We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Hotel & Unsafe Conditions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Splash Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Memories Splash Punta Cana to your Saves list
Memories Splash Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel & Unsafe Conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Coming into our vacation in Punta Cana was a dream. It was beautiful and the hotel charming - or at least I thought so. It was incredibly difficult to communicate as every employee could barely speak english.

The language barrier was an issue the entire time on our vacation, however; the worst part was when there were two men trying to get into my room. Very scared, alone in my own room I called security to check out the area. Once they got there they couldn't understand anything I was saying which left me feeling incredibly unsafe. I had to have others from the party I was with to stay with me in my room for the remainder of the trip.

Overall - I would not recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    687
    197
    61
    74
See reviews for
1,129
440
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

worst experience ever.....hotel is dirty...sink faucet is falling apart, no window curtain when we got the room, my friends room was full of water, bathtub was so old and rusty that we had to wear flip flop to get in. We complaint for 5 days and they never change the room. I had three little kids and we were terrify with this hotel resort. Strongly suggest to stay away from this resort.we saw ROACH, COCHROACH crawling on the wall and took photos and video then show to the general manager there, he did nothing and walk away ...very RUDE people...by the 6th day they got a room for us but we had to go home the night of so screw them..never come back again. excuse my language here but they were really bad ....so STAY AWAY PLEASE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an average resort. I would consider it a sandals want-to-be. The property looks older and run down, especially in the rooms. The food is was plentiful and average, nothing spectacular. The drinks were very good and strong. We spent most of our time outside our room, partially because it was nothing special and the weather was excellent all week. The beach was as crowded as you would expect from a sandals-like resort, but we always found a place to lay on the beach. The pools were very nice and not over-crowded. My wife and I are more into relaxing than finding a bunch of things to do, but there seemed to be plenty of activities going on. Also, the woman who was at our building for assistance kept hounding us about some presentation. She also botched our reservation for the steakhouse one night and I was disappointed in that since it took away from my proposal plans from the night. I never figured out the deal with the presentation, but we never went. The vendors they let onto the resort are relentless too. We found them quite annoying. We also frequently showed up to dinner at the listed opening time only to wait almost an hour before we were let in. This resort very much goes on island time.

As we were leaving our room on the final day, the bathroom ceiling started pouring water, presumably from the room above. We informed housekeeping and the front desk and got out of there. We were lucky our stay was over when that happened or it could have been a major inconvenience. The rooms and resort could use a face lift. We got a groupon for this resort as kind of a last minute getaway and the price was good, so I can't complain too much, but I would not recommend this resort to friends and family. It has the beach and the weather and we had a good time during our stay, but that can be found at better resorts. We may go back one day for nostalgia as I asked my wife to marry me on the beach one night while we were here, but would not go back otherwise unless there was clear evidence of a resort make-over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was my first time vacationing down south and I loved every second of it. Swim up bars, beaches, lots of trees, great food, clean room. I have no complaints. I was hesitant from reading some of the reviews on here but to be honest, I think people are just too critical.

We did the Roulette 4 to book our trip and it was great. We found out a couple days beforehand where we were headed and had no problems at all. Paid about $700 for the trip. Fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Average resort, with amazing beach, turquoise water, huge palms. Rooms are spacious, but really modest, there are huge bed, fridge (every day filled with coke, sprite, water..), AC, balcony/terrace, bathroom. Our room was cleaned up every day, but maids were really lazy, like everyone in this country. Food was varied, you can choose anything you want, we liked beach restaurant with beautiful seaview. Drinks are tasteless, coffee weak. Pools was dirty, because of american young visitors, they made mess at night..... Most amazing part of this resort is the beach, this part of Punta Cana has nice white sand, turquoise water, you can walk miles&miles and enjoy stunning scenery of this beautiful country. On the beach are sunbeds with umbrellas and many palm trees. If you like swimming, this can be disappointment, there are waves in this part of shore. This hotel is about 20 minutes from airport. Staff is smiling, animation team is really great! I <3 Dominica, I would definitely go back again, but I will choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I took a trip down here with a lot of my family. They have plenty of activities to sign up for as well as some you can just join in. My cousin and I spent every day playing beach volleyball with a bunch of people and made a lot of friends. The water is fantastic and the rooms were beautiful. The entire layout of the resort is beautiful! I would love to go back here at some point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was a waste of time and money. The staff if terrible even though I spoke spanish the staff was extremely rude to us through out our whole stay. Our first night the airco didnt work and I had to beg to change rooms. This dude came to check the airco and basically did nothing to fix it. Finally it came to around 3am and the manager put us in a different room. That room was ok, nothing special. The food was terrible, I've had dominican cuisine before but nothing like this. Food was disgusting!!! The pools were also quite dirty. I would never recommend this hotel. I dont think I will ever return to the Dominican Republic after this horrible experience. STAY AWAYYYY!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Memories Splash Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Splash Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Splash Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful stylish family oriented resort is located at Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, one of the most beautiful landmarks of the Caribbean.5 Thematic Restaurants reservation-free dining +11 Bars +Water Park features a children pool with slides, wave pool, relax pool, Jacuzzi,Kamikaze, Space bowl, Black hole and lots of tubes with amazing surprises. In addition, the resort also boasts 3 pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Memories Splash Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Splash Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.