We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Majestic Colonial Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We read a lot of reviews before deciding our honeymoon location. We choose Majestic Colonial because of the many positive reviews and they didn't lie! We had great experience. Our ground floor room was spatious and clean. We went to the beach every day where (perhaps because of the time of year) we never had trouble finding chairs under an umbrella. We were entertained by the nights show. The service at the bars and restaurants was friendly and prompt. Best of all though, was the food; a wide variety and all was very tasty. We actually stuck to the buffet, rather than use the a la cartes, just to be able to have such choice when eating our meals. As honeymooners, we were given an extra special dinner as well. One of our best days though, was spent on an excursion with atvs/dune buggies. It was crazy fun; flying down dirt tracks and getting covered in mud, before ending at the beach to wash off! The only thing we could have asked for to be better was the service in our rooms; we would have liked to have it more promptly cleaned every day. Overall, though, a spot we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms can be a bit noisy. The terracotta tiles and hallways make the noise of rolli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,638
    3,150
    1,000
    395
    256
See reviews for
3855
5088
93
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our arrival was problematic, but all was resolved quickly and turned into a very pleasant 4-day stay. Accolades go to the hard-working, always friendly staff. I am not a fan of laying on beaches or staying in large hotels, much less all-inclusive ones. I was wary of bad food and herding. But neither proved to be the case. Though I am not a picky eater in terms of variety, I do like quality. This hotel had good food, hands down. As for the fear of being one among hundreds, the staff took particular care in making one feel at home. Despite the 1,700 plus maximum capacity, we always felt well taken care of.

When we arrived we were upgraded to a newer "club" level wing. Unfortunately, it was a construction site. Though the rooms were elegant, the noise during the day was considerable. The staff fully understood, apologized profusely, and more than made it up for through their personalized approach. My guess is that as of early December 2012, the wing will be complete. I also felt the "gourmet" restaurant lacked atmosphere, though once again the congenial staff more than made up for this. While on the beach, I had an opportunity to visit a couple other 5 star all-inclusive places where friends were staying, including the Iberostar and Bavaro Barcelo. I would put our hotel a full star ahead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.

The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home.

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I had arranged a vacation at the Majestic Hotel back in
May, 2012. However, the day after we arrived, we received a phone call that
our grandson was on the way. Our daughter-in-law had gone into labor 2-1/2
weeks early. Naturally we were frantic to get home. Francisco, the assistant
manager, went out of his way to assist us. I was on the phone for almost 3 hours
trying to get a return flight. Francisco arranged for us to use his phone, and
sent someone over with water, in an efort to calm us down.
Our grandson is now 6 months old, and we decided to return to the Majestic
to finish our vacation. When we went to thank Francisco, he told us he actually
remembered us. Our vacation this time went by without any problems. As a matter
of fact, we were treated like royalty. We were given a "romantic dinner" at the
seafood restaurant and had a delicious dinner on the balconey. We received
complimentary canapes delivered to our room every night.
The entire staff was very helpful and cordial. We have every intention of making
a return trip. Hopefully, this time we will be able to bring along our grandson and
the immediate family.

Room Tip: We requested a "swim-up" room which allowed us to sit outside our room and relax while en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just returned from a five day stay at the majestic colonial and for the life of me, I cannot understand where these 4.5 star overall TripAdvisor ratings came from! The number of obvious oversights in the housekeeping, cleanliness, food service, and hospitality had us, and the three other adults we traveled with, concluding that this was the "worst resort" we've been to. To be positive, the resort is large, has a great night club attached to it, and the grounds are pretty well maintained. There is also a nice beach (which all the resorts have access to). Once you get past these broad brush strokes, there are some really huge issues about this place:

- The rooms were DIRTY. The same toothpaste stains that were there when we arrived, scattered across the bathroom tiles, continued to be there 5 days in a row. The floor gritty before and after a wash, and plenty of ants everywhere. We kept track of a "special stain" (this red blob of god-knows-what) that was smeared onto the jacuzzi which evidently didn't once see a warm washcloth our entire stay. Inside the shower, the housekeepers had clearly wiped down the floor very nicely, but the shower walls being slimy? Back of the toilet being dusty? Mildew along the caulking of the sink? It's like there either isn't adequate training of the attention to detail with which the housekeepers should clean, or there isn't enough supervision. We never did get that iron we called for (twice), and when the front desk staff told us it was in the closet with the extra towels, we never saw the extra towels either... Our friends' complimentary resort-provided robe was home to a large brown, discolored "rust" stain along its belt. Apparently thought it was a better customer service move to stock the complimentary robe even with the mysterious poo-coloured stain on it? *sigh*
- Two days in a row, there were no towels available by the pool. The resort was probably 1/3-1/2 vacant... No towels? Where are they? The beds have two satin'y pillows, and two small cotton balls (with pillow cases around them). Not a big deal, but -- please, sir. May I have some more damn pillows?
- The professionalism just didn't seem to have an emphasis here. In most resorts, staff say hello to their guests (ad nauseum). You were lucky if you got a smile from an employee who you walked past, and the waitstaff at the restaurants or the bars were pretty indifferent at best. The classic moment was when our friend wanted to pack up her lunch and she was handed a styrofoam plate while she held a baby in one arm, and her plated food in another. (NB: She only possesses two arms). No offer to help?
- Food was only subpar, but to be clear, it was subpar if you ate thirty minutes after the buffet restaurants opened... This probably was also related to how tables of cold cheese and meat dishes would be "sweating" in their chilled serving stations as the mealtime went on. My wife is in dietetics (and underwent some fairly extensive food safety classes during her training), and there were concerning food safety standards in their buffets. DR is a hot country, but if you're having cold meats and cheeses, you've got to make sure they keep. There were two dinners we had at restaurants that were actually very good (Chinese Restaurant, and the Grill), but these were made a la carte. There has to be more done for maintaining food quality at the buffets.

