We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Still here at the hotel, in a nutshell, certain praise must go to Randy, Demetrio, Jhonny and Ana at the lobby bar, they are so friendly and can't do enough for you....I Love you is always said when your at the bar. Another mention to Blindy at the pool bar, again lovely genuine person. Overall a pleasant stay, had some problems with the toilet not flushing, air con a little noisy but didn't let this spoil the holiday. If you do have a complaint just go to the concierge and they will resolve any issue in a timely manner, thanks Carolina and thanks for arranging the champagne!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your reviews and we will be passing on your comments to our staff. We take great pride in the service that we give on a daily basis. And we hope that you will enjoy the rest of your vacation.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,507
    1,491
    675
    349
    238
See reviews for
2,246
2,348
52
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodmere, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our first family vacation planned with our daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren. After a long flight we embarked on a long bus ride to our destination., Thankfully it was preplanned, however an extended stop at another location in the opposite direction made the trip extremely long and tiresome for a 51/2 year old and an 18 month old.
Upon arrival we ate lunch and were then shown to our rooms. The location of which was not feasible with a stroller as the rooms were on the third floor. After a bit of a hassle my daughter was moved to a better location in another building. This made for a problem as now we were not together. We then had to change our room. At this point the staff began to be more cooperative. Our room left much to be desired when we were relocated. There was no toilet paper, the two tvs did not work, the safe did not work. We needed more towels and hangers. At this point the staff of the Preferred Club was helpful, but it took a few hours before all things were corrected. We basicially lost any relaxation of the day. Since the restaurants do not take reservations - dinner at the Mexican restaurant was over an hour wait - we were told by other guests that the wait at other restaurants was just as long. For a family resort accomodations should be made for children as dining at 9:00 is not really a positive experience.
Overall the staff at the Preferred Club are all very sweet. However there is a language problem with much of the staff. Although they profess to understand you, many of them have very little ability to understand English, This creates a problem when ordering in the restaurants or when you have a question. They should be required to have command of the English language in order to be able to assist you.
The facilities for children are really nice. There are many activities for them to participate in on a daily basis. The pool entertainment such as the foam party was a lot of fun. The music entertainment in the afternoon was very nice, my 18 month old grandson loved it and was dancing on the stage. Basically the food was mediocre for all meals. The best meals my husband and I had were at Portofino - This restaurant was for adults only. However another guest told us we could have the menu if we ate dinner at Oceana so that the children could have that food as a choice. This option was never told to us by a staff member. Margarita at Oceana was very sweet and tried to be very accomodating. We totally appreciated her help.
The hotel has a casino which is a concession. The staff at the black jack table were extremely nasty and disrespectful to players. They also have their own rules which favor the casino - and which do not follow any Black Jack rules at any other casino around the world. This makes the experience very unpleasant and not conducive to wanting to return to the hotel. It is an area for entertainment. The staff was so obnoxious that they made mockery out of any questions and proceeded to talk in Spanish about the guests thinking that no one understood what they were saying. Our first night niether room got the promised turn down service - This just made the day more unpleasant. I called the conceige at 11:30 to let them know that we did not get this service and they said they would check it out.This is a service that is part of the Preferred Club and should have been taken care of. It would have been nice if they sent up some fruit to show that they made a mistake. Although they did have a crib for the 18 month old it was an infant sized crib - he was unable to stay in it. They should be able to provide you with a crib to fit a young toddler as they are a family resort.
We also had very rainy weather - torrential downpours - all of the facilities are connected so that you do not have to walk in the rain. This should be explained to arriving guests, not assumed.
The spa was delightful - this is a very nice treat - use your coupons for your massage.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pools - since there are no elevators make sure you are able to walk the steps if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We wanna thank you for your comments and let you know that on these dates we had full occupancy and our rooms asignation made hard for us to comply at first with your request. Also we will pass on this information to the casino staff since they do not work directly for the resort. We take all of these comments to our briefings and use these to help us create a better guest experience.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned home after a 7 day vacation for a friend's wedding at Dreams Punta Cana. We arrived late at night and were greeted with cold cloths and champagne, which was a nice touch. After a quick check-in we headed for our room, which was in building 5. The rooms at this resort are very dated, and lack any type of dresser, which would have been nice so we didn't have to live out of our suitcases for the week. There was a closet but only with 3 shelves and a few hangers. The rooms were much smaller compared to other resorts we have visited. The fridge was old and barely kept drinks cold, however it was stocked fully every day. We got over these issues quickly as we knew we would spend little time in our room. The one thing that bothered us most during the week was the air conditioning. It didn't seem to work properly and was very damp and musty smelling the entire week. An upgrade to the AC is defiantly needed.

