We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Good Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall a Good Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at a couple of all inclusive hotels in the Caribbean so I'm going to do my best to write a fair review on this resort. We have overall a good vacation here traveling as a couple on a 7 night trip, with both good and bad points. We stayed in the adults-only Colonial club. At check in, our "butler" - In The House #5 - met us enthusiastically and got us checked in and showed us our room. He offered us a tour of the grounds, but we had a long trip in and we very tired so he just took us to our room. We asked if it would be possible to have a tour later on, and he stated that no, it was only available upon first arrival. So that was slightly disappointing. He showed us the pamphlet of the resort, which did not seem to be completely up to date, but was helpful enough that we were able to find our way around. We felt like the butler as well as many of the employees were a little bit over-the-top, in-your-face and slightly pushy. We assumed this was because they wanted a tip. We were slightly turned off by this but did offer tips when it felt appropriate - not each and every time we got a drink, etc., but as we felt necessary. Others of the staff were great and very friendly and helpful without being overly pushy, which we appreciated. Our room smelled musty on the first day but either we got used to the smell or it aired out throughout the trip because we didn't notice it after a couple of days. On the first day we were having trouble getting the TV to turn on (it eventually did work but there was only a few english channels) and my boyfriend was poking around behind the TV stand trying to get it to turn on and he said he saw a ton of tiny bugs behind the tv stand - which was skeevy but we just tried not to think about it. The housekeeper who cleaned our room was very friendly and sweet and did a good job keeping the room clean. We got water, soda and beer restocked in our fridge each day. They give you a couple of chocolate bars on the first day but they were never replaced - bummer because the desserts at the restaurants are lacking - more on the food later. They also give you a bottle of champagne which we drank and bottles of what I think was rum, scotch, and vodka, in the beginning of your stay in your room - we never even opened them. As for the rooms, the walls are thin, as can be expected at resorts like this. We overheard an argument between a couple that seemed to be coming from the floor below us and seemed to be almost escalating to violence and was a little scary - we contemplated calling the hotel but eventually we just left the room and forgot about it since it was hard to pinpoint where exactly the screaming was coming from. We also had a couple of nights of hearing loud, drunken yelling in the hallways around 2am which was annoying. We were thinking the "adults-only" section would be quieter, but in reality, it wasn't. Our balcony just had a view of another building (I think the Elegance resort) so we didn't spend much time out there. We tried out the jacuzzi once and it was nice. Onto the food. The food, as is the case at most places like this, was edible but not great. The breakfast buffet had a lot of options and we tried mostly everything. Nothing was fantastic and I ended up eating mostly cereal, bananas, and yogurts for breakfasts - which was fine by me. We did lunch at the buffet-style restaurant near the beach every day. The options were mosly the same each day, and consisted of pastas, a salad bar, a burger, etc. Nothing special but it was fine. For dinners we tried the mexican restaurant (so-so), the seafood restaurant (pretty bad), the japanese restaurant (so-so), and the steak house (the best of the bunch). One night at the seafood restaurant we waited for about 20 minutes while other, large parties that we saw seated after us had their orders taken - eventually we just got up and left and skipped dinner that night. The drinks are constantly flowing - at the restaurants they will pretty much keep filling your glass or bringing you refills until you phsyically stop them from doing so. We drank a lot of champagne and wine with our meals which we enjoyed. My boyfriend got violently ill on one night and we are not sure what the cause was - must have been some type of food or drink he had. But he was fine the next day and I never had any ill effects. I would recommend bringing immodium just in case. He took it as a precaution after he got sick and never had another episode. The beach is gorgeous and there are people constantly taking your drink orders, or you can go up to the bar yourself. We walked all the way down the beach past a few other resorts to a secluded beach with huge waves - not sure if this is technically allowed but it was fun and nobody ever stopped us. We stayed at the adults-only section of beach most of the time, which was pretty quiet and we never had trouble finding chairs. We witnessed at least 3 weddings per day, which is kind of weird because it feels like you are sort of intruding on these people's special moments since you are literally sitting a few steps away from them. The pools were nice and you could always find a quiet area. We never tried any of the water sports - I saw 2 people flip over in their kayaks (the waves are kind of big) - but my boyfriend did get a snorkle one day but there really isn't anything to see in the water. A few fish. There are literally no shells on this beach, only a few small pieces of coral. The main pool has a big bar with loud music and sort of a "party" area which we tried to hang out in one day but it ended up being too crowded and annoying so we left. There were also "miss bikini" and the sexiest man contests, etc. on the main beach- It feels slightly like they are trying to push the resort as a party spot which is not what we were looking for, but I can't speak for everyone else who stays here. I definitely would avoid this place around spring break unless you're looking for party central. We got a couples massage at the spa one day for $180- not a bad price and it was a decent massage. They did a BBQ beach party one night which we attended and watched some of the entertainment for a bit and ate burgers. The michael jackson show at the theater was great. We tried attending a few other shows but weren't impressed with any of the other ones. There is a small bar that had music a few nights which we went to and they encourage you to dance and enjoy yourself which was fun. We never tried out the sports bar, disco or casino. We noticed that the same songs play around the resort over and over- not the fun, caribbean reggae songs that we expected but just kind of upbeat songs that we ended up finding slightly annoying. We got a few bug bites but nothing major - we noticed that there were not many bugs, birds, lizards, or really any other type of wildlife which we found a little unusual - just an observation. The wireless internet included with the Colonial Club stay was supposed to be available in the Colonial Club lounge (where they have drinks, small snacks, and a tv 24hrs a day) but I found it to be spotty and didn't always work.

