We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort.....we wouldn't stay anywhere else!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort.....we wouldn't stay anywhere else!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was our fourth trip to the Dreams Punta Cana! Obviously, it is a fantastic place or we wouldn't keep going back. On check-in we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite due to the fact that we are repeat customers. We had a wonderful jacuzzi on the terrace, the room was huge with a walk-in closet and nice bathroom. It was spotless and the maid came in twice a day to refresh our towels and make up the bed. Of course, we always tip well, and they sure appreciate it.
The food was so good (even for my husband who is a bit of a picky eater). And I can't say enough about the waiters in all of the restaurants. They go out of their way to please and one in particular, Manzueta, was the absolute best. He made sure we even had a special dinner on our last night there, serving us lobster and filet mignon (with a couple bottles of champaigne). He works in the Mexican restaurant most nights and in the World Cafe during the day. All of the women who work in the World Cafe greet you with a big smile everytime you walk in. They sure go out of their way to make sure you are having the best vacation.

The pool is the best one in the Dominican!! And even though the resort was at full capacity, the pool was never crowded, and we were always able to get lounge chairs. In fact, the resort just got all new lounge chairs at the pool. Waiters/waitresses were constantly walking around the pool to bring us drinks. They always have a "drink of the day" and they are all delicious. Our favorite was a Fantasy (which tasted like a dreamsicle) and the banana daiquaris were good, too.
The Barefoot Grille was great for a quick lunch if you don't want to walk up to the restaurants, and they served hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken and the best potatoes, along with an assortment of fruit. The beach is lovely, however it was a bit windy a couple of days. We stayed at the pool because I don't know why anyone would want to leave it!!!
There are so many restaurants to choose from and even though wen didn't go to all of them, everyone we met at the pool said they were all great.

Nancy, the concierge is wonderful. She sent us a complimentary bottle of champaigne to our room and she is so helpful with anything you might need. She is on Facebook and we started chatting prior to our trip, and she will answer any questions you might have.

If anyone is thinking of booking at this resort, pease do not hesitate. Do not believe any of the bad reviews people put on here. I know you can't please everyone but some people just like to complain. We are planning on going back, hopefully in November.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,191
    1,755
    722
    363
    248
See reviews for
2,676
2,702
62
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,829)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family just returned on April 18th. I read all the reviews before going...trying to stay optimistic...that the bad reviews were from negative people. As we entered the reception area after 10 hours of travel...my fears came true. Our first encounter was with a cold, unfriendly desk clerk (no champagne greeting here..). We thought we booked adjoining rooms...one with King (my man is 6' 3"). The rooms were on other ends of the floor and both had two dbls. Her response was ...you requested it...that does not mean you get it! For $7500 my request should be honored. After changing rooms twice...we got a swim out room with king (nice...) and a room with 2 dbls for my kids....5 rooms away and smelled like mold. I would not have stayed in it, but we were out of options. Our safe had to be replaced 3 times...the hammock broke with my daughter in it and hit her in the head. It is too bad that running of the property is so bad... the pool and the beach are beautiful (the only reason I gave it the 3 stars) ....don't plan on swimming much in ocean though...too much coral and four of the days way too rough. The daytime entertainment/activities is limited and poor. The spa is way too expensive and if you want to use the gym it is $35 day. The night time (9:30) entertainment was excellent. The 'teen' club was not great. Pool/ping pong table. My daughter asked them if she could try the machanical bull...the two guys maning the club said they could not at that time ...as they were playing eachother in a shooting game. Food was gross. The adult only Italian was the best...still a C. My son threw up and we are all still having stomach problems three days home....and we were very careful. You had to go to dinner at 6 to get in to most of the rest. and males need pants in most which is rediculous. If you want a good drink...you better bring a bottle. Everything is watered down and sometimes made without. We called our liquor and they still gave us crap. I tried to get Absolute on the rocks...how could they mess that up...not drinkable! Other than a couple of really sweet guys...the staff was rude and cold...acted as if they were doing us a favor. Nothing like the charm I have experienced on other Islands. There were 4/5 weddings a day....the brides past eachother as they were paraded down to the beach...cheesy. This was a big trip for us...first time taking a trip like this together...daughter off to school next year. Fortunately, we managed to enjoy eachother and have a good time...but I would never go back to this resort, or any other Dreams.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments regarding your stay at our resort, and sincerely regret that you had a disappointing experience. We host many guests that return year after year to enjoy our wonderful customer service and beautiful facilities, and it greatly concerns us when we view comments like yours.

As a service oriented company our objective is not only to fulfill but also surpass our guests’ expectations, therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play a key role in this continuous process.

Although it is in our best interest to comply with our guests’ wishes, unfortunately we cannot honor all room requests since this greatly depends on our occupancy and room availability.

While our Spa services are not included in our “Unlimited Luxury” package please note that the use of the gym is included in your hotel package; therefore allow me to correct you on your comment regarding any additional charge to use the gym.

We’re sorry to learn that your daughter experienced any inconvenience at our Teen Core Zone and your comments have been addressed with the responsible parties.

We regret that you did not enjoy the food served at our restaurants particularly since we offer such a wide variety of dishes for all tastes and needs. Our five a-la-carte restaurants provide a wonderful selection of different menu items that please even our most demanding guests. Please rest assured that the alcohol we serve at our resort is not watered down, and we are surprised by your comments in this respect.

Our resort is a favorite wedding destination hosting over 600 beautiful weddings a year. There is absolutely nothing “cheesy” about the celebration of more than one wedding in a day, and our property is large enough to provide the necessary privacy and attention to detail to each and every wedding to make for a memorable “Dreams Wedding”, and every one of our brides is made to feel special during her ceremony.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great food, drinks, and the staff are the best ever! I would come back again very soon.
The rooms are very clean and the restaurants are exceptional. Plenty of games to keep everyone busy.