With so many options for resorts, this is definitely not the place if you're an early 30's demographic who is used to higher quality hospitality. If you're a college student who's looking for a spring break sloshfest, this is fine and pretty fun (if you get a good price). But, this also felt much more like amateur hour than a high quality resort which knows how to deliver a professional experience. TripAdvisor seriously has to review these ratings, or anyone choosing this resort should pay attention to the reviewer's demographic and date of review submission.

For us, two different rooms of 4 adults having an equally bad experience is not just a fluke. The 4.5 guest rating either reflects the former glory years of this resort, or speaks to massive inconsistencies in their service. Not the kind of gamble I'd like to take on a future, pricey vacation.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms can be noisy. Ocean view rooms are quieter and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My trip was the worst ever the ceiling over the shower the toilet and the sink leaked for 4 days and I was the one left to clean the floor up after they raised the ceiling tiles everytime to drain the water out and it was not fixed when I left on Nov 17 the room #1125 hope who ever got that room was treated better

Room Tip: you get what ever they give u but if u want a different room it's a 60us dollar a day upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me, my girlfriend and our good friends who are also dating arrived to a bit of a hiccup with our room as it was currently under renovation with wet paint on the walls as well as an unfinished bathroom. After raising our concern to the front desk, the residential manager Maria was more than helpful in making sure we had a five star experience at the resort during our seven night stay. She set us up with a more expensive room, which was a suite over looking the pool as well a complimentary dinner reservation on the beach. The dinner on the beach was an amazing experience with great food and exceptional service.

The resort had many places to eat such as a steak & seafood restaurant, Mexican, Hibachi as well as Breakfast and Lunch. We definitely got our money's worth with all the food and drinks we had. Our favorite was the breakfast buffet as it offers a lot of food they have back in the states such as fresh made omelets, waffles, pancakes and chocolate croissants that we couldn't get enough of. The drinks at the bar definitely brought the Caribbean to our taste buds as we quenched our thirst with Blue Hawaiian's, Caribbean Romance, The Majestic and last but not least MAMA JUANA'S.

The staff on the resort made our vacation an ABSOLUTE BLAST and one we won't forget. The funjestic team with Nemo and Wilkins is the greatest group of people we've ever met. I loved participating in 5pm Zumba everyday pool side and learning about all the resort has to offer as well as the lifestyle of the Dominican's through Wilkins. We plan to keep in touch with them as we're now friends on Facebook and hope to reunite soon. Our resort representative Ceaser was also great company and very informative on all the excursions the island had to offer. He gave us a great rate on Zip Lining and Buggies which we HIGHLY recommend.

The "Funjestic" Colonial in Punta Cana as we like to call it was a fantastic all inclusive resort with plenty of entertainment and relaxation to offer which we took full advantage of. The highly rated reviews are true as we read them before booking our trip and were a little skeptical before we experienced it first hand. If you ever get the opportunity to go to Punta Cana, book with the Majestic Colonial as I promise you it will be the best decision you can make and one that will bring plenty of fun last memories to carry with you for times to come.

Thanks again Majestic Colonial!

Regards,
Connecticut (Our names on the resort) Andrew, Marc, Melissa and Sara

Room Tip: Make sure the paint is dry :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.
The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home
We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I traveled to Dominican. We had fantastic time. The resort was beautiful. All the staff were so friendly, and we really loved one special one. Denny on the beach. He was wonderful everyday!! There were a few other nice ones too, like Franklin & Francisco. The buffets were all great, we all ate way too much. We spent a lot of time in the pool, it was really fun to walk the length of the resort. Then swim up to the friendly and funny bartenders. I highly recommend traveling to the Magestic Colonial in Punta Cana. You will have a Terrific Vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have hot tubs inside the rooms. Pool facing rooms there is always someone watching yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a truly pleasure know you had such a great time with us and decide to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others tripadvisor members. We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff especially Denny, Franklin and Francisco that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Colonial Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Colonial Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view Majestic Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Colonial Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Punta Cana
Punta Cana Hotel Majestic
Majestic Colonial Dominican Republic
Majestic Hotel Punta Cana
Majestic Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Majestic Colonial
Majestic Resort Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Hotel Punta Cana
Colonial Majestic Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.