We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com CheapCaribbean
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Warsaw, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana. Stayed in the Diamond Club section from 3-30 until 4-6. The Diamond Club package was worth the upgrade cost. Glenny Travel/Sunquest was out travel company. They did a good job! The Bahia has made quite a few changes for the good ie: quicker check-in/check-out; Better variety at the buffet; Improved shows; New kid's pool with water slides
Here is a rather lengthy summary:

Flight: West Jet out of Toronto. Good airline. Prompt.Super leg room. Stayed at their airport lounge for food and drink-NICE! Flight had no free meals just snacks. Free movie.
Transfers: Thirty minutes-No problems.
Check-in: Fast-Went right to our room.
Room: Section 28- First floor. Very nice. Great AC. Could use more light and water pressure in the shower. Jacuzzi tub. Five minutes from the beach. Fifteen minutes to the lobby. Tram was available at all times-We walked. Free use of the safe-YEA! Robe, slippers, and umbrella were included. Dilbana was out maid. She did a superb job! Cleaned the room early in the morning and always left us with plenty of beer, soda, water, and coffee. She also was creative with the towel art!
Grounds: BEAUTIFUL! We have been to Punta Cana ten times and this hotel had the best gardens of them all.
Service: The Diamind Club service was superb. Free use of the internet. Open bar in the office area. Fast check-in and check-out. Any problems were handled promptly.
Beach Pools: Very clean. Crowded, but fun! Water a tad chilly for the first three days there. Germain and Francisco at the swim up bar were fantastic. Drink of the day was well done.
Beach: BEAUTIFUL! Crowded, but fun! Beach bar for drinks and hotdogs. Soft sand. A nice scenic walk.
Dinner Buffet: Excellent variety. A different theme each night. Thursday is Gala Night. They serve Rock lobster. It is less meaty, but delicious.
A la carte: French was excellent.The best service! Delicious beef, lobster, and onion soup. Garden Grill was excellent.Delicious beef and shrimp. Japanese was very good. The show was fair-I believe there was a new server. Fried ice-cream is a must try. Italian was good.
Breakfast Buffet: We had a choice of the Lobby or Santa Fe. Lobby had more variety. Santa Fe was quieter and less crowded.
Lunch Buffet: Very good. Godd variety. Pasta was excellent!
Lobby Bar: Good music. Fantastic drinks-The best around. Good coffee from the coffee machines.
Entertainment: Very good especially the Michael Jackson Show and the circus show.
Played putt putt. Visited the casino-Had to pay for your drinks. Visited the Sports Bar. Fun!
Snacks: At the beach pool area were very good. Always enough to eat and drink!
Excusions: Did the 1/2 day four wheelers-It was fun! Macao Beach is a must visit! Also parasailed. Could have been longer, but it was an awesome ride. Both were a tad pricey.
Shopping: Stores everywhere on the property.
Minor Problems: The rooms are a tad noisy. Could use more light. Shower water pressure.
There was Presidente in your room's refrig., but not on tap at the bars. The beer on tap was not nearly as good as Presidente.
There was no coffee at the buffet for dinner-You had to visit the lobby for coffee.
Major Problem: When leaving/departing: West Jet check-in/out was OK, but baggage check and Immigration at the Punta Cana airport was very disorganized. Stood in line for over 1 1/2 hours. When you are in line you don't dare get out of line looking for water and/or the bathroom. This has to change otherwise they will lose visitors.
Suggestion: Tip everyone a dollar or so. It goes a long way and is very much appreciated by the staff. If you need extra dollar bills go to the money exchange window in the Lobby.
Get up at 6:00 am to get chairs at the beach pool area and beach.
All in all a great vacation and would recommend this property. Would also return.

Room Tip: Diamond Club rooms are very good. First floor rooms have better access and better views. Maybe no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as beautiful grounds, superb service in the Diamond Club, very clean pools, excellent buffet variety, and very good entertainment.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the greatest vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,148
    1,829
    800
    408
    317
See reviews for
1832
2429
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just returned from the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro and I had a wonderful time! It was a trip with my sister Annie, our first vacation together!.We arrived March 31 and left on April 7th. It was my 4th time to the DR but my first stay at the Bahia. We stayed in the Club Diamond Section and Marisela and Lissellotte in the reception went above and beyond our expectations to make sure we had a pleasant stay. Marisela was always friendly, always smiling and were there to answer any questions and any requests during our stay. I missed seeing her on her days off! I would also like to mention Ramone a waiter in the main lobby buffet who was also very pleasant and friendly and always made a effort to say hello even when we did not sit at his table. Also Ramone who gave the beach exercises and danced with us in the lobby was also a gem. All the staff was great but this are people that really made our stay pleasant and made us feel welcome. The resort was huge but our room was close to the beach, Villa 28, so it was great. I found the lighting in the room very dark, so you could not read but did not spend much time in the room, only to shower and sleep. At dinner time we could walk or take the trolley which came pretty frequent so not a problem. We did 3 a la cartes, Mexican,Garden Grill and Barbeque, my favorite was the Garden Grill but the rest of the time we had dinner at the lobby buffet. I mostly ate at the beach buffet for breakfast and lunch because it was close and convenient to beach. My only complaint is the food at the buffet is never hot!, Lots of variety but not the temperature I like! Even though resort is huge, I found the resort very clean. The decor and gardens are beautiful and the atmosphere is wonderful. I would highly recommend this resort and I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Our room was in Villa 28 Club Diamond Section, top floor. It was close to the beach which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Heather and Annie,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you had a wonderful time during your first vacation together.

