We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vacation Spot and Great Value for the Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
DFW
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Vacation Spot and Great Value for the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned after spending 6 nights at this all-inclusive. Bottom line -- we would return if we go back to the DR. The service was probably the best part of our trip. The staff were always friendly and willing to take care of our needs. They provide consistently amazing service. When we arrived we were greeted immediately and check in was very smooth, and then we were given frozen fruit punch drinks that were tasty and refreshing after our long trip. We were taken to our room which had a musty smell -- although it was very clean. By the next morning it had not lessened. We told the front desk about it and they changed us to a nicer room at no cost. We called the front desk because the safe was not working and someone came up and fixed it within 10 minutes.

The grounds were beautiful and well-kept. The pools were large with plenty of space for everyone, and the beach was immaculate and absolutely perfect. There were plenty of chairs at the pool and on the beach and we had no problem each day getting under an umbrella, even though we got there late. There were real live flamingos in a little pool next to one of the dining halls, which was a really special treat for me (admittedly a flamingo lover).

Internet is not free, but available for a reasonable cost. I suggest if you need to check into e-mail or facebook daily (to check on things at home, not work!) that you get the 5 day plan. If you have a regular laptop there is a wired version in the room. Wireless was available for those who could not use the cable in the lobby area and by the pool. It was pretty fast and worked well.

I recommend the spa services. I went for the massage and facial, and both were among the best I've ever had. I didn't go until the last day, but wish I had gotten more than one of those amazing massages.

The food was nothing to get excited about, but reasonably good. Each morning they had someone making omelets upon request and they were my personal favorites. There is a huge selection of really good breads, and always an ample supply of tropical fruit. We ate at the American, Asian, and Seafood restaurants, and almost preferred the regular buffet style dining hall. They do offer a vast selection of foods and desserts at each meal, but nothing stood out as being amazing. I wish they would have offered more Dominican and Caribbean foods, and that they would have had a specialty Dominican restaurant there. Wine was offered with lunch and dinner which was a nice touch, and beverages were served at the table. Overall, we did not get excited about the food, but also did not go hungry. There was always something enjoyable to be found. There are food places all around the resort, including down on the beach, and there are bars for mixed drinks (with or without alcohol) all over the place.

For those who are interested in shopping, there is a van that picks people up at the resort and takes them to a local shopping center. We were able to get less expensive gifts, and browse a large grocery store. We got some gifts and other items at the grocery store cheaper than we found them anywhere else (the mamajuana and Dominican coffee). If you've forgotten sunscreen or other toiletries, I suggest getting them there too. The shopping center has all types of shops serving both locals and tourists.

In summary, I recommend this resort. Any shortcomings in the food were overcome by the service and overall atmosphere.

Room Tip: I suggest you might want to spend a little extra for the Junior Suites, although they are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana, and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday among us. We are very pleased for your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff at the different areas of our premises. This certainly motivates them to keep their hard work and attaches us strongly with our commitments as an Iberostar Hotel.
Otherwise, we regret to read that our varied gastronomy could not meet completely your expectations. We have shared your lines about this area with our Executive Chef who is thankful for your feedback.
We hope that you give us another visit if you decide to come back to Dominican Republic. We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,468
    812
    239
    62
    44
See reviews for
824
1077
54
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here just last week and had a wonderful time. It was well worth the money we paid for it. It was not the best food, but it was delicious some days. The staff is excellent, they are super friendly and really seem to want to be there and help you. The reception desk greeted us off right as soon as we got there. The bartenders are wonderful and entertaining, and the servers are always keeping you satisfied by offering you everything. The entertainment staff was by far my favourite. They were very friendly, and always wanted you to participate in the activities. I felt most welcomed by them. I felt sad leaving because they were all so welcoming there. The staff was very helpful when our power went out in our room, and helped us right away. It was a wonderful vacation and experience overall. I would recommend this hotel and even go again myself.

