We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Bronx
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had our first vacation here at the Majestic and it was absolutely amazing! The pictures really do it no justice because it is actually more beautiful in person! From beginning to end it was everything we expected and then some. Not to mention the amazing staff and our personal butler who was so sweet. They definitely cater to your every need and go out their way to always make sure you feel welcomed. Definitely recommend this place 100%!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majestic-Col, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Kimcee23,

Thank you for choosing Majestic Resorts Colonial to spend your holiday and for sharing your experience with us and other travellers.

I am glad to hear you have had an amazing time here with us and I am glad to hear you loved our beautiful resort and our staff with a special note to your butler! Thrilled to hear he pampered you!

On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon again at the Majestic Colonial in Punta Cana!

Warm regards from Punta Cana,

Juan Carlos Vargas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,735
    3,265
    1,040
    411
    264
See reviews for
3,866
5,333
95
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens village
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

One of the best resorts punta Cana had to offer. The food was great, the drinks were good. Also the room was perfect and our concierge deLeon was best. Overall great experience great trip would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here with a group of friends for 4 nights in May. The hotel property itself was nice - beaches were beautiful, large pool, decent hotel rooms, always plenty of chairs at the pool and beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part; however some of the representatives from the water sports shop became quite persistent and annoying after a few days even though we had already booked a couple of excursions through them. However, all the wait staff and housekeeping were great (and very appreciative of tips-they work hard!)
The food was terrible - we know it's an all inclusive resort so didn't expect the food to be fantastic but would at least expect not to get sick. The buffets don't seem to be kept at the correct hot or cold temperatures so the food sits out for hours at a time in the heat, resulting in everyone in our group getting sick at one point or another. My husband spent 2 full days camped out in our hotel room and I became sick after arriving home and still haven't fully recovered 3 weeks later. Bring lots of Pepto Bismal, Immodium, and stay away from any food that hasn't been cooked to order immediately before serving.
Also, just a warning that the bathroom is open to the rest of the hotel room with only partial glass doors separating the toilet and shower so it could be awkward if you're sharing a room with someone you're not very comfortable with. In addition, the hotel rooms facing the pool and those on the bottom floor are really noisy at night (until 3-4 am) with people coming back from the bars, entertainment, casino, etc.
There are two restaurants that require reservations for dinner - the hibachi restaurant was by far the best food at the property. To make reservations (you can only make reservations for the same day) someone from your group needs to get to the lobby early in the morning - they start taking reservations at 9am but we got there at 8:40 one morning and there was already a line of people waiting.
Overall, the property itself was fine but I would certainly not return. If you can spend a little extra, I would recommend staying at a nicer place (you get what you pay for).

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the pool and rooms on the bottom floor - very noisy at night with drunk peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The Majestic Colonial was a beautiful resort. We were there from June 9th-15. We loved the inviting beach with huts for shade, the crystal clear blue ocean, and the amazing beach service. We read that they did not have beach service for drinks, but that was not true. We also loved the winding pool. Our boys played pool volleyball every afternoon. The older boys loved the resort and all that it had to offer. As parents, we loved the romantic setting and the time we spent with our children participating in the many activities. The rooms were clean, but outdated. We did not mind because we did not spend much time in the room. The maid staff was fabulous and the wait staff worked extremely hard to meet our needs.
Cons: The food was average (below average). The breakfast was the best meal served. The coffee boys always kept our coffee hot, and we loved their personalities. . It seemed that the buffet was always the same. The Mexican restaurant was good (except for the fish).
We read that there was a language barrier , but we did not see that as a problem.
I do wish the pool stayed open later than 6. Six is too early to close a pool when you have teens. They needed teen activities at the large pool at night ( our teems still had a great time).
It would be great if they had snack food at the pool for the children, but that might be expensive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I went with 4 other couples and we had the best time. Sure, the food is not the best but there is something to suit everyone, you just have to find it. Buffet was the same everyday but you could find stuff to please all. The amazing thing about this resort is the staff and the beach. We spent all our time at the beach and swim bar at the colonial club and we would like to comment on the staff. Juan Alfredo and Maria at the colonial club beach are awesome bartenders and people. They kept us entertained and we're just a joy to be around. Rafael and Arelis at the colonial club pool kept the drinks flowing and always had a smile. Juan Carlos worked at the same pool and was the towel guy and he was probably the kindest man we met. He always had a smile and always checked on us. The one thing I want to stress is these people work very long hours and if you show them a little kindness and throw them a few tips you will get it back ten fold. I saw people treating some staff like they were dirt and I wonder if those are some of the people that also post negative reviews on here. I wouldn't want to wait on you either. I think us Americans get to spoiled and we need to remember that we are in a different country, with a different culture, and we need to relax and enjoy the experience. Our trip wasn't perfect, but we didn't let the little things ruin our vacation and we ended up making friends with staff and other couples. SHOUT OUT TO TOMMY AND ERIN FROM BOSTON. Our butler was Marshall and he took very good care of us, even though we really didn't need much he checked on us and made sure. We would go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Stay in colonial club section, more to choose Rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Majestic Colonial from June 5-12 and had a fantastic time. We stayed in the Colonial Club portion of the resort and feel this was worth the extra money. We had a butler, who we did not see much, this was ok because we really did not need him. But when we did have a problem we went to the desk at the Colonial club and it was solved quickly. They have their own Adult only pools and section of the beach. We also would go to the Colonial Club where there were some snacks and drinks.

They have snorkel gear you can borrow and a small rocky area where you can see some fish. Also they have Kayak's, we found those to be great to break up the day. The beach is outstanding, their workers would be out on the beach at 7 am cleaning and prepping it for the day. Juan at the Beach bar was fantastic and worked very hard making drinks for everybody. All the other bar tenders worked very hard as well making sure you had everything you needed.

Now the food: I am not somebody who is picky about my food, buffets are normal for us. I am hesitant to give the food a bad review because, it might be we were not acclimated to it. Some of the food was good, Japanese and Chinese was good, French restaurant was good, Mexican/Dominican was ok (Margaritas here were awesome). We just had a problem with the general taste of the food. I did spend a day with several trips to the bathroom. Just be careful what you eat/drink, stick with bottled water for EVERYTHING.

Overall we had a great trip and will go back to the Majestic Colonial at some point. The staff work very hard to make you stay awesome. They are always cleaning, prepping and going nonstop.

Room Tip: Colonial Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a fantastic resort. Animation team were brilliant. Santana,Carlos,Chiky, Fransico, Eliana and Luciano are a lovely friendly bunch who kept us all entertained around the pool and their lovely Jubbly, I love my job had us in fits. Resort is beautiful with fantastic beaches. Food was really good in the buffet and you can also go to Le gourmet restaurant, the Japenese, the tapenyaki chef was fantastic or a Mexican restaurant. Restaurant also on the seafront was nice. This is by far the best All Inclusive that I have ever stayed at. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 4421 in the colonial club was lovely with a massive terrace. It was quiet and overlooked the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.