The grounds on this resort are beautiful, and well maintained. The food is excellent and offers lots of variety for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They also offer a pizza cafe which is open late and 24 hour room service. The best thing about this resort is that reservations are not needed for the a la carte restaurants - they all operate on a first come first serve basis. All of the restaurants had very fast and friendly service. Considering we ate in a group of 10 or more each night, we thought this was great. The Italian, Japanese, and Seaside Grill were our favourites.

We spent most of our time at the pool, as the beach was very windy, and defiantly not your typical caribbean beach with crystal waters and white sand. We have to give a shout out to our favourite bartenders at the swim up pool bar - Mariano, Adrienne, and Fransisco. We had a great time with these guys and received excellent service every day of the week. They were entertaining and we were greeted by them every time we arrived at the pool. We cannot say enough good things about them. Also to Daniel, who was our waiter during the night of the wedding. He never let our drinks go empty and had an awesome time joking around with him.

Overall, we were not impressed with the rooms or beach. We would probably return to this resort for the staff, and excellent service we received.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 children and myself recently travelled to Dreams Punta Cana, only to be told that the hotel didn't have our reservation AND was sold out. We had paid for the vacation and had a confirmation number. After sitting in the lobby on the phone with our travel company for 4 1/2 hours, the hotel found a 1 bed room (they did bring in a 2nd bed) for us to spend the night until we could catch a flight the following day. We had to pay more money out of our pocket for the small room with very little use of the resorts amenities......the pool closes at 6pm. Needless to say, it was a disaster and my children were extremely disappointed that their spring break was ruined.

Upon our departure, our transfer was due within minutes, we were told that their sister property had availability (not available the day before) at double the cost.

If you plan on visiting Dreams Punta Cana, I would highly recommend calling the hotel directly to confirm your room.

I would like to say that two Dreams employees, Elvira and Hairol, were very kind and tried to help as much as possible.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we wanna you to know that your experience was not a result of our misdoing but of problems with your booking agency. Also the fact that you came during holy week made it impossible for us even to keep you with us, since we did not have room availability for you and your family. It is a fact that we did mention our sister hotel the next day because they had a cancelation and some rooms available but the rate was based on high season rates. We really do understand your frustration but remember that we would have kept you with us if there would have been a way.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook ME
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I got married at Dreams on 3/23/2013 and to be honest I was nervous with some of the bad reviews I read. We had 34 people go down to Dreams including my wife and I and we all had a blast. There were some issues - I think everyone at one point or another had something go wrong with their room, whether it be a light fixture fall from the ceiling, a broken toilet, a room with two double beds when a king bed was requested, etc. I think the difference with our group is is that we didnt let that get to us. You are staying at a HUGE resort where the majority of the workforce does not speak the same language as you, there are going to be issues - but they do their best to work through them. I mean you're on vacation, why not have some patience.

We were upgraded and the room was great - we had an outside jacuzzi. Our guests rooms were OK - pretty typical hotel rooms - but who stays in the hotel room all vacation?

The food overall was great - we had a few bad experiences - portofino wasnt my best experience, the burgers at the beach were terrible - but I cant let two experiences ruin so many good ones. The hibachi was great, the sea grill was great, the buffet was awesome!

The place is not dirty in the least - I dont know where that comes from. I mean if a visitor drops some trash you may have seen if for a short period of time but I gaurantee someone was over there to pick it up ASAP.

The beach was great - its not that big but that is just due to how the resort is set up. The pool was great - the drinks were great

The wedding coordinator did a fantastic job (Thanks Carolina) - they do not respond to email that well before the wedding but I think that is just because they do 5-6 weddings a week and they are busy. Once we got there everything was taken care of. We didnt have any issues with the wedding, the DJ was AWESOME. It is definitely worth it do to the professional service.

I know that management takes a look at these reviews and I just wanted to say that I did receive some excellent service from Emely at the front desk - she helped me through a very frustrating issue and offered excellent service. I just wanted to make sure that was known.

