We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #47 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Worst all inclusive I have ever been to. 8 of us waited 1 1/2 hours for food at the Asian restaurant and them first bit of food which was soup was ice cold. Almost everywhere on the property food is lackluster and plan on waiting. I guess you could eat every meal at the buffet and it might be decent. We scheduled 3 excursions after day one so we could be away from this place. I got a preferred room and got put in a building that was not preferred. A JOKE of an all inclusive. Never again for me. Still here miserable. Portifino adult only restaurant was awful too. Service sucks. I feel bad for anyone who comes here and Wastes there money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Since you are still on site can you please contact me Pascal Messier or my chief concierge Juan Carlos at the reception so we can resolve your issues.

Have a nice day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,016
    1,341
    657
    339
    230
See reviews for
2003
2126
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to try this resort as we have been to many other places and wanted something different. This was in early December 2012. It started with black things floating in my son's sealed water bottle and went downhill from there. Our room was flooded out from a water pipe bursting outside our door. Our suitcases, clothes, shoes, electronics and everything got wet. For our inconvenience they moved us to a room at the other end of the building from our kids room and left us with a broken TV, phone and a ceiling that looked like it would fall in any minute. When we complained they promised to replace several things that were destroyed and give us a free week for everyone in our group (6 adults 2 children). We have been fighting with them ever since and finally now in March got the ruined shoes returned with an apology and a promise for not only a free week but spa credits to compensate for the shoes. Today, being March 15 - three months later, I received a gift certificate for 5 nights (not a week as promised) for 2 adults and 4 children(not 6 adults and 2 children) and no spa credit - and only one room for all of us when we paid for 3 rooms in December. The upper management do not care what happens and keep giving excuses about being away and unavailable to deal with our problem. The property is beautiful but don't believe anything they tell you and if you have a problem - well you are on your own!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest

having delt personaly with this situation, i am very sorry that you feel this way and would like to take the time to clarify some of your comments in this review. Like you mentioned you did get water inside your room from a pipe that broke in our system. At that time due to occupation we had to give you the other room a little further. As for items that got wet we know that your computers wher not affected and that the only items that you left behind had been your sons tennis shoes, that the insurance company did not cover since they only got wet and we did as a responsible company send them back to you in the same state that they had been. We are sorry that this took 3 months but we all know how claims work and the time it takes. Also you did get the complimentary certificate yesterday for if you look at it correctely it is 2 junior suite in the preferd club for 5 night 6 days and valid for 2 adults and 4 children that are the members of your family. Like you said you did buy 3 rooms but only one room was affected. So like agreed upon before your departure you did get suites for you and your family.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

this was one of the best places i have ever stayed and the best part of it was the people, i have never seen people so friendly i would exspecially like to thank carman and felipe (entertainment team) for making mine and my partners trip so much better they really know how to put a smile on some ones face. the services at the bars and restraunts particularly at the barracuda bar juan pablo and lewis and at the sea side grill alberto. the room was nice no real complaints with that. the food was amazong so much choice and best part eat as much as you like. also the entertainment in the evening was really good too. would deffently recommend this holiday and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

