We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Dreams Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dreams Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #47 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Queens New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wedding...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good:
The pool is one of the longest and natural
ones we have experienced. My 5 and 3 year old loved it. There were so many locations along the length and edges we were able to easily set up and get into the water. (best part of the resort)

The beach did have lots of coconuts trees for shade so we were all happy building sand castles and since there were no adjacent resorts there were no beach traffic or vendors so it was very private and natural.

Rooms were excellent with flat screen TV and maid service, Overall the grounds was very well kept and very green and colorful with many native plants and flamingos and peacocks walking around!

Cons:
Too far from the airport 1 hr on a winding road with kids ...took a private van so we had AC / room to spread out ...a must if you have small kids and after a long flight.yea 1 hr back to airport.

The beach is rough for small kids and there are rocks that you can stub your shins on yes that big!! (don't forget the pool is awesome).
The sports bar / area is sad..drink service does not exist and the bartender spent his time playing pool! The disco was used as the venue to see the "Big" Sunday football games ..it is better than the other spots there.
The food was tasteless ...the ingredients exist ie steak, fish, shrimp etc but just bland all around. The drinks were fine but no top shelf vodka or scotch the rum offerings were average.
Would I go back ..no...but did enjoy the trip very much and would recommend it to others with the above comments...The wedding was fantastic on the beach and in the hall.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,865
    1,271
    639
    332
    222
See reviews for
1914
2042
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to Dreams Punta Cana as we did our destination wedding at the Jellyfish Restaurant off resort but wanted a nicer hotel for our friends and family to stay at.

The good:
- Clean
- Lots of beach chairs
- Lots of towels
- The fruit stand lady
- The staff
- Entertainment
- The spa is amazing

The bad:
- Dated and tiny rooms
- The italian a la carte took 3 hours to finish our dinner service
- Resort itself is really far from the airport - 45minute - 1 hour bus ride
- There was no snacks

Although overall it was a nice place and you don't spend a lot of time in the rooms, I do think the resort is aging and it shows in the rooms and as a result I'd rate this more like a 4*

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our second visit to Dreams PC, we last visited in 2010 at the same time in September.

The transfer was about an hours journey, not bad. Check in was fine, we booked a Supersaver room and were told we had a nice room over looking the pool. The hotel seemed to be exactly as we remembered it although there was construction going on in the lobby area downstairs near the disco.

We got to our room and we saw he had 2 double beds, no biggie we thought, but then realised we cudn't even push them together, so we phoned reception and asked for a room change, they told us they had none available but may have some open up in a few days. Not good enough and i found that hard to believe, We went up to the reception and escalated the matter to someone else at reception, she was very good and dealt with our request very friendly and promptly, she put us in room 4314 overlooking the pool in block 4 with a king bed, a very nice room (corner unit) !!! they had outfitted all the rooms with plasma tv's mounted to the wall since our last visit.

We noticed that the buffet had less selection and a lot of empty stations compared to the last time we were here, also the big buffet area (world cafe) seemed to have less seating, but maybe this was due to the fact that this was a quiet time and not at full capacity. We noticed a lot of empty rooms in the block near the reception and eventually found out that the whole of block 1 and 2 were empty and were due to be renovated.

Lots of seats and beds at the pool, it was never busy you could take your pick. The pool is awesome here, the best pool we have ever had at a resort, a huge lazy river type of pool from one end of the resort to the other. Our pool waitress Maria was the best, she would bring us drinks all day long !

The beach isn't that great here but we knew that, the ocean is on the Atlantic side so its not the carribean ocean. For those looking for crystal blue ocean and white sand you will be sadly dissapointed but the pool and the rest of the resort more than make up for it, we are not big beach people anyways.

The lunch barefoot bbq down at the beach is good, they cook what you want in front of you and the staff down there wait on you hand and foot, great service. We also ate at the Japanese a la carte and the Seaside Grill, both of these were very good, although the Japanese took a very long time to get served and they messed our order up. The room service was great which we took advantage of a lot of the time and ate in our room or ordered late night snacks.

