beach from 8am and then not always - more often that not the guy said it was 'Veinti minutos' for clean towels.....which really meant at least an hour. This was especially bad after rain when everyone had left towels out and needed replacements. Again no big deal but an irritation.

Entertainment: We traveled for Spring Break which may have changed the crowd/activities. But a lot of the entertainment was not family friendly : beer drinking competitions by the pool, thongs in dancers' costumes, the Ideal Couple 'Show' involved husbands simulating sex while their wife crouched over a chair to pop a balloon (with the entertainment staff joining in too). We left several shows and had to remove our daughter from the area around the swim up bar - at one point people were doing body shots. We chose this resort as it had kids' facilities and expected it to be more family friendly as a result. We were wrong! Every time we saw Mini Me he was leading a line of teenage/early 20s girls with a big smile on his face, laughing like a demented macaque.

Security: we had no problems whatsoever with vendors on the beach - a polite 'No gracias' and they left you alone. There was a security guard who wandered around the pool area particularly in the afternoon. He stared noticeably at the women sunbathing and we observed him put his sunglasses on to watch some women walk past and away from him. He made us feel very uncomfortable and his presence seemed unnecessary.

Flooring: the tile/marble floors were typical of a resort and like everywhere else became lethal when wet- and we had a lot of rain. What was unusual was multiple small steps and changes in floor level, which were hard to see. We saw many people fall, including a man who tripped and fell on his small son, and many on crutches - although I suspect some of these fell after the beer drinking competition! Despite the tram running frequently, I would not recommend this resort for people with mobility issues. There are also no elevators.

Overall, there was nothing to make us want to return. Just an OK vacation. If we return to the DR we will try another property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
First of all we want to thank you so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 and We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your remarks on this feedback helping us to improve our level of service making special emphasis on these areas of opportunities mentioned on your valuable comments. We want you to know that we will take your recommendations into consideration, so for your next time you come you can see the changes made.

It will be our pleasure if you give us the opportunity to host you once again to show you a whole different an unforgettable vacation.

Receive our warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a week long stay at the Ocena Blue & Sand in Punta Cana. The trip was fantastic. The hotel facilities are great and the staff is very warm, friendly ans welcoming. Jimmy Abel and the rest of the staff in the privilege club breakfast area were fantastic. I highly recommend upgrading to the privilege club so that you can take advantage of the prime beach location and the proximity to privilege lounge. All around great experience.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank You so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10, for your most wonderful review about your fantastic vacation experience and for sharing with others your Amazing memories through trip advisor ,

We will be more than glad to welcome you again here with your family and friends at Ocean Blue and Sand.

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent 8 days at the resort. I will start with the great. The beach was fantastic. It did not have a stone, rock or pebble for miles. We spent all of our time at the beach and never even dipped toes into the pool. The food was really good, not gourmet but plenty of choices with the restaurants and buffet. Food was not available late morning so pay attention to time. The pool area did get "r-rated" around 3 to 4 pm which included the workers.

The resort is showing wear and is older. Our ceiling had at least 15 repairs in it. Friend's ceiling leaked.

The servce is spotty and not the best. We had to wait about over 4 hours on the first day to get our room because it was not cleaned. Finally got into it around 6 pm. Frequently did not have towels or pillow cases. Most days our room did not get cleaned until 4ish pm. They just did not have enough workers for the amount of people at the resort. The price was reasonable so great service was not expected. We paid $5,350 for four people for one week which included non stop air from Detroit.

We enjoyed ourselves and loved the beach. The prices for jewelry, t-shirts, etc... were very high on the resort and off.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
First of all, we will like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 as your destination of your Holidays, and at the same time we will like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your remarks on this feedback helping us to improve our level of service making special emphasis on these areas of opportunities you mentioned on your valuable comments Making a day by day effort to innovate for the best of our guest.

We look forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Best regards,

Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London On
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Ill try to share our experiance at Ocean Sands from 3/24/12 to 3/31/12 sorry its long We had a great time at this resort beautiful grounds friendly helpfull staff large clean beach good food. But as any resort there is always room for improvement which I will touch upon in my review.

