We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Place , good deal for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alsol Luxury Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alsol Luxury Village to your Saves list
Alsol Luxury Village
Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23302, Dominican Republic (Formerly Marina Sands Luxury All Inclusive Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really Nice Place , good deal for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: Rooms are magnificent
Price is right
The whole place looks great , looks just like a movie set
Service is pretty good and staff is pleasant
Food was pretty good
Place was huge

Cons: NO FREE WiFi in rooms or common areas ( other than hotel lobby ) they charge 12.00 usd a day for access . Once you pay, the speed is pretty decent
Had a smell coming from bathroom drain a while after using toilet , they did offer to relocate . With the all inclusive plan. They limit you to four beers a day per room
No beach access but it's a 6-10 usd round trip , 10m safe cab ride to the juanillo beach .The restaurant on the beach lets you use their chairs , beach beds and cabanas with purchases of food and drink from their place. Was on par with US prices . The nightlife is pretty non existent and sometimes the place looks deserted
Overall comment : The resort is really really nice and just amazing . The rooms are huge and look almost new. Upon checking in, they present you with a glass of champagne and whisk you up to your room in a golf cart . Service was good and everyone cheerful . Most if not all staff spoke English . Jesus from the main pool bar was just great . The room did have an unpleasant smell after using the bathroom thru the floor drain. They did offer to relocate and late check out but did not offer any adjustments . My peeve was that at check out, we called a total of three times to get the bell hop and after 20-25 mins, wound up bringing our own bags down because they couldn't seem to get it together . I still couldn't get a straight answer as to what happened. The place is safe, plenty of security and no outsiders come in. Had a similar safe experience at the beach and highly recommend a trip to the nearby beach .
It's definitively a nice place and a good deal overall

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    95
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
121
210
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First: Rent a Car, we almost always do, It will give you the freedom to move around and its cheaper than getting a ride from and back to the resort.There are plenty of great beaches, restaurants and shops near by.The resort gets kind of deserted, which I love.The all inclusive includes a couple of restaurants that offer breakfast, lunch and dinner; plus there is 24 hrs room's service.There are a couple of stores, a decent fitness center with sauna, like 3 more restaurants and a movie night. 3 swimming pools, 2 of them with full bar and food, a church, awesome architecture and views. Nice night walk.Free internet at the lobby (free coffee, tea and cookies at the lobby), paid at the room.Great place for photography, family or wedding (Professional Photo Service Available). The rooms are spacious and comfortable, ours had a full kitchen.
Pros: All inclusive; mostly quiet, great 'Mama Juana' (a local drink)
Cons: Service, not bad, but because the place is kind of deserted, there is no so much energy, like a 'slow season syndrome' I call it. It also reflects it on the food, not so fresh at times.
We had a good time, I went with my best friend and my 7 year old son, he loved the pool, plus the car gave us the freedom to go to other places.Then again I live in Sunny Isles Beach, FL which is like living on a resort 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.Besides people in Dominican Republic weren't as nice as people I met traveling to Colombia, Costa Rica and even Argentina!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was great! We picked this hotel because it was at a good price rate for us. The room was incredible, beautiful, bigger than I expected and very clean. It was a two bedroom suite with an excellent kitchen, a living room and an enormous terrace. The reservation was with no meals included, so I don't know if the food of the hotel is good, but every service that I used was great. I can recommend this hotel with my eyes closed.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Alsol for four days in November. The resort is very nice and clean. Our balcony faced the marina which was beautiful. The food was good most days, we did have all inclusive. We were very disappointed with the food at the Italian restaurant. It was bland and had no flavor. I could have went to Carrabbas and had a better dinner. The place is quite deserted we didn't see that many people unless we were eating breakfast or dinner. We did not like the fact that you couldn't get a free shuttle or cab back and forth from the airport. If you are looking for activities and parties in a resort, this one is not for you. We did have some employees that were excellent. Calvin, anytime you needed something if you were eating you could count on him. Rosa who works the front desk was really good and James Bond brought some entertainment and laughs if you were near the bar. The beach had no one there if you were at Alsol. Their sister property Alsol Del Mar had more people and you actually saw people having fun on the beach there. We would stay there again but most likely only two days and probably the Hard Rock the rest of the days. It was a little too slow and quiet for us.

11/5/14-ee

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of four came to Alsol Luxury Village and had a great time! The resort was not very busy as it was not their peak season time. We liked it that way! The swimming pools were amazing. The staff was so friendly making us laugh and enjoy our time there immensely. Many people spoke English very well and we had no problems communicating even though we did not speak Spanish.

