We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Hidden Charges.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Splash Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Memories Splash Punta Cana to your Saves list
Memories Splash Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE BIG ON DIAMOND CLUB®
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware the Hidden Charges.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I enjoyed my trip, but was disturbed by the way the resort treated the "elite" differently from the "clubbers". There was no coffee pot in the room...they don't put beer in the fridge, because there is a 24hr bar....that bar is the sports bar, and is located at the other end of the resort.....and coffee is not available all the time.

I have been to 2 other resorts, and was not surprised by any hidden charges, but this resort saves the surprises...beware, if you want the good rum, or shooters, you will pay $5 a shot....beer in a bottle...$5....
The phone has a sticker on it that says you can call collect, and there are no service charges...untrue...buy a calling card, and go to the lobby, ask the clerk to call the international operator for you; you will pay $2 for the service, but you will also connect with someone right away, and the calling card guarantees the cost of the call....if you decide to use the phone in your room, you will be charged for each time you ATTEMPT to contact the operator! I sat for 10min after dialing the operator, got frustrated, hung up, and tried again. I was charged for both times, even though I reached no one at the operators end....
There is only one door key per room, and it runs the lights and the air conditioner. So be prepared to wake up anyone sleeping if you have to knock on the door to be let in when you are not the one with the key.
The grounds were clean, the pools always working (there were several pools), and food could be found. Because I didn't travel to the other end of the resort too often, I am unsure if the claim of pizza until 3am was actually true, but there was a grill located near the beach...
The train ran 24/7 making it easy to get to the main lobby. There were shops on the resort, and a lounge. Wifi was located only at the main lobby. There were also computers located in the sports bar, if you didn't bring your own.
I have mixed feelings about the resort...if I had been able to get room service, not pay $20 for the safe, and maybe use the phone without the surprise at the end, I may have been more enthusiastic...most of the staff were helpful and friendly, after a healthy tip....some were not so friendly...bad day???
If you have nothing to compare it to, you won't be disappointed, but I feel that the advertising for the hotel was perhaps "not exactly as pictured".

Room Tip: to party, book club--otherwise, go Elite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    765
    232
    72
    84
See reviews for
1,343
477
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was our first trip, and like others reading reviews,we wondered what exactly were we going to get. We were pleasantly surprised.
We arrived late in the evening of March31. Our check-in was pleasant and quick. We stayed in A2 building in the Club section. Our room was clean with two double beds(we requested a king) and a balcony. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were not lumpy. We were lucky to be over looking the Club pool. The Club section is located at the back of the Grand Paradise Resort,so it is a nice walk to the main resort,or you can take the trolley.
My only complaint about the Club section is that they cater to a French Travel group known as The Lookea Club. They have their own activties directors and guides who plan activities for them and show them around. They take over the pool area,have their own Amphitheatre and then take over the outdoor bar at the Manglar lounge at night.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Would like to say our cleaning lady Diovanny was always smiling and would leave little extras in our room just as we left her little treats each day. The grounds keeper in our area, Benny,was shy but easy to get to know. He even asked my husband to help while he cut down coconuts,and then he opened the top of one for us so we could try the fresh coconut milk. Then there was Ana at check-in at the Club lobby. Very polite and very helpful when we needed answers to some questions. The staff at the buffet La Palma were a great bunch. They would set up tea and coffee outside so patrons could get a start to the day while waiting for the breakfast buffet to open. We would fill our coffee cups and walk to the beach for a morning stroll before breakfast. Couldn't complain about the food,as there was plenty to choose from at all sittings(wether it was breakfast ,lunch or supper). We would like to say Marino was our server most days and he looked after us well on each visit.
The A La Carte's were good. We tried 2 during our stay. Couldn't get in to the Cana Grill as it was booked every evening during our stay. So we settled for the buffets as they had a different theme each evening.
Everything was kept clean at the resort and they were busy with repairs,as we just missed Student City by a couple of days and from what we were told, the kids made a mess of things and the staff was busy putting things back in order.
The other part of the resort closer to the beach was nice and we spent some days at the pool area down there and at the beach. The beach was the best,and the water so inviting I hated getting out to spend time on a lounger. Yes,most days you had to go early to stake out a spot either at the pool or on the beach.
There was lots to do if you choose to take part. During our stay we took in the evening entertainment at the Amphitheater,attended a beach Party,watched the Beach Olympics, and took part in stretching on the beach. The staff were great at getting people involved in the activities.
All I can say is that we totally enjoyed ourselves and yes, we would go back. We met some great people on this trip. Next time we will stay in the Main or Premier area of the resort. And we plan on taking our young Adult children with us next time.
We traveled with Sunwing and the service was excellent. And the Sunwing Reps on site were the greatest help to us when setting up an excursion.
And on a last note, our check-out went smoothly and didn't take long at all. Thanks to everybody. Hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Let me say first off.. this resort is not a 4 star hotel, like they advertise. If you get that out of your head you will love it. Don't expect cappuccino's and Morning Glory's for breakfast. Don't expect a bell boy to take care of your bags as soon as you get off the bus to your resort.

