We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Punta Cana - Mar 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Iberostar Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Naperville, Illinois, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Iberostar Punta Cana - Mar 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms were large but needed some more decor. Buffet restaurants were better than the specialty ones. Drinks were good and not diluted. Service was excellent. I wish they provided bar service on the beach. There was none but they had people to clear up any glasses/utensils from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for writing a review about your experience.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we want to express our satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure to provide the best service to our beloved guests so they can “enjoy being a Star” as you did during your holidays.
We will be happy to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    908
    259
    70
    51
See reviews for
930
1,182
59
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time we´ve been to the Iberostar Punta Cana and it has been, once again a wonderful vacation. The Punta Canta is part of a large Iberostar complex on Punta Cana and there are a few more hotels in this complex: the Dominicana, Bavaro, and Gran Hotel Bavaro. The Punta Cana and the Dominicana are basically mirrored hotels and as a Punta Cana all-inclusive guest you can use the facilities of the Dominicana. This means you have two pools, two beach restaurants, two main restaurants, two evening entertainment areas, and a wide beach front to enjoy. These two are also the most economical of the four hotels. The Punta Cana has an extra building closer to the hotel entrance, reception and main restaurant, that houses junior suites. These rooms are a bit bigger than the normal rooms and probably a bit nicer.

A few tips about the amenities and facilities. If you are not desperate for a sunburn you´ll be happy to know that the beach is well furnished with big straw sun umbrellas that can easily accommodate three people each. There are several specialised restaurants: Mexican, Fish, Steakhouse, Oriental, French and a sort of burger joint (not sure if I´m missing one). The ones I can say was disappointed with was the Fish restaurant and the burger joint. The others are ok, but don´t get your expectations too high. There are shops with souvenirs in both Punta Cana and Dominicana, and a small mall very close to both hotels. Please note that you cannot charge souvenirs to your room. Though there are two evening entertainment areas, close to the respective receptions of each hotel, it is the Dominicana that has the main theatre area where the entertainment team put on their evening shows. Beware, finding out when the shows are on, and also if and when there are going to be shows for kids, can take some digging around. The place is usually pretty crowded. It you want a more subdued, version with live band, and a few games, you´re better off in the Punta Cana. There are plenty of activities to choose from. The main diving centre in the Iberostar complex is between the Dominicana and the Bavaro hotels. Everyone there is very helpful. On the Punta Cana side of the beach is the catamaran, canoe, etc centre. Catamarans have to be booked but only one day in advance and I suggest you do so, and do it in the morning or you might find the next day is fully taken. Also, the first slot is at 9:30 but don´t expect to be sailing until 9:45 or so. 9:30 is when the team arrives. If you would like to try it but feel a little insecure you can take a lesson. Get ready to fill in a some paperwork before you can take one out. Though technically one is not allowed to "reserve" beach loungers, in practice it is a must. And beware, if you decide to sleep in you´ll be very lucky if you find loungers with shade on the beach or in the pool. If you want to secure your place on the beach be ready to get up at dawn. There are of course plenty of excursions that can be booked separately: Isla Saona, swimming with dolphins, spa treatment boat, etc.

The entertainment team is just great. Don´t miss the Michael Jackson show, even if you´re not a fan of the artist. The entertainment team really do a great job to get people going, and are very polite about leaving people alone that just want to laze on the beach while reading a book. This hotel (both Punta Cana and Dominicana) are great for kids. Everyone, in reception, the bars, the buffet restaurants, beach restaurants, or room service/cleaning, are as a rule very pleasant, helpful, good humoured, and a little extra cash for a good and attentive service is always appreciated. We thought the quality and variety of the food at the main and beach restaurants was not quite as good as last year, especially in the main buffet restaurant, but in the grand scheme of things it is not something that would in any way dissuade me from going there again. What is very nice indeed is that every day they use the big grill in the Dominicana beach restaurant to make some nice paella or grilled meat/chicken, and other things.