Checkin- We arrived late night around 1:30am so checkin was smooth & efficent we where tired so didnt go for food or drink just went to mini bar opened up a couple Presidentes & toasted the start of our vacation

Room- We where in Building 8 3rd floor poolside view so no complaints with that as others we had talked to who stayed on the outherside of this building complained of noise from road that leads to vender huts there so try to request poolside.
Room was large clean & modern with flat screen tv, mini fridge jacuzzi tub in bathroom which was a great way to spend a rainy day (wink wink )

Beds where comfortable but pillows horrible please management head this you need to get a pillow menu so guests can choose what kind of pillow you would like as it did make for a tough sleep for me not my wife as she likes a firm pillow I had to get creative by taking the 2 throw pillows of sofa & putting them in the pillow case to soften things up worked pretty well

Housekeeping- Maria was a gem left her little notes each day with tip sometimes just saying thanks other times asking for something I printed out spanish words to english so I had an idea what to write Had nice bed art done which is a nice little touch

Grounds Impeccable- clean well manicured grounds made a stroll a pleasant walk 2 large expansive pools both with swimup bars.Loved the fact that all the reasturants disco, shows excetara are located away from accomadations so it made for a nice quiet sleeping area for us
There is a tram that navigates the ground if you do not feel like walking, over all not such a large resort that is hard to walk so being in building 8 we where centre to everything

Beach clean & large enough that you didnt feel on top of everyone with powdery white sand , although it was windy most days so there was a little wave action but nothing that makes swimming hard beach bar & reasturant for small lunches close by could walk forever in both directions which was really nice in the morning

Loungers & cabanas- This is where its hit & miss lots of loungers if your at the beach by 8am but the cabanas for shade unfortunatly you need to be there by 7am to get them.We wernt real fans of the cabanas especially how there arranged palapas would be such an estetic improvement in our opinion. But unfortunatly you had play the towel game to get one or you would have no relief from sun. Pool longers for umbreallas much the same but mostly gone by 8am but could always find some without umbrellas

Food- although this subject is so subjective we found it good to excellent depending where you ate we ate dinners at the al lacartes Italin being our favourite steak house was good didnt like having to get reservations for this at 8am but in the end we ate there twice & enjoyed both dinners route 66 good mexican although the food was good margaritas where horrible & this was the only place we incountered indiffrent waiters

Buffett - only had 1 dinner there our last night ok, breakfast was good with omelete station although repetitive each day not a problem always changed things up overall breakfast & lunch met our expectations no one got sick so I figure thats a bonus right there

In closing - would we stay here again yes (Bring my own pillow lol)

Management- If you read these reviews let me commend your staff overall the friendliest staff at any resort we have stayed at you should be very proud of them . This resort in our opinion is so close to being 5* with a couple small improvements to help the overall experiance

1- Pillows please do something about this
2- Beach towels ran out a couple times small inconveniance but a towel hut by pools would be a blessing
3- make the steak house like everyother al lacarte with no reservations

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
First of all we want to thank you so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your remarks on this feedback helping us to improve our level of service.
As well we really want you to know that all your remarks will be taken into consideration in order to make the necessary adjustments to avoid future inconveniences.

It will be our pleasure if you give us the opportunity to host you once again to show you the changes made.

Receive our warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you are looking for a friendly and fun environment Ocean Blue is the place to be. They have the best staff in Punta Cana. This hotel is better than Riu, Barcelo Dominican beach and Barcelo palace. We had one of the best experiences in Ocean Blue than any other hotel that we just mentioned. The general manager Mr. Almonte takes time out of his day just to smile and ask you how is your stay. He is a perfectionist because you see him walking around the hotel to make sure everything is perfect. If you have the unique pleasure of getting a Privledge stay this is where you will meet one of the best customer representatives named Johnathan Ventura Diaz where he will make sure that your room and your experience surpasses your expectations. With your own personal butler named Luis Guerrero, he will make sure that your stay is very comfortable and also you have your own Privledge breakfast area where we had the pleasure of meeting Jimmy Aponte. Let's not forget about the cabanas by the beach and Triple A restaurants like the buccanero on the beach, route 66, steakhouse etc. We will be returning back to this hotel this year. we hope we will be seeing you by the beach as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you get privledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, General Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time here at ocean blue and sand by H10 on our behalf We would like to really thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel as your vacation destination and also for sharing your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcome you to your home away from home.

Best regards,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Definitely recommend Ocean Blue & Sand.
Definitely recommend PRIVILEGE STATUS as this gets you some great upgrades, including free in room wifi, included room service, and a fantastic breakfast.

Dinner was somewhat a disappointment, mostly because some of the food in the restaurants (particularly the mexican and american themed restaurant) seem to have processed food, which makes sense since it is an island nation. However dinner at El Bodegon (steakhouse) and Mascherati (italian) were both very good and I recommend waiting on those until the end of you trip.

Mike's Coffee came highly recommended and it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend going for "privilege" status at this resort. The upgrades are defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedicto A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
First of all we want to thank you so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 and We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your remarks on this feedback helping us to improve our level of service making special emphasis on these areas of opportunities that you mentioned on your valuable comments. We want you to know that we will take your recommendations into consideration, so for the next time you come you will see the changes made

We will be more than glad to host you again at your home away from home Ocean Blue and Sand by H10.


Receive our warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Lobby with Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;