We have had these things at other resorts.. but we have payed a lot more. You get what you pay for and more at this place.. you have your choice of three Pool areas. All have their own kids pool,, Jacuzzi jet area's The pool area's all have little pool areas so you have like 3 pools at each section.

We stayed in the club section The called it premier at Grand Bavaro and it was offered by Sunquest. Our room over looked the pool ( we were in building 4) we had a patio, two double beds a desk.. a bathroom and a little walk in closet. Was it in perfect condition? No, but it was acceptable.. clean enough to live with. ( not sparkling) It just wasn't fancy.
I knew in advance not to shower around 6pm and you were fine for water pressure. If you showered at 6 well, so was every one else.. so ya you suffered. But how much time do you spend in your room anyways?

I am mentioning this because I heard allot of complaining from other guests as well as here on trip advisor about the rooms. But lets face it, expect a 3 star resort and you will not be disappointed.

We loved our trip!

Buffet food was decent, The beach snack bar was not bad.. chicken was delicious.
We ate at the Italian restaurant it was terrific.
The international restaurant.. ya not so great..

I will mention this.. the buffet restaurants have 2 seatings one at 6:30pm it ran till 7:30.

At 7:30 the shut everything down.. and you cannot get anything to eat till 8:30. This sort of sucked for us.. by the time we would get back to the room and change and get ready for dinner. it was usually 7:30 so you spent an hour killing time, then at 8:30 you wolfed down supper to have time to rush off to the kids program in the evening. Eating at 6:30 was too early for us and they would turn all the lights off in the restaurant when they wanted you to leave.

So plan ahead. We managed.

Also factor in Travel time.. the shuttle was always full.. so it took allot of time to get any where,.. really it was faster to walk.. so we did allot of walking.

Which reminds me.. Avoid the guys in the blue shirts and golf carts, at all costs. They are very nice and will drive you around any where and every where.. they will not ask for tips.. but they are the Time share guys and they are every where. They will sucker you in!
the 5 mins you save walking will cost you 3 hours in a time share presentation. The gift sucks too! I had the worst massage ever and the ladies were rude. Avoid your trip and your vacation will be that much better!

Our 5 year old daughter Loved the kids program! they would pick her up in the morning at the buffet. Take her to the club with all the other little ones, till lunch time.. drop the kids off to you at the beach, and Pick them up again from 3 till 5 pm. Then at 8 pm they had activities for the kids to do, which my daughter will remember for ever. Little fashion shows, mini disco's, Movie nights.. she was in heaven. We usually tipped the girls about $5.00 a day and they treated her like a princess.

The Beach.. well there is nothing to say but Amazing! talk about a tropical paradise.
we did not find it hard to get a chair on the beach.. the water was warm, The Sandy beach was lovely. We would tip the wait staff so had no problems getting drinks, we did not feel they were watered down at all. Loved loved loved the beach. I would go back just to hang out on that beach all day!

