We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 45%
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The overall experience was good. Housekeeping did not always restock their bathroom necessities as necessary. The food was not well seasoned and did not have the best taste. There also was not a very large variety of food. The beach was great and so was the adult pool. The presidential access was definitely a perk. Leo the butler was great and whenever we needed anything he made sure to get it for us. The swim out pool and privacy of the adult pool made the vacation that much more relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Myia R.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,859
    636
    188
    54
    47
See reviews for
928
950
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here on 12/06/14 for 14 nights. We were swiftly met & checked in shown to our rm 1459 in block 6. Amazing rm with amazing sea views, looking directly over the diamond club beach & the volley ball court.
Dario was our guest services man along with Franklin. Very polite and always helpful.
This was our first trip to DR and we'd booked with some friends & our party was 10 adults. Our friends had lots of problems regarding their booking & had paid for adults only rooms. At check in they were told there were no adult only places available & their room requirements were not met, which obviously led to a lot of upset before even getting to there rooms. This issue was left unresolved until the next day at the rep meeting, luckily my friends had taken all their booking paperwork as proof of their purchases, the issue was resolved by upgrading them to the diamond club, which to be honest was no different to any other booking, there was no different treatment at any of the restaurants, no butler ever appeared & they were allowed entrance to the adults only pool.
The room was kept immaculately clean & our maid was amazing,polite & kind. The big let down to this beautiful hotel is the fact that it shares it's facilities with the memories hotel next door. The pools, restaurants, and the evening entertainment is totally overtaken by memories guests who have a free range at the Royalton.
Hence the swim up pool became overcrowded by lunchtime you had to squeeze through too many Puerto Rican bodies to even reach the bar. Once here you were pushed & shoved ignored & almost trampled and at some times it was really quite scary. The Spanish speaking people were definitely given preference in every way possible. Even at breakfast in the buffet they were served first tea/coffee smoothies fresh egg dishes were made for the loudest person in the queue over others who had queued patiently then their 4 children were pulled in front & served before us too. This happened at all mealtimes whether it was buffet or restaurant. We were wanting to book a table one evening to be told there was a two hr wait( lots of empty tables in view) bearing in mind you can only pre book at zens. Several other spainish speaking people arrived & were seated straight away. This even was seen in the sports bar when the football was on people ordering snacks were forgotten, but others clearly weren't! On speaking to one other guy from the uk he told us he'd waited forty mins for a beer! At night the place was mobbed again as there is no entertainment at the memories hotel. One day my friend & I ventured over to the memories hotel, it was like a ghost town, the same in the evening too. I did strike up a conversation one day with a lady from memories who told me that they had booked there to stay but had no intentions of using any of the facilities because memories was so much cheaper but the Royalton had lots more to offer at no extra cost to them. This was well known and almost everybody was doing it, she seemed quite surprised I didn't know this.
I feel that this was very unfair to guests staying at the Royalton as like me I expected a beautiful hotel to relax & unwind after a very stressful working year. Instead I felt like I'd booked to stay at a butlins or an 18-30 club in magaluf but costing a lot more.
I feel that the issues of the overcrowding, noise, drunk ness, rudeness could be resolved if the use of the facilities was used to Royalton guests only. Or limit the times that the memories guests could use the facilities. An otherwise beautiful hotel on a beautiful island in an idyllic situation. I have seen some reviews that mention the same issues as mine maybe the management will take these comments on board an work towards improving. I deffo wouldn't pay for diamond club, because as I mentioned we didn't experience any of the pluses you are supposed to receive. When booking ourselves into the zen restaurant we were asked why our butler wasn't making the reservations? Butler, we said, we haven't seen our butler. Oh ok was her reply. Having said all this I would return to punta Cana but not at this hotel unless these issues were addressed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear clairesy02,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana wants to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the Trip advisor community.

Thank you very much for you constructive and criticism comments. Do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction. We are really sorry for your experience did not be thoroughly satisfactory and we promise to review, analyze all yours comments in order to not to repeat this kind of situation.

