We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda | Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had an excellent experience at the Grand Bahia Pinicipe Bavaro. I was a bit hesitant after reading the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. However, when arrived there it was clear to me that the management of this establishment takes patient satisfaction very seriously. The grounds were well kept and there was not one day that passed when I did not see staff tending the needs of the lawns, gardens and beautiful flowers. The front desk staff were very polite, but Luisa surpassed all of them with her level of customer service. She always had a smile and a great attitude. Claribel,our room attendant,was very attentive to fine detail. I was so pleased with her perfomance that I tipped her every day. The food was great, the beaches were divine...white powdery sand and blue water. The room was very large and spacious...so comfortable. The nightly entertainment was of a very high standard. The dancers were outstanding and the Michael Jackson show was awesome. The only thing I would advise the wary traveller would be to bring bug spray and do not leave the doors wide open. Mosquitos were very busy. They were easy to spot though since the walls were light colored.
My vacation was well spent at the right place. I know that I will return soon to the Dominican Republicand I know where I will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Faye,

Our hard working team will be delighted with your excellent comments. We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction. Your opinion is one of our top priorities to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Please let us know of your next visit to Punta Cana. We will be at your disposal for anything you may need.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,539
    2,041
    913
    444
    364
See reviews for
2,083
2,745
84
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very good service and food although the beds could be better and the TV was really bad.The customer service was really good specially the bartenders at the lobby. The pool service is also really good. Sports facilities are good and clean and the Kids Club is also good. Overall I would say its a good resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate you have acknowledge our good service. In Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort we are passionate in serving our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my third time in Punta Cana and the Gran Bahia resort was great. I echo many and most of the positive comments other users have made:

Food is great, shows to watch are the MJ and Circus of Dreams shows, bartenders are awesome, great pools, and the animation staff is exceptional! Kelly, "El Monkey", "Pantera", and their supervisor were so enthusiastic. They made our stay super fun.

Had some minor snafus in one of our rooms; shower clogged and a leak from the room above. All which was fixed.

Only two slightly more significant issues we had:
One night we returned from the beach at about 6 and our rooms still had not been cleaned.
We were charged $30 per room for use of the safe which we were not warned about at any point during check-in. This was our first experience in over 20 years of traveling where we had to pay to use the safe.

Service in the restaurants is good but can be better. It seems that many of the employees do not receive the proper training. Having stayed at other resorts in Punta Cana where the service has been much better, I can make this statement in good faith.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others, however, I would hope that the hotel does a better job of informing its guests about any and all additional fees and that they better train their staffs. They have a world of potential and enthusiasm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay, which plays a key role in our continuous process of improvement and lead us to achieve our commitment to excellence.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I have just come back from staying in this hotel for 2 weeks with my mum and 3 year old daughter. Upon arrival to the hotel everyone was sent to a meeting room with members of staff from the hotel to check us all in, the rep was nowhere to be seen and nobody could understand the staff members as their English was very bad. We weren't told any information about where to go for food or where any amenities were. After finally getting our room key we went to our room to find that the shower fell off the wall within minutes of being in there. This was just the beginning. Our room wasn't ever cleaned properly, nothing was moved, just the beds made and we were left for 2 days with our room not being cleaned and having to phone for clean towels and laughed at down the phone when telling them we didn't want to wait an hour for them to come. The staff there are all extremely rude and ignore you. The only people willing to help you are the Thomas cook rep Leanne and Carlos juan on guest services. On many occasions in the buffet restaurant myself, daughter and mother didn't have a drink for our entire meal as nobody came around and there are no bars that you can go up to to help yourself. Asking for a glass of water was like asking for a piece of gold! The women that work in the lobby shop are extremely rude, after asking a few times if they had any smaller size T-shirts for my daughter and being ignored, the woman had her back to us and shouted "no sale" and shook her hand at us! Needless to say I didn't spend my money in there! There are tiles falling off from the pool, I cut my foot open by the bar in the quiet pool and when I tried telling the barmaid she couldn't speak English so couldn't understand me! They also kept closing the loud pool and on our last week emptied it and were replacing broken tiles. The lock of our room didn't work, one night I was left outside my room with my 3 year old for over an hour (at 10pm until gone 11pm) as the people on reception wouldn't listen to us when we told them repeatedly that it wasn't the keys playing up but it was in fact the lock itself. When we finally managed to get in our room a maintenance guy came and couldn't speak English so had to phone through to reception and they told us that it was working so they refused to do anything. The following morning we went to guest services and told them what had happened, they sent maintenance guys there immediately and as we arrived so did they, only to see that we couldn't get in, again! They then had to break into the room to be able to fix the lock and replace the batteries! There were cockroaches in our room! Nothing around the hotel is clean. At meal times you have to pick up 4/5 plates before you get one that looks clean and doesn't have any food left on it! The same with glasses there! When flicking through the tv channels with my daughter sat next to me porn came on the tv, which should NOT be happening in a supposed family hotel! The mini bar in our room hardly got refilled, we had to find someone and ask for drinks, only to be given attitude! When going for breakfast at 7am don't expect anything to be out ready, it is meant to be open from 6.30am but nothing is ever put out other than cereals and fruit until gone 7am. Also when going for food in the buffet restaurant they kept closing sections off and expecting people to squeeze in one area, even when it got extremely busy in there. The al a carte restaurants are rubbish they just serve food that is in the main buffet restaurant with certain variations. The entertainment is rubbish, all it is is people miming and dancing around the stage. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and would tell people to stay clear of it. Lastly, we were told by the travel agents to get the Dominican local currency when in fact all they use is dollars out there so we were getting penalised for using there own currency and ending up having to pay quite a bit more!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rhiannon,

We thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro.

