We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at this great resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing time at this great resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a nine-day stay at the Majestic Colonial with my husband and 14-year-old daughter. This was our first time in the Dominican republic, having stayed at all-inclusives in both Jamaica and St. Lucia in the past. This resort exceeded our expectations in many ways. The biggest surprise was how it never felt crowded even though it was Christmas week. Sure, there were lots of people, but we could always find good spots on the beach or by the pool, and felt that the place is really set up to accommodate the number of guests it can hold, something that is not always the case everywhere else. So here's the rundown:

CHECK-IN and ROOM: Very smooth, fast check-in, and when we requested a quiet room on a high floor the man behind the desk (Robinson, really a lovely guy!) gave us a corner room on the top floor with an outdoor jacuzzi in building 1. No view, but honestly, who cares, we just sleep and shower there. Totally quiet. We had a king bed, on the firm side but not as hard as i expected based on previous reviews, and the pillows were fine, at least for us. Daughter slept on a full-size rollaway. There is a lack of privacy with the open bathroom setup, but we managed it fine. Room was nice and clean, housekeeping was good, and water pressure was the best we've ever had in the Caribbean. A/C worked fine. We got treats delivered regularly - fruit platters, brownies, yum.

GROUNDS/FACILITIES: Beautiful, clean, well-maintained. Beach is beautiful, yes there is seaweed, but it's the ocean for heaven's sake, deal with it. Tons of chairs under thatched palapas on the beach, plenty by the pool as well. Pool is GORGEOUS with bridges and a swim up bar. Next year I'll bring pool floats because they don't have them, but otherwise great. The entertainment hall is huge and very comfortable, and the lobby/main building is beautiful. Husband used the gym daily, new equipment and clean.

FOOD: Much better than I expected from an all-inclusive. Tons of choices, everything seemed very fresh, and you could have lots of things made to order at the breakfast and lunch buffets (never did the buffet for dinner, but heard it was good too). There were cooks grilling fish, chicken and steak, making omelettes, crepes, wonderful. Restaurants were all good, especially the fixed menu for Christmas Eve at Tres Carabelas. All three of us did have a bit of tummy trouble for a day or two, not sure why, but nothing serious. I've heard some people stay away from fruits and veggies that are uncooked, and we did eat a lot of fruit and salads. Not sure if that is what caused it - we certainly aren't big drinkers or overeaters. Waiters were all friendly and accommodating, and for my daughter's birthday in Le Gourmet, she was brought a beautiful cake with a sparkler candle! The coffee boys at breakfast were very attentive and friendly, too. Drinks at the bar were served in small cups, but the bartenders had no problem filling larger cups if you brought your own. We did tip bartenders here and there and they seemed to appreciate it, but we never felt as though it was expected.

ACTIVITES/ENTERTAINMENT: Now THIS is what really makes this place so great - the animation team, known as the Funjestic Team. These people work their buns off all day and night, have boundless energy, great senses of fun and humor, and do a great job of getting people involved. And if you strike up a conversation with any of them, they are just all-around nice people. Tutti-Frutti, Blondie, Looky Looky, Diana, Nemo, and the rest (sorry I never caught all of the names!) were just amazing. I cannot say enough good things about them! Nightly entertainment was fun, too - Michael Jackson, magic show, Dominican dance show, great. We also did a ziplining excursion with Canopy Adventure, which was fabulous - but that is separate review.

Overall, I would say this was an extremely enjoyable trip and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share that overall you had a great time at Majestic Colonial.

One of the best satisfactions is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff as this means that we have meet the most important principle of Majestic Colonial.


