We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cheboygan, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I couldn't say enough good things about our stay at the Majestic Colonial in Punta Cana. The staff was amazing and always friendly. I would like to thank my amigos from the Supreme Buffet, Juan, Billy and especially Lonnie #5 they made our dining experience amazing. On Christmas Eve we made reservations for 21 people. When we arrived at the Supreme we were taken to a special ballroom where we had our own servers and it was all decorated just for us. The pools were beautiful and the entire resort was amazing. We went on the Dolphin Island excursion and the Mariquarium excursion. The only thing was the pictures they took were more expensive than they made us to believe but they were still worth it for a once in a lifetime trip. The rooms were beautiful and the maid service was great. If anyone goes on the Mariquarium tell Angel I said thankyou so much for the great time. I had a lot of trouble swimming and he jumped in and took me everywhere I needed to go. If it were not for him that excursion would not have been enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great but if you had a bottom floor room you could walk out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff especially Juan, Billy Lonnie that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,746
    3,189
    1,012
    400
    258
See reviews for
3,886
5,173
95
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came here for a family Christmas vacation expecting to be treated nicely and have a great time. We were not disappointed. The people were extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone at the Supreme Buffet restaurant were great. The supervisors were alway so professional looking, the wait staff were friendly and kind, even the janitors were nice. Felix Heredia, Estefany Javier, De La Rosa, Juan (?)-not quiet if that was his real name but he was the smaller of the 2 supervisors there, Coffee Boy, etc. were all so super friendly. They treated our children well, high fiving and fist bumping with our 1, 3 and 5 years old. Our children loved it there. Actually, all the wait staff at the different restaurants were great as well. I can't remember all their names.
FOOD: they have about 7 restaurants but not all open at the same time. Only the buffet was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But it's not 24/7. The food was good, better than a lot of all-inclusives and private restaurants. The fruits were fresh and yummy. They cook a lot of things in front of your eyes for you so can't complain about stale food. The drinks were great. Fresh squeezed OJ...wow! Seafood, steak, teppanyaki were all decent, above average. We ate mostly fruits and desserts, all delicious. Flan was superb. I couldn't get enough of it.
BEACH: The beach was not busy. We found chairs on the beach everyday. The beach was kept clean almost everyday. Only one day we saw seaweed everywhere but they were gone the next day. They have people cleaning up the beach every hour but somehow guests continue to litter this beautiful site. Their kiddie pool was nice and wide enough for many kids to play in without crowding each other. Their main pool was cooler but not cold. The swim up bar is enjoy by couples and young (at heart) people.
ROOM: The room was kept neat with daily maid service. The shower was wonderful with good water pressure and space (a wheelchair can go in there and spin 360 degrees). They replenish our water and drinks in the room well. A/C was working the whole time. Because we had an ocean view, we could hear the pool parties when the children were trying to nap in the afternoon.
The pillows could be a little better, my neck cramped a couple of nights. The beds were great, no problems there.
ENTERTAINMENT: Their Animation team was excellent. They tried hard to make sure everyone was entertained and happy. We spent most of our time at the beach or the pool. We were always entertained by them with their daily lessons, shows or parties. One would really have to be a loner to not be entertained there.
GROUNDS: well kept and beautiful like a beach resort should be. Their stores were extremely expensive so don't try any basic items at home. We paid $7 for a tiny can of shaving cream.
OVERALL: Great all-inclusive resort. Very relaxed and friendly staff everywhere. My one year old was starting to say, "hola" everywhere he went. Even when we were back in the US, he was still saying "hola" to the TSA people and everyone around him. This is what I expect from all inclusive resorts now. This is my new standard. Yes, we did tip daily to those around us and serving us. But they were worth it especially on Christmas Eve night when they were working to make our day great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get to view all the parties and fun but is louder than other rooms. First flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share that overall you had a great time at Majestic Colonial.

One of the best satisfactions is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff especially Felix Heredia, Estefany Javier, De La Rosa and Juan as this means that we have meet the most important principle of Majestic Colonial.


It is rewarding to receive compliments from our guests, and it would be even more rewarding to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Majestic Colonial.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a family we had loads of fun and relaxation at the hotel. lots of entertainment, activities and restaurants to choose from and a very friendly staff who seem to enjoy their jobs and serving guests with a smile. the review below is long (apologies in advance)

Hotel Facilities
This is a large hotel with 9 separate restaurants and a main buffet place plus a large swimming pool and several bars spread throughout the complex. At both the beach and the swimming pool area, they had entertainment throughout the day (dancing lessens, Zumba lessons, aerobics, swimming lesons, pool foam party, pool volleyball, bingo, games for kids, etc.). At night they had one-hour of entertainment ranging from magic shows, local dancing and other variety programs. They also have a casino and sports bar and a place to get nighti-tme snacks (11 pm thru 6 am)

The rooms are all decent size and you can upgrade to a room with the pool in front of your room and also various other upgrades to their club. We did not get the upgrades.