We only stayed 5 nights and that was definitley not enough time there! They have an excursion desk with many different options that you can pay to do. We did the Dolphin excursion and will never forget it! We thought we would miss the beach because there is no beach at the resort itself, but the pools are so nice that we really didn't miss it. We did a bike tour with James Bond that gives you an amazing look at the beach and all the other resorts nearby. Thanks to James Bond who spoke English well and ran most of the entertainment there and water aerobics who made our time their so much fun!
The beach during this time of year was really full of seaweed, but was amazing to look at and take pictures by. We heard you could visit the other resorts with beaches by cab for $3 or the public beaches for a cab ride of $30. We didn't visit the beach, but did go to the shopping center in San Juan which was free. They have a couple gift shops within the resort itself too that were nice.

The restaurants were excellent. We did do the all-inclusive package and we visited all the restaurants in this resort. Our favorite was the Mariner which had all-you-can eat buffet style food, but the food was fresh! They would cook fresh omelets or fresh meats or pasta right in front of you. We took our two "picky eating" sons with us and this made our lives easier because they picked whatever they wanted. The waiters and staff were amazing to us and the service was A+! They made us feel at home and referred to us as "the family."

The weather was perfect in the 80s and it only rained for 5 minutes the day that we left. The rooms were also unbelievable. We had a two bedroom suite that had two king beds, a living room with one TV, eating area, kitchen, washer/dryer, two bathrooms each with large soaker tubs. The room was huge and beautiful with our view outside of our rooms and living room being one of the beautiful swimming pools.

I don't know what some of the other reviewers are talking about because this was the best vacation we have ever had!! Once again, 5 nights was not long enough for us for sure!!!!

Room Tip: two bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was really looking forward to vacationing in this 'all-inclusive' during one of my limited vacation allotments. I am a working physician, and time off is precious to me. The Alsol seemed like a great place to stay given the good reviews on places such as this.

Location- the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Everything is under construction. There is no beach. When asking around about what fun things to do here, many staff members told us that this hotel is for relaxation and not fun.

Room- gorgeous well set up room nearbthe pool with a kitchenette that was clean. Unfortunately, our door broke on day 3, and we had to have security open our door each time after trying to change the key 5 times. A new room was not offered until the mext day. This was unacceptable for me.

Food- not bad

All-inclusive vibe- i have stayed at several all inclusives before. This one was not a true one. There are no games, minimal music, not a ton of restaurants.

My friend and I are considering changing hotels for our final 3 nights, as we are still here and miserable.

I will never come here again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled with a friend, both of us young medical professionals looking to decompress and have some fun.

Our rooms are amazing, basically little condos with a kitchenette and deck looking out to one of the endless number of pools BUT when we asked where to have fun in the evening, like a little music for dancing we were told by staff "this isn't that kind of hotel."

Needless to say we had to buy the all inclusive food package, because are no other food options available. We had to pay to go everywhere because nothing is walking distance( no beach, no local restaurants). We had to buy an excursion everyday to even experience the culture or fun.

The city may not be a bad place at all but let's out it this way, on excursions other tourists of all ages laughed at us for our choice in hotel, without us saying a word.


Maybe honeymooners or family reunion-ers who just want to isolate themselves and "enjoy" each other would like this place, but I wouldn't reccomend to anyone I know or would I come back. Ever.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsol Luxury Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Luxury Village

Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23302, Dominican Republic (Formerly Marina Sands Luxury All Inclusive Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsol Luxury Village is located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport in the biggest and most luxurious marina in the Caribbean, surrounded by the famous white beaches of Punta Cana and Cap Cana. Alsol Luxury Village is an impressive luxury resort complete with 299 suites of all different sizes and decorated with premium materials and designer furniture to give a true Mediterranean feel.Luxury suites may vary in size and style, but all rooms are designed with innovative architecture, high quality finishes and beautiful decor. For the most demanding we even have luxury suites available with a private swimming pool. The Resort has a variety of beautiful panoramic views with several categories of suites of different sizes.Comfort, convenience and elegance – these elements reflect the beautiful lifestyle of the Alsol Luxury Village. Guests can enjoy a superior level of service while enjoying the five thematic restaurants, ars, four pools, a Dominican style Chapel for weddings and Sunday Mass, a state of the art fitness center with Finnish sauna and other exclusive services and activities to satisfy even the most demanding. Guests at AlSol Luxury Village can enjoy the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club which is considered the top course in the Caribbean and Mexico, as well as other courses such as Corales and La Cana which are also highly rated, boat rentals, a diving school, activities for children and much more. There are also exceptional event, function and wedding spaces, including a waterfront amphitheater and salons that can be decorated to your personal style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alsol Luxury Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsol Luxury Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.