Overall, I would recommend this place to someone looking for a decent all-inclusive, although I don't think I would return again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,110
    3,459
    1,121
    438
    269
See reviews for
4,063
5,644
100
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very pleasing for the most part, however, more of the staff should speak english. A few of the staff that did not speak english were reluctant to seek out a co-worker to asist them to better be able to help us with our issues. I visited the Casino on a Thursday around 10:oopm and the cashier was very indifferent and unacommodating. We ate most of our meals in the buffet restaurant and we were served by supervisor Juan Diaz, Estsphany, Candido, Jonathan and the service they provided us with was just "GREAT", our Thanks to them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our second trip to the Majestic. Last year we stayed at the Majestic Elegance and thought we would try the Colonial this time. We were not disappointed. The rooms are amazing and kept so clean. The food is great, with our favourite being the Japanese restaurant. The grounds are beautiful and there was always space at the beach and the pool. We were part of the Colonial Club and felt this was worth it! The staff here are amazing and really go out of their way to make your vacation as enjoyable as possible. In particular, Alba from the Club was amazing! This is the only hotel we will stay at in the Dominican. If you're thinking of booking, do it. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Colonial Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear naiomi379,

Greetings from Punta Cana!

Hereby, we would like to thank you for choosing Majestic Resorts once again as your favorite vacation spot in the Caribbean. Also, note that we really appreciate the positives comments you remarked about our property: the room, services, and facilities.

Please note that we´re very proud to know that you felt well atended by our staff, especially by Alba, at the Club Lounge.

Thank you for recommending our Property for those people who are looking to spend a great vacation time in Punta Cana. We will be more than happy if you be part of our Majestic Resorts family.

Best regards,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family of four stayed five nights at the Majestic Colonial. Had a wonderful relaxing visit! The Spa service was outstanding! We ate at each of the restaurants onsite and they were really good! We especially enjoyed the service provided to us by Rudy Perez, he gave our family wonderful individualized attention! He took the time to talk with each of us and made us feel very welcomed at the resort and his restaurants too (he was our waiter at several)! The beach and pool onsite were wonderful. The only improvement to suggest is I would have liked to see more evening entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Bsimon2211,

Greetings from Punta Cana!

Thank you very much for have chosen the Majestic Colonial as your choice to have a relaxing vacation in the Caribbean.

It is our pleasure to meet your expectations as you mentioned with our service and facilities, especially Rudy Perez who made you feel very welcomed at the resort and for being the reason you had a wonderful time.

Please note we will extend your comments to Rudy Perez who made this trip unforgettable for you, hoping you can give us the opportunity to host you one more time, making Majestic Colonial your favorite place in Dominican Republic.

Cordially,

Angel Holgado
General Manager
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just spent a week at the Majestic Colonial! I've only been home for 2 days and I am already missing this place so very much and can NOT wait to return soon! The rooms were clean and beautiful. Even the lobby and pool bathrooms were kept cleaner than any other resort bathrooms I've been in. The buffets were always amazing and our favorite restaurant was the Japanese! I cannot express how awesome the staff is! They are always willing to go above and beyond to help and please you! The waiters and waitresses were always smiling and a ton of fun! Our favorite was Speedy from the Funjestic team! His water aerobics to just his amazing personality really made a difference for our trip! We could always count on him for fun at the pool or on the beach! I would recommend the Majestic Colonial to everyone!! We will diffidently be back very soon!! Thank you for an awesome trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went down with 2 other couples and have never stayed at an all-inclusive before. This resort really blew away our expectations. The beach was great and wasn't crowded at all. The pools were very clean and relaxing. We really enjoyed the poolside bars, the bartenders were very friendly and were always there to get whatever it was you needed. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We upgraded to the Colonial Club and were assigned a butler for the duration of our stay. His name was Francisco and he was great. Whenever you needed some whether it be something for your room or help with things around the resort, he would get it for you. He would find you on the beach and make sure everything was OK. I definitely recommend upgrading to the Colonial Club and please ask for Francisco. You won't be disappointed.
Overall this resort is a great place to take time out of your busy schedule and get away from it all. The staff is very friendly and while I was there I never saw an unhappy staff member. The food was good with many different restaurants to choose from. We definitely will be looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been back from our 2 week holiday to this hotel for a couple of weeks now. Myself and my partner really enjoyed ourselves. There's tones to do during the day (Zumba, foam party etc..) I particularly enjoyed waking up to an outdoor yoga session. By far Breakfast in the main buffet was our most enjoyed meal of the day, I discovered how amazing French toast with Peanut butter is! For the evening meal we enjoyed the Rodeo Grill the most, steaks were really good and fresh. We weren't particularly impressed with the other restaurants as most of the food was the same as in the Buffett but served nicely. The staff were great, but make sure you bring lots of tipping money, coming from the UK this was something we had to get used to. We stayed in the Club area which we both thought was well worth it, the pool area and Bali bed are lovely and we never struggled to get a nice spot. We didn't spend much time on the beach but it was lovely and clean! They also have a beach party one a week in the evenings which was great. Slight annoyance is that they have the same 6 or 7 songs playing constantly around the resort, a little irritating after two weeks, but probably hardly noticeable if your only there for a week.

All in all we had a lovely time, it was a pure all inclusive, relax, eat and drink as much as you can holiday and the Majestic Colonial resort was perfect for the job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.