We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic! Where everyone knows your name!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Majestic! Where everyone knows your name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This resort is part of two hotels and we stayed at the Colonial and would recommend this to any traveler. We upgraded our room to a swim up room which was certainly worth it. From the time of checking in, Ana and staff were very professional. The grounds were gorgeous and all staff always accommodating. The beach is beautiful with entertainment options. Bala bala greeted us ever morning offering water sports and fun activities. The hotel amongst the strip is located in a perfect place so you can walk from end to end. Night swimming was great! Water was warm. Best mother and daughter vacation so far and can't wait till the next!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a swim up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7,324
    3,032
    958
    374
    242
See reviews for
3663
4909
90
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well hello vacationers,
Recently visited the majestic colonial in punta cana with my wife and son the service was wonderful every afternoon they brought snacks to our room for our son our fridge was never empty and our room was kept clean. From the time we arrived were made to feel welcome from the lobby staff members like Joel and Armando to the evening diner attendents like stephanie who we liked to call boss our coffee cups were never empty everything was great .The food was excellent.Staff always had a smile thanks to everyone for making us feel at home.

Peter , lila and brad Johnson

Room Tip: Junior surite 2225 2 double beds half way to food service and beach second floor balcony over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended especially for Joel and Amado.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had our honeymoon here in August 2012. We stayed in one of the ocean front rooms with private Jacuzzi on the balcony. We would rate the interior of the room more like a 4 star than a 5 star room, but it was still very nice and clean (maybe a tiny bit dated). However the beach is breathtaking and so quiet, a real paradise for couples. The services is outstanding as well as the food. I can recommend all the restaurants although the Japanese was my least favourite as it was more like a mix of Korean/Chinese/Japanese food rahter than a proper Japanese restaurant. I can truly recommend this hotel to all who are looking for an amazing, romantic and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main restaurant are noisier than rooms near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a week during March 2013. This was our third trip to the Punta Cana area but our first time at the Majestic. Here were our thoughts:

Room: We stayed in the Colonial Club and were given room 4408, which was a Jr Suite with Jacuzzi. The room was very spacious and we appreciated the high ceilings that the forth-floor rooms have. The air conditioning worked well and the room did not have any musty odours. The main bathroom area was open to the rest of the room and had the jacuzzi tub and double sinks. The toilet was closed off behind a frosted glass door, as was the shower. The shower area was very large and had both a waterfall and hand-held showerhead. The jetted tub was big enough for two and worked well. The king-sized bed looked impressive but was not all that comfortable (harder than we like). The pillows were flat and lumpy. We tried to select new pillows from the "pillow menu", however when we called down to the club lounge we were told there were no more available. They instead brought us more of the lumpy pillows which we were able to stack and make a bit more comfortable, so we didn't try ordering new pillows on any day. The room was cleaned well by the maid every day but we did not experience the advertised turn-down service at any time through our stay, and heard other guests complain about the same thing (a minor inconvenience really).

Grounds: The main lobby, grounds, and beach were all very impressive and well maintained. Despite there being lots of people at the resort, there was always many free chairs both beach and poolside, even under the palapas. I appreciated not having to worry about playing "the towel game" to get some space in the shade. On 2 separate days we moved to the pool from the beach at about 3 in the afternoon and still had no trouble finding space. The beach is very large, and you can walk for miles in either direction. The water was mostly free of seaweed and the bottom of the ocean is mostly sandy with only a few scattered rocks (and the water was clear enough to spot them easily on most days). Because there is not much coral in this area, there were not many fish around to look at, so snorkeling is a bit boring. While swimming we could sometimes see schools of fish swimming by. There are a few merchants that will walk by along the beach, but we did not find them to be pushy and for the most part did not notice them.

Food: This was probably our biggest disappointment of our whole stay. It's not that it was particularly terrible, just that we found most was lacking in flavour and wasn't always all that hot. The selection was good, and we always found more than enough food that interested us to fill our bellies with. I especially liked the soups and the Chateaubriand at the steakhouse. The rest of the beef we encountered tended to be quite chewy. We sampled the Steakhouse, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican, main buffet and beach buffet restaurants with the Japanese being the easy favorite. Reservations are required for only the Japanese and French restaurants, and we found them quite easy to make, just ask at the club lounge/concierge. The rest of the restaurants always seemed to have seating available with no wait. Drinks would vary in quality from bar to bar, but overall we found the frosty ones were weak, and your traditional mixed drinks (like rum and coke) were made very strong.

Club Section: The club check-in area is separate from the main desk, is airconditioned (which is nice when you're hot from a day of traveling!) and was fairly quick. The club section turned out to be a little bit more "party-central" than the rest of the resort. There are two separate pools, both with a swim-up bar, and they are much smaller and more crowded than the main pool. The balibeds are quite comfortable (moreso than the one in our room!) but do tend to fill up faster than any other spots throughout the resort. The club section of the beach tends to be a bit more crowded than the rest of the beach, and fills up quicker. There was no real advantage to this section, other than it was closer to the only bar that was directly on the beach (which is for use only of the club guests, the rest of the guests must actually leave the beach to access the bar) The club lounge was always stocked with lots of cold beverages (pop and water) you could take and go as well as snacks and champagne. There were also computers and a printer available for use at no charge, and wifi was also free in the lounge area. There was no wifi available in our room, although this is something they are looking to add. We did not see our butler beyond the first day, but did not really need him as we could go directly to the desk in the lounge for anything we needed. Late check-out is free for club guests (depending on availability) and was appreciated, however there are also public showers you can use if you wanted to grab a quick one after checking out.