Service, was incredible! all the workers work so hard, and they are so happy to serve you.
The animation staff were all terrific, I just can't say enough nice things about them. The bar and restaurant staff ( with the exception of the international restaurant) all went out of their way to ensure you enjoyed every moment off your trip.

would we go back this resort.. Yep for sure! We had a terrific deal on our trip, for what we payed we got great value for our dollar. Maybe next time we could go for two weeks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked the stay two weeks early. We were told that the room were located near the beach. But when we arrived to the Place, we found out that our rooms were located on a secondary hotel located far away from the beach. After many times we tried to convince the front desk our situation, they were negligents. We even tried to talk with the manager but nothing. At the end we had no other choice but to accept the rooms The food was fine. The only complain is the hours, specially during the evening. People have to come between 6 and 7.30 otherwise they have to wait until 8.30 to enter to the buffet restaurants. The beach was good and the animation people were kind. The rooms were clean and ok. The swimming pools were great. Another thing is the small road that connect between both hotels has a bad odor. In summary, the hotel was fine but the reception at the front desk was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Every bad comment was exagerated by 100% by people that do not know how to enjoy themselves,or they look for the smalest thing to go wrong and make a big deal out of it. The hotel was full to capacity so i figure 1005 rooms and 2.5 people per room you are looking at 3000 people on this resort and during a 1 week span I listened to maybe 6 people complain about small things. I have been travelling the south for 20 years and have seen alot of hotesl. This hotels have been giving a bad name for nothing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have travelled a lot to many all inclusive resorts in Mexico and Cuba and this was one of our worst experiences. We paid $1100 each for what was advertised as a 4* resort so we thought we were getting a great deal. This should only be rated a 3* resort. When we arrived after midnight our first impressions were founded. The reception area is very uninviting and the reception staff very unwelcoming. There was no one around to direct us to our room and once we got to our room we thought for sure there was a mistake. We were put in building 2 room 377. A room farthest from the beach (15 minute walk) The room was very sparce, the furniture banged up, the shower head was broken and the bed covers looked like they had been around for 20 years. The TV was a 24 inch with no converter and the fridge was not plugged in so it smelled really bad. We attempted several times to change our room and we told there were no rooms because they were full. Many people paid extra to be relocated. We tried all week to get new towels put in our room without success. When the sheets on my bed were changed they only covered 2/3 of the mattress. There was no hospitality sweat made available to guest who were leaving on late flights. We eventually negotiated with the concierge to keep our room for free until 4:00pm. They wanted to charge us $10 per hour extra for every hour we stayed past check out. In addtion to this, both my husband and developed stomach isssues while we were at the resort (Many other people did also). The beach is beautiful and the food was reasonable but we will not reurn to this resort or recommend it. I do not want to fight for everything when I am on vacation!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

As the title suggests, I've been travelling annually to the Caribbean basin, with my family, for over 30 years and last week we had a wonderful, tranquil, frugal experience at this hotel.
The buffet food was excellent (sorry, no bangers & mash, and no MacDonald's), but a wonderful; array of continental and native foods that were as tasty as they were healthy & delicious. The staff was charming, respectful and dignified (sorry, Dad, no grinning "Step and Fetch-it's" here) and, we found them to be very anxious to please even the most obnoxious guest --- and, boy, there were a few:) The only thing we did NOT appreciate were the very occasional drunken twenty-somethings, bawling their mating-calls into the night, but that happens everywhere, unfortunately.
The pricing was excellent and we feel that we received full value for money spent.
No pool-side Bingo, no thunderously loud beach aerobics --- just a world-class beach, a spacious and airy room, and a pleasant, moderately-quiet and definitely inexpensive holiday.
Loved it!
JazzPoet in Toronto

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 mi away
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
#61 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 5,215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Splash Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Splash Punta Cana

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Splash Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful stylish family oriented resort is located at Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, one of the most beautiful landmarks of the Caribbean.5 Thematic Restaurants reservation-free dining +11 Bars +Water Park features a children pool with slides, wave pool, relax pool, Jacuzzi,Kamikaze, Space bowl, Black hole and lots of tubes with amazing surprises. In addition, the resort also boasts 3 pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Memories Splash Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Splash Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.