We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 years and still we stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“12 years and still we stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stay here for two weeks two or three times a year and have done for the past 12 years We love it ! We have stayed in all 3 hotels.The staff are Brilliant and will do their utmost to help in anyway they can.Gardens are beautiful and a credit to the gardeners who work on them from dawn til dusk. 4 weeks and we are back there again ! Have a day out of the hotel and see the real Dominican Republic and meet the locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, and the whole team, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels in Punta Cana as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your multiple experiences among us.
We want to express you how honored and motivated we are to read that in every visit our friendly and helpful staff has ensured you memorable holidays as we aim in Iberostar and as you are used to when visiting us. Your publication towards our work motivates us to keep our high standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,349
    747
    216
    58
    43
See reviews for
747
993
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We traveled to this resort during our March break. We were a family of four and a grand-mother, so we had two rooms. We used to go to some of the Iberostar in Varadero (Tainos is our favorite), but it was a first trip to Punta Cana, primarly because we wanted slightly more food variety and quality, and warmer weather and water.

What was better than Iberostar Tainos in Varadero:
- More food variety available (butter, milk ,cheese, fruits, juices, wine, beer, bread, desserts...)
- Hotel rooms are of better quality and better maintained (repair guys walk with walkie-talkie and Dewalt tools... different than the hammer/screwdriver toolbag in Cuba...)
- Pool is very well designed for kids and was a lot warmer (for similar time of the year). Kids spent hours in it each day.
- We did not see any of the Dominican staff begging for tips

What was better in Iberostar Tainos Varadero:
- Cubans staff is more educated. They speak more languages and are generally way more interesting to talk to.
- Evening shows at Tainos were fantastic... The best evening show at Iberostar Punta Cana would have been the weakest at Tainos.
- Animators at Tainos were more friendly, funny and generally less loud or rude than in Punta Cana. Our kids did not connect well with any of the animators at Punta Cana.
- The beach at Tainos is larger, water access is easier (waves do not always break on you on entrance) and we could see lots of fish, pelicans and dolphins. In Punta Cana, I did not see any single small fish, bird or dolphin at the the beach over the whole week...
- Tainos is about half the size of the Punta Cana/Dominican, so we felt we never missed any of the activities that we wanted to participate into...

We were hoping for a significant upgrade from Iberostar Tainos to Punta Cana, as we paid significantly more. We pretty much got everything we were hoping for (it was STILL worth it), but to our surprise, it was not a complete wash... We were quite disappointed by the weakness of the evening shows (now convinced we were spoiled at Tainos...), although we did not think this would have turned out to feel so important in the end. We truly missed the talented and friendly Cuban animators from Tainos.

Finally, based on multiples friends which traveled to Punta Cana, we felt the odds of getting food sick were clearly higher than in Varadero... This proved true for us, as unfortunately, 3 out of 5 fell to a very strong food indigestion on the 5th day. We all hate the same thing for dinner. We saw a few other kids sick that day, but it was apparently not wide spread.

We will not be going back to Punta Cana next year as the memory is tainted now, but I would still recommend the resort, if you can avoid getting sick!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you have enjoyed a pleasant holiday although your expectations based on your experience in Cuba were not completely satisfied. As you have experienced, in Iberostar one of our basic principles is to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We have shared your feedback with our Management team so we can work on our service and deliver the Iberostar Quality that our valuable repeating costumers expect.
We remain at your entire disposition in case you decide to visit Iberostar Punta Cana once again.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I must start by confessing that large resorts are not my thing, so please read my comments with that in mind. The Iberostar Punta Cana is one of two hotels on the resort property. Its sister hotel, the Dominica, mirrors the Punta Cana and runs parallel to it. Between the two buildings lies a wide swath of beautifully landscaped grounds with covered walkways and plenty of shade. There are also two pools in this area, with a pool bar situated in the middle. One pool is deeper and more recreation-focussed, the second is shallower and better for lounging and for small kids. The resort seems to cater to couples, families, and an older clientele. We were there during US College spring break week, and there were not many college students. The grounds were small enough to manage on foot, even with my 79 year old mother, and the resort was, for the most part, quiet and peaceful. The cliente were primarily German and Canadian, and the food definitely had a European sensibility including very good butter and rolls and excellent cheeses. The coffee was strong and good. The buffet didn't offer much for non-meat eaters besides bread, cheese and fresh fruits. The salad bar was fine, but limited, as was the wine selection (extra charge for a wider selection). There were a lot of people at the resort. You had to be up early to get a seat in the shade on the beach, and even then most days we ended up far back from the water with an obstructed view. It was a bit easier to get chairs at the pool, though by mid-morning, these were also full. The buffets and restaurants never felt over-crowded. We ate at the Steak house and the Asian restaurant and thought the food at both was good. The service was always friendly. As this was our first time at a resort , we really needed a thorough orientation, which sadly, we didn't get. The front desk staff person forgot to give us our wristbands, and it was quite a while before we realized we nedded them to eat, to not get stopped by security, etc. We were confused by how to operate the fan in the room, about which buffets served meals when, how to get towels, etc. I think that the front desk will provide a good orientation, but make sure to ask. Our door lock was broken and we couldn't get into our room, but that was fixed quickly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nothing fancy, but nice. The best part is that each room has a private balcony overlooking the grounds. It was nice enough, but too crowded for my taste. Someone described it as similar to a cruise ship on land, and I think that is an apt description.