We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations and we hope you accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you have mentioned.

We want to point out, as well, that your comments have already been forwarded to our General Management in order to do the corresponding revision.

We would be more than happy to welcome you once again in any of our Hotels so that we can exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Awesome hotel, awesome food and my daughters wedding was amazing .... I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone . Great place for weddings .
The rooms were clean and beds comfy.
The food was good, a few raw moments but with buffets that can happen, so you pick thru it. you have to be aware of this when getting chicken with sauce. Aside from that the variety of food was good,
29 of us went for the wedding ... I don't think I heard a complaint.
as in most places you do have to be careful what you eat!!!

Room Tip: we were right across from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Karen,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your daughter’s wedding. We would like to thank you for recommending us and for sharing your photos.

Hoping to cater you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream wedding in Punta Cana.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We returned from a 2-week stay at this resort last week and absolutely loved the place.It's our second trip to the Caribbean, having visited Barbados in 2010, so thought we knew exactly what to expect with regards to the weather - in Barbados it is quite a dry heat, but with the DR being sub-tropic it is more of a humid heat there and we sweated bucket loads, but you can't really complain about nice, hot weather - especially coming from England!

Your initial thoughts of the complex is its sheer size - the fact that they have 2 road-trains going round on a continuous loop from 5am - 3am each day, gives you an indication of its size. However, you have to bear in mind that the complex is made up of several smaller "hotels" - I've put that in inverted commas, as really there are just several separate reception areas for each "hotel", with the accommodation being in villas scattered around the complex.

When you check in, you are provided with a map, which will probably be invaluable for your first couple of days. However, our holiday rep gave us a good tip - there is a central road that runs the complete length of the complex and anything you may need goes off this road, whether its the pools, the beach, the theatre, the spa, etc. However, if in doubt, jump on the road train! We walked from our reception down to the beach one afternoon and it took us about 10-15 minutes at a leisurely pace.

There are two swimming pools open to all near the Bavaro reception. The one on the right hand side of the central road (f you're facing towards the beach) is the larger, busier and noisier pool of the two, with aquatic fun and games, bingo, etc. If you want a quieter time, use the pool on the left. The swimming pools down at the beach are loud and busy, for obvious reasons. If not using the pools near our reception, we generally opted for a sun bed on the beach instead, as it was a little bit quieter. Sun beds around the pools can be an issue if you leave it too late in the day, but we usually didn't venture to the pools until about 1pm and normally found a couple of empty ones to use.

The rooms are large and spacious, with a decent sized balcony. Our room had a king sized (enormous) bed and a sofa bed. You also get a table and chairs both inside and out on the balcony. Although there is a jacuzzi in the bath, we always chose to shower instead! The mini bar is restocked daily and should contain Presidente Lite beer, Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, 7 Up/Sprite, fizzy Orange (like Tango), plus water. You should also get a couple of sachets of coffee (local Santa Domingo brand) for the coffee machine, which is strong but delicious. There are also fruit tea bags, but you will need to boil the water in the coffee machine if you want tea, They don't provide "normal" tea, so take your own!

The entertainment schedule is good and two shows are definitely not to be missed - the Michael Jackson show on a Monday and the Circus of Dreams show on a Thursday. The other nights are good, but the two I've singled out are clearly their main big budget productions. TIP: the pre-show starts at about 20:50, but I would arrive earlier than this for the big shows in order to get a seat, as it tends to be standing room only by then!

The available drinks are fine, with no complaints. You aren't limited to local brands - SOME premium brands are included as part of the AI deal - for example, me and my travelling companion are vodka drinkers and could also have Smirnoff, Stolichnaya and Eristoff, as well as the local brand.

The only issue we had was with the food. We didn't bother using any of the a la carte restaurants, as had always found the buffet restaurants at AI complexes to be fine. However, the food was largely pretty bland and tasteless. Due to a medical condition, I have to be very careful about what I eat, so my options were limited, however, my traveling companion tried most things and will usually eat anything with gusto, said the food overall was pretty poor. This definitely needs to be addressed, as its clearly not an isolated issue and is stopping the complex from getting perfect reviews. Whilst I appreciate that it is difficult to cater en-masse for the amount of guests that stay at the hotel, it's not impossible.

I wouldn't rule out returning to this complex and to the DM, there are other parts of the Caribbean I want to visit first, with Cuba being next on the list.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 35, which was handy for the 2 central pools, reception, theatre etc, but far enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate all feedback, since is the best way we have to evaluate our daily performance. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and to hear that you absolutely loved Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro.

Hoping to see you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from this beautiful resort for our honeymoon excellent staff and service people at the hotel where very friendly ,the room are very well decorate and cleanliness has a lots of swimming pools lots of bar the only thing i did not like about this resort is the drinks and the food the buffet food make me sick every time we eat not just me a lots more people we meet have say the same thing the alcohol drink are so nasty almost like water very little alcohol we also eate a la carte twice and food was not good the menu is 3 choices of food .....i love the resort very beautiful but the food was nasty .....before i forget to mentioned the rooms still have old tv 's ... We went boogies ,sea aquarium we love it . We went around the city but there is not much too see is a very poor around ...is a great experience overall ....

Room Tip: Get a room in the middle section of the resort villas 25-35 not too far from the beach not too far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay and for acknowledging the friendliness of our staff.

We are very sorry to hear about your illness, we cannot conclude that our hotel is the causative of that. Please allow us to inform you that our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Crystal. Anyway we remain at your disposal for any question or assistance you may need.

Your honeymoon in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda | Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 816
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.