We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was "OK"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“it was "OK"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lobby - beautiful ...Rooms - average....Bartenders - great....Excusions....too far away. .....and of coarse - too many kids hanging out at the bar areas. Its a nice place to go if you've never been to the Carribean, but not as tourist friendly as Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,809
    1,625
    696
    352
    242
See reviews for
2,425
2,524
55
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from a one week stay at Dreams Punta Cana for a friend's wedding. I will outline what I think were the most stand out aspects of this resort.

Arrival:
The drive from the airport was about 50 minutes long without other stops and was along some winding and twisting roads. If you are prone to motion sickness, be sure to take your Gravol when you arrive at the airport! Check-in was a breeze as we were the only ones checking in at that time - this is a result of having booked our flights, hotel and transfers all separately instead of as a vacation package (saved us a few hundred dollars this way) and did not arrive with any others. We were greeted right away with cold towels and a nice cold drink and the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and friendly. Our luggage arrived at our room about 20 minutes later which gave us time to look around at the beautiful resort as we made our way to building 3 which is halfway between the beach and the lobby.

Staff:
The staff at this resort are incredible! Everyone including the front desk staff, restaurant servers and hostesses, bar tenders, Entertainment staff and house keepers are always smiling and friendly. Never did we walk past a staff member without getting a smile and an "Hola". They were all always willing to do their absolute best to make sure you were comfortable, happy and taken care of and their willingness to go the extra mile really stood out to us. Edry at the World Buffet was excellent and always took great care of us. We do not go on these trips to be waited on hand and foot, but if you are nice and friendly and take a moment to get to know these lovely people, they will be happy to take care of you.

Food:
We have been to Puerto Plata in the Dominican, Montego Bay Jamaica, Cayo Coco Cuba and the Mayan Riviera in Mexico for a total of 10 all inclusive trips and this resort has by far had the best food of them all. Every meal we ate was the best one we had eaten all week...until the next meal! It just kept getting better. You will never go hungry at this resort, there is food everywhere at all times of day. The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as for 24 hour made to order brick oven pizza that is to die for after a long day of delicious drinks. The grill on the beach is great at lunch for a yummy hotdog, burger or cheeseburger. There is just something about sitting at a picnic table on the beach eating a BBQ lunch.

Drinks:
The bar tenders are excellent at this resort, and you do not have to be Premium Club members to have access to the top shelf liquor. Ask and you shall receive - including Clamato juice for a real Canadian Cesar! Even when they ran out of Clamato, they would make a Bloody Mary but add in all of the extra spices to make it as much like a Cesar as possible. This was a nice touch. The swim up bar tenders were amazing - special mention to Max and Francisco who took the extra time to make our drinks with care, rather than just throw a bunch of stuff in a cup and stir like you often see at all inclusive resorts. My favorite part of the swim up bar was that drinks were served in real drink glasses made of hard plastic, instead of those flimsy, small plastic picnic cups. Sometimes by the end of the day they would have to switch to those if they ran out of the good ones, but that was not a big deal. The Presidente beer is delicious and a very nice touch that you can get bottles of it at the lobby bar. Cold bottles of water are available at every bar all day long.

Rooms:
The one and only complaint we had of this trip was that it took 4 times asking over 3 days to get our mini fridge restocked, which seemed to be a common issue across the board. Not much you can do about that if it is happening everywhere on the resort. Not sure what the issue was here. The rooms are very clean and the beds are super comfortable. We had no issues with the A/C and if you turn the ceiling fan on high, it can even sometimes get too chilly!

Wedding:
The couple chose to have their ceremony in the gazebo instead of the beach. It was nicely set up and a very nice, short ceremony. The ceremony was at 4:00 and it was very hot in the sun, but that's what a destination wedding is all about! The beach probably would have been cooler but they chose the gazebo to avoid the wind and so as not to be right in the middle of the other guests on the beach. The reception was very nice as they chose to have it at the Italian restaurant on their rooftop patio. This kept it very private with our own bar, a nice ocean breeze and we had the space to ourselves. The staff was very attentive and the meal was good.

