We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to turn 50!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda _ Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
“What a way to turn 50!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife surprised me with a trip for my 50th birthday and we had a fantastic time. The property is beautiful. From the very beginning, we were treated graciously. Are room was in the portion furthest from the beach but near a large pool and most of the restaurants, shops and the casino. The tram system was a must for getting to the beach and was prompt as advertised. Upon arrival, we made reservations for 3 of the restaurants and had no trouble getting in. The first night there was a small mix up with the reservation but the staff accommodated us anyway. Our room was clean, comfortable and overlooked the pool area. We did lose power one evening and an electrician had to be called. He had it all back in order relatively quickly. There was some construction going on near us but it was easy to ignore when you're lounging by the pool with a drink in your hand. One piece of advise to share would be that It is helpful if you know some Spanish. Luckily my wife has a good grasp of it which came in handy with some of the staff. All in all, we had an excellent time and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,527
    2,033
    912
    444
    364
See reviews for
2,075
2,739
84
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Resort
This resort is huge! There are over 7,000 people here. You must rely on the commuter train to get anywhere in this community style resort, unless you enjoy walking a lot. This gets a little tiresome after a few days.

Restaurants
The buffet food was always good and fresh tasting with lots of variety and the kitchen staff were always kind and friendly. Probably the highlight of our stay here.
Oh yes, don't bother dressing up for the a la carte dinners. Many people showed up wearing shorts and sandals. However, the guidelines clearly state the men must wear long pants and covered shoes. It seems like the staff really don't care to enforce these rules.


Service
Our biggest concern was the lack of service from the Diamond club staff. Our air conditioner was not working and it was 26-27 degrees celsius in our room. We know this because we had a thermometer in our room with us. We complained several times to the Diamond club staff. Finally,they sent over a repairman and he told us he would be back in an hour but never returned. Subsequently, we had to endure this inconvenience for the remainder of our trip. Anyway, our alarm clock was illegible, so we weren't able to set the alarm. So we requested a replacement since we had to get up at 5:00 a.m. the next morning for a trip to Santo Domingo. No one came, so we had to rely on our cell phones to wake up taking into consideration the 1 hour time difference.
Our tub was out of level by at least 2" from left to right, making it difficult to stand up straight while showering.
We also had a difficult time with the wifi in the main lobby. Neither my wife or I could connect to the internet until our last day there.

On our second day there, a female staff member (not the maid) came into our room and removed one of our chairs without any explanation. It was never returned during our stay there. We were baffled by this.The maid comes in to clean our room around 10-11:00 a.m. and removes all the bath towels. They are not replaced until 7:00-8:00 p.m. later that evening. Not the maid's fault. We have to get ready for our a la carte reservations with no clean towels to freshen up. That sucks!

Our maid was always very friendly to us and brought us extra beer. soft drinks and water.

Beach and pools
The pools are beautiful! We were spending most of our time at the pools in the middle of the resort. The bartenders are always very friendly and made you feel welcome. The only drawback is if you want a lounge chair, you must put your towels on your chairs early in the morning. Same applies for the beach area. We didn't bother with the beach as there is seaweed everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel, which give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Concerning the lack of service you mentioned, please allow us to inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness that characterize the Dominican people.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the best party resort you will find in Punta Cana and probably the world. Bahia makes sure to stay modern and puts money back into their resort. They have modernized all their rooms with Flat screen TVs and have built a new casino with 2 floors. I have gone to the complex 4 different times and I NEVER get tired of it. I've tried all the resorts in the Complex, they're all the same if you ask me. The one I do now is torquesa, which is cheaper than the rest. All the rooms look the same here BUT, don't let that turn you off. Bahia has a mind of it's own, once you get there you will feel the energy. Whoever designed this complex is a genius. As people are always in groups and not scattered around and separated. The property is huge but the way it's designed it keeps people in compact places to socialize. All rooms here are 5 stars, don't get it confused. This place all around has good service and 5 star builds. The floors are nice, the tiles are nice and the bathrooms are nice. They have the best service out of all the resorts I've been too. The workers are THE BEST as well. The places to gather are just amazing. You do the pool and beach area in the night, then come 6pm to 10pm You do the lobby areas. Then after that you do the Sports Bar, the disco and then the 24 hour snack bar by the beach where the after party gets started! The Bahia complex is a little city with it's own feel and energy. You just have to go there to feel it. This Complex has 5 resorts in one... But it get's better, they're building a 6 currently. This complex literally holds up to 8000 people all at once. This is why Bahia is Punta Cana's number one Party resort! No comparison! The food is good, the restaurants are good. If you don't like it here then something is wrong with you point blank. I've been to Palace Deluxe and The Hard Rock in Punta Cana and I LIKE Bahia wayyyyy more than these more modernized hotels. Bahia is modern in its build don't get me wrong but. There's nothing like Bahia, NOTHING. One of the best party resorts in The World, the property is ran well and the security guards are laid back and let you have freedom! Going back again soon

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same but if you want to be closer to the beach, pick Hacienda option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Felix,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Thank you for acknowledging us as the best party Resort in Punta Cana with the best workers, good food and restaurants.

