We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than the expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Everything you need is in the hotel. Wonderful food. Helpful and cheerful staff. Cool animations, hot water in the ocean and great views. Necessarily in addition to Punta Cana you see other places. For those who dive, be sure to visit the reef at catalina island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that the excellent service of our friendly staff, our varied gastronomy and the beauty of our family friendly premises not only surpassed your expectations but also ensured you an unforgettable experience as we aim in Iberostar.
We will be happy to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us before arriving.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    884
    254
    70
    50
See reviews for
903
1149
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Obninsk, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed with the family for 10 days in November 2013. Very good!! Food, drinks, smiling staff, superb beach, the warm ocean! There is one little flaw: the absence of the service rooms for the money. After 12 hours of flight and the time difference with Moscow is 8 hours, I want to eat in my room and only to sleep!!! And here bummer - phone say - go to a restaurant and take good food and drink, and go to the room, we will not deny. To correct this situation and your hotel will be the best!!! Very happy Minibar in the room, but replenish it can be and every day! Especially in a room for three people with a kid! But it's not annoying, Everything is super, thank you for a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that your holidays among us were unforgettable as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We welcome you feedback about the possibility of offering Room Service. This suggestion has been shared with our Management team.
We will be glad to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed 7 nights(26/10 - 2/11) at the Iberostar Punta Cana through an exchange with our vacation club. We got a fantastic deal.The transfer from the airport to the resort went very well, check in very efficient and our room was ready at around 2 p.m. Speaking of the room, all I can say it was OK. Room 5235 does not have a great view but when you are at Iberostar in Punta Cana you want to spend your time at the Bavaro beach. The mini bar was well stocked every day but the Brahma beer from Brazil was too light. We would have preferred the Presidente in cans.

We enjoyed the privilege of having access to both the Punta Cana and Dominicana buffets(the Higuey and the Hispaniola), their lobby bars and restaurants. The choice of drinks and food was very good. Top brand alcoholic drinks were available at the Dominicana Lobby Bar. I love my scotch on the rocks or a gin and tonic before dinner. My wife likes her pina colada with a hint of Baileys instead of tequila. We had dinner at the Sibila Gourmet Restaurant and really loved the lobster . Dinner at the Pagoda was also excellent: the seafood appetizers were very good, specially the tender slices of octopus! The weakest link among the three restaurants we reserved was the El Marinero but it is a great buffet by the beach during the day with lots of entertainment. The paella with lots of langostas, mussels etc.on Tuesday was a real festin, specially when accompanied by one of our favorite drinks, the spanish sangria. Ole! For our afternoon coffee or expresso, we chose the cute and quiet El Cana by the beach.

We did visit the small and quite adequate gym to get rid of all these calories!. Now let's look at other positives other than food and drink.

1. The Bavaro beach is magnifico. The crystal clear water, the long white sand beach, the big blue sky is so relaxing that its reputation is known world wide. There were enough lounge chairs under the the straw umbrellas at the beach or around the huge swimming pools of both resorts to accommodate everyone.

2. The grounds, the landscaping, the coconut and palm trees and numerous tropical bushes and trees are out of this world. All this well taken care of, manicured if I may say so. The flamboyant tree, unfortunately, was not in bloom.

3. We enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful marble lounges of both resorts in their most comfortable sofas and love seats. We explored extensively as well the adjoining Iberostar Bavaro and liked everything we saw, including the small turtles and pink flamencos.

4. The staff: all very nice, smiling and always ready to please, specially our friends at both lobby bars.

The only reason I give this resort a 4 star is the room and the building. The building itself is a huge block of concrete with a lots of columns on all floors and nothing much to boast about but at night when all the lights are on, it looks pretty good.

Last but not least, good job Ms Helena Santos and all your staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean or the swimming pool, even if you have to pay a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
We are very pleased to read that you had experienced an unforgettable stay due to our value for money from the first moment you came into our beautiful premises and enjoyed from the best service, a beautiful beach and an exquisite cuisine. In Iberostar, we aim to ensure unforgettable vacation to our “stars” on vacation for that reason we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the third time we have visited the Dominican Republic and the second time we visited this resort. The staff here is great. Always going out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel, restrooms, lobbies are being constantly cleaned. The place is kept immaculate. The beach here is great. They even clean the seaweed off every day. The buffet food is adequate with a large variety to keep you interested. The only negative I would have is the air conditioning in our room was barely adequate. I would visit this resort again. We found the STAR Friends very entertaining. They put on a good show for evening entertainment and daytime activities. stayed in room 5023.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Punta Cana once again for your holidays and also for taking the time to share your second experience on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos; we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that your second experience among us was as memorable as your first visit due to the friendliness of our staff, the beauty and cleanness of our grounds and our varied gastronomy. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We will be waiting for your return; it will be a pleasure for our entire team to welcome you.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went with a group of families. If we went alone we would have left immediately. But we stuck it out for 7 nights. The first thing I noticed walking down the hall to our room was an almost dead cockroach. The building itself where our room was looked like a prison set up with the courtyard in the middle and all the rooms surrounding it. The building itself is outdated and in desperate need of renovation.
Room
The original room they put us in had 2 couch beds and one full size bed. We switched rooms to a room with two full size beds and one couch bed. Both rooms (as well as our friends rooms) smelled of mold. The air took forever to actually cool the rooms. The color choices in the room were far from "vacation and tropical" more like depression....