We will be delighted to attend you in future if you give us a second opportunity. We would like to see you again in our hotel Royalton Punta Cana as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I just got back from Punta Cana and we stayed at the Royalton hotel for a week. We highly recommend this new hotel and most certainly the diamond club upgrade, which is worth every penny. The facilities are gorgeous and the hospitality and attention of the employees is beyond outstanding. We want to particularly thank our "mayordomo" Jose Antonio Placencia for he went the extra mile to attend to us and our needs and for making our stay an unforgettable one. We will absolutely be back soon! : )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear VenesAileen,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Let me starting by saying it is a great place for families with young and teen children.
We have traveled to several places in Caribean and Riviera Maya always all inclusive, so I feel confident that I will be fare when rating this Hotel. We stayed there during the first week of July. It was not crowded. It is was big enough that was not too much for little kids, but it was perfect size, so you can use pools and entertainment with out feeling people on top of you.
The water park although it is not on the main premises of the Royalton, it is close enough by a little ride on the golf cars they provided.
It is clean and well kept, however there is a water odor that I am not sure it is only an issue for the Royalton... so be aware.
A tip... if you have the money to pay the upgrade to the Diamond Club, it is totally worth it. Parents, you can leave your children for play time in the Kids club which is on the Memories Hotel premises (which I would have preferered to have it on the Royalton) but still convinient.
And go for a hydromassage at the spa. Parents you deserve this time.
By joining the Diamond club you get a buttler. Our buttler's name is Manuel. Oh Manuel... how do we miss you. You made our stay so comfortable and relaxing. He made all reservations for all restaurants. One day our key was deactivated and instead of having to take care of this, Manuel took care of it while we were watching the world cup games at the sports bar.
Now why I did not gave it 5 stars... Food was ok. Although there is a variety for children to pick, the quality is really standard, and we did not get to try dominican cusine at all. Japanese food "Hibachi" end it up being more chinesse american style. Try the Under the Sea restaurant at the Memories, just a little slow service but the food was great. Also service on the outside of the Buffet area was great. There was a waiter by the name Claudia that always was on top of all our needs.
Now the BAD news.. although the kids club was convinient, the two girls at the front desk of the kids club need training or they need to find new staff. They had an attitude like they were doing me a favor by leaving my child there. They even complained to me for not have read the schedule and asked for what activities were going to be done that day. I had compared notes with a couple from Scottland that we ended up meeting there and they have the same experience. So PLEASE address this issue.

Room Tip: If you are an early night person, do not choose a room close to the open area since the entertaineme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Yetzyirene,

We would like to thank you for selecting Royalton Punta Cana for your holidays, as well for taking the time to share your impressions on Tripadvisor Web Site.

We are really glad to hear your positive comments about your last experience at Royalton Punta Cana. We take this opportunity to inform that all your comments have been reported to each supervisor area and they will be taken into account in the future and better ourselves. We will continue working to improve our services, as our top priority is to provide the best experience our guest. As you know our principal aim is to give you the best service, making your stay exclusive and unforgettable.


We hope you visit us again; we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Kind regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I went to the Royalton at the end of June with a group of 10 of us.

There were so many lovely things to say about this resort, including:

The staff - The staff were lovely, but a few of them stood out to be the most welcoming and lovely people who we made a real bond with throughout the holiday. Mary, the entertainment lady was absolutely amazing - we all loved her! Jose, the barman, we were in the Diamond Club/Adults Pool and he treated us very well and made the best Jose specials! Jordan, also entertainments, the boys loved him and his football skills. 4 of us had a massage at the Spa with Santa and Delsey (sorry for spelling) and would HIGHLY recommend them if you are looking to relax!

The room - the room was beautiful, massive bed (dreamy), air con was a life saver and was an all round winner. The housekeeping was brilliant, everyday the room was left immaculate with a couple of chocolates which were always welcomed!

Food - there was a lot of choice for food, would recommend the steak house, tenpanyaki and under the sea restaurants. The only issue was the Mexican restaurant, very poor service, we were told what we were having for starters and the mains either weren't substantial or were wrong.

A couple of issues with this resort is that if you don't speak Spanish, you will be more than likely to be ignored at bars, sometimes we would be standing for around 30/40 minutes waiting to be served or for our drinks and Spanish speaking guests would come straight up to the bar click their fingers and the barmen/women would get them their drinks straight away. Secondly, even though being guests at Royalton and paying to stay in the resort for 2 weeks, we may aswell have paid to stay in Memories, pay less but use EVERYTHING in the Royalton. Every day/night you would see guests from Memories using the pools, beach, bars, restaurants and get priority over Royalton guests. I see this as very unfair seeing as we could have paid around £600 less each and got exactly the same plus more!