Vanessa is great and will make your stay wonderful at the club....

Room Tip: All rooms are large and very nice. Close to everything including pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just got back. I have been reading reviews on here sice last September when we booked. A few things. The reviews were very bad over the winter and we were scared. To people who complain the pool is being cleaned out use your brain, obviously during slow season the pool must be cleaned at least once in a year, the hotel is not a 1 out of 5 because you picked a bad time of year to go. The pool is over a mile long and has bars all down in, never heard of a pool better and travel to the caribean twice per year.
The beach is NOT rocky like some people say, it is not as white as LaRomana or Punta Cana but very very soft. The food is great, we have gotten very sick before when travelling but that was because we saw the 100ft buffet and ate EVERYTHING. Obviously you are going to get sick eating new foods, this time we ate lot but food from our part of the world that we were used to. The wireless internet through the whole resort and around the pool is very nice to have.

We are travellers and have been to many many resorts, this rersort is very good for kids or couples on their own. I would go back, I have to wonder about some people saying the resort sucks.

Tips - ALWAYS put the do not disturb sign on your door when you go out for supper. If you dont the maid comes in and fluffs your sheets and puts a chockolate on you bed. We found it a reason to come in and 'snoop' through our room. We have heard of maids stealing valuables at night, just put the sihn up and no problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I will start off by saying this resort is nice but for the amount of money compared to other all inclusives it isnt worth it,
The food is good for the first two days then you kinda get sick of the buffet, the a la cartes open only for supper so its buffet for breakfast and lunch.
The entertainment in the evening is probably the best part of the resort. Some bars are better at serving drinks then others even if you tip they still take a while to serve you. And some would not put alchol in the drinks unless u asked.
The rooms were simple but nice we upgraded to a swimout which is definately worth it, the shower in the bathroom however wasnt that great it was a half wall with a hand held sprayer and you usually got water everywhere when you showered. The costumer service at the resort is good, there is a language barrier for sure. The spa is nice but expensive compared to the services offered in north america. We attended our friends wedding at dreams and it was lovely, the only problem was that the judge was half an hour late. But everything eles was great for our friends big day. Alot of the group we were travelling with were sick at somepoint along the trip not sure if it was the change of food or the water. The final day we were leaving our flight was not flying out until 1:05am and checkout was at noon so we had 9 hours without a room, when our group of 15 asked to have a room for atleast the afternoon so everyone could shower before of flight home. The front desk gave us a hard time, the bride and groom talked to the wedding planner and she was the only one who helped our group out with getting a room. Overall this resort is average and everyone has a different opinion on it with that said do your research before booking. And as a word of caution stay a way from the resort next door that is shut down its very dangerous as a couple experienced from our group.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Where do I begin its faultless, everything was just perfect, you will never be bored! Here, plenty to do and the guys and girls are not pushy so you don't have to join in the fun, you can sit back, relax and enjoy the waitresses topping up your glass.

We renewed our wedding vows here on 30th march, even though we had rain in the morning this didn't worry us as we knew the sun would be with us and it was, the renewal was lovely, very emotional, my flowers, hair and makeup were just perfect, the spa girls are wonderful, it's definitely a must, the massage is very relaxing and well worth every penny. Service after the ceremony was second to none, because of strong winds we had to abandon the meal on the beach, so went to the Oceania where we had a fantastic 5 course meal with pink champagne.

The following morning we had a champange breakfast on the veranda followed by a hot bubbly jacuzzi which the maids had filled with rose petals.

If you are planning a wedding or renewal you won't be disappointed.

We travelled with our two boys 16 and 12 there was plenty for them to do, we never saw them!

We ventured on 2 trips outback safari and treasures of the seas, both excellent, if you visit the schools don't forget candy or school supplies for the children.

The entertainment team put so much effort into there shows, they are hard working and put in many hours, we made many friends from the team HEctor ( my favourite) Hannora,JC wilbert, grecia and many more, in fact all the staff at the hotel were lovely and very very helpful.

The cleanliness of the rooms and overall grounds were immaculate, the beach was raked every morning if any seaweed appeared, nothing was to much trouble, they always greeted you with "hola" and a smile.

The food was outstanding, so much choice, there were 7 restaurants to choose from, the steak was the best, there were theme nights in the world cafe most nights, and there was plenty of choices at the many bars available, so many cocktails, and to top it all a mama Juana !! It's a must but take it easy.

All in all it's a wonderful place to be, and we will definitely be back sometime in the future.

Thank you for everything dreams keep up the good work x

Room Tip: We had two honeymoon suites and were excellent, on top floor so it was quiet, all rooms are lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My girlfriend and i went there to relax and do nohting so dreams punta cana is perfect for us.it is quite and not lot of people during May. if you don't want sit there and do nothing there are lot of activities you can join. entertainment team will tried their best to make you have a wonderful time.Overall Excellent hotel ,Friendly staff, good food.great spa

Staff - Friendly. the staff at the pool-side is the best.

Room - Great room with big balcony over look the ocean. The only problem is the AC unit is kinda noisy and not cool enough.

Room service ~ has some pretty good food and fastest room service. just remember to tips =)

Beach ~ not really the best beach in DR. Water is not clear.

Food ~ overall is decent.
Bordeaux ~ best

Pool ~ very Long

Entertainment Team ~ Wonderful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.7 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach
Secrets Royal Beach
#8 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,051 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
0.6 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#12 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,818 reviews
8.6 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.