Beach:
Not the best beach I have seen, but also not the worst. The water is warm, the sand is soft and white and there are plenty of chairs available. There were some large rocks in the water that can hurt if you stub your toe on them! We didn't seem a lot of seaweed, but the beach did seem to have some erosion - perhaps from Hurricane Sandy.

Pool:
Amazing! The pool starts at the top of the resort in front of the lobby and winds and twists all the way down to the beach. There are always chairs available and it never felt crowded. Water temperature was just right - cool enough to be refreshing but never cold.

Activities and Entertainment:
There is always something to do at this resort. The Explorer's Kids Club and the Core Zone Teen club always had activities going on to keep the kids entertained from morning to night. The Entertainment staff are constantly organizing games and activities throughout the day and really made this trip for us. Shout out to Angelo and Felipe who are amazing at what they do. Water aerobics, Zumba, Beach volleyball and Trivia just to name a few of the activities these guys do during the day. If you don't want to play and say "no thank you", they are never pushy and respect your answer. The shows at night were very well put together and executed and the Circus Show should not be missed! WOW!

That about sums up what I think are the most important aspects of the resort. It is a stunning hotel with beautiful, tropical landscaping and an amazing pool. The professionalism of the staff really sets this place above the rest and I would definitely recommend this resort.

A few tips: A smile goes a long way. These people work very hard for little money and deserve to be treated with respect. I have heard and read reviews of people saying that you don't have to tip because it is included, but just open your eyes when you are driving to the resort from the airport. This is a country with a lot of poverty and most people here work to survive. The hotel staff work long hours for 11 or 12 days in a row and many live up to 2.5 hours away. If you go here looking for things to pick it apart, you will find flaws. But if you go here to relax, meet new people and enjoy the beautiful country, you will surely have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my first time in DR and for my sister, but third time for my friend. We had an absolutely amazing experience at Dreams Punta Cana. Our check in was wonderful, quick and easy. Our room was a standard room, clean but standard, the half door in the shower did take a little getting use to at first.
Our first experience at the sea side grill was amazing and held a high standard for the rest of the a la cartes which were good too, especially the Himitsu [hibachi style table] sushi was great and the performance was entertaining. Lots of choice at the World Cafe, but does get a little tiresome at the end of the week. JJ and Edry provided excellent service at the world cafe.
The Entertainment crew was absolutely amazing, warm and welcoming and made us feel like we were very special guests, there are not enough words to describe just how wonderful they all were. Especially Wilson, Flipe, Beauty, and Spagetti wow what positive energy they all have.
We had spent a lot of time by Sugar Reef, which was one of our favorite bars, with Excellent service from Juan Pablo and Anibal. The baracuda bar was also a lot of fun with swings by the bar and entertaining service from Louis. Wonderful, Wonderful people :) :)
Euli was another person that stood out and provided excellent servie, she was warm and happy, greating us with smiles each time we meet her.
The pool was beautiful and loved how it was centered and ran throught the center of the resort, lots of room and space, and never a problem to find a lounger. The grounds were also spectacular, well kept and the worked hard to maintain it all.
Beach was beautiful, water blue and warm and the white sand and palm trees is picture perfect.
I am sure that if you wanted to complain you could find things to complain about, the only thing i can think of as a suggestion to do next time is bring a flash light in case of a power outage (which there was while we were there or buy a lighter from the gift shop that worked too)
I can't say enough great things about this resort, especially about the service and warm welcoming nature of the people there. I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: maybe upgrade to a suite ours was a little small but then again we didn't spend much time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time to DR, booked sort of last minute, 2 wks prior. Chose Dreams Punta Cana as we thought the Deluxe Swim-Out was a good deal. Not what I'd consider swim-out when the pool is 20 feet away, I was expecting the pool to be right at the edge of our terrace, isn't that swim out? Room ok, bed comfy not hard, needed maintenance to fix electronic safe. Only half glass on the shower/tub, water goes everywhere. Never went into the ocean at the resort, red flag was up most of the time as this resort is on the Atlantic and quite choppy. Find a resort on the Caribbean Sea instead! The $200US resort coupons will be received only if you listen to their marketing presentation for sister resorts. The mini bar was only restocked in the evening, so we had to ask 3 times before bottled water was replenished, it was easier to get it from a bar. Both of us became very ill, for which I am now taking antibiotics and I completely avoided the buffet. This resort is an hour from the airport and approx. 1.5 hrs away from any excursion. We went on the Bavaro Runners Safari, we were dropped off on the side of the road for 20 mins. waiting for an english speaking truck. We did enjoy visiting the sugarcane, tobacco, cocoa and coffee farms, travelling on the open air truck was a hoot. This tour also includes horseback riding, so if you are not participating you will be waiting an hour before continuing to the beach. We also went deep sea fishing, my husband caught a mahi mahi, if you intend to fish and leave the fish for the captain/first mate, they make money so be cautious if you tip as well. The a la carte restaurants were very good, Portofino was adults only, we enjoyed the meal there as well as at El Patio (Mexican), Himitsu (Asian), and Sea Side Grill (beef tenderloin & lobster). Room service took over an hour every time even though they said 30 min. The staff and entertainment team at Dreams Punta Cana were energetic, they can dance!!! We booked a massage and used the hydotherapy circuit at the Spa, this was lovely. They were cleaning the koi ponds outside where the cabanas were, the stench was awful, not appealling prior to massage. Venors very aggressive, don't buy cigars from vendors, most likely fake and made of newspaper. Overall we were not thrilled with this resort or DR, we've been to Mexico three times, and they do the "tourist thing" much better, but it's my understanding Punta Cana has only really been a tourist destination the last 17 yrs.

