We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Great, Except...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #47 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Everything Great, Except...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really, really thought the resort was good. The food was excellent, especially at the a la carte restaurants, that required no pre-booking. All the bars were great, drinks fine...beach and pool service was really good. The room we had was a ground floor facing the pool (not swim-out). It was fine, very clean and everything worked. Our only criticism of the place was the swimming. The pool was too shallow to do any serious swimming, and it was also quite cold (mid-January). The roped off swimming area at the beach was not particularly safe, with lot's of sandy 'ledges' making the depth change suddenly and drastically. We felt very unsafe because the waves were huge with very, very strong under tows. This is definitely not a safe swimming area for families with children. Each and every day of our 1 week vacation was a red flag day. We will have to choose somewhere else next time, in order to enjoy the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. We are very happy that you took the time to post your comments and we are glad to see that we met your expectations.

As for the beach we know that the sea as been a little agitated during your stay and by having a natural beach sand does get pulled away in some places. Also if you noticed our beach board we have one part that is not allowed for swimming since we have a rocky coral formation with sea life.

Thanks again for your comments and do not hesitate in contacting me before your next visit.

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,019
    1,341
    657
    339
    228
See reviews for
2003
2125
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset nj
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just returned from Dreams Resort and Spa in Punta Cana. It was one of the best vacations I have ever gone on. The resort was beautiful, the food was great and gthe staff was the most courteous I have ever seen. The shows at night were great. I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone. The way they laid out the pool area was fantastic

Room Tip: get a room on the first floor in bldg 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana, first of all thanks for taking the time to post your comments and we hope that we can have a chance to have you back with us.

have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just got back from spending a week there with my boyfriend. We attended our friends wedding while we were there. Compared to other hotels we have stayed at (Mexico, Cuba) this was by far the best. Things we loved:
- The pool. It is huge and there are tons of lounge chairs. Yes, sometimes it was hard to get one but we always ended up with one.
- The food. There was so many restaurants to choose from and all of the food was delicious. The world buffet was extremely impressive- tons of choices beautifully presented.
- The beach. Beautiful. Our friends got married on the beach and it was the most perfect backdrop. Loved it!
- The staff. I read some reviews on here about how people felt the staff were disappointing. We never felt this way, They were so friendly and polite, and to everything you ask for they respond `my pleasure`. We were very impressed. The entertainment staff was also great, we had lots of fun with them!
Overall, we were 100% satisfied with our vacation at Dreams, and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana.

First of all thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We are very happy to see that we met your expectations and that you could have a great experience with our staff. We take great pride in making that our guests have a wonderful stay.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our 10 night stay at Dreams, which included our wedding and honeymoon! We had 10 people travel with us and everyone had an amazing trip!! I cannot say enough about the resort and staff. They all went above and beyond to make sure us, and our guests were comfortable and having a great time!

Food- absolutely amazing everywhere we went. Make sure you try all the restaurants!! The portions are a bit small but soooo yummy. So just order more if your still hungry :) Drinks were always made to order and we were never disappointed. All bartenders had the best attitudes and if they didn't have a type of liquor we were asking for they went to another bar to get it for us!!
All bartenders and wait staff rocked!!!
Rooms- very comfortable and clean! We had guests in buildings 4, 7, and 9 and no one had any complaints. The honeymoon suits were spectacular. PS beds are super comfy, not the usual hard beds.
Staff- THE BEST!!!!! everywhere we went the staff was saying hello, how are you, and EXCELLENTE! :) The workers, entertainment, and wedding staff, you name it they were great!!
Hotel grounds- Perfect!! Cannot say one bad thing. They are definitely NOT run down. I cannot understand how people can say this. Everywhere is gorgeous and super clean!! PS.. flamingos and peacocks roaming the grounds!!! so cool :)

We had our wedding in the gazebo which was breath taking! Our reception was in the portofino terrace and every staff member went ABOVE all of our expectations. Our wedding coordinator was Deyanira and I cannot say enough good things about her! If you plan on having your wedding here I highly suggest you ask for her :) She did more than what we asked for and made sure everything went perfect from beginning to end!

All in all, we had the most amazing trip, and my husband and I have been to many all- inclusive resorts, 5 being in punta cana. DREAMS is the place to go!!! :)

Room Tip: We loved our honeymoon suite in building 7, 3rd floor! Very quiet, AC worked great, and amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Newlyweds

First of all we wanna thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of such a special moment in your life. We take great care in our weddings to make sure that everything is perfect and we are happy that this event met your expectations.

We hope to see you next year for your first year anniversary.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Dreams Punta Cana from January 16-30 for a wedding. It was the best wedding I ever went to. Saying that I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone, it is very tired and in need of a major renovation. We spent the extra money for a swim out room and we were not impressed. We were moved once and it wasn't any better in the next room. For the money we paid to stay at Dreams I expected way more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Punta Cana and thanks you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay,

We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations with our rooms. We have different types of rooms and i am sure that if you would have mentioned this during your stay we could have found something to please you.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort was ok, I've been to many all inclusives and this one by far was the most disappointing....the entertainment staff was lame and seemed to have no interest in being there, they seemed almost miserable, they were not fun and did not engage in fun activities with the guest, the night entertainment was horrible.... The food was pretty good, the staff and food were the best at the japanese steakhouse. otherwise the lines were long and the wait staff were often rude... the buffet was the same all week and got old...the hotel was very dated it was cleaned everyday and was always picked up, but you could tell it has no upgrades... the rooms had a moist musty smell, and the most disappointing was the joke of the promotion they gave you for booking....200 dollar credit was a mear you spend 80 will give u 5 dollars off.....no thanks i think i spent enough here!!!! Overall beside the credit money as a promotion of $200 for booking i didnt spend, being very irritating... the staff was the worst, they all just seemed MISERABLE

Room Tip: dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to Dreams Punta Cana before. And I have reviewed Dreams Punta Cana before as well. So I won't repeat my previous [glowing] endoresements here, other than to say ... once again! ... that Dreams Punta Cana lived up to my expectations for this special 60th Birthday Trip for my sister. And do you know what made her birthday trip to Dreams so special? THE PEOPLE WHO WORK AT DREAMS! Right from the top down, management to Club staff to waiters to housekeepers and everyone in between, the fact that they all made the effort and took the time to make this a memorable birthday for "Maggie" ... and, trust me, she won't forget this special birthday vacation at Dreams for a very long time! My family and I are most appreciative. (I have attached some photos of this very special occasion which will speak for themselves.)

Room Tip: If you want upgraded services and "Club" rooms then I / we certainly suggest booking in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.