We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite memory maker and unique in that all the helpful staff was so positive and sincere. Rates high in my book.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alsol Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alsol Del Mar to your Saves list
Alsol Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
La Mirada, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A definite memory maker and unique in that all the helpful staff was so positive and sincere. Rates high in my book.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic is truly, naturally breathtaking. The water is typically Caribbean and the sand is clean and fine. The people and staff of the Al Sol were excellent. Our favorite of the three affiliated locations. SERVICE must be the mantra for this host. They made it happen with constant smiling faces; it was unusual and surprisingly, a slice of heaven, for the seven days we enjoyed there. The pool is exquisitely designed and spacious. The proximity of the clean sandy shore adjacent to the pool makes for a quiet relaxful day on the beach; with the added plus of poolside service bar accommodations and staff ready to serve any request. Without question-'All inclusive' is the only way to go!!!

Room Tip: Pool view or south views are both good. I did not like having to climb stairs. We asked for and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Bill R,

We are delighted to read your review and know that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the service provided by the members of our staff. Our accommodations and overall facilities are designed to be a perfect setting a for peaceful and relaxed vacation. It is a great pleasure for us to know that once again we have accomplished our goal of providing a great experience for our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    43
    15
    1
    10
See reviews for
44
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Staff warm and friendly, food was great, try steak and lobster, stay away from the ribeye, quiet resort, great to unwind, were there for four days and went to Sanctuary two evenings, found staff there accomadating also. When we arrived bellman refused to take tip, had heard reports was not a tipping resort, left tip for maid which was accepted then waiters, we got excellent service by all during our stay. We paid $10 extra per night when we booked dns got excellent one bedroom apartment. Was great having a washer/dryer as we spent five days in DR before arriving. Ate at on site restaurant several times for breakfast, lunch, dinner, my only suggestion, on the first evening we sat towards north end outside and several smokers sat to the south of us and the smoke was quite bothersome there is a definite breeze blowing from south to north so on subsequent visits we always sat on south end of restaurant and encountered no problems with smoke. Did suggest if wind is always consistant for a couple nonsmoking signs to be put on south end of restaurant. It is a shame that smokers do not consider others or they ould not smoke even in outside restaurants, if they had any consideration they themselves could not wind direction and sit where their disgusting smoke would harmlessly leave restaurant or public area without drifting over other guests. That would require smokers to turn on their brains.i guess if they did they would quit smoking, till then have consideration for others. Did have issue as others expressed as were almost dropped off at the Ansol luxe ry by cab driver, I did download from google maps directions which helped, a sign at the main road intersection would be cheap and help future travellers to reach the resort. Great staff and would recommend to other who want a quiet resort with great food and staff.

Room Tip: Pay the ten dollars extra and get a one bedroom, we had choice to view a few rooms on check in, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear rickg42,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Alsol del Mar and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the service, food, facilities and accommodations of the resort.

Your comments about smoking in the terrace have also been considered and we appreciate your feedback. There is also a new sign on the road that accesses the resort, to facilitate directions.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and we all remain here at your service.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just visited Alsol for the second time from 5/19 thru 6/6 and Alsol just continues to get better. A tribute to Alsol - the staff was pretty much the same! It was like returning to family.

Make your airport taxi reservations through Alsol. You never have a problem. Our 1 bedroom suite (bldg. 9) was ready for us. It was on the corner so we faced the ocean and had the lagoon view on the side. A bottle of champagne and fruit platter were placed in our suite.

The reason for a second review is to let the previous guests know that Management has listened to your request for changes. Menus have been updated which is great for repeat visitors! You can now get snacks, sundries and small mementos. Change was available but it is still a good idea to bring small bills for tipping. US currency is accepted here. Renovations are moving along at a rapid pace and guests are not inconvenienced in any way.

Activities - they have added activities for the children in the morning. There are shopping tours now and two nights a week there are trips to a casino which the guests really seemed to enjoy. Last trip Ron & I took a tour and also went to the Sanctuary for lunch. This time we NEVER left the resort. We were so content. In the middle of our trip we took a two day vacation from our vacation and never left our suite. We just enjoyed the suite, the balcony, the jacuzzi and the wonderful room service. The room service staff was tremendous - thanks Geraldino, Hosse, Jose and Santiago. We will definitely do that again.

Another night we had a couple we met over for dinner. We were having such a good time at the pool (Hi Miguel) and felt so relaxed that none of us felt like getting dressed. We put that beautiful dining room table to use and had a wonderful dinner and bonded. Again, room service was exceptional.

I celebrated my birthday there & it will always be memorable. A HB banner on our door! Later that night they surprised us with a cake which we shared with new friends. When we got back to our suite there were flower petals strewn all over, beautiful swans made out of towels. So sweet.

A benefit - While most of the staff does a good job in speaking English they are becoming more proficient in it and I am now leaning some Spanish. Thank you Luis for being my teacher. Michael gives Spanish classes in the morning but I don't get up that early. :(

We truly had a wonderful, relaxing vacation and we plan to return again at the end of the year. The Management team is above exceptional. Since we have been fortunate to have spent a total of 36 days at Alsol we have gotten to know them and they are truly dedicated to making your visit a memorable one.