Long review short - I would recommend this resort for a wedding or for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonald's Corners, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and spent a wonderful week vacation at Dreams Punta Cana back in February. This was our first trip to Punta Cana but it will not be the last. From the time we arrived until we left we were treated wonderfully. Everyone we met from the reception staff to the grounds people were the most pleasant and warmest people we've every come across.
Our room was comfortable, the fridge was restocked everyday and our lovely cleaning lady (whom we never did meet) took the time to decorated our room with flowers everyday.
The pool was amazing, fun and enjoyable. Yes you have to get up early to get a chair but from what I have read from resorts this is a common problem. We found this to be a problem with the guests more then the resort, (people would mark chairs and never return back for them )Two days we were unable to find a chair but all we did was to ask one of the staff to help us in finding some and they were more then willing to help ( which they did for us on those two times)
The food was great having spent most of our meals at the buffet because the selection there was the best I've ever seen.
We so enjoyed watching the Dreams Staff, these people work very hard at making your vacation a wonderful experience. I even had the dancers take me up to the stage and sing Happy Birthday to me a night I will never forget.
We did meet a few people who complained but came to the conclusion that these people will find fault with anything ( one women went on about ordering a bucket of ice and only getting half a bucket??? please )
I have told everyone about our wonderful time and are already making plans to return next year.
We also talked to several people at the resort while we were there and they too said after traveling to resorts all over Mexico, Cuba and the Dominican, Dreams Punta Cana was now their number one pick too
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Comments are based on a stay March 22nd thru March 30th. We had two adjoining rooms (7104-7105) via the family room option and used the Preferred Club option.

Overall: This place has great potential but falls short of meeting its potential consistently enough where other options for a family vacation should be considered. The staff is extremely friendly and will always respond with “excellente” when you ask them how they are doing. The main issues fall into the two categories of the inability for staff to solve small problems or address inquiries to put one at ease and policies/standards that result in undesired annoyances. These areas result in the overall experience being less than ‘excellente’ but can be easily addressed if management makes the commitment. Examples include:

1) 40 minute wait at the only reservation only option restaurant with the host continuing to insist the problem is the result of so many guests being at the hotel. This restaurant has 3 seatings (6PM, 7:30PM, 9PM) for 3 tables at a typical Japanese teppanyaki restaurant with approx. 10 per table. The number of guests is irrelevant to the situation despite the hostess’ claims to the contrary. Simple solution of sorry we are running behind, here is what we will do and what you can expect in terms of wait, the situation was one where the staff felt unempowered or unable to respond to a simple situation. The hostess just kept trying to get us to agree it was not her fault or the fault of the restaurant.

2) Going to Oceana restaurant where no reservations are taken. We show up around 7:30pm for dinner and are not surprised at all that there is a wait as we know the hotel is at capacity. We are about 5th in line for the hostess to get our name on the list. It seems each guest in front of us is taking much longer to process getting on the list than was normal. When we got to front of line we understood. We were told to come back in 15 minutes to get a beeper as they were out of beepers. This was kind of strange and we asked once we had a beeper how long the wait would be? We got the smile and the come back in 15 minutes reply. So confused, we left, got a drink, came back in 15 minutes and got our beeper. We asked, how long would the wait be for a table. Response was, “we do not know”. When I clarified I was only seeking guidance within 30 minute buckets, I was still told “we do not know”. Then a manager was summoned who told me multiple times “we do not know” even after going thru the this can’t be the first time there has been a wait—how long have waits been in the past type of discussion. He finally offers some insight by pointing to a table for 4 that is vacant (this table was vacant when we first arrived and did draw my attention) and says we have buzzed this party multiple times and they have not responded so if the diners do not come when we call, how can we possibly know when your table will be ready. The better solution here was so obvious that I thought it fruitless to pursue things any longer and started to go back to my waiting area with beeper in hand. The manager then stops me and says…”no promises senor but on nights like this the wait for a table has been around 45 minutes.” Hmmm…that would have been a good answer about 10 minutes ago.

3) Turn down service in the evening is around 7-7:15pm. Tried to explain this service might be a bit better appreciated later in the evening when we were out—leave the chocolates and tomorrow’s daily activity sheet on the turned down bed—instead of showing up when it was reasonable to expect someone was in the shower or getting dressed was fruitless.

