We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 2 week stay here and overall we were pleased but with a few small niggles. The resort is huge and a little intimidating when you first arrive, my husband got lost quite a few times in the first few days but we eventually got the hang of it. The little shuttles also run very frequently around the resort so no need to walk miles if you don't want to.

Rooms - We upgraded to Hacienda club, suppose it was worth it as the rooms were closer to the beach (although the room lay out is exactly the same as a standard room) and we got the santa fe restaurant for breakfast/lunch. Rooms were nice and always cleaned well but when we first arrived we had no bedding for my sons sofa bed, this was eventually bought down to us at the end of day 2 despite us asking for it 5 times!

Beach- Lovely, quite a bit of seaweed but nice all the same.

Food - Amazing, two weeks of all inclusive food/drink did nothing for my waistline and we never really had a bad meal. We prebooked the a la carte restaurants by email 2 weeks before we went and had no problems at all with reservations. Alcohol choice is very good too.

Staff - All very friendly and polite. Cant really comment on our tour rep (Thomas Cook) as we saw him for the welcome meeting and then didnt see him again until departure day!

Entertainment - We thought evening shows were ok but got a little repetative by week 2. Day time entertainment not up to much. Went to the sports bar a few times but got put off by the loud American groups that seemed to frequent it.

Trips - We took two amazing trips, one to Saona Island which is a wonderful day, even for children and one on the Mega Truck. Do both, you wont be disappointed.

Children - Lots of things for the little ones (water park, play area, golf) but my son is very shy and didnt like socialising with others much, this made things quite difficult at times. Tried to book tennis court but they wouldn't allow us as I hadn't packed tennis shoes. They also advertise that they offer bikes for rent but they don't have any there and offered no explanation as to why they were still being advertised.

Weather - Hot hot hot! Good air con in the rooms. Was a little cloudy some days but always warm. We had just one evening of rain but it was extremely heavy rain. One thing to be aware of...lots of mossies! I normally don't have a problem but got loads of bites despite covering myself in insect repellent day and night.

Other stuff - Lots of different nationalities at this resort which I love as I always find it interesting to meet new people. Lots of couples (lovely weddings taking place almost daily), and lots of families. Unfortunately, during our stay there was also quite a few same sex groups (mainly American) who got pretty loud and drunk around the pool, not ideal if your holidaying with small children.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,763
    2,203
    973
    471
    376
See reviews for
2,249
2,934
96
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have really good time out there, the food is excellent, the service is outstanding, and the room we're pretty awesome. I will go back in my life for sure. If you go to this hotel, go to see my friends Miguel at the Lobby bar, he is always smiling and enjoying is job. He will make you the best drink of your trip! You won't be desappointed about the resort, there's place to do party, to watch show late at night, for kids, and other for you! Have a good one and try it!!!
I'm Simon and hope to see you, Miguel in my next trip to you're hotel!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Simon,

Our goal is to make our guests' stay become a memorable experience. We are extremely delighted to learn that we have reached our goal with you here.

Our staff will be very happy to learn that they were able to contribute in creating an amazing holiday for you and you would recommend us to everybody.

We already look forward to welcoming you next year at our All-inclusive Hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts!!!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would recommend this resort to anyone - there was a great balance of activities as well as relaxation. The rooms and grounds were exceptionally clean and the staff was amazing so needless to say we had a great first visit to the DR. Any help with check-in, reservations, excursions, transportation to and from the airport is a breeze and we never got bored. The disco and karaoke bars are a BLAST and we highly recommend staying on the resort to take in all beach, pool & hotel activities (beach olympics, dance lessons, disco, karaoke, pool bar, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Brittany,

We appreciate your valuable time to share your comments and experience with us. It is a pleasure to read that you experienced an enjoyable stay in our wonderful Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, especially because of our amazing staff.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time and you would highly recommend our hotel to anyone.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I have just arrived back from a 10 day holiday at this resort,I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to do so as this hotel is far from being 5*!
I am in agreement with the gentleman's review below, from the website and price you are completely mislead as to what to expect. The only thing worthy of the 5* rating is the location, otherwise everything else is 2-3* at best, apart from the customer service received from the staff- that doesn't even deserve the one star.
At the risk of going on, I think it best that I list the continual problems that we had with this resort.

1. On arrival we were just handed our door keys, with no introduction, no map provided, and the desk staff had no idea who our rep was
2. The bathroom ceiling was leaking so badly that it could be heard over the air-con in the bedroom and making the wooden panel buckle under the weight of the water We contacted reception the following morning (8:30am) who advised that someone will go into the room to fix it, if they were unable to then we would be moved to another room, We went to the beach for the day, when we returned at 6:30pm, not only had it not been rectified no one had actually been into the room to look at it. We took a bus ride down to reception (yep that's how big the resort is) reception had no record of us reporting this. After 40mins of the staff shrugging at us/saying there was nothing they could do/serving only Spanish speaking guests before us, the 'manager. agreed to move us.
3. Day 3 into our holiday and day 1 in our new room....the bedroom ceiling was leaking!
4. We made a number of restaurant reservations as you are encouraged to do so. One night there was a power-cut so we were moved to the pool bar. Second occasion the kitchen was on fire so we were all bundled into the buffet bar from dinner!
5.Your room keys WILL NOT WORK for more than 24hrs, four (bus) trips to reception to get them reset in as many days is just really irritating.