Room Tip: We were on the 200 level floor, which is actually the third floor, and they were quiet but perfect d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holiday and also for taking time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to acknowledge that you have had an excellent experience during your visit. Thank you for highlighting out the excellent service provided by our staff members in the different areas of our hotel premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. We are glad that we could accomplish our goal with the help of our entertainers, the Star Friends.
We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything is clean, rooms are big, food is international - very good (you can find everything you like - junk for U.S. people, delicatessen for others :)
The beach is gorgeous, the ocean as well. Location - 25 Minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Punta Cana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday among us. In Iberostar we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a star” during holidays.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a great vacation in early November 2012. Absolutely LOVED the resort and have no complaints. The resort was fantastic and I'll write more later.

I want to WARN parents of children to AVOID getting a henna tattoo at the flea market just off the Iberostar resort. We unknowingly allowed of 5 year old son to get a henna tattoo. Unbeknownst to us, it was something called a "Black Henna" tattoo -- this means they mixed a dangerous toxin called PPD (para-phenylenediamine ) into the henna to make it darker and to dry much quicker than traditional henna.

18 days after the application of the tattoo my son's arm -- exactly where the tattoo had been -- started to develop small blisters. At first his school thought it might be chicken pox. But as the blisters developed more -- into the shape of the tattoo we knew we had a problem.

Quick internet research and two doctors (pediatrician and dermatologist) confirmed he had been exposed to PPD and had developed an allergic reaction. The chance of an allergic reaction to this chemical is far greater for children. Subsequent expose to the chemical are very dangerous.

We are currently applying a topical steriod cream and waiting to determine if he will need steroid injections into the area. We do not know if he will have permanent scaring or hypopigmentary change from the tattoo.

We DO know he will need to avoid at all costs any exposure to PPD and henna. This means he can never be exposed to hair dye or have another henna tattoo -- even if it is in the US and the red-brown color. We were told many products carry trace amounts of PPD and the next exposure could result be very bad including anaphylatic shock.

Room Tip: Room 5152, on the second floor, had a beautiful view of the pools and a smidgen of the ocean. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for posting your comment in Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, and the whole staff of Iberostar Punta Cana and Dominicana, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit despite the incidence with the tattoo. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just come back from Punta Cana, we stayed 6 nights in the Iberostar Punta Cana and had a fab time. All the staff is very friendly and attentive. Good choice of food in the buffett restaurants. We had a nice steak in the meat restaurant and the fish was amazing in the seafood restaurant, but you have to book early to get a table at a decent time or you end up having your meal at 21:30. This happened to us in the seafood place and when we arrived most of the tables where empty!? I can recommend the resort as it is very good value for money and the place is very clean. The only downfall is the expensive WiFi access.

The beach is lovely and there are plenty of sunloungers, although it says on the loungers that you are not allowed to reserve them, everyone does seem to put their towels on very early in the morning as most of the chairs under the umbrellas had already towels on at about 9AM. I think that the hotel management should enforce this rule, because everyone seemed to ignore it. Not such a big deal as we always managed to grab a place either at the beach or at the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and her team, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your holidays and for writing a review about your experience.
We want to express how glad we are to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure to our guests a memorable holiday, to accomplish our goal we offer a varied gastronomy and the friendly service of our staff members.
On the other hand, we have taken good notes from your lines referring the reservation of the beach and swimming pool loungers. We thank you for this feedback.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us before arrival to help you to enjoy your next vacations with us,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks 13th- 26th November and cannot find one fault.The hotel is so clean the cleanliness of the waiters and waitress down to the maid is outstanding.
The entertainment staff are so friendly and really want to be your friend.a credit to them all Santo and Naomi especially these guys really made everyone feel special.
The food was really good lots of varieties in all the restaurants and the buffets
The beach was the best out of all the other hotels along the strip.
Everything was perfect cannot say a bad word loved it
Thank you for making my holiday a very special one and I hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest e1606,
Thank you for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana. In the name of Ms. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express our happiness to read that you had a wonderful holiday due to the kindness of our staff members, especially from Santos and Naomi (Star Friends); and our varied gastronomy, especially at the A-la-cart restaurants. In Iberostar one of our strengths and the key of our success is the friendly service of our staff.
We will be happy to welcome you back, please write us a mail before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not the most modern of hotels, The Iberostar Punta Cana has a rustic and relaxing charm due in part to its tired state of repair. The main public areas (shared with the sister hotel Dominicana) have undergone refurbishment but expect to call out maintenance for your room at some time during your stay. Not exactly 5* but great value for money when you ook at the total package holiday cost.

