We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alsol Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alsol Del Mar to your Saves list
Alsol Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Santo Domingo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent choise if you want to rest, the service of the staff is awsome!!! I recommend the hotel! Beach is not as good as others in the areas but close you have an Excellent one... You have in the complex one of the best golf course of the caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Pfdez07,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time of letting other travelers know what to expect at AlSol del Mar. Thank you for your recommendations and we are very happy that you have been highly satisfied with the service provided by our staff. Their kind nature and disposition is our biggest pride.

Since you are from Santo Domingo, we definitely hope to be able to welcome you again in the not too distant future. In the meantime, we remain here at your service.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    63
    20
    2
    14
See reviews for
71
141
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family and I came to Alsol Del Mar for a peaceful beach vacation. And that's exactly what we got - peace and quiet. Our two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath condo was amazing: bright, airy, huge, clean, top of the line appliances, fully equipped kitchen, a perfect view of the beach and adjacent lagoon, 3 terraces, hot tub, just steps from the biggest pool I have ever seen...you get the picture! Best of all, Alsol is not one of those razzamatazz resorts with nonstop people, noise and activities like you'd find elsewhere. Instead, it's more of a cluster of condos surrounding a beautifully landscaped pool and beach area. All you really need to bring is a bathing suit, a few t-shirts, shorts and books. Free (very fast wifi) is also a plus. The staff is very attentive, friendly and helpful - excellent customer service. Though were were asked on several occasions if we want to upgrade to the all-inclusive meal plan, we are glad we declined. We opted to take a taxi to the big supermarket 15-minutes away and buy a week's worth of groceries. Making our own meals was more economical, practical and tasty. If you arrive at the airport during the day, have your taxi stop at the supermarket first (it's right around the corner) before heading to Alsol. We are leaving feeling very relaxed and pleased with our experience here.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a condo with a kitchen. We stayed in 10303 = great view, great condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear CC3602014,

We thank you for taking the time of reviewing your stay at AlSol del Mar and we love the fact that you really enjoyed your accommodations and the setting of your two-bedroom suite.

Although I could not find “razzamatazz” in my English-Spanish dictionary, I am glad that you were able to clarify that it is something that we are not! :) What we definitely are is a peaceful and tranquil resort, ideal for those seeking peace and relaxation.

We certainly look forward to having the honor of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Incredible place to stay or even to live in!!! I will stay at sol delmar again that is certain! Service and everything is worthy of royalty!! The pool was perfect, drinks and food was also very good! The vue from my room was what I liked the most!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing the experience of your stay at AlSol del Mar. We love to read that once again we have accomplished our goal of having our guests feel like royalty by delivering great food and beverage, courteous and diligent service, and specially great accommodations.

We look forward to having the honor of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I have been at Alsol del Mar by the end of April and spent an incredible week at this amazing hotel.

First of all, it is quite important to say this is a hotel for those who seek tranquility rather than a huge resort and everything that comes together (good and bad). For tranquility I mean a small and very calm beach surrounded by reefs that make it an amazing natural swimming pool; a selection of nice and small restaurants with outstanding quality of food; very friendly staff which does everything they can and can't to make you feel comfortable and welcome the moment you step in the beautifully decorated lobby of the hotel; the privilege of not having to fight for umbrellas, chairs, shadows, etc. etc.. to enjoy this beautiful spot...

What to say about Saschia, Sergio, Yinet, Geraldino, Miguel, Confesor, Juan, everyone except that they are outstanding and thank you so much for making our week with you so memorable?

That said and if you are traveller our style, this is the hotel for you. You will come back home renovated and ready for anything. Of course you will miss, really miss your lazy days at Alsol del Mar, but this is a good excuse to come back because of course you will, as we definetely will.

So long Alsol!!

Room Tip: Rooms ocean front are the best of course and if it is possible go for it. This is not a huge hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Marcia K,

Thank you so much for your beautiful account of your stay with us.

AlSol del Mar is indeed an intimate resort where our goal is to ensure our guests feel looked after and pampered by every member of the staff. We are glad to know that this is how you felt and that you enjoyed the meals, service, accommodations and overall experience.

The entire AlSol del Mar team looks forward to your return!

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic is truly, naturally breathtaking. The water is typically Caribbean and the sand is clean and fine. The people and staff of the Al Sol were excellent. Our favorite of the three affiliated locations. SERVICE must be the mantra for this host. They made it happen with constant smiling faces; it was unusual and surprisingly, a slice of heaven, for the seven days we enjoyed there. The pool is exquisitely designed and spacious. The proximity of the clean sandy shore adjacent to the pool makes for a quiet relaxful day on the beach; with the added plus of poolside service bar accommodations and staff ready to serve any request. Without question-'All inclusive' is the only way to go!!!