It is rewarding to receive compliments from our guests, and it would be even more rewarding to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Majestic Colonial.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7,555
    3,104
    992
    387
    251
See reviews for
3816
5032
91
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just back from the Majestic Colonial in Punta Cana. Fantastic week there. Stayed in the Club section with Ocean front rooms. Great service from our butlers Rafael and DeLeon. Always asked about how we were doing and what we needed. Sandra at the bar on the beach was very good at making sure the drinks were fresh. The main buffet had a lot of choice. Juan Diaz always had a smile for us and treated us very well. He welcomed us at every meal and made sure we were well looked after by Jhonathan Dela Cruz (coffee boy) and his team. We would easily return to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had friends who had gone multiple times to the sister resort Majestic Elegance (next door) so since this was our first time in Punta Cana we tried to follow their recommendation but could only find room at the Colonial. We believe we were really lucky as the Club section of Colonial is newer and smaller than the one at Elegance so it feels more friendly. We had a Club Junior suite with Club member privileges, which include a special Club lounge with wifi internet and computers, access to the adults only club pools and bars, special roped off area on the beach etc. The rooms have minibar service and in room service is free to club members. We had a bottle of champagne, rum, vodka, whiskey and Irish cream in the room plus beer and pop that gets refilled everyday as you consume or if you want more you could always take whatever you needed from the club lounge. Room service would go by everyday and knock on the door, if you were in the room they would drop off plates of sushi or fruit and bottles of wine.
The resort is a good size , everything is a short walk to each other, no room is too far from anything and you don't need a shuttle service like in some other resorts. We had room 3330 right in the middle so we had a 1 minute stroll to the beach , or a 1 minute stroll to the restaurants, we had a view of the Club pools and a sliver of the ocean from in between palm trees also a view of the main pool with the zumba and dancing classes which we enjoyed watching while drinking champagne or Rose on our balcony. We preferred the main buffet for breakfast and dinner as they had the most choice and would have a different theme each night. For late breakfast or lunch the restaurant on the beach was our favorite, as we could sit and enjoy the view of the ocean as we ate.
We spent most of our day on the beach, great sand, nice breeze, constant service if you wish. Never felt over crowded like the other resorts we walked in front of along the beach. You always found a palapa if you needed shade, some other resorts had no shade options on their beach sections. so keep that in mind if comparing.

Did a dune buggy excursion and scuba dive to the coral reefs 10 minute boat ride out into the ocean. Both were very enjoyable.

The staff were great, always happy and easy going.

I fear this resort has set the bar quite high for future trips and if returning to Punta Cana we would definitely opt for Majestic Colonial.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took a vacation with a group of family members and we were very pleased with the resort. Everyone was more than willing to make our trip a great experience. The food was good, service was great, and everyone greeted us with a smile and/or a high-five. The family is already looking to visit this resort again. The beaches were beautiful, very clean, and the water was very clear. A lot of activities to do at night. Shows, several bars and restaurants, and lots of music. Much better than other resorts I have been to. The staff was so great to us. Our family had a few minor "accidents" on the trip, and Rafael was a staff member who went above and beyond to check on our family every day to make sure that we were doing ok and having a great trip. We cant thank him and everyone enough! Frankling was also another staff member who was very nice and always willing to assist us. Great first family vacation, thank you!!!
Scott, Debbie, Scotty & Abby Butterfield
December 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, Brazil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Unless you give the "propinas" all the time, for every little thing, you'll most probably be mistreated. Rooms are old and gave me and my family respiratory alergy. French reataurant was terrible. Japanese was ok. Fake (paid) sympathy of employees is anoying. To be fair, some of them seemed genuinely nice. Overall, not worth it. I'd rather go to a Brazilian Beach Resort, like Maragogi, for example.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well, we arrived on 20th Nov 2012 for our third time at this resort.
Great to see most of the same beautiful faces of the staff again!
The wonderful "Jose" looking after the main restaurant and obliged for some extra celebrations for Our daughters 1st wedding anniversary(Many thanks also to Francisco Ortiz for the third year!)
Also to "Juan" as seen in the celebration photo.
We had not used the Steak/fish Restaurant on previous holidays as much, but certainly did this time!
Many thanks to all the wonderful staff in the steak restaurant, especially "Oney and Daniel"
Even "Looky Looky" of the Animation team still there providing great entertainment for our children!
Getting used to the time zone can be difficult.
You could end up getting up too late and missing the breakfast at the main restaurant after 10.00am
If you do miss it, they still do breakfast at the Beach restaurant to about 11.00am so no worries there! and the breakfast there is just as good!
Great changes to the right wing of the hotel complex(now catering for the Majestic Club adults only)
Hopefully, the left wing will soon be brought up to the same high standard!
(this is the only reason that I have marked the rooms as Very good instead of excellent)
Can't wait to see you all again,Love "Glyn & Tracey"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff especially Jose, Francisco Ortiz, Juan, LookyLooky, Oney and Daniel that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Majestic is a wonderful Resort , We"re celebrating our anniversary last week it was great !
We had a fantastic vacation. Rooms very clean and spacious, food delicious , beautiful beach pool and spa. The staff very friendly and happy, Funjestic group amazing! (nemo , tuti fruit , ruth) Restaurants very good the guys like Frank , Felix, Edin , coffee boy , Yaritza and someone super special Dianelys Jimenez , She made us feel a great moment at dinner celebrating our anniversary. We appreciate that!
Every day was different shows , avctivities in pool and beach was amazing. Michael Jackson Show and Cirque expectacular .
Our Friends recommended this Resort as a best of the best ...They're right,
We'll come back next year ... definitely !
Majestic is the Real Paradise ! We love it

Tamariz Family

Room Tip: Rooms pool view relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.