The beach is very nice and there are 2 restaurants right by the beach where you can have a late breakfast or lunch.


Restaurants & Food
Caveat ...... review from a vegetarian perspective
In addition to the main buffet dining hall, there are several restaurants on premises offering variety of cuisines from Japanese, Mexican, French, steakhouse, seafood, etc. The hotel had been flexible in accommodating us for vegetarian food and had a select limited menu of vegetarian items that you could chose from if reservations were made at any of the restaurants. We were told that in the main buffet hall there were plenty of vegetarian options
Breakfast & Lunch was generally not an issue because there were loads of bread, very sweet fresh fruits, boiled corn, nachos, paninni sandwiches, couple of salads without meat, etc. Dinner always had make your own pannini and pizza, Pizza was not very good and while pasta was good, having pasta everyday is kind of boring and became monotonous after a while. They should alternate between make your own pasta, stir fry, fajita, etc to create some variety
The select vegetarian menu for restaurants was good but not consistent. The vegetarian food at the mexican restaurants was very good but the food at the oriental restaurant and the french restaurant was bland. infact we ordered minestrone soup at both the mexican and french restaurant and the mexican version was amazing while in the french restaurant we1st got it with meat and then when they re-did all it was boiled vegetables in an onion soup which was tasteless.
The fruits served during the meals were amazing with a variety of tropical choices (mangoes, passion fruit, pineapple, papaya, oranges, etc.

The restaurants in my ming had no oomph and you did not feel like you were transformed when you step into the restaurant. The French restaurant was basically bare on the walls with no pictures, painting or anything like that. Compared to the RIU restaurants in Cancun, these were a slight disappointment

Service Staff
Very friendly staff overall across the entire hotel especially in the main buffet dining hall and the restaurants. The staff made all effort to make sure you were satisfied in your meals. Of particular mention is Juan Diaz in the main buffet hall, Joll in the oriental restaurant and 2 waiters in the mexican restaurant (forgot their names). Juan Diaz personally took care of me and my family everyday during lunch and dinner in the main dining area ensuring our needs were satisfied.
Also during one of the nights when they had sushi during dinner and none of the floor staff could confirm if any of the options were vegetarian, the main chef brought out a custom made vegetarian option of sushi (very well appreciated)

Unique items'
They had a full xmas dinner and it was a huge spread, 95% of it not being vegetarian friendly, but still dispalyed very nicely and numerous choices of food and desserts . Also for xmas, the hotel sent a wine bottle, grapes and cheese to every room which was a nice touch
Unique drink items in the evening - e.g. Pina colada served in a pineapple, green coconuts water

Gotchas - dissatisfiers
The restaurant charges for room service which was a shock to us because we were told room service was free. If you want free rm service you have to upgrade to the club which is additional $$ per night. What is point of being all inclusive if you are charging for room service......I thought this was nickel and diming the guests

No jacuzzi/hot tub in the main pool.....if you want that you have to pay $10 per day per person to use it at the spa. Could not understand why they would do that................

Not all food was labelled in the main buffet area so being vegetarian we never knew if any of the food had animal products in it. Unfortunately not all the staff understood english and sometime you would get different answers. It would make life simple if they would label all the food and for vegetarians put a V next to the item so vegetarians like me know what we can eat. Also may want to label some key ingredients incase anyone has allergies (e.g. nuts)

so all in all had a very nice stay minus the minor issues in food and the additional charges for room svc or hot tub/jacuzzi that are standard in other comparable hotels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Recently my girlfriend and I took a week vacation at the Majestic Colonial...we had heard a lot of good and bad about the DR but figured we would see for ourselves.