Room Tip: We emailed a few days in advance and requested rooms in a quiet area and with two beds and the reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.
For the whole team it is a pleasure to hear that your positive valuation about our clean premises and facilities, our varied gastronomy, our beautiful beach, and the friendliness of our staff members, especially as you stated in the review large resorts are not your primary preference. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we apologize for the breakdown in the Front Desk service and have forwarded your feedback so our team evaluates their performance and take measures to avoid unpleasant experiences to our “Stars” on vacation.
We will be happy to welcome you back, please contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They don´t care about anythign at this resort!!

Bugs and cockroaches in the bed... dirty shower and bathroom when we got our room ...
beds werent cleaned.
late check out was offfered at the beginning of the week ... but when we asked for a late check out on the day of our departure due to a 9pm flight we were told we had to leave becuase they were fully booked.
Horrible service the only nice thing about this place was the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience on the Internet.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we want to express our regret to read that our facilities, international cuisine and excellent service did not live up to your expectations or made you feel like "a Star" as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We want to take this opportunity to clarify two points of its publication. Firstly, for Iberostar Hotels and Resorts hygiene is very important; our hotels we follow the strict regulations for environment and hygiene of the Dominican Republic laws, as well as the recommendations made by the companies Saniconsult (Spanish consulting company for hygiene) and Quimocaribe International (our human harmless chemical products supplier for pest control). Moreover, we have a special department dedicated to hygiene control. Despite having a strict fumigating program, the presence of insects and other pests is feasible because Punta Cana is surrounded mangrove area protected by the Ministry of Environment of the Dominican Republic. We regret your unpleasant experience and assure you that from your report, we have increased the controls to avoid such incidents.
Secondly, late checkout is an extra cost service subject to the availability for the departure day. Although our Front Desk team does their best to please the request, in high season this task turns very hard to accomplish as we explained you personally during your stay.
We remain at your disposal for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 10 nights here and loved it. It was our second time at this resort and I would go back again. The nightly entertainment is fun, and there are a lot of activities to keep you active. We were celebrating a teen birthday while we were there and they really made the celebration special. The food at the restaurants and buffet is very good. The staff is friendly and they are constantly cleaning and keeping the beach and walkways looking nice. The disco is a lot of fun too. I would recommend this more to families or a group of people rather than a couples/romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana once again for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that your second stay and especially the birthday celebration were memorable due to the excellent service provided by our friendly staff and especially by our Star Friends. The friendliness of our staff members is one of the keys of our successful in Iberostar, and we work with illusion to remain so.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior to your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a week at Iberostar Punta Cana and overall, we were very happy with this resort. The service was great and the resort was well maintained. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The pool area and beaches are very clean and great for relaxing. The food was good and you get plenty of variety. There are restaurants around the pool and beach area, which was very convenient. Keep in mind though that you have make reservations for some of the restaurants for dinner. We took our 15 month old baby with us and there was a play area for kids and a little kiddie pool, so that was nice and our baby enjoyed himself. This is a great resort if you are going with family.
Also, take a lot of cash if you plan to go on tours because it is pretty pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your family vacations and also for taking the time to post a review about your holidays on Tripadvisor.
In the name Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that our family friendly premises has ensured you and your entire family a memorable holiday as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited Iberostar Punta Cana for the second time from February 21 to March 3, 2013. Once again this resort and staff went beyond my expectation. This year I brought a friend, who will return as well next year. Right from check in to check out, the staff is outstanding. Front desk, Julian; thank you so much for the perfect room, the welcome back t-shirts, fruit plate, chocolate and rum. obviously, repeat customers are very important to this resort.
Actvity staff; wow, you spend so many hours a day entertaining and socializing with customers; from water aerobics in the pool and on the beach (did not get names; but just incredible fun), to the shows day and night, archery, bingo, shooting, and so much more we didn't participate in, as we were just in the chill mode!!. the staff at the beach grill; Carmen..great drinks and service; Arcana(sp?) thanks for the shiny clean beach restrooms. Where else can you go, and have the person who collects your empties and says "my pleasure" everytime (sorry didn't get names).....
food was great, make use of the specialty venues, and make reservations as soon as you arrive or within a few hours. buffets fresh and plenty of variety; really good food. all servers pleasant and ready to please. Rooms ample size and clean. elevators for upper floors. easy access to anywhere on the resort property; perfect size.
I love this place, been solo and now with friend, very safe. beautiful beach, palapas (go early am to get yours or share...make a new friend or 4..we did!). I just can't say enough good about this place, it is everything you need for relaxing vacation from the cold and snow in Vermont or anywhere! very close to airport as well......20 minutes and your there!!
there is a market onsite with several shops on quaint little street or walk up the beach to a larger outdoor market with tons of goodies and vendors.
Special thanks to Hector, Julien and Jasmine at the front desk. Francesco and Daniel at the lobby bar (will you get real "tini" glasse for next year, or should I bring my own...lol), Carmen at beach bar (steakhouse), and Arcana for doing such a beautiful job at keeping those restrooms squeaky clean...
Thanks to all staff at Iberostar Punta Cana; cant wait to return next year......

Room Tip: pool/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana once again as the destination for your holidays and for writing a review about your second experience among us.
We are thankful for your motivating publication in which you highlighted out the friendliness of our staff members that has ensured you two memorable experiences. In Iberostar we aim to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star” as Julián, Héctor, Jazmín, Carmen, Daniel, Francisco, and Arcana made you feel.
We will be happy to welcome you back, please contact us before your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar
Address: Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, VISIT US, INC. and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.