We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time to DR, booked sort of last minute, 2 wks prior. Chose Dreams Punta Cana as we thought the Deluxe Swim-Out was a good deal. Not what I'd consider swim-out when the pool is 20 feet away, I was expecting the pool to be right at the edge of our terrace, isn't that swim out? Room ok, bed comfy not hard, needed maintenance to fix electronic safe. Only half glass on the shower/tub, water goes everywhere. Never went into the ocean at the resort, red flag was up most of the time as this resort is on the Atlantic and quite choppy. Find a resort on the Caribbean Sea instead! The $200US resort coupons will be received only if you listen to their marketing presentation for sister resorts. The mini bar was only restocked in the evening, so we had to ask 3 times before bottled water was replenished, it was easier to get it from a bar. Both of us became very ill, for which I am now taking antibiotics and I completely avoided the buffet. This resort is an hour from the airport and approx. 1.5 hrs away from any excursion. We went on the Bavaro Runners Safari, we were dropped off on the side of the road for 20 mins. waiting for an english speaking truck. We did enjoy visiting the sugarcane, tobacco, cocoa and coffee farms, travelling on the open air truck was a hoot. This tour also includes horseback riding, so if you are not participating you will be waiting an hour before continuing to the beach. We also went deep sea fishing, my husband caught a mahi mahi, if you intend to fish and leave the fish for the captain/first mate, they make money so be cautious if you tip as well. The a la carte restaurants were very good, Portofino was adults only, we enjoyed the meal there as well as at El Patio (Mexican), Himitsu (Asian), and Sea Side Grill (beef tenderloin & lobster). Room service took over an hour every time even though they said 30 min. The staff and entertainment team at Dreams Punta Cana were energetic, they can dance!!! We booked a massage and used the hydotherapy circuit at the Spa, this was lovely. They were cleaning the koi ponds outside where the cabanas were, the stench was awful, not appealling prior to massage. Venors very aggressive, don't buy cigars from vendors, most likely fake and made of newspaper. Overall we were not thrilled with this resort or DR, we've been to Mexico three times, and they do the "tourist thing" much better, but it's my understanding Punta Cana has only really been a tourist destination the last 17 yrs.

Room Tip: Avoid swim out, it's not what you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,214
    1,416
    673
    342
    229
See reviews for
2127
2214
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Pittston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have very little thats good to say about this resort.Let me tell you about the good employee's first. Maikel the conceirge express bellman , moved our luggage multiple times and was very friendly, eager to help, always smiling and a really nice person. he cared that we were not happy.I hope they realize what a good employee he is! Wish they were all like him!
Julianna the photographer was fabulous, i would recommend her as your photographer. The one good thing from this vacation is the pictures she took. I love them, and she was alot of fun.
In Himitsu Willie is truley a "super duper" waiter. On our last night we were starving, because we didn't like 99% of the food we had, he hooked us up! Our food was fabulous and it was the best service i had ALL WEEK!!!!!!!
Domingo in the World Cafe, eager to help with my problem of no diet drinks ,I can not drink anything carbonated, because of medical reasons and the only diet drink in the entire resort is diet coke. I can't be the only person to ever visit this resort that can't drink soda?!. He made me unsweetened tea, because i was tired of drinking water. Thank You Domingo!
Check in is a cattle call with apple vacations. You are assaulted right after check-in by am resort employee's, to visit Zoetry so you can listen to the vacation time share spiel.They don't even give you a chance to see your room first
. Our first room: the door wouldnt open, then the electronic lock fell off, the room reeked of mold. The second room: at least the doors locked, but still smelled, after 3 days finally moved to a room with a jacuzzi, but the drain didn't close,this room didn't smell though, eventually the drain was fixed. This room was on the third floor, and there are no elevators. Be prepared to climb alot of stairs and to walk ALOT. The restaurants are on either end of the resort, it's about 7 football fields to walk. Our room was serviced once a day, not twice , and she usually came when we were trying to dress for dinner.
The mini bar? I called 5 times to have it filled and waited an hour on 3 of those occasions, 3 days later , finally happened to catch the employee, who fills them, in the hall i was told , for some reason his key wouldn't open our room, so he couldnt fill it. Still don't know why this was supposed to be an acceptable excuse.
If you have never traveled or experienced good food, or are young and don't know any better, you may like it here. I can't understand the good reviews on food. It is HORRIBLE, my husband who will eat anything, also found it terrible. The only options for breakfast and lunch are the world buffet. The specialty restaurants are nothing special except for Himitsu which is actually very good, Most Chain restaurants at home are far superior to the food here. The meat is very low quality and tough,and usually dry. Also don't expect a hot meal, it's lukewarm at best.
Lets talk about power outages next.... the first night the power went out for about 20 minutes, so not so bad. On saturday we had storms, the power went out right before dinner. Water or toilets don't work when the power goes down. Everyone started herdeding toward the main building hoping there was light there, there is VERY limited emergency lighting. Iphone flashlights, were the only light we had along the pitch black hallways and walkways. People were slipping and falling because the hallways flood with heavy rain.After abount an hour they did get the power on but it kept going out all night. I understand they have their own power station, it obviously needs some repairs, because the power went out again on Sunday Night very late. 3 times in a week!!!
God bless the entertainment team the work their butts off! they do all the yoga, zumba , sports, pool and beach activities AND they do the shows at night. The shows are okay but not great. A little money spent on evening entertainment is in order.
After 10:30 there is nothing to do, except the bar in the plaza or the disco. Problem with the Disco? The smell of mold is overpowering, the restrooms in the downstairs lobby also have an extremly strong mold , mildew smell. We were on vavcation and are not big drinkers, we were desparate for something to do.
The internet service is very unreliable, i paid $25 for wi-fi for my tablet and only got it to work 3 times, went to the internet cafe those times to complain to the tech.it worked for a half hour long enough to read email and then it would not work again. Anybody who paid for internet service was complaining about it. What a waste of money.
We did visit the spa and our services we very good. The womens locker room"is under construction" so you can't lock up your things.The only toilet in the womens bathroom was also not working. The hydro spa is good but hauling your stuff through the wet spa wasn't fun. The pools in the spa were also ripped apart so it took away from what was suppiosed to be a realxing experience.
I survived this vaction, did not experiance luxury in any way shape or form, we don't go on vacation very often, and were extremely disappointed with our experiance. I would never go back or recommend this resort to anyone.
Dreams you have ALOT of work to do to make this what you advertise!