The Hotel:
From the start we loved the hotel. It is very open which makes you feel like you are always outside which is awesome especially because of the beautiful weather - who wants to always be indoors with the AC? We had a swim up room on the first floor and enjoyed it very much. The pool weaves in and out all along the hotel from the beach to the lobby which is awesome...it is never too crowded and there are always chairs and spaces to have your own little nook so you still get that secluded feel on vacation. I always felt safe at the resort...obviously lock your stuff up in the safe located in the room and be careful but the hotel was located inward off the road and plenty of security. In addition the beach was not full of solicitors or anything and felt secluded and safe as well.
The bathrooms were sometimes a bit iffy but I would blame that more on people not understanding the plumbing and trying to shove handfuls of toilet paper instead of being conscious that the plumbing may not be what you are used to. But it was never really that bad.
We enjoyed the food - the buffet on the beach was our least favorite. If you want a buffet I would go to the one at the lobby...there is a bigger selection for breakfast, lunch, and dinner..
Also...MAKE A RESERVATION for the japanese restaurant. Its Habachi style where the Chef cooks in front of you...the food was excellent! The authentic style dominican and mexican food restaurant was also very good as well.
The best part of the hotel are the people. The staff is beyond friendly and genuine. They work from morning till night and for little pay (about $250 a month. Becoming friends with the staff was my favorite part of the hotel and we enjoyed tipping because of how nice they were. The entertainment team worked hard to always have something going on for people to do at the resort as well....they are a lively bunch!
Yaritza Cordero was an amazing person to meet and an excellent worker ...say hi to her if you go, we are still very grateful to have met her!

One downside I have about the hotel is the selection of alcohol - We did the all inclusive option of course but you can tell the alcohol is not top shelf and most are labels we have never heard of. I think the vodka they have is smirnoff and some other European kinds...so dont expect top shelf

TOURS:
We did 3 tours while we were there.
First tour we did was the Cruiser tour...basically you take a boat ride where you go snorkeling with sharks and fish and get to interact with Stingrays...It was alright. I would give it about a 3....the snorkeling was really fun and the guides are very nice...but the boat ride was crowded and not that fun. If you are not a strong swimmer and scared of the ocean I wouldn't recommend this tour

Second tour we did was with Luna Tours...which was awesome and our favorite tour. We had Sammy and Fabio as our tour guides who take you all along the country side...this tour is more exploring the culture of the Dominican people especially those who live along the country side. This company also sponsors schools and provides kids with their lunches, books, and supplies for the year. With this tour you hop on a bus and head to a school where you can see exactly how the people live and how amazing it is with how little they have...next they take you to see the land and bring you to a cigar and sugar plantation which was really interesting (DONT BUY CIGARS FROM THE BEACH, 90% of them are fake) and then they bring you to have a real authentic lunch which is amazingggggg and then you go to Maria's house...a woman who works with the company allowing tourists to walk through her home and see a "typical dominican home" and also see how she makes chocolate and coffee and have the opportunity to buy some (if you like hot coco and coffee ... get some here - Its unbelievable)
5 stars for this tour. never felt unsafe and the tours were amazing along with the guides.

Last tour we did was the buggy tour where you drive dune buggies around and visit a beach and a cave. Would rate this a 2 out of 5 stars. Wasnt that fun at all... we went really slow and the guide wasnt that friendly - the beach had a lot of solicitors as well which made it uncomfortable to just relax. Best part of this tour was visiting the fresh water cave which was so unbelievable...definitely jump in if you can.


overall...had a great time here and would go again :)

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are convenient and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your ‘perfect week’ with others through Trip Advisor. We are very happy to have exceeded your expectations and hope to host you again at our resort property.

One of the best satisfactions is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff as this means that we have meet the most important principle of Majestic Colonial.


It is rewarding to receive compliments from our guests, and it would be even more rewarding to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Majestic Colonial.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our 4th time in Punta Cana. The resort was very nice. We never had to wake up early to reserve chairs at the pool or beach. The grounds were well maintained. The pools very nice. The service was excellent. The shower was great with a large shower head and never a problem waiting for the water to get hot. Several days we got food platters or wine delivered to our room. My daughter and I participated in many of the activities (boccie, horse shoes, darts, olympics, and bingo) run by the Funjestic team. The Funjestic team was awesome. Luciano, Ruth, Lookey Lookey, Blondie,Tuity Fruity, Alcatel & Nemo were very funny and really got the guests involved. The Mr Sexy contest, the bikini contest and especially the foam pool party were a lot of fun. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff especially Luciano, Ruth, Lookey Lookey, Blondie,Tuity Fruity, Alcatel & Nemo that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This vacation was a girls getaway. The beach at the hotel was beautiful. The food at all the restaurants was delicious! The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. Everytime we had a drink at the bar, they remembered us and gave us excellent service.
In the downstairs lobby bar, Alex was one of our favorite bartenders.
The room was spacious and nice. The excursions were easy to set up in the lobby. We did a scuba diving to Catalina Island. It was our first time scuba diving! It was a great success!
This resort is very family orientated, not for singles, we found.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a specific room type. We had a garden view, which was pretty. The swim up roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff especially Alex that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If I could I would rate this 3.5 (good) but trip advisor only allows a 3. DH and I visited the hotel from 12/21-12/25 for the holiday. Overall we had a nice time and found the value great, but I would spend a little extra and stay elsewhere. Though I can understand why many come back and others don't. With AI, it is all about your preferences.