Entertainment: There seemed to be the regular activities going on during the day (bocciball, volleyball, etc) that you could take part in, however we did not really find the entertainment crew all that engaging and found that most of the participants looked bored so we preferred to sit out. The shows consisted of a Dominican Dance display (which was long and we left before the end of), a Michael Jackson tribute, a Magic show and a Circus show. The Magic and Circus were our favorites, despite seeing them both twice already at another resort (they must hire-in the private performers). Other nights featured a "Boogie" 70-80-90s night and a beach party/buffet. The beach party seemed entertaining, however we missed part of it due to our dinner reservation. Things seemed to wind-up early as they were pretty much done by the time we finished dinner. There was also a foam party in the main pool one day, which was fun. We tried the disco one night but it was dead and we did not find the music easy to dance to so did not stay long.

Other Impressions: As I said, this was our third time to the Dominican so we came into this trip with some expectations, and most of them were met. The food and the personalities of the staff were, in our opinion, the biggest shortcomings. We did not find the staff as a whole to be all that friendly, which was surprising to us since it seems Dominicans usually are. The staff were accommodating to requests, however did not seem to be all that eager to go above and beyond. The one exception we noted was the waitress on the club beach, I believe her name is Maria, she was exceptional and clearly enjoys her job. I should mention that we did notice other guests interacting with staff and having the same sort of chatting/hugging experience that we have had at other resorts, so perhaps our experience this time was just a one-off. There were shops on the resort which we walked through and found the prices to be high. There is a market located just down the road from the main Majestic gates, and I am sure you would find much better deals there. Saw a LOT of weddings over the course of the week, including 4 in one day. It looked like they were pretty good at personalizing the ceremonies though.

We would probably return to this resort if the price was right, but it was not our favorite resort in PC we have come across. Did not see a lot of kids around and found the entertainment somewhat lacking, so would most recommend this resort for couples who are looking for some R&R or small groups who are looking more for bonding time than partying.

Please feel free to contact me for direct questions.

Room Tip: Forth floor rooms have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment, we really appreciated it.
We feel very glad that you have such a great time among us in Majestic Colonial.

We thank you for to share your suggestions, they are very helpful. Be sure, we have taken note of all your comments.
We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

If you are planning to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cllinton, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found the resort to be everything we wanted in an all inclusive resort. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach and pool were beautiful. The resort was clean and many options for food. Options to stay as busy or relaxed as you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in the Colonial Club from March 2nd through March 9th, and it was by far the best time I've had anywhere. Ever. The service is incredible, the entire staff was pleasant and seemed thrilled to be there helping us. The resort itself is absolutely gorgeous, from the palm-strewn walkways to the vibrant, colorful landscapes of flowers, shrubs and trees, to the Majestic beach itself. Anything one could have asked for was there, waiting for you to take it. Bed on the beach? Check. Rather hang out with great bartenders, bellied up to a pool bar? Check. A smile on every workers face? Check. Delightful scattering of establishments so one never goes thirsty or hungry? Double check. Food, music, ocean, laughter and drinks; the best possible recipe for any vacation. Our group was given a private concierge, Francisco, who was fantastic, friendly, and very knowledgeable. If the pool bar is your gig (it sure was ours) I recommend the staff at the Colonial pool closest to the beach; the biggest of shout-outs to Arelis, Nolberto, Silvestre and Yasmis for keeping our cups full and our towels dry! "Blondie" is coming back you guys, see you next year!

Room Tip: If you can score a room with a balcony, it's a great view, but for as little time as you will pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended especially for Arelis , Nolberto, Silvestre, Yasmis, Blondy and Francisco.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have spend a fantastic week at the Majestic Colonial Club, and we would recommend it to anyone. The suite was huge and the bed so comfy. We like the walk in shower as well nice and roomy. The resort is well kept inside and out, the staff is very friendly and helpful, there is a choice of food for everybody. Breakfast was a good start of the day, our special table was always ready for us. Lunch always at the Rodeo Grill, thanks Leonardo, the manager, for our special toasted sandwiches, Wrkia, the hostess, was so welcoming and always made sure we were looked after, then there were Oney, Carlos, Nicolas,Roman, Antonio and Astacio, making sure our glasses were filled and plates were cleaned away to make room for the next course. The Rodeo Grill also is great for dining, may it be meat or fish. Service was friendly and fast. And our compliments to the Club swim up bar staff, Jose, Carlos and Ana Carina, did a great job entertaining us, while they were busy serving all the guests their drinks. Entertainment at night was always great every day something different. We will certainly return next year. Special thanks to Angel Holgado for arranging a late check-out, so that we could enjoy our last day. Alfred and Maria K., Mississauga, Canada

Room Tip: If you have no children in your party, select Colonial Club. A higher floor will give you a nicer vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended especially for Wrkia ,Oney,Carlos,Oney,Antonio,Astacio,Jose and Ana Carina.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.