We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro | Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was there for a week. First day there was a lack in communication. But I nosed around enough to figure things out. Everything was excellent. We went as a huge group for a wedding, our rooms were spread out throughout the huge resort but the shuttle service around the resort kept all of us closer. The japanese a la carte was the best of the 3 we tried. The mexican a la carte - we found all of the meats tough. When I return to this resort(which I will) I will skip on the a la cartes all together. The buffet had plenty of varieties. All in all I loved the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,329
    1,918
    840
    425
    335
See reviews for
1933
2561
74
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visted Ambar last year and returned to the Bavaro this year. This year our party was nine with the youngest 19.

We had a tremendous memorable experience. An outstanding family vacation.

ACCOMODATIONS: We were in 3 different buildings (30, 71 and 72). All in close proximity. All were spacious, maintained, clean and well serviced. Our son/daughter felt their room was a little warm but nothing they saw fit to complain to anyone about. Notwithstanding my brother's experience, our pillows were great LOL. Our coffee maker was broken upon arrival but our housekeeper replaced it immediately.

GROUNDS: This resort is meticulously maintained. It was very impressive last year when we attended the resort for the first time and nothing has changed that opinion with this visit. They work hard at maintaining this property and it shows. Any comments to the contrary on this site in my view are not warranted.

FOOD: This is not Ruth's Chris or Canoe. If that is the experience you are looking for you are in the wrong place.

- The main buffet restaurant was on balance very good. Mornings were always excellent with the eggs and omlettes to order and if you brought over the potatoes - home fries. Pancakes, sausage, pasteries, assorted juices were my preference ....we all enjoyed the breakfast. Dinners were for the most part very good. As buffet service you do not have the luxury of your meat cooked to order - you get what you get. At one sitting our table had some of the best beef tenderloin we have ever had - I went up to find it and it was not quite to the same standard the second time around. Notwithstanding the beef tenderloin experience, our meals were always very acceptable and no one was unsatisified by the end of the dining experience.

- Italian ala carte - food was ok - not particularly memorable - it is pasta after all LOL.

- Japanese ala carte - if you get a tepenaki table, it will be an excellent experience. Food is plentiful - Salmon was very good but otherwise the balance was nothing special (note earlier comments on Ruths' Chris). If you do not get a tepenaki table (we did not year 1 even though we were in the Ambar section) - go elsewhere as menu service was subpar. Deep Fried ice cream is a must ....do not be shy to ask for seconds. A BIG shout out to the serving and cook staff. We found all staff to be outstanding during both of our stays, but this group was over the top!!! Best experience of the week.

- French ala carte - very strict on dress code - extra platters of food were delivered to the table so food was very plentiful. The house wine is different in this ala carte from all others and we did not like it. There were lots of other liquid options available so it was not an issue for us. Deserts were very good. Service was outstanding - again.

- Steakhouse ala carte - this was booked for Xmas eve so we did not get the typical menu. I believe this resort does a set menu for all facilities on this evening. This year's menu was a much better experience than that of the previous year. This year the first two courses were seafood. They were very good, but if you do not like seafood you could still be a little hungry at the end of the evening. I am pleased to report that the dinner was a very good experience. Service was good but not spectacular.

- beach lunch and beverage bars - no complaints - I have had fries, pizza, nachos, chicken that I can remember but use common sense - if it looks like food has been sitting - try something else. I ordered drinks from a number of different bars - friendly, efficient service - no complaints.

In case you missed it, we were the "vino tinto" table - the house red table wine was very good and plentiful. Served at all locations except the French ala carte. We did not care for the white wine.

BEACH: We had two days of rather unsettled weather but with the exception of one day, were on the beach every day. Two days of posted red flags ("do not swim") and two days of posted yellow flags ("not safe"). When we were there, the beaches were very busy and lifeguards were on duty. I believe these flags were geared to younger children and non swimmers. Our gang was older and had some swimming ability. For us and most others: Yellow flags meant big waves; Red flags meant huge waves. The beach is oustanding. The waves were awesome and by the end of four days of heavy waves the volleyball court was gone - washed away and I never would have expected that. WARNING - if you are going to swim or frolic in these conditions - pay attention to your surroundings and those waves. Please note that the pool is the sensible option for non swimmers and children.

SERVICE: When we travel we do try to communicate with the local staff - I know zero Spanish. All staff that interact with guests are excellent and we find that if you can make that connection, they can make your stay that much more memorable. The young lady assigned to 72211 for our stay was outstanding and she made sure our room was immaculate and WELL stocked. Whether it was table service, buffet cooks and servers, bar service, lobby bar service, beach bar (that's a lot of bars), all of the staff were helpful and enhanced the vacation experience.

