We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, but mixed individual ratings..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience, but mixed individual ratings..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So I have to start off by saying that I absolutely enjoyed the 5 days we spent in Punta Cana (9/14/2013 - 9/19/2013). It was quiet, did not have to reserve cabanas and the pool was pretty much empty. We managed to take a day trip to Higuey using Conexion tours (shout out to Ricardo!!). Also booked our private return trip to and from the airport for $90.

If I could, my review would be as follows:
Entertainment - 5 Stars
Location - 5 Stars
Staff - 4.5 Stars
Rooms - 3 Stars
Food - Breakfast 4 Stars; lunch and dinner 2.5 stars.

I was not impressed with the rooms at all. We stayed in the general area as we had our 8 mnth old. I was slightly depressed the 1st hr coz the rooms were just not what I expected. Felt like a motel. But once we got out to the beach, all sadness was erased! I suppose the whole point is to be outside, so I got over the rooms quick.

The staff was pretty great. I really wish I had learned their names. I was shocked that some of them served us breakfast and were still there at 9:30pm for dinner, only to turn around and be there at breakfast the next morning. We tipped a few $ every meal coz we felt their service was great, esp for the VERY long hours they worked. One girl by they lobby bar made THE BEST Mojito I have ever had!! Her name started with an M- Marcillini or something like that.. She was awesome. Not all bartenders are good though. Threw out some drinks coz they were pretty bad.

The food.. Umm- ok. So if I saw that yellow rice with clams and a whole bunch of sea food one more time, I was going to throw up. Never dared to try it.. Looked like it was made with left over rice from the day before. Breakfast at the one restaurant by ground level in the lobby area (off to the side a bit) was pretty great. Lunch really wasnt that different - most restaurants carried the dreaded rice dish. The one by the beach had OK burgers. Dinner- it was nothing to write home about as well. The sushi looked like it had been made that afternoon and left out till dinner time. But if you made the reservation the private presentation station was pretty good at the Japanese restaurant. Dessert was always amazing - all the restaurants carried the same dessert menu.

We avoided all fresh stuff and brushed our teeth with bottled water as my husband has a sensitive stomach, BUT he still got food poisoning the morning we left. Mine didn't kick in till 3 day after; couldn't figure out what caused it.

Entertainment team was off the chain. The Michael Jackson show on Sunday night was amazing. But it was so short- wish it has lasted longer. Dinner party at the beach was also really good. The food was the best that we ate during our stay. Felt like a wedding reception. I would have gladly volunteered to throw on a white dress and be a bride again!

My husband got a massage for his b-day and absolutely loved it. Said its the best he has ever had. Although he did say they got more personal than he was used to! It was $90- comparable to US prices..

We took our 8 month old and she was in heaven! We brought a floaty that had a shade so she was always covered. Took a stroller as well, lots of sunscreen, swimming diapers.. I would take the feeding bottles with the disposable liners though, coz washing them with bottled water was a pain, and I never felt like they were completely clean. The place was pretty child friendly. Just sad we couldn't get into the Colonial Club because of that.

Great experience overall. Wouldn't go back because we like to try out different destinations, but would recommend that you go as a couple/ adults only and stay in the Colonial Club.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majestic-Col, Public Relations Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We certainly pleased to have you as our guest here in the hotel and welcome the comments that you provided. Your compliments will be relayed on to the staff concerned.

We are glad to hear from you that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Should you ever decide to come back, we will be more than happy to host you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,171
    3,482
    1,132
    442
    272
See reviews for
4,086
5,712
101
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed in the Colonial Club ("adults") section with friends for a week during spring break this year. There are a lot of perks that come with being in the Colonial Club (and is probably your best option if you want a quieter experience). The rooms were very spacious, overlooking the pools. Access to the special "VIP lounge" was incredibly useful, as it is conveniently located with wifi and snacks! The private swimming pools are also so nice and we used them all the time (not just a sales gimmick!). The roped-off private beach area is ideal for getting away from the college-aged action, although it is a bit cramped. The section of the beach is really nice and is likely close to the hotels your friends are staying at (if on spring break too). The hotel in general during this time was about 60% families and 40% spring breakers. This isn't the hotel for you if you want a crazyyy spring break, but rather a relaxing one with access to the fun if you want it (at this hotel and others). The restaurants are decent at best--generally buffet style except for maybe 5 dinner restaurants. My favorites were the Rodeo Grill on the beach, which has the most amazing steak (seriously), and Ma+suri, which served hibachi but you must book in advance or as soon as you get there.
Don't be scared if you're not a spring-breaker to stay here...it's definitely a quieter hotel, but also has its perks for college kids. If you are looking for a 5-star experience, I wouldn't say this is the crowd for you, but 4-stars are definitely deserved!