Room Tip: Avoid swim out, it's not what you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have very little thats good to say about this resort.Let me tell you about the good employee's first. Maikel the conceirge express bellman , moved our luggage multiple times and was very friendly, eager to help, always smiling and a really nice person. he cared that we were not happy.I hope they realize what a good employee he is! Wish they were all like him!
Julianna the photographer was fabulous, i would recommend her as your photographer. The one good thing from this vacation is the pictures she took. I love them, and she was alot of fun.
In Himitsu Willie is truley a "super duper" waiter. On our last night we were starving, because we didn't like 99% of the food we had, he hooked us up! Our food was fabulous and it was the best service i had ALL WEEK!!!!!!!
Domingo in the World Cafe, eager to help with my problem of no diet drinks ,I can not drink anything carbonated, because of medical reasons and the only diet drink in the entire resort is diet coke. I can't be the only person to ever visit this resort that can't drink soda?!. He made me unsweetened tea, because i was tired of drinking water. Thank You Domingo!
Check in is a cattle call with apple vacations. You are assaulted right after check-in by am resort employee's, to visit Zoetry so you can listen to the vacation time share spiel.They don't even give you a chance to see your room first
. Our first room: the door wouldnt open, then the electronic lock fell off, the room reeked of mold. The second room: at least the doors locked, but still smelled, after 3 days finally moved to a room with a jacuzzi, but the drain didn't close,this room didn't smell though, eventually the drain was fixed. This room was on the third floor, and there are no elevators. Be prepared to climb alot of stairs and to walk ALOT. The restaurants are on either end of the resort, it's about 7 football fields to walk. Our room was serviced once a day, not twice , and she usually came when we were trying to dress for dinner.
The mini bar? I called 5 times to have it filled and waited an hour on 3 of those occasions, 3 days later , finally happened to catch the employee, who fills them, in the hall i was told , for some reason his key wouldn't open our room, so he couldnt fill it. Still don't know why this was supposed to be an acceptable excuse.
If you have never traveled or experienced good food, or are young and don't know any better, you may like it here. I can't understand the good reviews on food. It is HORRIBLE, my husband who will eat anything, also found it terrible. The only options for breakfast and lunch are the world buffet. The specialty restaurants are nothing special except for Himitsu which is actually very good, Most Chain restaurants at home are far superior to the food here. The meat is very low quality and tough,and usually dry. Also don't expect a hot meal, it's lukewarm at best.
Lets talk about power outages next.... the first night the power went out for about 20 minutes, so not so bad. On saturday we had storms, the power went out right before dinner. Water or toilets don't work when the power goes down. Everyone started herdeding toward the main building hoping there was light there, there is VERY limited emergency lighting. Iphone flashlights, were the only light we had along the pitch black hallways and walkways. People were slipping and falling because the hallways flood with heavy rain.After abount an hour they did get the power on but it kept going out all night. I understand they have their own power station, it obviously needs some repairs, because the power went out again on Sunday Night very late. 3 times in a week!!!
God bless the entertainment team the work their butts off! they do all the yoga, zumba , sports, pool and beach activities AND they do the shows at night. The shows are okay but not great. A little money spent on evening entertainment is in order.
After 10:30 there is nothing to do, except the bar in the plaza or the disco. Problem with the Disco? The smell of mold is overpowering, the restrooms in the downstairs lobby also have an extremly strong mold , mildew smell. We were on vavcation and are not big drinkers, we were desparate for something to do.
The internet service is very unreliable, i paid $25 for wi-fi for my tablet and only got it to work 3 times, went to the internet cafe those times to complain to the tech.it worked for a half hour long enough to read email and then it would not work again. Anybody who paid for internet service was complaining about it. What a waste of money.
We did visit the spa and our services we very good. The womens locker room"is under construction" so you can't lock up your things.The only toilet in the womens bathroom was also not working. The hydro spa is good but hauling your stuff through the wet spa wasn't fun. The pools in the spa were also ripped apart so it took away from what was suppiosed to be a realxing experience.
I survived this vaction, did not experiance luxury in any way shape or form, we don't go on vacation very often, and were extremely disappointed with our experiance. I would never go back or recommend this resort to anyone.
Dreams you have ALOT of work to do to make this what you advertise!