After dinner each evening we would wind up in the lobby bar. As a group of 9 we got creative in carving out our space each evening. The staff were very supportive and always made sure we were looked after - wherever we happened to be - special thank you to Angel and Yudelki.

Remember, you are in the Dominican Republic. You are visiting their country. "Go with the flow" and you will have a tremendous experience and a great vacation.

Room Tip: We prefer the 3rd floor - it is the tropics and we would prefer not to risk a musty location - we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the good service from our employees. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the most tremendous memorable experiences.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just came back from a week vacation at Bavaro. All in all it was a pleasant experience, but Apple is not only unhelpful, they have added unnecessary stress on the trip.

Apple:
We have never seen Apple representative when we were there. Even when we checked in, he designated a customer service rep to give us the welcome package. There is a travel office in the main lobby. There are always people there from other agencies, except Apple's chair is always empty. We are supposed to look at the book ourselves and find the time that the bus will pick us up to the airport. On the day we leave, we waited more than an hour for bus. Everyone was panicking because we don't know if we have missed the bus already or if the bus would ever come. We don't know what the bus look like. Everyone(from different hotels but all Apple customers) on the bus said the same thing that they were so worried and they have waited more than an hour. We were late to the airport and almost missed the fly. So think twice when book with Apple.

Resort:
1) staffs are very friendly. Considered how stressful it must be to take care of that many people, I think they do a fine job.
2) our housekeeper is wonderful. She always leaves fresh flower in the bathroom and on the bed. Room is very clean. We spent very little time at the room, and we did not watch TV there.
3) the resort is very well maintained and there is always some kind entertainment going on at the resort.
4) make sure to bring your own medicines and first aid. A few bandages can cost you $15.
5) beach is too crowded, not very relaxing.
6) food is average.
7) avoid privilege club people and free prize offer. They will waste your time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as friendly staff, wonderful housekeeper, well maintained Resort, and vary entertainment. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and continue providing the most pleasant experiences.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed Dec. 12-19, 2012. Room 28106. Like most people, I read every review before travelling.
The resort's grounds are spotless, well maintained. The beach is amazing.

Staff was mostly friendly but did just the minimum.

The room was poor overall. The fridge did not work and 2 bulbs were blown out so the lighting was poor. A call to the front desk did not solve any of these. The AC was too noisy so we kept it off most of the time when in the room. Because we were on the ground level, the noise from the shuttle buses kept us up.
The buffet is average to good depending on your taste.
It was after dinner at the French a la carte restaurant that my wife became severely sick. Abdominal pain, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting and weakness to the extent that she was taken by ambulance the hospiten bavaro and was hospitalized for 2 nights. It would have been a longer stay was it not for our flight out. It took some convincing the doctor to discharge her as she was still on drips after the second night but feeling better. US$2600, thanks for travel insurance.

Thanks to Carrie from West jet for her help during this time. Incidentally, no one from Gran Bahia resort offered to help or made a call to see how we were doing!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the shuttle bus route and on the ground floor are not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

It is important to remark that we have our customer service departments, such as Express Service where there is an operator 24 hours, Reception that also works 24 hours, and the Guest Service where there are Concierges available from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. in order to attend our guests' needs or reported failures.

We should take in consideration that certain risks are involved when traveling to the tropics; there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure, personal reactions, among others.

Whenever any inconvenience happens to any of our guests, our Guest Service department gets in touch with him/her in order to assist them and reiterate ourselves at their disposal for anything they may need. We regret if we were not able to communicate with you.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were part of a group of nine that stayed at the Bahia Principe - Bavaro. Most stayed a week but a couple of us managed to spend two weeks. My brother had previously stayed at Bahia Principe – Ambar. For a little extra money the Esmeralda and Ambar are worth the upgrade at the Bahia Principe property but I wouldn’t pay more than $15 per person, per night. We had a great time and will return to Bahia Principe Bavaro but we would look to move closer to the beach area of the resort.

Here are some comments about the property, a couple suggestions that might make your holiday better and some suggestions for management (things that could be improved). I won’t get into excursions given these are personal preference and age dependant. We did the Bavaro Splash and it was great.

First, suggestions to management:

1. Breakfast Availability: It would be appreciated if there were more than one spot to have breakfast besides making the trip to the main dining room. My brother was a returning guest hence he was given VIP options that were more convienent.