All in all, a fantastic place to spend a family vacation and totally recommendable. For us, it fulfils our needs for this type of vacation: beautiful beach, shade for the kids, big pool(s), plenty of activities to choose from (if you want), friendly service, and it is ideal to just lay on that lounger and devour books non-stop, with just enough breaks to pick-up another cocktail, or take a dip in the sea or the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team; we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your second stay with us and for your loyalty towards Iberostar Punta Cana as your family holiday’s destination.
We are very satisfied to read that you and your family had experienced another memorable holiday thanks to the friendliness and the excellent service provided by our staff members, the beauty and cleanness of our premises, the variety of our daily and nightly entertainment and our exquisite cuisine. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts those are part of our guiding principles to guarantee memorable experiences to our “Stars” on vacation as you have lived twice.
We look forward to welcoming you once again and please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

5 couples spent a week at the resort ( march 25-31). We had a wonderful time. We were greated by Reuben and a tropical drink. We were registered and in our rooms within 20 minutes of our arrival. We enjoyed the great food selection, tried 4 a la carts (mexican loved the atmosphere and food, asian nice and light, steak house had big portions and our friends went to the French and said it was very good. We enjoyed the nightly band on the Punta Cana side. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the resort was immaculate. Our room was great, bed super comfortable and our balcony overlooked the street with the little shops.
The beach was amazing and you could walk for hours and feel very secure, the pool was excellent and never felt crowded.
Some little negatives and they are minor is we did have have some difficulty with our room cards and had to have them remagnatized a few times, had to get up early(6- 6:30) to get a chair by pool or ocean and the a la carts fill up fast, we could not get in anywhere before 8:30 pm. even if we booked on our first morning. (It was spring break for Manitoba and Holy week so maybe more people than normal.) We did find that the Dominican people are very religious and this did affect our outing options. A lot of the activities were not available from Thursday to Sunday in respect to their religion, but not a big downside because we loved spending time at the resort.
We all left feeling relaxed and very happy with our trip.
We loved the resort and the people so much that we are thinking of coming back in December with our children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos; we would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your friends enjoyed your vacations due to the friendliness of our staff and our exquisite international cuisine. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and a unique gastronomy to our “Stars” on vacation. We have congratulated Ruben for making your feel as one. Likewise, we welcome your feedback about the long chaise. We would like to clarify though that room keys are sensitive and demagnetize easily when are in contact to water, cameras and mobile devices.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I will definitely NEVER going to travel in holiday weekends again. The hotel was Full, the service deficient (we have to carry our own bags because there was never a bellboy available). The service staff was rude, the available drinks not a good quality, the pool area not big enough, all because all the common areas are shared by the 2 iberostar hotels: the punta cana and the dominicana.
One good thing: the food. It was good, with plenty different choices every day.

The weather was ok, a couple of days we got rain and humidity but always warm feeling. Me and my friends travel during the week of march 23-31.

Maybe for most people this hotel is gonna be ok, but for me and my expectations (in service, quality drinks and accomodations) it was awful. Not what I expected from punta cana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana.
One the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises and our exquisite international cuisine. In Iberostar both are part of our guiding principles to ensure pleasant stay to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we apologize for all and any inconveniences you might have encountered during your stay in terms of service and the quality of our drinks. We have taken good notes from your feedback to evaluate our performance and deliver the level of service according our Iberostar standards.
We kindly invite you to visit us once again so we can show you the way we make feel our guests as “Star” during their holidays. Please feel free to contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I just spent a week at the resort (5/23-5/30/13). Overall, here are the five things you need to know:

1. The facility and grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff was always cleaning, gardening, and picking up. However, I can't say this same level of attention was payed to the guests.

2. The food was above average for an all inclusive resort, with the buffet offering a good mix of choices (fish, steak, seafood, an abundance of appetizers / salads / cheeses). However, it was the same every evening. They would benefit from having greater variety each evening. They do have several al carte restaurant choices which are themed (mexican, american, french, etc.). We tried 3, the food was average and they would benefit from better service. Overall they need to work on desserts - they look great but we will leave it at that.

3. The beach and pool were very nice. The one challenge, especially during high season, is finding chairs. Guests were heading out at 6 a.m. to grab more chairs than they needed and often we would notice that no one would even show up throughout the day for what was reserved. We mentioned this to management (which is very hard to find) and they indicated that they are aware of the problem but don't have a solution. Perhaps they should do what other resorts do - namely remove the towels from chairs that have been left unoccupied for extended periods of time.

4. The entertainment and activity choices were mixed. Pool side activities were fine but the evening entertainment was terrible. The quality of the performers and the poor AV system was disappointing. The typical tropical excursions are offered but candidly there is not a lot to see in the DR. Part of the family opted for Scuba which was great.

5. Overall the value was good - nice room, above average food quality, plenty of sunshine, and nice pool and beaches (lots of umbrellas which I noticed the other resorts in the are didn't necessarily have).