4) One of the perks with the Preferred Club option was free internet. This comes via a code that gives you 5 hours of service per device. Ok part of being on vacation is disconnecting from the world around you but even just some brief internet usage over 7-8 days can exceed 5 hours for an adult. Now throw this at a kid/teen and the 5 hours is gone much faster. The issue is not the cost as you get as many replacement codes as you want. It is the hassle factor of having to go to preferred club and going thru process of getting a new code and the hassle that once you disconnected the service did not allow you the option of remembering your device so you had to keep track of a 5 digit username and 5 digit password each time you logged on to the internet.

5) The various restaurants had different dress codes. Having dining options for dinner where your fellow diners are not in bathing suits and tank tops is desirable However, the code seems a bit misguided when a diner can come in jeans and a short-sleeved t-shirt and be preferred over a diner with linen shorts and either a fresh 2-3 button collared golf shirt or button down collared shirt seems to be a policy that misses the mark. The real annoyance is showing up in pants at a pants required restaurant and hearing the patron in front of you dressed in shorts being told he could dine on the patio adjoining the restaurant when this option was denied to you the previous evening. Who would want to dine outside on a calm 75 degree evening in the Caribbean? Maybe a no-denim rule might be better and more relaxed rules for those under 18 might also make sense.

6) Check-in process is lengthy with no real purpose. After a long day of travel, many people might prefer a quick check-in to the room to allow one to freshen up. After 30 minutes I stopped looking at my watch to see how long it would be until we got to our room. The personal attention and long speeches on the hotel amenities is well intended but misguided. Also filling out forms with names, addresses, passport numbers etc…for a prepaid reservation made months ago seems outdated in this day and age. If this is required to be filled out at check-in maybe send the forms to people or put such on the website so one can fill-out this information prior to arrival. Flabbergasted that I still beat my luggage to my room.

7) Going to a large all-inclusive family resort and expecting culinary excellence is unreasonable. However, the quality of the food at Dreams falls considerably short of the quality of food at other all-inclusives, including large mainline cruise ships. Given the location it is perplexing why the quality of the seafood is so poor and the ability to properly prepare a piece of fish, shrimp or crawfish was absent. My food standards for a place like Dreams are pretty low and they managed to fall beneath them. Sadly, this applied equally to the one adult only dining option—the Italian Restaurant where the main goal seemed to be get you out the door ASAP even though table availability was not a problem. If I am in a rush to get back to my kids I will let you know. Lastly on the dining front is the annoying habit of giving the head of the household the preferred wine menu but no regular menu. I love my bourdeauxs and cabs dearly but at 2PM for lunch at a restaurant that is 20% full—feel free to give everyone at the table a food menu.

8) Ending your stay with a check-out process where I stood waiting as the two people at the check-in/check out desk both focused on one couple that did not seem to be requesting any unusual level of attention. After about 10 minutes one of the staff members got up and handed me a resort evaluation form for me to fill-out while I waited. When I finally got to the desk and responded with “about 15-20 minutes from now” to the question of when was I planning to leave; the staff member got flustered and indicated I was not leaving much time. Seems getting to the check-out desk 30 minutes prior to departure to the airport is reasonable?

9) Explored the Core Zone—particularly the batting cage availability. I found the cage but no bats and no staff member. I went to front desk to ask. Front desk person told me things I already knew—where the Core Zone was and where the batting cage was within the Core Zone. When I explained where I could find bats he told me they are right next to the cage I must have missed them (the theme is problems are guest created not issues for staff to follow-up on). I went back to Core Zone and looked again—no bats but I did find a staff member. He contradicted front staff person about bats being out and available. He explained cage was available at specific times as detailed on daily activity sheet. When I inquired if I could come at other times like now (it was 4PM and core zone had less than 5 kids present) and supervise my 13 and 17 year olds in the cage, I was given a non-answer. I appreciate risk of activity but seems all activities have risk and most are unsupervised (no lifeguards). Most annoying was contradictory information from staff and lack of interest by front staff where a simple call to Core Zone staff could have helped considerably.

Other Comments:

Transport/Check-in process: Putting “Punta Cana” in the name of the resort is misleading as it is a 50-60 minute ride from the airport. Highly recommend pre-arranged transfers to save money/time/hassle as the airport is hectic. There is a highway being built (partially completed and used) which should lead to a faster and smoother ride in the future, but currently a good chunk of the trip is on bumpy back roads. Upon arriving at the resort we were quickly recognized as Preferred Members and got immediate personal attention. This was good and bad—see above.