Main Tips:
To avoid disappointment, arrange your free nights in the speciality restaurants as soon as you can as they book up early. You will be told that the week ahead can't be booked until Monday morning but in reality you can book at anytime with the girl who sits at the desk to the left of the Punta Cana reception. This way you stand a better chance of getting the restaurant you want, on the day and time you want.

The occasional $1 (USD) tip to a Chef or Waitress will pay dividends in way of service and the strength of your drinks plus an early on tip to the room cleaner will result in a better stocked and better quality beer in the mini-bar.

Ask for bottled mixers to avoid chlorine/disinfectant tasting drinks.

Coffee from the various bars is fresh and much better quality than that found in the buffet restaurants.

All bathrooms have a good quality shower gel, shampoo & conditioner dispensers and small bottles of body lotion, all of which are replenished daily. The hair dryer is fixed in the bathroom so you may want to bring your own if you prefer getting ready in the bedroom. Note of warning for any electrical appliances, make sure they are dual voltage as the Voltage is 110v which will barely warm up a pair of GHD's.

The power sockets are US format but a European plug will fit. Uk plugs will need an adapter.

Review:
The beach deserves its Blue Flag status and has an abundance of shaded areas amongst the soft sand which doesn't get hot even in the mid-day sun. Like the rest of the hotel the beach has excellent wheelchair access with easy to reach, reserved for wheelchair users, umbrellas and sunbathing just off the broad walk.

The main bar in Punta Cana is best for a quiet drink with background music before dinner but if it's louder entertainment you are looking for afterwards then the main bar in the Dominicana is where the evening entertainment is staged (adult shows start at 9:45pm after the children's entertainment)

The two buffet restaurants are limited in their choice of food compared to other 5 star resorts and is very repetitive but there is something for all tastes and the quality is good.

There are a further two lunchtime restaurants adjacent to the beach. The La Cana, to the left side of the beach doubles up as the Steak House restaurant in the evening. Relaxing and not too busy, this is the place for a quiet lunch. To the right of the beach is the Tambora bar and La Marimba restaurant which doubles up as the El Conuco fish restaurant in the evening. This is a more lively lunchtime venue with a bar-b-q alternating daily with Paella. The majority of daytime activities take place adjacent to El Conuco either on the beach or in the pool.

The 5 themed restaurants (Gourmet, Mexican, Steak, Fish & Asian) are excellent and 3 evenings a week are inclusive but need to be booked in advance (see Tips above)

A word of caution with the various bars, if you order drinks with mixers such as a Gin and Tonic, ask for bottled mixers (Tonic/Coke) as the mixers from the guns add a chlorine/disinfectant taste to your drink.

For those looking for that late night out then you have the DC-6 Disco and El Patio bar in the shopping square opposite the Casino situated in the Dominicana reception area. DC-6 is open until 3am and for those budding singers the El Patio has (contrary to advertised) Karyoke every night from 11:30pm until 1am.

If you turn right along the beach there is a shanty town shopping area in the distance. However, the shops in Caribbean Street (runs behind the Dominicana from the beach down to the DC-9 shopping square) has a selection of shops with similar pricing. Every Wednesday local traders are invited into the hotel and set up stalls outside the Punta Cana main bar with paintings, local jewellery, trinkets etc.

For the energetic there is a Gym at the beach end of Caribbean Street.

The hotel staff are on the whole very friendly and the entertainment crew go out of their way to please and involve people without being too pushy or intrusive.

The Junior Suites are a bit more spacious than the standard rooms but are situated near the Reception area with views over the service road and into the hotel next door. If you want a room with a view and near to the beach, the standard rooms up by the pools are better located.

For younger guests there are both children's and teenagers clubs in Dominicana.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Junior Suites as they are located away from the beach and pool areas and overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for you holidays, and also for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team, we want to express you how satisfied we are to read that you had a relaxing stay despite the inconveniences related to your room. It is one of our guiding principles in Iberostar to provide the best service to our beloved guests so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are happy to read your positive valuation of our value for money, our entertainment and the beauty of our Bavaro beach.
We hope to welcome you back soon. We are waiting for you to contact us in order to help you in your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro | Higüey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.