Room Tip: The rooms are largely the same. The jr. suites are not worth the upgrade. Think about a first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Punta Cana as the destination for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and the whole team, we would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed your stay due to the friendliness of our staff members and the beauty and cleanness of our premises. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service so our valuable guests can “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we have forwarded your feedback referring our a la carte restaurants and our nightly shows with the corresponding departmental heads.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With best regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Oberostar Punta Cana during the week of March 16-23. Our group consisted of 2 couples and our 4 adult children age 19-24. We all agree that we had a wonderful time and plan on going back. This was our first time to Punta Cana so this is the only hotel that we have been to in the area. Personally, I was most impressed by two things: the hotel grounds/beach and the quality of the staff. The beach area is beautiful with soft sand, no rocks or seashells and it goes on for miles. The pool, hotel lobby, walking paths, public bathrooms, bars, etc. are well kept and clean. Which is no surprise because I was very impressed by the hotel staff! They are all so hard working, cheerful, and eager to make all the guests happy. We rarely had to wait for anything from towels, to drinks, to food. We especially liked that if you spent any time at all talking with any employee, they would remember you the next day and would spend time asking you questions or teaching you Spanish or telling you about the activities for the day. We also really appreciated that they never yelled at us or our kids once, even though we know we did break a few rules--like taking food with us to our beach chairs.

At breakfast every morning, we were pointed to "our" table and were given our morning coffee the way that we each liked it and were given ocho mimosas. At the pool bar we taught a few servers to make beer-margaritas and they remembered each day. The workers that were in charge of activities by the pool/beach and in the evening were fun. Our kids knew most of them by name and enjoyed joining in which kept them very entertained (Yes, ages 19-24 kids were entertained!) My recommendation to anyone who goes to this hotel is to join in on some of the activities and spend some time getting to know the staff members--they will make your stay so enjoyable!

I really don't want to complain about anything, but I can make a few suggestions for improvements. Number one, add more chairs & palapas on the beach for shade and make cushions available for beach chairs. They are not very comfortable. We did not sit by the pool much at all, where I know there are cushions, because we wanted the cool breezes off the ocean. Number two, improve the food at the specialty restaurants. The food was OK, not bad, just not really worth the hassle of making reservations. I do have to say the food at the French restaurant was our best meal---awesome tiramisu! We also really liked the Star Rock and ate there 3 times. Finally, I am a beer drinker and if there would be anyway to have better quality, cold bottle beer I would have been much happier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Punta Cana.
On the behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and her team, we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our grounds and the friendliness of our staff members. Those aspects are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar to ensure memorable experience as you and your relatives and friends experienced at Iberostar Punta Cana.
Likewise, we welcome your suggestions and have shared them with the corresponding departmental heads.
We kindly invite you to give us a new chance to show you our improvements. Please contact us before your next visit,
With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

me my wife and 18 month old son stayed here in feb 2013. first the negatives there is no baby change facilities any were in the hotel. coming from england were every hotel ,bar, restaurant has them we found this a inconvenience. food quality we found to be good but few issues with cold food. the towel game was most annoying this is the first hotel we have been to were you have to get up at 7.30 to put your towel on beech or pool chairs,there are signs saying no to do so but when we didn't there was no were to sit . now for the good ........ the hotel is vey nice a good solid 3.5 star hotel beautiful wide sandy beech the resort is split in to 3 hotels iberostar punta cana ,dominicana and grand adults only 2 halfs of same hotel no difference,iberostar bravaro suits split in to small blocks very nice grounds if we stayed here again we would upgrade to the bravaro accommodation is split in to two large blocks rooms were clean and very large no problems here apart from room key card not working a few times and small leak in bathroom on our last day no big deal we also had few problems with the safe which there is a 2 dollar a day charge to rent which were quickly sorted drink quality was ok not watered down but not very strong apart from the bar were the main nightly entertainment was,we did not often watch the show too many people smoking in the non smoking areas for us with a small child,instead we spent our nights watching the band at the stage near the punta cana reception and sitting on the nice sofas weather was very good around 80 most days some cloudy starts to day and few showers that soon passed overall a nice relaxing holiday made all the better by the great star friends entertainment team

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Punta Cana as the destination for your family vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We are very pleased to read your nice comments about our hotel premises, the variety of our food and beverages, the family friendliness of our grounds and the excellent service provided by our team. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to enjoy being a Star. At the same time, we have shared your suggestion with our Management team so we can deliver the level of service expected by our team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us in advanced to further assistance in your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.