Room Tip: Dont take a bottom room because they smell of mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went with a group of 40+ people to attend a much anticipated wedding. The overall experience was terrible. 80% of our group spent much of their time in the bathrooms suffering from one parasite or another.... The accomadations are "average" but in need of repair as water continually leaked into our suite.
As this was our first trip to "beaches, palm trees and ocean" the experience was a nightmare!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked through British Airways and Amstar. I stayed with my mum, dad and my 2 older brothers.The room was always cleaned on time and room service came quite quickly. All the hotel was undercover so if it did happen to drizzel you were kept dry. This hotel was very clean and didn't have a speck of dust anywhere. The bars always served me and my family very quickly.
I loved the hotel and where it was. Although, some of the waiters were too busy with bigger tables they didn't get round to serving you very quickly but this left more time to chat! This was only in the Al a carte restaurants though. Angelo, Felipe and Carmen were the best entertainment staff there was. They made me feel at home! They always told me what activities there were on the programme!! I LOVE THESE MEMBERS OF STAFF!!! I loved the idea of an auction using `funny money` it made people join in but we were there for 10 days and they only had 3 auctions. It didn't always say on the programme either.
We stayed for Halloween and the celebration was HUGE, there were so many delicious desserts and the buffet meal choice was great.
On a day to day basis the buffet always had a range of different foods and everything went with every meal you had. The omelette man for breakfast was superb!
The beach was really sandy and did have bits of shade it you had wanted it. On the programme it did point out where the best places to swim in the sea were. The evening shows were really excellente!(as they call it!) My two favourite were the circus show and the night of the stars.

Overall this trip was a wonderful experience. It had everything it could have dreamed of. This hotel didn't have everything in one place it was all spread out which was really good and helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel as you definitely can't get better anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.