We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Annual Trip / First Time in Colonial Club (Six Nights in January)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“4th Annual Trip / First Time in Colonial Club (Six Nights in January)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Majestic Colonial for our 4th time this past January (20th - 26th) (and this review is long overdue)

It was our first time in the Colonial Club section. Overall, once again, it was a wonderful vacation.
The hotel grounds, restaurants, bars, and most importantly, the BEACH, remain top-notch.
The servers, bartenders and entertainment staff work very hard and made our stay more enjoyable.

We tried the new Colonial Club, which costs more, and to get it for our days, we had to take an Oceanfront Suite (which also added to the cost).On balance, while the Colonial Club amenities were very nice, we NEVER saw our butler after check-in. Not once during our 6 days. In fact, we had to seek out other Colonial Club staff for assistance. And check-in, check-out at the Club was not particularly better than our traditional check-in, check-out in years past.
So, I think the Club needs to improve its performance.

I do want to add that the room was very large, the outdoor patio with jacuzzi was great. Housekeeping did a gret job; and the room refrigerator always stocked. As usual, the food was "good" to "very good", depending on the restaurant and the menu choices we made. The breakfast buffet was always very good.

Another very nice part of the Majestic Colonial is the outdoor plaza, with bar and live entertainment most nights; and, the very lively main bar in the open air lower lobby.

We highly recommend the Majestic Colonial; however, next January, for our 5th visit, we are not sure we would opt for the Colonial Club (unless we could get one of the non-oceanfront jacuzzi suites AND be assigned a butler who will be available for assistance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,116
    3,461
    1,121
    438
    269
See reviews for
4,066
5,649
100
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

So this was our first trip to Punta Cana let alone the Majestic Colonial resort. The driving experience to get to the resort was very "interesting". Keep your eyes closed. Don't get me wrong our transportation service "coco tours" was the best... my brother arranged to have beer for the adults and sodas for the kids upon our arrival which was several hours delayed due to weather. However.. they did in fact have cold beer in a cooler for us!! Awesome. It wouldn't have mattered who drove us to the resort... there are obviously no traffic laws there.. LOL. Anyway, the resort was very nice.. We were initially assigned to a room where there were some problems but, they quickly moved us to another room with no issues. So I really have no complaints about that. It was rectified quickly.. no need to beat a dead horse. The rooms were nice and beds we thought comfortable for a resort honestly. Firm but, not uncomfortable. Also give someone the right tip and you can pretty much have all the beer you want in your room at all times...Our family had 3 separate rooms a total of 10 of us... and we always had cold beer. The pools at this resort were awesome and just went on & on... for what seemed like miles. Never an issue having space or finding loungers at the pool. The Beach & Ocean were phenomenal!!!! One of the best I've been too. Beautiful... just that alone was well worth the trip of going here.... The food was good... I would say better than other resorts/areas I've been too.. including Jamaica and Mexico... Always a pretty large variety. We went to the Steak part of the main restaurant and the Seafood part... as well as the Mexican restaurant. All were very good. I in particular enjoyed the Mexican restaurant... Felix and another server were awesome and so much fun! Starting with Margheritas... and then after dinner they were bringing us shots.. including a flaming shot, a mamajuana shot, and for the ladies a tequilla boom boom. So much fun! We also had a very nice server Denny on the beach that kept our Tervis Tumblers full with whatever we wanted... beer... dirty banana.. you name it. And I can't forget Alex in the main bar!! He was the best and we had so much fun with him! He's a master of suprise with the drinks... The Casino was small, packed, and very hot but, just keep your cold beverage near! My sister in law & I sat at the slots while our hubbys went to the roulette table and still had a great time. Went to the karaoke show & the Michael Jackson show; both were enjoyable. Overall had a wonderful time and most all of the employees were very upbeat and fun. There was somewhat of a language barrier there... so expect it. Would recommend this resort and would return if we travel back to Punta Cana..

