We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD, tired, disappointing and dangerous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #46 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OLD, tired, disappointing and dangerous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is not even a 3 star once you get past the impressive lobby. The rooms are old and run down little worked (safe, a/c, door locks). The chaise lounge outside our so-called 'swim out' was rickety and filthy. The grounds were patchy grass and cracked cement. Disappointing.

When we requested to change rooms, we were given a very hard time by the front desk, she kept saying she didn't have one then all of a sudden she did. SHe hadn't checked anything on a computer or a list she just changed her minds. However later when we needed to request a late check out, I think we were 'punished' and were not allowed one. Many others in our group were given one, but until we spoke to a manager she refused us.

On more than one occasion, when we had a request, the staff would pretend not to speak English, but would clearly speak it to someone else. The service people in this resort were often arrogant, and not the friendly hosts of Mexico.

If you were not at the pool before 7 AM there were no chairs. Twice when I went into the water I had people take our belongings and throw them down and take our chairs. Alcohol was weak and ice in short supply. There are no bottles in the room (occasionally 2 beer was stocked) and if you require ice you had to call room service and wait, and tip. If you are used to drinking in your room, take some with you as buying it at the resort in the store is $$$$$$ and limited. Also you're out of luck if you like any beer other than el presidente.. Room service menu is also extremely restricted. The buffet was very good for the most part.

The most important thing to consider about visiting this resort is it is VERY ISOATED> If you like to go to town to shop or sight see, you are looking at a 2 hour round trip. Also, during our stay 4 people were robbed by a man with a machete in the middle of the afternoon, on the beach just down from the resort. This is not a place we felt safe.

If you are used to Dreams resorts such as Huatulco, you will be sorely disappointed by the condition and size of this hotel. If you have never traveled to a high end resort you may enjoy it, but it is really over priced for the product.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,051
    1,361
    660
    339
    227
See reviews for
2030
2136
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a nice holiday with First Choice.
The trip from the airport took us on unfinished roads full of potholes & loose stones. For this reason First Choice is not using the hotel next year.
Generally the food was good, but avoid the steaks. They were more like old bull. The entertainment programme was comprehensive & the foam parties in the pool were fun.
The beach was clean white sand but the sea was quite rough when we were there.
The bedrooms were basic 4 * with little cupboard space. We had a nice view overlooking the pool.
The staff were very pleasant & extremely hard working. Some of the waiters were too overpowering. Oh, they expect a tip after each meal, something our rep. never mentioned. One waiter came & asked us how the service was. I wonder what he was after!
One of our weeks was during the March Breaks when the Canadian & US college kids come down. This gave rise to a fair bit of drunkeness & yobism. One guest found 2 youths urinating on his patio & another guest found a drunk fast asleep in his hammock. Another kid was so parallitic it took 4 security guards to drag him back to his room which he poceeded to trash..I dont think the neighbours were too happy.
The whole complex was well kept & clean except for the gents toilets. Too often was a urinal blocked & I was greeted by a bowl of stale urine.
Definitely not 5* but a nice holiday just the same

Room Tip: ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. For your information First choice will be offering next year our sister hotel Dreams Romana and TUI will be offering our resort. These changes are corporate and have nothing to do with the highway that will be finished this year also. Based on your experience with the spring break people we do try to avoid situation like these but we can not control all of our guests. We take all of your comments a positive feedback and we look them over on a daily basis.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a great place to go. We stayed a week, 4 girls and had a blast. Lots of interaction with the entertainment team during the day. Everyone is very friendly and they all work so hard and long days, but they are always smiling and energetic. Special thanks to the bartenders Anibell, Jr, Martin, Brindy and others. The entertainment team with Darleny, Stephanie, Dustin, Ne-yo & Swagger were fabulous. There all are so friendly and warm people. They get everyone involved.

You will not go wrong staying at this resort. the food was very tasty and plentiful. Lots of choices. We didn't have kids, but if you did, they have lots of food to choose from. Make your own omelets, pastas, fruits, you name it. Japanese Restaurant and Italian one were very good. The world cafe was always our fallback. We ate at every one of them there. Food and drinks any time of the day!

for the kids they have a cute explorer club they can go to and it gives the parents a break. bubble foam parties in the pool, aerobics and zumba, games, etc. it was awesome!

only downfall... you won't get the same beer as at home!

Room Tip: see if you could get one facing the beach and on 2nd or 3rd floor. i missed not seeing the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. We wanna thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we will be sharing this review with all of those named. we are very proud of our staff and all the efforts that they do to make sure that you have a great stay. we hope to have you back with us.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice resort! This will not be a long winded review.
Cons:
If you want two beds they are very uncomfortable, the king size beds are better. I know this because we changed rooms tree times. The last we decided it was better but not by much.
Resort is dated but nice, beach not the best, very rocky and always windy.
Pros:
Staff is great, food is very good?

To watch out for, if you plan on buying something at the gift shop/cigarettes etc the price varies depending on who is at the cash.