Fitness facility
Extremely warm with three treadmills that were never all working at the same time. You basically were better off just working out on your own in the room. There is no true jogging trail to make up for the fact that you cant run on broken treadmills.

Food
I have to say this is by far the worst part of the resort. Everything is either deep fried or completely covered in salt. The onyl fish I could tolerate was the perch. But you can only eat the perch when it is first put out. By the end of the afternoon it is covered in grease... There are no healthy options. They put out lettuce but nothing to actually make a salad with. They use canned corn and canned peas in everything. These are also on the pizza?? The best restaurant that we got a reservation in was the mexican. All the restaurants have a buffet with the same things on them. Tons of different sliced cheese, and lunchmeats that are "sweaty" looking. Everyone in my group complained of stomach pain at one point or another. I could go on and on about the food but I'm getting flashback of it as I type so I'm finished..

Entertainment
God bless the people that work there doing entertainment. They have enless supplies of energy and never seem to get bored doing the same exact thing every single day. Not much to do for the kids in our group. Luckily our kids loved the pool and beach and werent looking for other activities.

The staff overall is very friendly and nice. Not many speak English so it is very difficult to communicate. The best experience I had was with the apple tour rep Louise. She was very knowledgable and helpful. The gift shop staff in the dominicana were the most shocking. They were checking emails on the computer while I was standing there trying to purchase my items.

If your reason to stay at this resort is for the value remember you get what you pay for and I would spend an extra few hundred dollars to enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, We thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for your review on Tripadvisor.
We would like to express how much we regret to acknowledge by Tripadvisor that your stay at our hotel was not as pleasant as we aim in Iberostar. We extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences. We would have liked to be contacted during your stay and make the corrective measures according to our standards and what we have to offer clearly posted on brochures and our website. Our Manager is always at the disposition to listen to complains, concerns, suggestions and/or comments from our beloved guests, who are the reason why we work in Iberostar.
We remain at your disposition for any further assistance.
With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Over the years we have traveled to many Caribbean locations. Unlike many places we have been to this staff really hustles and IMO they rank at the very top. Every one has a smile on their face and gives 110% to see that you have a pleasant stay.

Based on reviews we read here we were a little concerned about children but the resort is so large and has so many activities for kids that we don't know why anyone would complain. Families all stayed near the kiddie pool area which was so far away that they never disturbed us.

For a good time may we recommend the following:

Pick which a la carte restaurants you would like to dine at before you get there and make all your reservations as soon as you arrive. If you wait until the day you want to dine you will not get in. I recommend La Marimba, La Cana and especially La Sibila.

Food at the buffet is pretty much what you would expect from an all inclusive with the same menu day in and out. For variety try a different food each day. Like a meat dish one day fish the other etc. If you are having beef, pork etc.try to get them as they come off the grill.

You will always have a quality cocktail if you know how to order. When you are at the pools or beach look behind the bartender and you will see Dominican Brugal & Barcelo Rum along with Smirnoff vodka etc. If you don't ask for a drink by a name from one of the bottles on the back of the bar you will get swill from the well.

After dinner the lobby bar is the main watering hole because all the evening entertainment takes place near the lobby. This bar along with the Sports Bar, Disco, Etc. all serve top shelf liqueur like Bacardi, Stoli, etc. Just remember you still must order by name.

Room Tip: For a view of the sea - ask for a room facing the pool area on the 3rd or 4th floor in building 5300
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience with us and for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
We appreciate the way you highlighted out the friendliness and excellent service provided by our staff in all different areas of our premises. In Iberostar we work with illusion to make feel our valuable costumers as “stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is the oldest of all the Iberostars but it is also the cheapest. We figured we would not be in the room that often so we didn't care about it being older. Also you are allowed to go everywhere on the Iberostar Dominicana side. We went for our anniversary in early October 2013. The weather was perfect it only rained late at night, was sunny all days. The sand and beach is amazing, get out there early to get a close spot on the beach. One of the pools was closed due to construction but we like the ocean more anyways. Food was average, like any resort food. Entertainment was amazing. Be sure to try the excursions we did one with Apple vacations and one we bought from the resort. Both were great and safe. One we snorkeled with stingrays and sharks the other we walked on the ocean floor with an old school scuba helmet. Be sure to ask the concierge to go shopping. Its a two hour trip and they take you to a little mall where you can see them hand role cigars and they take you to the chocolate museum, its like a free excursion. Maldonado is a great bartender at the resort. All in all it was a lovely time and the staff were all amazing. Room was older but still nice. Beach was amazing. The specialty restaurants were very good.

Room Tip: We were in room 5069, it was ground floor, close to beach with a pond right in front of the room. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana to celebrate your wedding anniversary and for taking time to post a review about your experience.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our value for money among many other reason made your holidays unforgettable as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have congratulated Maldonado whose service made you feel as “Stars”.
We look forward to welcome you again; please feel free to contact us before your next visit,
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.