To conclude, I travel a lot for work and pleasure and have never experienced such abysmal customer service, which ultimately ruined what should have been a holiday of a lifetime and tarnished our experience of the Dominican Republic
I would strongly advise people not to stay here and give a rating of 2 stars, this was saved by the location and a handful of staff at breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled - this is not a 5* resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction. Your opinion is one of our top priorities and all feedback from our guests is valued. We deeply regret the inconveniences and we are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations. It does sadden us to hear that the image you may have had of us has now been tarnished.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well maintained and comfortable all-inclusive resort, offering excellent service and very good food. This is a large ocean front property that requires using the non-stop shuttle services to get around. Buffet style and cooked to order food is served continuously and throughout the complex, and there are bars throughout the lobbies and beach areas. Overall it was surprisingly enjoyable and an excellent value. This was the second time I have stayed in a Grand Bahia Principe property and I would certainly recommend them.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Hacienda Club service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Arturo,

It is grateful to read that you spent three wonderful days at this Paradise. We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the hotel is spotless and the staff are very friendly , buts advertised as a five star resort but is far from it , I would say 3 to 4 star at most ,there is one part of the hotel that is 5 star but that is not how it reads in the brochures .
there was entertainment on the beach which was excellent (beach I mean ) and at each of the many pools each day the main pool need a few tiles replacing , the night time entertainment wasn't brilliant , the same dancers each night doing different routines , but no professional acts from outside the hotel staff other than one night in 14 .on the Caribbean night which you were charged 15 USD to go see , was the same dancers and less bar staff and waiters service than the rest of the nights , so I would not recommend the Caribbean night . there was also a sports bar on the complex which was also karaoke aswell , we went in on at least 5 occasions and never once saw anyone singing on the karaoke machine and it only showed American sports (boring).
the food was always good with great choice in the buffet restaurants and the a le carte ones where great except the Mexican which was very disappointing , it was the same Mexican foods in tortillas, tachos or with nachos.
overall we had a good time but the ratings for the hotel needs lowering , don't think we will go back tothis Bahia principe resort.

Room Tip: Sanoa island on the speed boat and catamaran was an excellent day out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting our spotless hotel, friendly staff, and the excellent entertainment on the beach.

We would like to extend our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We deeply regret any difficulties, which don´t reflect our daily operation.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

By error an incorrect review was drafted and pulled off. This is the 3 or 4 th time here. Clean enjoyable friendly staff mostly beyond the reception on a huge resort. Superbly kept with transport to and from anywhere in the resort. We liked the clean room n bbq as well as the main buffet restaurant. Off at the Japanese. Pools and pool beach restaurants well kept. Reception could be considerate as if u left Ottawa at 6 am means u woke up at 3 am or before. Upon arrival they must post which persons can settle in rooms vs some 3 pm esp if you are advance in age. The reception was very inconsiderate upon asking they were not pleased to answer. Just come back at 3 pm. Excuse me if the room is ready as in my case at 2.35 pm possibly was ready earlier, they cd let u sleep off your tiredness. Suggestion post near reception, which room was ready if it was earlier. It's their job to settle u fast. Where else older folks wd go..beach? Food we have always enjoyed as u learn to be selective. Don't miss gala nights or ck the board for the theme nights. I dislike the reservation restaurants. I highly recommend bbq one near the beach. Drinks n food flow freely so do the bars including swim up ones. Sadly this is first time in a few trips here, towels at pools were stolen or.....but then most of the crowd was less north American, yet not pinpointing offensively but an observation. I recommend highly to go here as all is well run by Ms. Maria Theresa including others and in dinning Mr Santos who went more than the usual to assist. Well done for maintaining the high standards. We will come back but will push for room readiness in case they can be given earlier. Guest service agents a few were amazing n shared what they knew. Few found it ahh why bother me. We had a wonderful time esp after dinner music n served up drinks oh a delight!. I suggest the buffet restaurants serve coffee tea at dinner times inside..many likely miss this indulgence th u cd walk outside and u can enjoy ..thank u keep up the fine work.Westjet tour guides were fine as we did not wish any tours so i asked few of my qs n went off. Free wifi do not depend upon. 2 hrs or so a day free! we used mostly nights to be in touch home. but the way it worked it reminds u of these countries and 2 hrs runs as most places it does not work than reception. loved in room tea coffee beer free!

Room Tip: we liked near the beach n pools but these are not for all. else u wd be running a lot back and forth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

We would like to state that the feedback expressed by our clients is our top priority and our main goal is to offer a service at all times according to your expectations. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.