Room Tip: Request or demand a poolside room until construction is completed on the other building. Garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This has been the 8th time traveling to Punta Cana and the first time at the Majestic Colonial. From arrival to departure and during our stay I can't say enough about the Management and staff at the Hotel. The entire team was professional - entertaining and service oriented. I had the pleasure to meet the General Manager as well and it allowed me to understand why the team works so well and strives for excellent service. They have combined a great Hotel as well as integrated a certain local flavor which makes it different from the other Hotel's I have stayed in the passed. I would highly recommend this Hotel if visiting Punta Cana.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2013 for a wedding. We had a Colonial Club Suite with a Jaccuzi, supposedly this is the newly renovated club towers that were done less than 2 years ago. Are you kidding me? this place needs a complete redo, rooms were hot, A/C does not go below 20 C, paint was chipping the rooms, bathrooms not fully finished. Did not care for the open bathroom layout, there is no privacy. Rooms are spacious though.
Food was terrible for the most part, drinks were watered down. We had one bottle of liquor stolen from our room. One night we return to the room, the door was unlocked and left open after the turn down service.
The shows were terrible, No internet connections in the room. They tell you that the internet works but good luck with that. No internet connection in the lobby, ONLY in the colonial club room and very very very slow if you are lucky enough to get a signal.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing time at the majestic colonial. We stayed at the Colonial Club side and were well taken care of by our butler De Leon! We had the beautiful bath set up one night and he helped us out throughout our stay, thank you De Leon for making our trip that much nicer! I LOVED our room; we had the ocean front with the outside Jacuzzi. What an amazing view! The food was fine, we always found something that worked for us and the drinks were tasty. We brought the bubba mugs and we were glad we did, they kept everything cold for hours. We also brought our own pool floats, the person at the towel hut was kind enough to inflate them for us (I’m sorry I don’t remember your name, but thank you!) Everyone was nice and welcoming; I really don’t know how someone can have a problem with service. Overall great stay!

Room Tip: go with Ocean Front! Great View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The service was below par, people were not happy to help you. There were a few staff members that were good but the overall staff was not happy to help you. Even when tipped it did not change their attitude. The bars were under staffed, sometimes it would take 10+ minutes to get a drink.
The food was below par as well, we ate at every restaurant trying to find something that was good but every restaurant seemed to serve a variation of the same food. The buffets served the same food everyday. Some food was cold. Im sure it is hard to serve good food for a large resort like this but i was very disappointed. They served all the lowest quality of alcohol. The rum was cheap, there was only one kind of beer. The white wine was terrible. The red was good.
The resort location is far from all excursions, we were the first ones to be picked up and the last ones to be dropped off. The beaches were pretty but the water was rough being on the atlantic side. We went parasailing and people were being sick over the edge of the boat. We were only on the boat for about 30-45 minutes total. We did an excursion that took us to the carribean side of the island and the water was great there.
I would not recommend this resort and will not be returning to the dominican republic. I have had better experiences in Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our first time to Punta Cana and the Majestic Colonial, and this was a fantastic vacation.

For those who have never been to the Punta Cana airport, we were surprised by the fact that there was no A/C in the airport when going through customs, but of course, we are in the tropics, so no big deal, right!? We arranged our transportation separately through Dominican Quest Transfers and they were johnny-on-the-spot and provided great service.

We were in the Colonial Club and the little bit extra cost was worth it as you had separate concierge and check-in and we appreciated the extra pillow menu. The room had a good layout as the shower and toilet were separate with separate vanities and a jacuzzi in the room. We stayed in room 4306 (3rd floor of building) and the A/C in the room was great (it never turned off as has happened to us at other resorts)!!

PROS (highlights for us):
- service - excellent, especially at breakfast. We loved how they had a "coffee boy" whose sole job was to walk around filling and refilling coffee all the while shouting "el cafe and coffee boy." In addition the service at the buffet and restaurants was consistently good.
- buffets - good food with good variety.
- specialty restaurants - no reservations required big plus for us and it was a relaxed dress code for men (my husband wore nice shorts).
- Colonial Club lounge - plenty of soda/water/drinks and snacks available, access to use computers and free WiFi (I was also able to get WiFi in our room).
- pool/beach - there is plenty of pool(s) to enjoy from active and quiet pools to the Colonial Club pool. The thatch palapas and loungers at the pool and beach are awesome and you have plenty of room between you and your neighbor and not crammed together.
- towel service - we loved the towel service at the Colonial Club and the towels were of great quality.

CONS:
- pool - the bathrooms are not the most convenient to the pool.
- water - no purified water in the room but this is not a major deal but you do go through a lot of bottled water brushing your teeth.

We went to another resort while we were in Punta Cana and this was our favorite, and it is worth what you pay. We have also been to several resorts in the Riviera Maya in Mexico and the Colonial is in our top tier. We will definitely return here when we return to PC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear TejasQueen,

Greetings from Punta Cana!

First of, all thank you for have chosen Majestic Colonial Club as your vacation destination in the Caribbean. Also, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a nice feedback of your recent stay with us, so that other Trip Advisore followers can be aware of the great experience you had while vacationing at our Resort.

In the meantime, please note that we´re very proud to receive such positives and construtives comments about our property that helps us to improve our services. I´m very please to know that we fulfilled your expectations regarding food, service, pool/beach and every detail you enjoyed at the Resort.

Concerning your cons comments, please note that we will use these comments in order to better improve our services and facilities.

Will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to see you soon and make your holidays perfect and unforgettable with the service and kindness of our staff.

Cordially,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.