Room Tip: Colonial Club rooms overlooking the pool are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This resort was by far the best place we have ever been to! We went with a group of 40 for a wedding and EVERYTHING was amazing. We had the basic room which was VERY nice and always well kept. The entertainment staff were a blast! There was always so much going on which I loved! The food was great, the staff were so nice and helpful. Whatever negative comments you read before going here IGNORE! You REALLY have to be picky to find something wrong, and those people writing things went out of their way looking for things to find to complain about. If you are considering this resort, look no further and book because you won't regret it! Everywhere I travel to now I compare to this resort and none have come anywhere close!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my 2nd time to the DR and My sister's first...we had a great time. The Magestic Colonial Club was the best decision ever...we had a butler to help us with anything we needed we just needed to call. We actually had 2 butlers...Franklin and Juan Carlos. Both did a great job, but if I had my choice we would of had Franklin the entire trip! He was very kind, helpful, big smiles and warm welcome. At the resorts the employees work 12 days and then get 3 days off. So, our trip fell within the 3 days off timeframe. Note to self: ask for Franklin next time and make sure he's not off! lol. The room was beautiful and had an excellent view of the private swimming pool and swim up bars. The bali beds were always accessible and we never felt crowded. We did plan our trip in the off season so that played a part in never having to wait around for things. The best restaurants were the Matsuri and the Hispanola...Pedro and Deivi Bautista and Carlos Beleo and Hanal Mendez (chef) and Jesus Evangelista...were the best! They greeted us and made our dining experiences the best ever. I wanted platanos maduros and they made sure I got them. I am so grateful for their above and beyond hospitality. The cleanliness of the entire facility is impeccable and the process is flawless. There were always activities to keep you busy and to get involved. We never felt like we had to leave the grounds. The scenery from any angle was like a postcard. Sitting on the beach being served hand and foot while taking in the beautiful beach and cool breeze could not be topped. I would go back in heartbeat and take my entire family to enjoy the wonderful resort and spa...priceless!!! Gracias por todo y vamos a regresar pronto...cuidensen mis amigos...Familia Torrez

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a nice resort! The staff is A++!! Our butler Tiger Woods can only be rated AAA+++!!!!
I read all the reviews about this resort and the resort is exactly as I expected. The room however didn't make me happy at all, more about that later.
Jose and Yasel have to be the hardest working employees that I saw at the Colonial Club pool bar!!! They made our so so visit a ray of sunshine!!!
Our room had two sinks in it. One sink had hot water but NO cold. The other sink had cold water but NO hot. The frosted door hiding the toilet area had to be open for you to do your business. After arriving Sunday and having "STOMACH PROBLEMS" Tuesday thru Friday, the door was open most of the time. Matter of fact during one bout of the "RUNS" the toilet clogged. OMG!!!!
While in the shower next to the toilet I moved the drain cap and then heard the toilet unclogged and flush. While taking a shower the ceiling leaked COLD water between the cracks of the tiles onto my back. After calling the front desk and the "plumber" arrived he took our bath towels and wiped the water up from the ceiling tiles. THANK GOODNESS that the cold water was coming from the water pipe and NOT the upstairs toilet. The "PLUMBER" also fixed the faucets at the sinks with a pair of VISE GRIPS, and a pair of wire cutters, he used as a hammer. Our safe didn't work, and we had to call several times to get that fixed. Easy fix with toilet paper that he jammed behind the circuit board. The sliding door to our swim up never locked, the butler's passage way NEVER LOCKED.
The resort is nice, the maintenance of the rooms need LOT'S OF WORK!!! I also want to say HOLA to Patricia, who tried to make our trip better.
Unfortunately we will not be returning to Majestic Colonial. There are just way to many other resorts that are actual 4/5 stars, unlike the Majestic which is a 3 on a good day.

Steve+Nancy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Loved the resort, beach and staff (for the most part) but the food is awful. We are not picky eaters by any stretch but 8 out of 10 of our group got very sick from the food and lost a day due to being in bed and in the bathroom. We read the reviews about the food and we were skeptical of them. We shouldn't have been, they were on point. Buffet never changes, restaurants close on certain days so we there really isn't 9 restaurants to choose from. 3 of them are in the same building and are only separated by a menu. Worst food I have EVER had at a resort. Japanese restaurant was good, but we were seated 15 min after reservation time and did not get food served until almost an hour later.
We had a couple in our party that stayed on north side of island in the past and they said food was much better there. Please be aware that the food will be terrible, no other way to put it. We saw multiple people who we could hear complaining of being sick.
Again, resort is nice and the Club Staff was very friendly, but due to the food service we can not recommend this resort and we will not return.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are nice. Our friends had one and they liked it. Wireless is not real good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Majestic Colonial was a beautiful resort that was clean and well maintained. We stayed on the Colonial Club side which I would recommend since it provided an internet cafe area with internet access as well as a well stocked snack bar with drinks. It also provided an adult only pool area which would be beneficial during the busier months for couples looking for more of an intimate setting. Since the wi-fi in the room was sketchy at best, even after calling 2 technicians, we took full advantage of the internet cafe for skyping with our kids back at home. The pools were clean, well maintained and the staff was all very friendly. Our butler Ilaine Dieuseul was wonderful, always greeting us, checking in, offering assistance wherever possible. Jenny at Le Gourmet was also a delight, always wearing a smile and happy to see you.

One downside to our trip was that they resort did not advise us in advance that our ocean front room that we paid additional money for was going to be right next to the "elegance" side of the resort that was under renovation. Since they all work very long hours 7 days a week, our entire stay was filled with jack hammering, clinking, banging, work trucks in and out which made sitting on our balcony not an option. Most times, the noise could also be heard on the Colonial Club side of our beach. Thankfully we were gone from our room most of the time that the construction was underway, and the room was relatively quiet when we were in there.

The food was average, but I believe it was on par with what is to be expected out of an all-inclusive style trip. My husband and I did get sick at the end of our trip, but we couldn't narrow it down to the excursion we went on or something that we ate at the resort. I feel that the resort works as hard as they could to keep food fresh and all of the areas clean and that my husband and I just were unlucky in catching something.

Overall, I would recommend this resort, and would be likely to return in the future, but will make sure to check to see if there is any construction planned during my trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.