Room Tip: Pool view or south views are both good. I did not like having to climb stairs. We asked for and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Bill R,

We are delighted to read your review and know that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the service provided by the members of our staff. Our accommodations and overall facilities are designed to be a perfect setting a for peaceful and relaxed vacation. It is a great pleasure for us to know that once again we have accomplished our goal of providing a great experience for our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Staff warm and friendly, food was great, try steak and lobster, stay away from the ribeye, quiet resort, great to unwind, were there for four days and went to Sanctuary two evenings, found staff there accomadating also. When we arrived bellman refused to take tip, had heard reports was not a tipping resort, left tip for maid which was accepted then waiters, we got excellent service by all during our stay. We paid $10 extra per night when we booked dns got excellent one bedroom apartment. Was great having a washer/dryer as we spent five days in DR before arriving. Ate at on site restaurant several times for breakfast, lunch, dinner, my only suggestion, on the first evening we sat towards north end outside and several smokers sat to the south of us and the smoke was quite bothersome there is a definite breeze blowing from south to north so on subsequent visits we always sat on south end of restaurant and encountered no problems with smoke. Did suggest if wind is always consistant for a couple nonsmoking signs to be put on south end of restaurant. It is a shame that smokers do not consider others or they ould not smoke even in outside restaurants, if they had any consideration they themselves could not wind direction and sit where their disgusting smoke would harmlessly leave restaurant or public area without drifting over other guests. That would require smokers to turn on their brains.i guess if they did they would quit smoking, till then have consideration for others. Did have issue as others expressed as were almost dropped off at the Ansol luxe ry by cab driver, I did download from google maps directions which helped, a sign at the main road intersection would be cheap and help future travellers to reach the resort. Great staff and would recommend to other who want a quiet resort with great food and staff.

Room Tip: Pay the ten dollars extra and get a one bedroom, we had choice to view a few rooms on check in, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear rickg42,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Alsol del Mar and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the service, food, facilities and accommodations of the resort.

Your comments about smoking in the terrace have also been considered and we appreciate your feedback. There is also a new sign on the road that accesses the resort, to facilitate directions.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and we all remain here at your service.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just visited Alsol for the second time from 5/19 thru 6/6 and Alsol just continues to get better. A tribute to Alsol - the staff was pretty much the same! It was like returning to family.

Make your airport taxi reservations through Alsol. You never have a problem. Our 1 bedroom suite (bldg. 9) was ready for us. It was on the corner so we faced the ocean and had the lagoon view on the side. A bottle of champagne and fruit platter were placed in our suite.

The reason for a second review is to let the previous guests know that Management has listened to your request for changes. Menus have been updated which is great for repeat visitors! You can now get snacks, sundries and small mementos. Change was available but it is still a good idea to bring small bills for tipping. US currency is accepted here. Renovations are moving along at a rapid pace and guests are not inconvenienced in any way.

Activities - they have added activities for the children in the morning. There are shopping tours now and two nights a week there are trips to a casino which the guests really seemed to enjoy. Last trip Ron & I took a tour and also went to the Sanctuary for lunch. This time we NEVER left the resort. We were so content. In the middle of our trip we took a two day vacation from our vacation and never left our suite. We just enjoyed the suite, the balcony, the jacuzzi and the wonderful room service. The room service staff was tremendous - thanks Geraldino, Hosse, Jose and Santiago. We will definitely do that again.

Another night we had a couple we met over for dinner. We were having such a good time at the pool (Hi Miguel) and felt so relaxed that none of us felt like getting dressed. We put that beautiful dining room table to use and had a wonderful dinner and bonded. Again, room service was exceptional.

I celebrated my birthday there & it will always be memorable. A HB banner on our door! Later that night they surprised us with a cake which we shared with new friends. When we got back to our suite there were flower petals strewn all over, beautiful swans made out of towels. So sweet.

A benefit - While most of the staff does a good job in speaking English they are becoming more proficient in it and I am now leaning some Spanish. Thank you Luis for being my teacher. Michael gives Spanish classes in the morning but I don't get up that early. :(

We truly had a wonderful, relaxing vacation and we plan to return again at the end of the year. The Management team is above exceptional. Since we have been fortunate to have spent a total of 36 days at Alsol we have gotten to know them and they are truly dedicated to making your visit a memorable one.

Thank you Saskya, Sergio and Manuel for the special dinner that was prepared for us on our last night. Saskya, please say thank you to the entire staff. I will not name them all since I know I will forget someone - it is just easier to let you know that we NEVER encountered anyone that did not give 100%. - Hope to see you soon and it would be fun to bump into some of your previous guests! I know we aren't the only ones who plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Rita,

It is an immense pleasure for the entire Alsol del Mar team to read your review. We are delighted to know that once again you have enjoyed the attention of the amazing group of people that conforms our staff, and there is nothing that we would like more than to welcome you again!

As you rightly mention, we are constantly monitoring guests’ reviews, feedback and questionnaires, as it is our goal to make AlSol del Mar the perfect vacation spot for those seeking pampering and relaxation. We have a sincere desire to ensure that everyone has a wonderful experience and leaves only with happy memories, just as you have.

We are counting down the days for your next visit!!

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsol Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Del Mar

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxury is space, comfort, freedom"Alsol del Mar offers 122 spacious suites, each finely designed with innovative architecture and Caribbean style decoration - Vanguard. The Suites feature a variety of beautiful panoramic views and four room categories: Deluxe, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alsol Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsol Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.