One of the big differences from the last time we were here was we noticed the lack of entertainment and a total change in the entertainment team, last time the team was excellent and so much going on, lots of activities etc, this time not so much, the shows were the same and quite repetitive and half the time not very full. I was told after talking to the guy who does the scuba diving that the hotel had been taken over in August with new management and there was a lot of layoffs with the staff and a whole revamp, this explained a lot of the changes. Although some faces we still recognised from our last visit.

The bars and staff are excellent here always willing to get you anything you want, we spent a lot of time at the plaza bar with some friends we had met on their honeymoon.

All in all we still love this resort even after all the changes it has taken on recently and we will definately return, i can recommend this resort to anyone, its the most relaxing place we have been too...we love Dreams !

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool View in Block 2 or 3 to be in the middle of the resort close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First, let me say that I have been to many all-inclusive resorts, from family type to adults only. This is our 4th family Thanksgiving vacation. Dreams was suggested by my Travel Agent. She was right ! All 6 adults & 4 children (grandchildren) loved the Resort & our time together. The family suites (Preferred Club) were great with my daughter's & son's families. They loved that the kids had their own attached room with a full bathroom. We had a Preferred Club Jr. Suite in the same building. All worked. The only problem we had was with bottled water delivery, but after a few calls, all was taken care of. I did see some people complaining about the beds. We had no problem at all.
Sheets were always fresh & had clean towels daily. The food was very good having a lot of seafood options. Even the children were pleased with all the choices. The pool is great! We had a wonderful time there & the pool bar served great drinks !! All of the staff are very helpful & polite. They go out of their way to make your day. No complaints there. All & all, I would return to Dreams. We have some great memories because of the service & wonderful food choices.
I would recommend this Resort for a Family Vacation.

Room Tip: If you can, get the Preferred Club rooms. The extra is well worth it. Buildings 6 & 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel is amazing... Entertainment is EXCELLENTE!!!!! We love Yunior!!! Good dancing! Food is great... Love the pina coladas! disco is awesome... Love that the staff teach us how to dance. beautiful beach!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first trip to Dreams and the Domincan and although we have travelled extensively, this is probably the best all inclusive resort that we have visited. From our arrival, to the monent that we left, the service was excellent, and the staff were attentive and friendly. Wherever in the world you are, if you treat staff with courtesy and respect, you generally receive the same back, and we were appalled by how some of the guests spoke to the staff, without any manners. The pool is the best that I have ever experienced, due to the size and location, and there are always plenty of sunbeds and quieter areas to relax. Throughout the day, Maria and the staff at the Barracuda Bar were particularly friendly and we never had to move to get a drink. We experienced similar service from German and the guys at the Lobby Bar. In response to comments regarding drinks being watered down, I found the opposite, as most of the cocktails that I tried were strong! We ate at all of the restaurants and were pleasantly surprised at the high quality, particularly the Japanese and Oceana. The World Cafe had every food imaginable and we particularly enjoyed the smoothies for breakfast. During our second week, the Coco Cafe opened to our delight, with lattes,sandwiches and cakes on display. There were also fruit kebabs available in the day by the side of the pool. We were allocated a swim up room that was spotless, with a maid that came in twice a day, and the mini bar was stocked daily. During the trip, it was my partners Birthday and an amazing chocolate and cream cake was delivered to the room, that we shared with the maids. Special thanks to Nancy, for ensuring that our trip was indeed excelente!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pros: the beach is nice, bed was comfortable.

Cons, If you want internet, its not owned by the hotel. Some guy owns the network that only accepts cash (no room charges, no credit cards) and only during business hours (lunch is not a business hour for him). And he's a 10 minute walk so not getting it done in one trip is very inconvenient.

Also, although food drinks and tips are included, there are people everywhere trying to get you to spend more on this or that (even in the building). For me I felt like I was at a flea market with everyone trying to sell me thing.

They were driving this small pick up around the property with a guy in the back with a facemask. There was fog or smoke going everywhere so thick you couldn't see. I don't know if they had the worst exaust problem ever or if they were spraying for mosqitoes.

I would ask but most people here don't speak very good English. I don't expect them to since we're not in the US. But it does mean I don't know what was coming out of that truck. Fnding "building 2" is challenging enough.

Last, there's no desert on the room service menu. I just wanted to check email and eat ice cream, what's so wrong with that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Sunscape Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic
Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.