We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Hotel and Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall Great Hotel and Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort in February of 2012. Upon entering we were given cool towels, champagne, and snacks. Getting checked into our room did take a rather long time (about 2 hours), because they did not have any of the rooms ready (we stayed in the colonial club section of the resort). Since we were staying in the club section, we had butler service and they took out bags, showed us around the resort and then to our room.

The room was fantastic. There were fresh flowers, towels swans, mini bar stocked with alcohol, waters, and soda. The room was cleaned very well daily and the mini bar always restocked. There are tons of bars all over the resort and we never had to wait more than a minute to get a drink. There are always servers who bring you drinks at the pool and the beach which was fantastic.

The food was over all really good. We did the buffet for breakfast every morning (had everything you would expect and more) and for dinner tried most of the restaurants offered. I highly recommend the Japanese Hibachi. It was fantastic and fun! There is also nightly entertainment. It wasn't the best that I have seen, we both still had fun.

We did a few excursions while there. I suggest the sting ray/swim with sharks one. It was a blast. We also did the one where you see what it is like in typical Dominican living. This one was good BUT everywhere we went there was pressure to buy something (rum, spices, cigars, ect).

Overall a great resort and I would go back. Definitely stay in the colonial club.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,765
    3,194
    1,014
    400
    259
See reviews for
3,889
5,188
96
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, OK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I went to the Dominican Republic last year for Mother's Day. We chose this resort from our travel agent's recommendations and this sites reviews. We were disappointed in the resort overall. There was tons on construction going on, with very loud noise. We upgraded to beach front, but when we got to the room it was a couples room with open bathroom and king bed. We requested another room with 2 beds, etc. and were put way back from the beach right near the construction and were given no refund on the extra money we had paid for the upgrade. The rooms were dated along with the entire place looking tired. The food was plentiful, but was just so so. The beach was nice. We enjoyed a trip to a cigar factory and shopping in town. Another thing was the resort was so far from the airport. We had an OK time overall, would return to Dominican, just not this resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This resort is beautiful. It has everything you need like a tiny city. Location is amazing. You can snorkel right on site for Free. The food was good nothing to rave about, except for the French and Japanese restaurants, they were really good. If you like resorts this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first all inclusive experience and I loved pretty much every second of it. When you arrive to the hotel they take your luggage for you and your butler brings you to your room. It was raining when we got there so we didn't get the full tour most people get of the property but thats okay because there is signage everywhere and you get a little booklet that tells you everything you need to know. The biggest issue we had while we were there is the ceiling above our jacuzzi was leaking and we called 3 times to get it fixed. Our butler called to arrange a jacuzzi evening and we told him about the leak and someone came to look at it and it was never fixed and it was a bit disturbing not knowing what water was leaking on us.

i can't wait to go back! We were so sad to leave, everyone is so nice and helpful.
Pros
- multiple delicious restaurants
- super comfy beds
- multiple pools
- cute little shops
- good entertainment
- funjestic team is awesome

cons
- our ceiling was never fixed
- no wifi in the room

Room Tip: If you are going without children select the Colonial club option! Free Wifi in the club and more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment, we really appreciated it.
We feel very glad that you have such a great time among us in Majestic Colonial.
We thank you for to share your suggestions, they are very helpful. Be sure, we have taken note of all your comments.
We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

If you are planning to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first time at this resort, it was great, the rooms were clean, the service was very good. Flowers on our bed, wine bottle, chocolate. This was an amazing vacation loved all the staff, the restaurants were very good, clean and the service to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time going to Punta Cana and we could not have chosen a better place. The staff were truly friendly and made you feel like you are home. The beach line is walking distance from the resort suites. The suites are very spacious and best of all, there are no clocks in the room. It was a great get-away from the hustle and bustle of everyday activities. We are planning to return as soon as we can. Thank You to the various new friends at the resort such as Luz, Marcos, Fabio, Tarion, Luis Albero and Carmen and the various other associates whose faces always had a warm and friendly smile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended especially for Luz ,Marcos ,Tarion, Fabio, Carmen and Luis.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During our stay many persons made sure our trip was going to be unforgettable. It would be disrespectful not to name them. Jenny DeAza and Rigo as well as they're serving staff at "Le Gourmet" went out of there way to make our breakfast, lunch and dinners perfect. Billy the kid at the japanese was very courteous and very good humour and very social. Our favorite "Dominican idol" Jose Augusto and Ana Karina at the wet bar of the club section were very entertaining and joyful presence. Jorge at the rodeo grill made our romantic dinner a magical evening and our private musician saxophonist "boumboum" (Tony) made our evening a perfection to our ears and hearts. The best guy of the entire vacation and really went out of is way to impress us is our butler/friend Ben. He took the time to ear our request and made our dreams come true. Thank you also Francisco for filling our needs. Over all, this trip is by far our best experience and our best destination we ever experienced. Thank you to everyone at Majestic and we will be back soon.

Eric and Mireille

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended especially for Jenny, Rigo, Ana Carina ,Jose Augusto , Jorge and Tony.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.