I did enjoy the holiday and would go back if a few things were tweaked..

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Lucy E.,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana wants to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the Trip advisor community.

Thank you very much for you constructive and criticism comments. Do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction. We are really sorry for your experience did not be thoroughly satisfactory and we promise to review, analyze all yours comments in order to not to repeat this kind of situation.

We would like to see you again in our hotel Royalton Punta Cana as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Would just like to share my extremely high opinion of the hotel after my two week stay 20/06/14-04/07/14. Neither my partner or I have one single bad word to say about the hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone. It was clean, the food was amazing, the staff were so friendly and the location was just simply perfect. The Zen restaurant was one of our main highlights whilst staying at the hotel and I encourage anyone visiting to book a reservation. Not only was the food to die for but the entertainment from the chefs and the service from the waiting staff was top notch. The thomson rep Domingo was absolute star and very helpful, going out of his away to help is in any way he could! My partner and I are both very sad our holiday has come to an end and will definitely be returning to the resort again as it is simply irreplaceable! Nothing will ever compare. The hotel grounds are stunning and the beach is a dream. After a long walk across the beach passing all other hotels it is crystal clear to us we made the right decision choosing the royalton as our accommodation as it knocks spots off the others! Even down to the sun loungers. The beach area was a lot quieter to other hotel beach areas and we are really pleased with our holiday. Suitable for couples, solo, friends or families! FIRST CLASS hotel 5stars!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Shannon S.,

First of all, thank you so much for selecting Royalton Punta Cana for your holidays, it is a big pleasure to read this wonderful opinion about our hotel. And of course, thanks for sharing it on Trip Advisor.

We are very proud to know that your last experience at Royalton Punta Cana exceeded your expectations. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service, make your vacation exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again next year. We will be very pleased to welcome you.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Can I firstly say yes the hotel does have many Puertorecans but we had no trouble at all with noise or favouritism from the staff.
The hotel is fantastic. Clean and the room was cleaned more then twice a day. The food was the best I have ever tasted in an all inclusive hotel. The staff was fantastic Erasmo, Nilsson, Angel, Demetrio (I love you) and guest services were fantastic and made our holiday well and truly memorable. It was our anniversary whilst we were at Royalton and everybody made us feel like royalty. There was plenty of sun beds on the beach as long as you got there before 9 you could always get beds under the shade.
There was not a bug in site and I can tell you from somebody that usually gets bitten to death when on holiday this was so nice. Thompson rep Domingo Cedeno was lovely and treated us like family as did all the staff at Royalton. I cannot fault this hotel and hope to visit it again on Many occassion.
Management the only fault I can mention and hope you do take note is Ashtrays on the beech. The beech is so lovely that it is sad to see it spoilt with cigarette butts buried in the sand. I will definitely be returning to Royalton and look forward to seeing my many friends we made over there.
Comment but not about the hotel. I would not waste money on the trip Thompson sell for the Caribean cruise Saolia. It s a waist of money. There was no water on the boat and all you had to drink was cheep rum and coke. The snorkeling only lasted 10 minutes maxamin. The beach at Saolia is nice but Royalton beech is better. The food was not very nice on this trip. When we complained to Thompson and Domingo contacted the area manager (everyone on the trip complained about the same things) we were told in not so many words we were lieing. As you can amagin that did not sit well with everyone on the trip. Apart from this trip everything was fantastic and well worth going on.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear happytraveler995,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Royalton Punta Cana.

We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying Royalton Punta Cana.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino

Address: Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Punta Cana is a modern "All-In Luxury" Resort on Bavaro beach with unique all inclusive features like Reservation-Free Dining, international drinks, 24 hour room service and Dreambed. Guests can also take advantage of our All-In Connectivity exclusive features including: • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort • Unlimited free in-room calling to North America and most of Europe • Convenient USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations in your room • Download our free Royalton app and receive unlimited free calling plan from your mobile device while on our property, as well as unlimited free app-to-app texting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.