Room Tip: Dont take a bottom room because they smell of mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went with a group of 40+ people to attend a much anticipated wedding. The overall experience was terrible. 80% of our group spent much of their time in the bathrooms suffering from one parasite or another.... The accomadations are "average" but in need of repair as water continually leaked into our suite.
As this was our first trip to "beaches, palm trees and ocean" the experience was a nightmare!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked through British Airways and Amstar. I stayed with my mum, dad and my 2 older brothers.The room was always cleaned on time and room service came quite quickly. All the hotel was undercover so if it did happen to drizzel you were kept dry. This hotel was very clean and didn't have a speck of dust anywhere. The bars always served me and my family very quickly.
I loved the hotel and where it was. Although, some of the waiters were too busy with bigger tables they didn't get round to serving you very quickly but this left more time to chat! This was only in the Al a carte restaurants though. Angelo, Felipe and Carmen were the best entertainment staff there was. They made me feel at home! They always told me what activities there were on the programme!! I LOVE THESE MEMBERS OF STAFF!!! I loved the idea of an auction using `funny money` it made people join in but we were there for 10 days and they only had 3 auctions. It didn't always say on the programme either.
We stayed for Halloween and the celebration was HUGE, there were so many delicious desserts and the buffet meal choice was great.
On a day to day basis the buffet always had a range of different foods and everything went with every meal you had. The omelette man for breakfast was superb!
The beach was really sandy and did have bits of shade it you had wanted it. On the programme it did point out where the best places to swim in the sea were. The evening shows were really excellente!(as they call it!) My two favourite were the circus show and the night of the stars.

Overall this trip was a wonderful experience. It had everything it could have dreamed of. This hotel didn't have everything in one place it was all spread out which was really good and helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel as you definitely can't get better anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just came back a awesome vacation. Let’s first start with the check in process, we were greeted by Mr. Rivera at the front desk he was very helpful in understanding our needs and made every effort to make us feel welcome. Since, we were a couple to celebrate our 12 anniversary and our friends 39 birthdays. He was EXCELENTE!

At the buffet Ricardo our waiter always very attentive and pleasant, the food was EXCELENTE! with a variety of food and a different them every day. Ricardo and the buffet staff were EXCELENTE!.

We got the honeymoon suite; the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Out room maid, she made sure that we had everything we needed to make our vacation more pleasant. She was also, EXCELENTE!.

The Entertainment Staff, specially Martin “Spaghetti”, Wilson and Felipe, made sure all guest were having a blast in all the activities performed, they always gave a 150% on their efforts, from pool and beach games to stage show performance. The entire entertainment staff was EXCELENTE!

In short words we had a great vacation, if the occasion comes up we will definitely, repeat this resort.

Dreams Resorts & Spa, Punta Cana and staff are EXCELENTE!

Room Tip: Try to buy preffered u get internet access, a seperate area in the beach and a few extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dreams Punta Cana,....was not what i had heard that it would be,..this is to say i thought it would be a lot better.
The resort itself is very well taken care of,..other than the rooms need to be renovated,..very tired; our room door needed to be slamed to be closed even after they tried to fix it,..but they at least tried to fix it.
Room was very clean,..only complaint was the bar fridge was never restocked,..this was a complaint of many other guests when we stayed. November-02-09/2012
There is a bar outside of the theater that ,..when the show lets out is packed and there was only one baretender,..sometimes two,..so what im saying is there is no service at that bar after the theater show lets out.
The swim up bar closes too early,..and needs another bartender.
Everything was close by and easy to find.
Beach was nice,...clean,..lots of coral in the water,..careful!
No resorts near by,..so you cant walk down the beach and check out other resorts,..this is the reason for no bracelets i guess?
Al Carte dinners were good,..although they say no reservations,...second sittings were full before they began,..go figure? Small portions,...however they had no problem giving us more!!
The pool was only about 4 feet deep (negitive) in my opintion,...and the swim up bar area should have been adults only.

Room Tip: If you want to walk out of your room and jump into the pool= swim out room,..dont leave anything on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second time in DR. But our first time travelling with our 4 month old daughter. The bus ride to the resort took us 1 HR our so on a very nice air conditioned bus. Really cool to watch the scenery as we travelled to the hotel.

Reception was semi quick and we got settled into our room.

The rooms were nice with a huge king bed that worked for us, we just put the baby in btw us even though they gave us a crib as well. We had a ground floor swim up room which was nice.

The resort was fairly clean and the pool was huge! The beach area was nice, and we never had problems getting chairs.

We ate at the Seaside Grill, Oceanna, and a wedding meal. As well as the buffet. The food was all good but most of our group did have a little stomach trouble, nothing debilitating though. One of the stand outs for food during the trip was Rufino at the Omlet bar in the world cafe. Great skills on the grill Rufino!!!

Trip ended up being different than what we were used to, having a baby, but overall we were happy with the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.