Marisela, Lissellotte, Ramon (buffet waiter) and Ramon (animation) will be delighted and motivated to read that they really made your stay pleasant and made you feel welcome.

We think it is important to remark that we have a microwave in the buffet to heat the food as guests’ wishes.

It would be a pleasure to cater you for 5th time in the Dominican Republic!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, Punta Cana for my wife and I. We have now vacationed with 4 other couples (close friends) for 3 years and this is turning into an annual rite of Spring trip. Our stay from March 18-27 was great. We had excellent weather for the entire ten days. It rained once in the middle of the night. The grounds are massive and very well groomed and clean. It took a few days to get familiar with the complex and the other hotels, beach and various pools. This was a most relaxing vacation. We spent most of the day on the beach and in the Ocean to cool off from the heat. The food was quite good for buffet dining and there was a nice variety with different country themes in the evening. We preferred the 4 a la carte restaurants that we could not take advantage of until the later part of our trip. We intend to return next year as a group and felt that this was very good value for the money we spent and the good times we had. Ciao until next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Maurice,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed a most relaxing vacation.

Please feel free to contact us for a future stay in order to prepare all the details before arrival, and make your next visit the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Looking forwarded to seeing your next year for your second trip to the Dominican Republic!

Bes regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

i have Zero complaints about this Hotel.
it was IMMACULATE first of all, i have never been to a resort that was kept so well.
the food was great, i usually do not expect much from the all inclusive trips food wise, and i was pleasantly surprised here.
the people were lovely, accommodating and happy all the time.
you MUST HAVE a Coco Loco...it was the drink of choice for my family lol

the resort is huge, and if your hotel is far from the beach it could be a walk however busses run every 10 min.
(we payed the extra to be closer to the beach- i think it was worth it )

all in all... best vacation my family has been on in a very very long time

Room Tip: i would pay the extra 30 bucks to be closer to the beach, the upgrade allows you to make reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jessica,

We are very pleased to read that this has been the best family vacation. Thank you for recommending our coco loco and for mentioning our immaculate premises, great food and lovely staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 days at the Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, we were extremely fortunate to have only one rainy day! This was our best trip to date!! This was our second trip to the Dominican and the food at this resort was far superior to our previous stay. Yes, the resort is very large, but once you know your section it is not any different than any other resort. If you don't like to walk, take the bus, they are always available. Since, for us, it is all about the beach, next time we come we may consider the Grand Bahia Don Pablo Ambar or Esmeralda, solely because they have more beach area. The Bavaro's beach area is quite busy, with limited seating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro for your second trip to the Dominican Republic.

Please be assured that it is a great compliment to read that this have been your best trip and to know that the food in our hotel was far superior to your previous stay. It is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Looking forward to seeing you soon either our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar or Esmeralda!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought this resort was amazing. The people that complain must be those looking to nit pick instead of enjoying life.

We had a few minor things we COULD have complained baout but the positive far out weighed the negative.

Food was great at the BBQ, Japanese and Garden Grill... Not impressed with Mexican, but buffet available as well.

We did upgrade to diamond but can say the resort is aqll great and I am not even sure it was worth it. Our room did not even get cleaned the last day and usually it was not cleaned until dinner time, so the "turn dopwn" svc was nil.

The pools and beach are amazing.

Andy in the Diamond Club was great and German and Enrique in pool bar wonderful as well.

But I do want to say all the hand sanitizer is a bit much. My hands we all itchy and dry from all the alcohol in it.

Love the place would def. go back.

Room Tip: Just look at map and send an email with a request for a room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Melissa,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to Andy, German, and Enrique.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

plenty of entertainment, sunbathing, salsa, cocktails, many restaurants apart from the main restaurant where plentyful choice of food is available. Friendly personnel.
great beach, can't swim far in the sea though. we did complenetary tours to Soana and dolphin tour. Only the Wifi in the hotel was not satisfactory, and the (dont you worry about that my friend) guy who installed it put a virus on my laptop. otherwise great shows. Room was superclean every day. other guest were mainly canadians, russians and americans.
spasibo bolchoi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program with our plenty entertainment, plentiful choice of food, and super clean room.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Address: Playa Bavaro | Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.