2. Late Morning Brunch: You need some decent food service available between 1030AM and noon. Some of us like to wake up late or even work out (or jog) in the morning. I am a late morning brunch person and I noticed there were a lot of us left very unimpressed with the minimal sandwich options you provide. Some eggs and bacon would have been great. This was by far the biggest disappointment and inconvenient.

3. Petty Charges. Your resort feels very safe but I find it unacceptable to pay to use a safe to secure my valuables. This is very petty and cheapens the overall experience you provide. So what’s next? Am I going to pay for a pillow and bed sheets. I am sorry but having a place to secure valuables is something I expect a hotel to provide not charge me $6 a day.

4. Pillows. You really need to replace some of the pillows. We had five pillows which seemed like they were filled with cotton balls (Room 71212).

Second, some overall comments:

General: The resort is very large with lots of people of differing age ranges. The facility is very nicely broken into 5 different hotels. Lots of variety to keep you busy. There are many pools and places to eat. The resort location is a short trip from the airport and the resort’s beach is away from the chaos of the large excursion operators which I suspect have a negative impact in the Los Corales/Bavaro area.

Entertainment: The “Animation” team does a great job. The nightly shows feature lots of choreographed dancing and lip syncing. The aerial/gymnastics show was by far the best. Overall the entertainment is not as good as what you find on a cruise ship BUT it is likely as good as you will find at any resort.

Beach: Spectacular. It is a short trolley ride away from the room and the beach can be very busy. Makes finding a lounger on the beach a challenge. The water is not ideal for small kids because it can get some large waves (which was a big positive for my older late teens) and this churns up the sand a bit.

Room: Great size, very, very clean and well maintained. Each room has a great jacuzzi tub; however, it can be a little tricky getting in (and out of) if you are older (60+). No issues with water pressure or temperature. The air conditioning is adequate but not great. The TV's in the rooms are very small and outdated. The cable/satellite channel options are EXCEPTIONAL and available in multiple languages.

Food: We found the food of good quality and consistent. There is some variety and a large selection in the main buffet. The pasta meat sauce was a little watery, especially compared to the Italian ala carte but lots of chicken options.

Safety: Exceptional. Clearly this is something they take serious. They have Life Guards on the beach who are very attentive, there are other attendants who try to keep things in order and the beach clean; the resort grounds are also very well lite and appear to be patrolled, especially after hours.

Staff: A huge positive that make a great difference. Regardless of where we were the staff that were there to provide support as part of the “all-inclusive” experience were always attentive, friendly and helpful. In the lobby bar Angel is spectacular. He has exceptional English and can make you any kind of drink you can think of. Jose on the Customer Service Desk was great at finding openings in the restaurants and providing excursion suggestions. Look for Yudelki Matos in the lobby bar. She is an exceptional server. Now, the people who are not part of the “all inclusive” service can be a pain, ESPECIALY the time share solicitors in the main lobby. It is sad that the Bahia Principe finds it necessary to allow this activity and have people lose a day of their vacation to a high pressure sales pitch.

Finally, here’s a couple of suggestions that you might not think of. Bring a large (591ml) thermos cup. You can pick them up at Walmart for about $5. The cups are environmentally friendly and keep your drink cool. This also allows you to spend time on the beach as opposed to lined up for a drink. Resorts use small 5 ounce plastic cups. Bring bug spray and plenty of sunscreen otherwise you will be gouged. Bugs are not bad but I dig get a few late night bites from something.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Hotel.

Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with the General Manager of our Resort and our Food & Beverage staff for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.

Thank you for highlighting our Animation team, good food, and our exceptional staff. It is an honor to know that Angel, Jose, and Yudelki are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose Bahia because it has palapas on the beach (a must for us), and did not sound too bad by description, so we decided to give it a try, because we never went there before, but like the area.
Three reasons why we will not come back:
1. Not enough facilities for the number of guests: you cannot get a la carte reservations, there are lines in the bathrooms, the reception area in the evening is full, they run out of towels at the beach after 4- 4:30, they do not serve tea/coffee during dinner in the main area to cut on time people spend there. If you like to end your dinner with a cup of tea with some cheese or dessert, you have to either take food out in napkins to reception area (plates not allowed out), or smuggle a cup of tea or coffee in (use a side door, cups are not allowed in)
2. Noise. At the beach, the activities people have loud amplifiers that cover the whole pool, beach, and swimming area. In the evening in the reception area, very loud music prevents any attempt to relax.
3. Multitude of small things that you expect based on experience in other places but do not get.