Thank you Saskya, Sergio and Manuel for the special dinner that was prepared for us on our last night. Saskya, please say thank you to the entire staff. I will not name them all since I know I will forget someone - it is just easier to let you know that we NEVER encountered anyone that did not give 100%. - Hope to see you soon and it would be fun to bump into some of your previous guests! I know we aren't the only ones who plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Rita,

It is an immense pleasure for the entire Alsol del Mar team to read your review. We are delighted to know that once again you have enjoyed the attention of the amazing group of people that conforms our staff, and there is nothing that we would like more than to welcome you again!

As you rightly mention, we are constantly monitoring guests’ reviews, feedback and questionnaires, as it is our goal to make AlSol del Mar the perfect vacation spot for those seeking pampering and relaxation. We have a sincere desire to ensure that everyone has a wonderful experience and leaves only with happy memories, just as you have.

We are counting down the days for your next visit!!

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We did not put on clothes for 2 days! Room & maid service was more than happy to bring us anything, stock the fridge daily & the outdoor jacuzzi doubled as a totally private pool:)) We eventually thought we should put our toes in the sand & discovered the rest of the staff was as friendly & attentive, and there are more food choices at the restaurants - amazing fresh fruit for breakfast! There IS an air conditioning issue which made it a bit difficult to sleep, but it works. I think the locals just don't know what us tourists are use to; they may think my heat in winter is insufficient... I wish we had a longer stay, as Sanctuary looked pretty awesome, but Alsol was a perfect place to get away. DO NOT stay here if you want a party scene with a bunch of loud clubs... Also, DO contact the resort before you leave to arrange airport pick-up, as it went perfectly. Oh, and DO bring plenty of small bills for tipping & any essentials. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: My boyfriend followed others' advice to request a jacuzzi, which was amazing because when filled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Choopie11,

It is always a pleasure for us to read reviews where clients reiterate that once again we have achieved our goal of providing an excellent vacation to our visitors.

We love to hear that you have enjoyed the quiet nature of our resort. We indeed are a great alternative for those that want the quality and comforts of a great resort, without the crowds and noise that normally come with those... The tranquil setting of AlSol del Mar is loved by many like yourself.

It would be a great honor for us to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and we remain at your service.

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had never been to Dominican republic and after booking I was not sure if I had done the right things as people kept telling us, we have been to Dominican and not that impressed, etc. Well, they did not go to Alsol Del Mar. It was fabulous. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the place was beautiful and we even got to go to 2 other resorts and eat, drink and enjoy in the all inclusive package, but Alsol Del Mar was still the best of the 3. The place was not crowded so everyone knew us and greated us all week when we went to the pool, restaurant, bar, and front desk. It was so relaxing as well since we didn't have to wait in line or for a table or anything. I Jr. Suite was fabulous, 2 bedrooms, 3 full baths and a half bath, kitchen, dining, living room, washer/dryer and a patio with hot tub, shower, couch, chair, coffee table, chase lounge and a round table with 4 chairs. I could live there. I definetly recommend to anyone wanting a more relaxed vacation away from the crowds, but if you want that it is only a 10-15 minute cab ride to Punta Cana.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front of the resort but still had an ocean view and the Jr. Suite was great e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hola Debbief372,

Please remember that this is your home away from home, so although you do not live here, we remain here at your service and will be thrilled to welcome you again.

I would like to clarify, though, that the room that you have stayed in, as described, is not a Junior Suite, but a two bedroom suite :) We are glad to know you loved it, enjoyed its spaciousness and amenities.

It is great to know as well that all other aspects of your stay with us, like food, drinks and services in general were enjoyed.

Most of all, we are happy to know that your overall experience in the Dominican Republic has been wonderful and positive. We provide Dominican hospitality at its best!

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you so much to all the staff at alsol del mar, Sergio, Santiago, Geraldino, yula, Maria, Miguel, the fun bartender the last night !! Everything was wonderful, They really took great care! Food was delicious and the room was beautiful! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Paula S,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at AlSol del Mar. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that our staff members have looked after you. It is always our goal to make our clients feel pampered and taken care of. And we will let the fine individuals you mention, know of your comments.

We can’t wait to welcome you again!!

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Everyone at the resort is so friendly and helpful. Mickael is awesome, so much energy, so friendly and helpful. Angel is awesome too, such a nice man. Very friendly and knowlegable about the country. Everyone single weight staff is so wonderful we just couldn't believe it. We are definitely going to come back!! Can't Wait!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the pool/ocean. No complaints, rooms are roomy and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hola Linda!

Thank you for your beautiful comments about our resort. And thank you for taking the time to mention those wonderful staff members that indeed work very hard, like all other members of the team, to ensure that your feel pampered and looked after.

We can´t wait to welcome you again, in the meantime, we all remain here at your service.

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsol Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Del Mar

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxury is space, comfort, freedom"Alsol del Mar offers 122 spacious suites, each finely designed with innovative architecture and Caribbean style decoration - Vanguard. The Suites feature a variety of beautiful panoramic views and four room categories: Deluxe, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alsol Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsol Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.