Here are some tips, the good and the bad.

Check-In: Was easy. We were greeted by out Bulter Rafael (Tiger Woods) who zipped up through, showed us the property and got us to our room.

Room: Was a nice size, we liked the balcony and overlooked the pool. We had a problem with our safe and Rafael got it fixed right away. I did not mind the open bathroom, but it was just me and the hubby. Not sure how I would have felt if we were with kids. The shower was awesome and huge, the best water pressure. When it rained we had a problem with the toilet where it would flush on its own, but I think that is a quirk of being an older hotel. It is true the bed is HARD. DH complained the whole time, being preggers - I loved it. I slept well. TV was fine - though we were not there to watch TV. Mini bar was always stocked, though we left a few bucks each day with requests for water etc. Like all reviews say, don't drink the water - use the bottled for everything from brushing teeth to making coffee. Also, there are no clocks in the room, so make sure you charge your phone and also they do not provide moisturizing lotion - so bring that. Only real complaint was there is a cabinet for room service items. No one ever came to get them and we called multiple times - yuck! Finally we just left outside and understood why others did the same. Also, the pillows were terrible.

Property: was the perfect size. I loved that we could walk everywhere, but did not feel cramped.The pools were clean, the landscaping was nice. Never did we see a bug - amazing! We always found seats at the beach and pool. Though we were usually down by 9:30, so not sure if that is why. The beach was lovely never saw seaweed or felt bothered by vendors. Liked the little shopping area etc. Only think was that the public bathrooms seemed to never have soap. Fortunately I bring my own.

Beverages: Pepsi property. Beer - only Presidente - they do not even have light and it is only on draft or in the bottle. The bars seemed limited and the frozen drinks were terrible. I think the hotel could use a true coffee shop, maybe combine the late night snack place with one. Although you could get hot coffee anywhere, it would have been nicce to have access to an ice coffee - a few of the other resorts likes Dreams have these and I love it mid-day.

Food: Ok here is why the lower rating, I get resort food, i travel a lot, but what does not work is my husband getting sick for three days there and three days when we returned. He did not overeat, he is used to lots of foods - we travel a lot, live in a metropolitan area, no he did not drink the water or consume a lot of coconut drinks (none actually) and did not consume a lot of alcohol. What I do think did him in was the sushi, I do not know why anyone would eat it - it looked fake. Personally, I did not have problems. I was a little fussy since I am preggers, but had everything in moderation - though stayed away from the sushi.

The steak house had great churrasco - I really enjoyed it (though did not care for the hybrid buffet a la carte). The french was OK, and the Asian was aweful. We did not eat at the main buffet but checked it out - it looked fine. For lunch we ate at the beach shack - it did the trick. Personally, I did not like the hybrid buffet a la carte, which seemed to be the case in most places. People are gross - i saw several people drop tongs on the the floor to use them again and look at me like I was crazy when I would get them switched out. My favorite are the people who lick their fingers and grab cookies. - really, why? Of course not the hotel's fault, but those are the types of people that are in the hotel.

Service - Really, was awesome. Everyone was so sweet and this is why I could not give a bad rating. You can tell the management works very hard in this area. I am horrible for not remembering names, but all of the staff my the club pool were so sweet and the staff in the French restaurant went above and beyond.

Other Items: Many guests were loud, and annoying at 3 am. My favorite was when people would blast music, though I did appreciate other guests yelling at them in Russian (I presume) to shut up. Be prepared there is a lot of smoking as well. Of course, this is understandable at resort where people are drinking all day. I am probably usually a loud drunk guest when I can drink :-). Activities, tons - we did not get involved, but looked fun. Though went to casino. I am a huge card player, but could not take the smoke so left. Plus the dealers make their own rules, though typical for the islands.

If you are not traveling with kids, stay in the Colonial Club, was worth the upgrade.If you need something ask your butler. These guys work hard and are running around, but will do anything you need. Our made a lovely bubble bath for us - he was really sweet.

I do recommend this place - i won't be coming back, but I am just out growing AI. If I was into the AI thing still - I would come back, despite my husband's bug.

Room Tip: Club all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Melissa Y:

Thank you to take your time to write a review and choosing Majestic Colonial as a destination during your holidays. We also appreciate your personal opinion about the hotel, the staff and the food. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects with honesty. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion and I hope you will accept our apologize on behalf of Majestic Resorts staff.

Cordially

Ángel Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 659
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.