Room Tip: If you can sleep with your travel buddy it is best to get a king bed, the double beds have no suppor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Just want you to know that all of the items have prices on them in the shop and the only variable might be the exchange rate. S thanks again

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've read some reviews on here about this resort, before and after being there. Sure if you really NEED to find something wrong with the place i'm sure anyone can just for the sake of being negative. We had an AMAZING time here. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were the most important guest they had there that week. I'm sure everyone there felt the same way.....or at least they should have. Warm greetings everywhere you go, extremely helpful and fun staff from Luis Ruiz at the barracuda bar to Berny our waiter at the sushi bar and at breakfast. I could list everyone but these two were by far our favorite and made our stay that more special. Our room was great, we upgraded to a deluxe swimout room and glad we did. We enjoyed every minute of our patio, personal lounge chairs, the pool and our neighbors :) Beautiful resort, more than accommodating and can't find a thing negative to say and am surprised that anyone could. Highly recommended!!!! We'll be back as soon as we can!! :)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the deluxe swimout..........Well worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. First of all we are happy to see that we meet your expectations and that you had such a great vacation. We atke great pride in all of the little things that we do on a daily basis to ensure that you have the best experience possible. Please do not hesitate in contacting me before coming back.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Very Good:
Lots of beach to walk on, never afraid. To the left, some stores (yes, you can follow the guy to Home Depot, Kmart, Target, and the other shops they so cleverly named) or go a little further to the shop by the fallen tree and get your daughter's hair braided. To the right-pretty isolated-but one of my favorite times was running that beach all alone during cloudy weather and what looked like Poseidon's wrath. It was a great experience to be the only one on the beach with huge waves!

Pools are large and you can always find a place to be alone in it. There is Music/activities down by the beach and no music further away if you want quiet. I had a very peaceful time laying on a tube and floating around. The pools are very shallow!

Side trips horseback riding and air conditioned jeep excursion were awesome! I highly recommend learning about the culture when you are there! We learned so much! (Ask about the drive-in hotels-we were astonished!)

Water toys and every other activity that you can imagine are at Dreams. There is a gym that is well-equipped. You can even put your kid in daycare from 9am-10pm if that is your thing.

The fruit skewer snacks made especially for you during the day were fabulous!

Loved the flamingos!

Loved having to walk the extensive grounds!

Everyone is friendly. Robert, a waiter, hugged my entire family when we left! I have never seen such hardworking people than here. According to our tour guide, there are a lot of Haitians working at hotels for tips only. Although I cannot say if that was happening at Dreams, I would suggest tipping, as minimum wage is $200.00 a month! I love the Dominican people, and even though our tour guide told us that many men are chauvinistic and even murder their ladies, I found the people to be gentle and kind.

Overall, this trip was relaxing. The food was fair, not varied from day to day but there were many different choices. The population at this hotel seemed to be a little more sophisticated than the rest of the all inclusives I have been at with the exception of the Jersey shore crew who stole my seats (or as they claim my towels were taken by staff) and then proceeded to scream at the top of their lungs at me. This almost turned into an all out brawl between the men, but l am too refined for that and we just walked away from that and went to the beach.

The exclusive club includes 5 hours of Internet (buying these tickets continually after that did not make me happy but it made my tween very happy), access to a club with yucky appetizers, a restaurant with gross food, and the ability to sit on the beach beds when they weren't full or staff didn't remove your stuff. Luckily, we did not pay for this and it was included on the house.

Things that need to be changed immediately:

Do not remove people's things from chairs-especially if they have their own belongings on them and not just towels. There is no rhyme or reason to this-it was just done randomly and not all the time.

Get rid of the glass block in the bathtubs. Turning on the water was way too difficult and I can't even imagine how mothers gave their babies baths with that huge glass blocking the front of the tub.

Get some late night popcorn and a candy bar by the theater. Yes, the coffee bar is great but I would have liked to have some snacks during the excellent shows. (Yes, the shows are great. I think they must rotate them between hotels because the shows are very good and I doubt they just perform them with hotel staff.)

Get fitted sheets for the bed. The beds and pillows were comfortable, though!

If possible, get rid of the hard rocks (cement blocks?) in the water at the beach. The water is sandy to a point and then it is very rocky and I hurt my feet and ankles! (The rocky part is in the roped off part!)

Get rid of the exclusive club and offer all amenities to all customers.

Offer free wifi to all customers at all times.

Overall, good job, Dreams! Still in my happy place from this trip!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any ocean view rooms! Most rooms surround pool. We stayed in 8 on first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. thank you for taking the time to write your comments. For look at these on a daily basis in our operation meeting so we can create a better guest experience and keep on giving a great service.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was simply perfect! A dream Wedding, a wonderful time with our family; 34 of us enjoyed it equally.

Our wedding coordinator was fantastic, from the beginning of our planning experience to the Day. The Photo team from Tropical Studio was very professional and we are grateful to bring back home such wonderful souvenirs.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. being a wedding destination we are happy that we could be part of such a great event in your life and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. We will pass on your thanks to all of our wedding staff and to the tropical pictures people. We hope to have you back with us for your one year anniversary.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.