13 Feb 2013, we upgraded to 'Preferred" upon arrival(recommended, not on-line)got better deal. Room was very good, maids seem to want a tip every day, tho' not necessary(we did tip 1US dollar (approx. 40 pesos) every other day...results were very good. Highly recommend the concierge Carolina(in Main Hotel complex) to assist you..she was very efficient(she made things happen when REQUIRED!!), professional and
spoke English very well( English is problem depending on whom you speak with)...but they
say they are working on it. Our favourite staffer was: 'RAMON' from the Portofino and Oceana resturants(part of perferred benefit at different times of service)..but this Manager should be recognized as one whom 'knows his job'...English is ""excellento""...deportment/efficiency is great and he knows how to treat guests in all ways, we were very happy every time he was
managing either the Oceana or the Portofino...always received ' excellent service from him and his staff at the time(Love the way he caught his employees not stepping up to guest attention)..." PROMOTE THIS GUY' he deserves it...We were equally not impressed with the Mexican resturant..service was 'sketchy' and not up to the Portofino
level.." They need an Ramone to fix that problem''!!??..Also at the Oceana, the front desk lady
""Margaritta" is the best...she has such a pleasant attitude and attraction to detail as she duly
recognized us and sat us to our best tables, this lady was someone whom we looked forward each morning for breakfast, truly one of your best employees whom should be recognized!!
Other mentionables..were in the " Perferred" Club bar-tenders...Anjelo and Adrian...both
professional and always ' friendly' and helpful...both assets to your resort in our opinion..Overall we enjoyed the resort(two weeks was too long, we don't drink that much)..
for the value and the 7.5 hr. airplane. Overall we would recomend this resort for the food,
location and the staff...It was a very good experience(sun;ocean;pool).
Thank you
Eric and Anna, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: Talk turkey at the front desk and up grade to 'Perferred'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xo2010
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Dreams for our 18th Wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We paid a little more for the upgraded package and it was well worth it. Several times a day one of the staff came by and asked if we needed anything and if we were enjoying our stay.We never got harassed to buy excursions or time shares at all. It was very relaxing for us. I would say if you are a big partier then this is probably not the resort for you. It is fairly quiet at night with the exception of the shows and a band outside.
Our room was lovely...more like a suite with a nice balcony and a sitting area. I slept very well in the bed. The food was acceptable...you can usually find something you like. I wouldn't say it was gourmet but it was standard.We thoroughly enjoyed the steakhouse.
All in all I would say it is a very nice resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. We are glad that we had a positive impression on you for this great vacation and celebration. We do work on our food on a daily basis and always try to keep on improving. Also we hope to have you back for your 19 anniversary.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here Easter 2012. Before we travelled I was very concerned about the bad reviews regarding poolside loungers.
The 1st day we were there the pool loungers were mostly generally tatty of broken but over the following couple of days were all replaced with new ones. There was always plenty to go round even when the hotel was full over the easter week.
The beach was fantastic no problems getting a spot there either, you could walk for miles in either direction if you felt so inclined.
Activities for children were fantastic loads for them to do & Explorers Club was great too.
One highlight of our stay was easter sunday. Entertainment staff set up a chocolate buffet on the beach & a huge easter cake tho you had to be quick as it all soon disappeared or melted! Brilliant waterslides set up by the beach too .
The rooms were good although we originally booked a standard double & were allocated a ground floor room in block 2 close to the beach. We only stayed in it one night & up-graded to a suite. I suspect that because I had enquired about the cost of an up-grade before out trip that we were given our original room which was cold & damp, this is my only real negative point about the whole resort, my only other comment would be the massive groups of americans or canadians who congregated in the pools drinking lots & never getting out - gross! you lazy people don't P*** in the pool! It is a fact I'm sorry if this offends you!
There were a group of stupid english too who played on the 'kids only' inflatable in the pool & broke it...Thanks a lot you morons!!
Our suite was fantastic as was the food - the fact that you did not have to book the other restaurants was a bonus & the view at sunset from the bar at the adult only restaurant was stunning.
We were never bothered by ANYONE trying to sell us anything either time share or from the stalls outside in the evening but I think that's because we were polite to them but didn't pay any interest!
Felix in the world cafe made our day when he organised a birthday cake & 'birthday song' for my sons birthday - a lovely memory.
All in all we had a great time, I could go on but I won't! I would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

Room Tip: If there's more than two of you go for a suite. Which ever room type you go for try & get hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and giving us your toughts. We hope that you will be back with us soon and that you can see all of the positive changes that we are doing. In the hope of seeing you soon.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I were given a trip to the Dominican Republic for my retirement gift and after researching various hotels we decided to stay at Dreams in Punta Cana. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in a suite which was very roomy with extremely comfortable beds and a balcony with our own private jacuzzi. There was a nice sitting room with a large TV besides the TV in the bedroom and a refrigerator that was stocked daily. The restaurants were very good with a variety of food. Our favorites were the Japanese and Italian restaurants. The buffet was good but the food tended to be luke warm, not hot. The staff at Dreams was very attentive and there was not much of a language barrier. The pool is wonderful and winds along the whole hotel, right up to a swim up bar and onto the beach. The beach was nice but we weren't really able to swim in the ocean as it was too rough the whole week we were there. The nightly entertainment was wonderful. The staff did get everyone involved and was very entertaining. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it highly. The only downfall for this hotel I believe is that it isn't near anything and quite a drive from anywhere you want to go but there is enough to do at the hotel and the tours from the hotel are wonderful.

Room Tip: We were originally going to stay in a swim out room but were upgraded to a suite and we were not dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.