We are already waiting for you, we love to have clients like you!!!

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Let me start off by saying this isn't everyone's type of resort. This is a very large resort and by saying large is an understatement. For someone who wants to relax on vacation and not have to worry about reading a map constantly while in their resort, this ain't the type of resort for you. You have to travel many times back and forth to the lobby for breakfast/Internet/leaving the resort for any activities. At times it felt inconvenient to spend so much time going back and forth. Hotel room was clean and frequently cleaned by housekeeping. Though our first day we had an airconditioning leak and two of our lights didn't work. Maintenance responded quickly though our last day the roof was leaking. We didn't mind much as the rest of the stay in the room was pleasant. The food is decent but I have had better at other resorts. The buffet had many choices but at times felt bland. The service was very good. The people were very nice and attentive. El pescador was one of the nicer places to eat. Although the beach was close by and we received an upgrade to our room, we felt at times that there were many "clubs" or "groups" that received preferential treatment or had access to certain areas. When going to a resort, you don't want to feel as if you aren't getting equal treatment as everyone else. We didn't feel comfortable in the way the resort was promoting this. As far as the beach it was beautiful but barely any room for you to find a chair. There were wayy too many people to feel as if you had your own space to relax. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this to an older group as there is a lot of traveling to do in the resort and for someone is looking for a quiet retreat while on vacation. This was my first visit to Punta Cana and can't say that I will be revisiting 100% to this resort. Although it had the amenities and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, it's best to research a bit more if this is the type of resort you want to vacation in.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in GBP Bavaro, villa 78210. Near to lobby and swimingpools. Everything was excellent. Everyone should be there. The only problem is the airport. Crowd of people and terribly expensive. Do not buy pesos in cash cambio - not profitable. It is better to take out money from an ATM.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed a perfect holiday thanks to our excellent service. We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Please be careful with any possessions that you take to the hotel. My partner and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe from 28.11.2014 - 05.12.2014. A bottle of aftershave went missing from our room and in spite of an 'investigation' by the Guest Services area no explanation was provided and it was suggested we had taken it out of the room ourselves - WHAT a bottle of AFTERSHAVE! Guest services are rude, offensive and unhelpful. I have been to the Dominican Republic about 9 times and never had an item taken from my room. But beware, the cleaners have more that one guest room open at one time so could be working in one but the other 2 are open and unlocked leaving anyone to enter your room and take your possessions. Very disappointing. On the other hand the resort is large, clean and staff generally helpful. Food typical of this area. But be really careful of any possessions you keep in your room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Josie,

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel, which we will take in the highest consideration.

For your information, all our personnel is well checked every time they are coming in or getting out of the Hotel, as there is a specific staff entrance. In fact they are not authorized to get in or out any bag, object or valuables, Also, please be advised that our Security Department operates 24/7 in order to guarantee the security and the well-being of our distinguished customers.

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just came back from Grand Bahia Bavaro and absolutely loved it!
My boyfriend and me travelled to punta cana for the first time and we absolutely loved it because: place is beautiful, hotel is very very nice - big rooms, comfortable bed, well located.

the hotel itself is huge but this is absolutely not a problem as i was very nice to walk after brealfast to the beach or back to the room, however if you are tired you can take a shuttle bus which run throughout the hotel every 2-3 min, very convenient.

Despite the fact we travel very often the umber of bars and restaurants impressed us, quality and selection of food and drinks is good.

I really liked the a-la carte restaurants - Japanese and Mediterranean, BBQ - nothing really special but still nice as its outside.

If i go back to punta cana, i will definitely come back to Grand Bahia.

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Olga,

We feel so proud to read that you loved your first experience in Punta Cana with us. We are absolutely delighted to know that you praise this property and highly recommend it based on your experience. It is an honor to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you will definitely come back.

In the meantime we wish you a Merry Christmas!!!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda _ Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 816
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.