Specifics:
Beach: palapas indeed plenty there and at the pool. Due to huge number of guests compared to the size of the beach, the density of people is much higher than what you see on abutting resorts when you walk along the beach. I saw people trying in vain to find available seat. The activities guys, even when counting 1-2-3 for a dozen people, use amplifiers loud enough to carry their voices over the whole pool, beach and swimming area. The women's bathroom often has a line, there is a nearly constant puddle at the entrance to it. There are no towels available after around 4:30 PM. No changing cabins, which adds to the lines in the bathrooms.
Room: Large and clean, large balcony. The balcony has no rack to dry swimming suits, and the bathroom has no forced ventilation, so swimsuits do not dry there. Good quality bed, awful pillows. The "jacuzzi" tab has no holes in the back, only on the sides. The toilet and bathtub are not separate, so if one person is taking a bath.. The shower was a hand held that you could position as an overhead.The TV was an old 19-inch one. There was an ice bucket, but no ice machine. AC is a fiction: the temperature was never below what it was outside, although we closed and locked the balcony as instructed. The clock turns off when you go out, and needs to be reset every night. If you are a beer drinker, it was not Presidente, but some cheap alternative.
Service: in the general area, it takes 15-20 min to get water and wine. After getting served at the end of the meal early in our stay, we made a point to stay put at the table until wine is not only ordered, but also served. Service is better in the a la carte places, but not in Santa Fe during lunch.
Drinks: Twinning tea (pleasant surprise), but coffee is not good. Nescafe instant decaf is available, but not the regular one. The machines in the bars brew very weak mixture even when you use espresso button. Red wine is quite drinkable, but I did not like their white wine and beer. They make very good sangria. The cocktails are so weak, that we got into a habit of ordering the rum, brandy, etc neat alongside every cocktail to fix it at the table. Asking the barman to do it results in even weaker drink.
Breakfast : usual stuff sufficient to have any kind of British, continental, American, etc. breakfast. The main variety was in the condition of boiled eggs : it could be anything between hard-boiled and liquid-whites-and-yolks. Decent bread in the main area (but not Santa Fe, there was no cutting board and breads that go with it), poor choice of cheese. Daily appearance of lox (at Santa Fe).
Lunch: eatable. Good choice of fish, meat usually tough.
Dinner: ditto in the common area.
A la carte restaurants. Definitely reserve ahead of time. We came on Monday around 4 PM, could not get reservations "because the system is down". On Tuesday, the first day we could get a reservation was Friday!

The French: Lobster bisque, shrimp appetizer, lamb, chocolate dessert were very good and beautifully plated. Onion soup was not what you expect in a French restaurant.

The Garden Grill has decent appetizers, rib eye and tenderloin, but when I ordered "shrimp skewers", I got a single skewer with five medium-sized shrimps on it.

Seafood place: the best appetizers we had in the resort. The omnipresent rib eye was good, but you would expect different food in different a la carte restaurants. The lobster casserole was not much different from the seafood stew that was served for lunch. I had to use lime, salt, and pepper to give it some taste.

Santa Fe: the appetizers are different types of fillings wrapped into dough. The mixed grill comprised a small piece of chicken grilled to a crisp, a piece of lamb about a square inch mainly consisting of a bone, and a small but well-grilled meat.

Room Tip: We paid extra to be close to the beach, but were further than in many other resorts without extra pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Please allow us to inform you that, despite the size of our Resort, appropriate measures have been taken in order to ensure guest satisfaction and expected quality of each of our services.

Regarding your comments about your a la carte experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Also, please allow us to inform you that, due to internal policies, coffee service at lunch and dinner are only available at our Luxury Don Pablo Collection buffets. At others Bahia Principe Hotels, our guest may have a coffee or tea in the main lobbies.

It is important to remark that if you take out the room key from the white box next to the door, the power will go out. That way the clock will turn off and the A/C will not maintain a cold temperature.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager and our Food & Beverage staff of our Resort to give the proper attention.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Punta Cana is very beautiful with white sands and blue water. The Grand Bahia Principe Bravaro property was immaculate and everyone on the staff went out of their way to please. The food was excellent also. Drinks were available everywhere often with waiters and waitresses to serve you.
There are not a lot of individuals that speak English but there is usually someone close by to translate. If possible, brush up on some Spanish words such bathroom, and double shots (LOL)!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage, as well as the hospitality from our employees that characterize the Dominican people. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro | Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.