Preferred Club: It is a real toss-up if the preferred club is worth the extra expense. The benefits we made use of included: free internet, private beach, pool towels and breakfast at Oceana. Internet covered above. Another benefit to Preferred Club is access to the private beach. The private beach is a roped off area on the beach which is fine. The beds available at the private beach are nice but are the only real advantage over the non-private beach and the beds are few in number and are in high demand. If you leave for lunch do not be surprised to find your bed taken. Having access to towels via the preferred club is an advantage but not huge as towel availability for other guests seems decent. The preferred towels are a different color than non-preferred and only seems to help identify you as being ok at the private beach---at the pool there is no advantage. Having another option for breakfast was nice, but if you are with kids, the preference will likely be for the general breakfast buffet in the main building given the wider assortment of food options. The bar and food at the preferred club are a nice addition when you need to go to the club for other reasons, but not really a differentiator in terms of selecting the preferred club option.

Rooms:
View: It seems most of the rooms fall in two categories in terms of view: garden view or pool view. Neither is all that great. Most of the garden view rooms have a small grassy area and then you are bordered by a service road used regularly by the staff to move stuff about the resort. The pool view rooms have a grassy area between you and the pool with the downside being noise from pool and privacy as people at pool can see into your room---possibly best choice is 2nd/3rd floor pool view. The pics on the website are not representative of the views you will have from most rooms.

Amenities: Rooms are generally ok. The place is warm and humid so musty/moldy/mildew smell is unavoidable. Our rooms were ok on this front, but comments on excessive mildew/mold likely have merit and would recommend checking this out immediately upon checking in to room. This place loves their pillows and seems to have a great affinity for hard pillows. Sleeping pillows are hard so recommend requesting softer pillows upon check-in. The beds have numerous large throw pillows which look nice but are just larger rock cousins of the sleeping pillows and present the challenge of where does one store these large decorations without taking up much space. While more an annoyance than anything—you count on the power in the room going out for a few minutes a couple of times per day—a little more annoying when you are using the bathroom as not much natural light comes to the bathrooms.

Bathroom: Good water pressure and no problems with hot water. Shower has solid glass wall that only runs about a third of the length of the tub so showering without flooding the bathroom requires some thought. Also, caulk does seem to be a primary construction element in the bathroom.

Service: Room cleaning is pretty good and flexible in terms of when they show up to meet your schedule. If you leave anything of value out in your room (cell phone in our case) they will depart the room immediately and lock your room to point where you need to get security to get you back in the room. Understand the purpose of the policy but it is a hassle and a wait to get this process done—so use the safe all the time for all valuables. Turndown service for our rooms was every night around 7-7:15pm. This gets annoying as this is not an atypical time for someone to be in process of getting ready for the evening.

Pool: This is a nice pool—very long and windy so not just some giant box. Even when resort was full you could always find reasonable space in the pool. Most crowded area was at beach end which has the swim-up bar. Downside is the pool is 3 feet deep everywhere—no place to plunge etc…Great for kids and great overall—just would be nice to have a limited space of deeper water. Also while activity at pool throughout the day is like other resorts—it is not well communicated and you need to be by entertainment center near middle of pool to participate in activities. Other places do better job of traversing pool deck announcing events/locations 15-20 minutes prior to start time. Recommend finding a staff member early in day and get rundown on where to be and when. Realize info is listed in daily activity sheet but still hard to find out what to do and where to go.

Food: See above. Young kids will generally be satisfied. Most adults will find the food a source of substance that is not unpleasant.

Activities: There are plenty of activities and most can be signed up for at the main building or at the entertainment center by the pool. One annoying aspect is services not endorsed by the hotel being hawked fairly aggressively by people near the beach—can’t go to beach or restaurants by the beach without being approached by these people. The resort clearly allows them to station themselves where they do which is clearly on resort property. Why they allow this is unclear.

Night entertainment: Things are pretty quiet at night. There is a different stage show at 9:30pm each night all which seemed good and family friendly.

Casino: Small, musty, and very few people in it at various times we passed by.

Core Zone: Activity for teens---the area had a lot of things but was pretty rundown and many activities were only available at very specific times.

Explorers Club: For young kids. While we did not use this it seemed very well run and the kids seemed to desire to go back day after day which has not been our experience at other all inclusives when our kids where of the appropriate age.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience. Even do we did not meet your expectations we take all of your comments and look them over in our daily briefings as things to help us improve our client experience. Ounce again thank you for taking the time and being honest about your comments.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.