We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Beautiful Beach! Fantistico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Beautiful Beach! Fantistico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in August 2012. There are many different options to choose from in Punta Cana as the city is filled with many all-inclusive resorts. However, I highly recommend you stay here. From the moment you enter, you are greeted warmly and with enthusiasm. I stayed in the cheapest room, but was upgraded to an ocean view for free after speaking with the front desk. The ocean is one of the most beautiful and clear oceans I have ever seen in my life. The beach goes on for miles across all the other hotels. Endless drinks and delicious food. Lots of options every morning, day, and night to choose from. There are chickens, pelicans, and iguanas scattered across the resort. Neat! Casino is very small. They have one table for poker, but don't expect to win big. Not many other people play. Live music and shows every night. Watch out for vendors that try to steer you to their huts. Full of over priced goods that are not worth the money. Cab from Hotel to Airport is $35. Cab from Hotel to Airport is $35. Watch out for cab drivers that ask for money upfront before you reach your destination. Do not pay them and get out of the cab immediately. It is a scam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 3rd floor. Best views of the ocean are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to express how glad we are to know your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff, the variety of our gastronomy and the beauty of our premises including our Bavaro beach. This certainly motivates our team to keep their hard work and attaches us strongly with our commitments as Iberostar staff members.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,451
    808
    236
    62
    44
See reviews for
816
1068
54
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

To start, I was concerned about the food. We reserved two restaurants in advance, and guest relations usually took about 2-3 days to respond, which was fine. Upon arrival, our rooms (2) were not ready, also fine. However, my parents' room took until about 6pm to be ready. Reception was nice; we received non-alcoholic drinks without asking upon arrival and were given a brief but helpful description of the resort.

We booked standard rooms; ours were close to the pool and beach and on ground level. Very convenient. They were nice, clean, and comfortable. They're also surprisingly quiet. The front door could be more sound-proof however. Our safe didn't work though, but staff was very responsive and immediately came and fixed it, although we still struggled to close it each time we used it. Housekeeping was WONDERFUL! Even though we rarely asked for our room to be cleaned and we brought our own toiletries, our room was thoroughly and beautifully serviced. Turndown was gorgeous. Thank you Housekeeping!

The pool is extraordinary, beautiful, clean, warm and roomy. The beach, however, was cold, rough, and dirty (with seaweed!). It's nice to look at, but for someone like me, who goes on vacation solely to sit in warm water pretty much all day, it was so disappointing. It left me feeling a little empty, only because I had hoped the beach would be calmer and warmer. So maybe Punta Cana is a no-go in April if you're a beach person. However, if you're a tanner, the sun was beautifully hot!

The bars are nice, but the cocktails are very sweet and you barely taste alcohol. The house wines are OK. The bar in the disco is awesome. The lobby bar in the Punta Cana property is not as good. Twice my husband asked for different drinks; one, an iced coffee with a little Bailey's - he was told she can make it but she won't put it on ice, so he has to mix it himself. The second time, he asked for a caparinha, and was told the bartender didn't know how to make it. The pool bar opens late and closes early, and will serve men before women. I tested it.

The food is OK, but this is all-inclusive so don't be surprised. If you're a foodie, you'll be sorely disappointed. However, food is always plentiful and not bad. I prefer spicy food and there was none to be found anywhere, which is good for some people, so that's fine. Iberostar, whomever makes the croissants in this place needs a raise. Desserts are also something to look forward to. Fresh fruit is always available and very good. I hoped for more fresh seafood, but there was none. However, the red meat is plentiful and good.

STAFF - the saving grace, the be-all, end-all. The staff at this resort is PHENOMENAL. Ada, a server in the main dining room, is excellent. She was attentive and friendly. The landscapers were friendly, the housekeepers were friendly, EVERYONE was friendly. Clearly, Iberostar knows how to hire. Thank you to everyone for saying "hola" each time a guest walked by, wishing us a good day, and taking care of every request. Please keep it up; it is so refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana to for you holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the cleanness and beauty of our premises and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to provide the best service to our valuable costumers as Ada at the buffet did it. Likewise, we welcome you feedback regarding the flavor of our dishes and beverages and the breakdown of service in our lobby bar. We have shared your publication with the corresponding departmental heads so we can work to improve our service and deliver the quality our costumers expected from Iberostar.
We are willing to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wonderful staff, very helpful and friendly, we were enchanted by everybody! Animation team is really impressive, so much energy to cheer folks up all along! Food is excellent, buffet area is clean and well arranged. "Spoiling" choice of food, each day something new, fresh and nutritious, sometimes with exeotic elements of local cuisine. Sushi and Russian salad were a pleasant surprise. Fruits are ripe and juicy. Good choice of a la carte restaurants for dinner. Special menu on local holidays; theme food fests, like Paella party, at the beach restaurant are amazing. Beach is comfortable and clean. I can recommend this hotel to everyone without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are more expensive. Rooms away from night show stage are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for posting a review about your experience and for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we thank you for highlighting out two areas which are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar so we can ensure memorable stays to our valuable costumers: the exquisite cuisine and the excellent service of our friendly staff. We are very pleased to acknowledge that those aspects of our service made you feel as a “Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance prior your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

this place is one of the best. staff where fantastic .they could not do enough for you . The food was pretty good and lots of it they serve lobster for lunch one afternoon .the pool and the rest of the area very clean and very safe. Would go back in a second first time but not the last time using iberostar love it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed another memorable stay due to the friendliness of our team and our international cuisine. In Iberostar we aim to be known by the friendliness of our staff and their excellent service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

the hotel, food and activities was beyond words. you could not ask for anything more from a vacation. we never stayed at an iberostar hotel before, but will definitely do so again in the near future, probably go back in novemeber. weather was great, hotel is very clean. If you speak spanish you do probably get a bit better service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience.
We appreciate your motivating publication referring the cleanness of our premises, the variety of the activities for entertainment, our exquisite cuisine and the excellent service of our friendly staff which ensured you a “great time” according to the title of the review.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for further assistance prior your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I would say our maid spent a minimum of 2 hours cleaning the room every single day including completely removing most of the furniture and scrubbing the floor. We had fresh flowers and towel arrangements every day. There were, unfortunately, ants in the bathroom every day too - but what can you expect in a tropical location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your positive valuation about our room cleaning service. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds. Our Housekeeping team is motivated by your review referring their excellent work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Breath taking views. Amazing value.
Everything is very clean and well maintained.
All of the staff is extremely nice and polite. Front desk, Gardeners, Bartenders, Servers, Entertainers, ect. I mean everyone! I was shocked. I would go back just for that reason.
Room was great. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but I got use to it. The sound proofing needs to be improved. I could hear people outside my door and the people above us. Did not last long to complain about it though.
Food selection is unreal. There is so much to chose from.
My complains with the food is, where are all the dressing for the huge salad bar. No ranch, french ect. I had oil and vinegar all week. Burgers were bad and no chocolate chip cookies.
So my first meal home was a good burger with ranch finished with a chocolate chip cookie.
The entertainment and shows were great. Laughed so much. I would never take a child to the late shows. Adults only.
I was surprised with the amount of children there. They need to stay on the Bavaro side with the children playground where it is more family friendly.
I would book again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel for your family holidays.
We want to express how happy we are to read that your holiday was memorable as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, our varied gastronomy, our entertainment options and the friendliness of our staff team. Those are very important aspects of our services in Iberostar to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. We have delivered your suggestions about the sound proofing of our rooms and the salad dressing variety to the corresponding departments.
We are looking forward to welcome you again; please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
with regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, VISIT US, INC. and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.